Now Raj Thackray will make one more cartoon saying mumbai police should utilise service of only marathi actors like Ashok Saraf, Nana Patekar, Shreyash Talpade etc. instead of promoting taking help of north india actor
RE:Cartoon
by Arun Shetty on Apr 07, 2008 11:18 AM Permalink
Up & Bihari please don't waist your time please rebuilt your UP & Bihar state you will get thrown out from you own state , which your politician has started
by Ashish Kanekar on Apr 07, 2008 10:56 AM Permalink
Yeah they can come back and then we will throw you north indians back to patna or whereever the hell your Bihar/UP are.
by Tanmay on Apr 07, 2008 11:15 AM Permalink
instead of demonstrating your bravery on UP/Bihari better to get rid of MNS metality which will help u in long term. Today MNS is against UP/Bihari, tomorrow they will target marathi dalit, marathi brahmin, maratha who knows
RE:RE:Cartoon
by Ashish Kanekar on Apr 07, 2008 11:56 AM Permalink
The great Marathi middle class rules Maharashtra. It is the middle class that holds the immense wealth of the state.
As a state/country develops the middle class grows strong. That is what we have in Maharashtra.
So sorry to burst your bubble - but the vast wealth and power in Maharashtra is with its middle class. Now run along to your Bihar/UP
by Arun Shetty on Apr 07, 2008 11:20 AM Permalink
Please take all Marwaris & Gujarathi to you state . We challege you that they wil lrun away from you state, because of your dirty standard of living.
by Tanmay on Apr 07, 2008 12:03 PM Permalink
Shivaji is also Migrant ...why MNS should celebrate his Jayant? Raj is modern Babasaheb Khopade ...
by Tanmay on Apr 07, 2008 11:24 AM Permalink
Tumahri and MNS ke agree hone se kya hota hai... tum aur MNS bologe ki ShreeRam Laagoo is better than AB because he is Marathi! Apni soch ko badlo agar aage badna hai to ... agara Vadapav khakar aur bechkar jeena hai to aise hi raho...
by Arun Shetty on Apr 07, 2008 11:34 AM Permalink
Tanmay , pl don't live in stone age, you don't how Marathi are Progressive. I don't know who you are Bengali ,UP or Bihari. But Marathi are always Progressive that's why Maharashtra is Progressive that's why your brothers from other state are coming to out state. If you are Progressive the please make the Progress of your state in which ever state you are.
by Tanmay on Apr 07, 2008 11:41 AM Permalink
Shetty log kab se Marathi hone lage??? I am not against Marthi. But this Raj and MNS metality are slow and sweet poison which they should get rid of. Mumbai was a prosperus city from British age. If your claim is true then why other citis in Maharashtar are not so developed like mumbai and pune ( historic city) ? examples - nanded, jalgaon, solapur , kolhapur etc ?
by Tanmay on Apr 07, 2008 11:54 AM Permalink
MNS mentality is disastrus for Marathis same mentality was followed by Maratha during/before Panipat war...
by Ashish Kanekar on Apr 07, 2008 11:49 AM Permalink
Go to Aurangabad, Nashik or Nagpur. Check out Thane and Navi Mumbai... all very nice cities.
Pune is really the home of education - very Marathi city.
by Arun Shetty on Apr 07, 2008 11:45 AM Permalink
Mr.Tanmay , I think you have not visited Kolhapur, solapur , Jalgaon & Nanded. Any time they are much developed then any other 2 tier cities of UP , Bihar & Kolkata etc.
by Ashish Kanekar on Apr 07, 2008 11:40 AM Permalink
Let it go Arun. You think this Tanmay does not know the fact that Maharashtra is the best state in India - and the reason is the Maharashtrian people? He is green with envy that is all.
by Arun Shetty on Apr 07, 2008 11:23 AM Permalink
Miss or Mrs. Rana if got that much sampathy with UP & BIHAR then please take them to your state. Foy your information in last one month they have looted 4 Gujarathi house in Mumbai
hi, no honking day seems to have just been honked out..on my way from andheri to nariman point today morning, honking levels were the same that i have observed earlier. that too when traffic in the morning is light. quite frankly, i think the police should just be given carte blanche to fine offenders of any sort. once the cops start arbitrarily raise fine amounts, violations will automatically come down. even if the offender manages to haggle his fine down, it will be much more than what the official fine is.
I agree with Namith Shetty, all round decipline has to be inculcated. 1. Pedestrians 2. Parking 3. Overtaking 4. Motorbikers 5. Truck drivers I have just experienced two drunkards deliberately falling in my cars way at 9.30 AM. Education & punishment is the need of the hour.
The traffic sense lessons should be made mandatory to all. NGO's have to educate slum areas wherein maximum children are are left to play on roads.
It is a good initiative taken by Mumbai. Once again Mumbai has proven that they are the pioneers in any good things to be taken up in the country. Keep it up, I and my fellow citizens who wish that we have a noise free traffic request other cities to follow this and create awareness of noise pollution. Some points for avoiding honking.
