You all south indians, you think you are separate from rest of the India. People here sounding as if they are not the part of India. Also let me correct you, TN and Karnataka are NOT most industrially developed states. All you guys have got is Chennai and Bangalore. Rest of your states are as destitute as other North Indian state. I believe Maharashtra and Gujrat are most balanced and industrialized states in India.
The core of the project is to supply a drinking water to near by area not for cultivation. Guys think first about yourself and the people, who r going to benefit by the project. we r sitting in the A/C cooled room with provided mineral water nearby or from any western country with hygienic surrounding , surfing Internet and posting useless messages in this Discussion Board. But please think about the people who r going to benefit by this drinking water project- they r all underprivileged people born in India (forget about tamil or Kannada)!! For one glass of drinking water they have to spend so many hours to get it.They have to walk/struggle in southindian hot summer temperature to their basic need for a glass of water. So think about them first in comparison with us and then post ur message.
Personally, I think TN should stand up to KT. If Kt beat a few inoccent Tamil in bangalore, TN should beat up a few innocent Kanadigas... KT want to burn a few Tamil bus, TN should reciprocate by burning a few KT buses. If in Bangalore, kanadigas burn a few tamil shop, then Tamil in Bangalore should reciprocate in kind....
If may seem heartless, but its the only way to point to the madness of this situation.
Is Karnataka, just a region close to Tmail Nadu?
All the news from KT, seems to comes from southern region close to TN. Does this mean nothing ever happens in the other region of KT (North/West)? Are they as developed as the KT regions close to bangalore i.e. close to TN. If they are not developed, where are the politicians from the other regions of bangalore. Do they have a say in KT politics? Is there anybody from the Northern