1. First thing to be taught by any driving school or by any individual to the new learner is that the horn is to be used as a last resort only. 2. During the driving test conducted by the authorities for giving licence, if any person who is undertaking the test uses the horn to be failed, this will then create a habit to not honk unnecessarily. 3. Children from the school are to be educated that honking is bad, Children are the best people to bring changes in the parents. 4. City bus drivers are to be penalised as the bus drivers top the list of honking. 5. Offenders of honking are to be put in a enclosed chamber for 10 to 15 minutes with lot of horns blowing around them to get them irritated so that next time they avoid using horns unnecessarily
even otherwise, I am of the opinion that honking on busy road or highways is an irritation and does not yield any use, except when you get irritated with a taxi or auto driving on the right lane with a slow pace when the left lane is taken over by a tanker or a container, particlarly on the overbridges. However, today, I took a vow not to honk, come what may, even if I am late for the office by an hour... but, the drive was very peaceful, with most of the traffic observing to the social call of not honking. It was a little tempting at certain signals and traffic junctions, but I could resist the feeling and moving along the traffic. I wish, I could observe NO Honking from today...I will certainly make an attempt.
I am an Indian, presently working in Australia. I was surprised to see that here people DO NOT use their vehicles horns routinely. I have used my horn only once or twice in last 9 months. Here the horn is used only when someone has done something wrong while driving. By and large the roads are not at all noisy here. This is a really good discipline we should learn from such countries rather than acquiring bad things. I hope this great move by the Mumbai police will have a big impact on our thinking and we will prove (as ever) that we are a GREAT NATION. JAI HIND
RE:Great effort !
by lavey dcosta on Apr 07, 2008 09:44 AM Permalink
In order to reach the level of discipline in Australia, following steps need to be taken urgently : (1)Strict adherence to lane driving (2)Adherence to traffic signals (3)Use of cameras at traffic junctions and on highways for capturing offences (4)Centralisation of vehicle registration numbers and ability to be captured on cameras (5)Migration to on line booking for traffic offences (6)Finally, suspension of driving licences in case of default on say 3 occasions. We may not have the technology right now - but the important question is whether India has the will to go this farther. Results will be like what Vikrant Khanna has said. No honking days will not help the least - it will be only a fad.
by Deepak on Apr 07, 2008 09:53 AM Permalink
Am deeply shocked. How can we (highly civilized country) even think of emulating Australia (so called uncivilized and racist country). HeHe.
by mahabodhi on Apr 07, 2008 10:31 AM Permalink
australia population only 2 crore and size more than 3 times of india! and even then the whites eliminated the aborigins or either shifted them to pappua new guin and after 250 years australian PM regretted that aborigins were badly treated and apologised !What hypocracy!they very well know that now aborigins are gone like DODO and australia is whites territory! many Indians go there to study by paying hefty amounts say minimunm 10 lakhs for useless courses but who cares because the parents of such students have made money in India by unfair , corrupt means !other wise how can one explain that Nanada the Navy Chief 's son involved in an accident case well known went to USA to study MBA! these childern of corrupt officials when go to us and AUSTRALIA AND SEE THE CORRUPT FREE SOCIATY ONLY ABUSE INDIA FOR ITS FILTHYNESS AND CORRUPTION LITTLE KNOWING? THAT IT IS THEIR OARENTS WHO ARE CORRUPT AND THAT MONEY TO PURCHASE GOOD ARMS HAVE BEEN SIPHONED AND MONEY TO CLEAN OUR CITIES HAVE BEEN SIPHONED BY THEIR PARENTS.jAI hIND!
by Chanakya on Apr 07, 2008 09:35 AM Permalink
dear Vikrant, what is the vehicle population vis as vis the citi-size of Australia versus Mumbai... I think Australia may be having a 6 lane driving with one-fourth of the Mumbai vehicles wo had to drive in two lane or some time in one lane? wish you could visit Mumbai once in a decade to experience the problem.
RE:RE:Great effort !
by Madhava krishna on Apr 07, 2008 10:30 AM Permalink
I second Vikranth's feeling on driving. Being in te United States for more than 2 years, we rarely honk. If we drive through the downtowns, these cities have no better roads than a Dadar, Vile Parle or Shiv (Old name Sion) junctions. In fact these downtowns have much smaller lanes. For instance LA downtown. But the difference is in the attitude of the drivers and the pedestrians. First right of the way in a narrow road will go to a pedestrian. Where as, on a freeway, neither pedestrians nor 2 wheelers (Motor Bikes OK) like bicycles allowed. So, the rules should be context sensitive and not fixed. Even on a freeway, we show descipline by understanding what other driver wants to do before we ask for what we want from others. This has to come through understanding and not from outside.
RE:RE:RE:Great effort !
by vikrant khanna on Apr 07, 2008 03:27 PM Permalink
Dear Madhav, Thanks for elaborating the situation of lanes in certain parts of the USA.It might help those who blame the population, road, corruption and so on... for their mistakes.
by drvikrant khanna on Apr 07, 2008 03:21 PM Permalink
Dear Chanakya, I strongly agree with you as far the population and road conditions are compared between the two countries. But,why do we start honking as soon as the signals go green without waiting for the first vehicle to go ahead? I think it has got nothing to do with the no of lanes. I am sure that none of these so called developed countries can cope up with the population we have.But, as we have always proved that we can be much better if we have the determination to do the things.
i think this type of campaign will help to educate common man about the civilized way of living. often i have seen that people themself doesnot act/behave responsibly and then they blame government for everything.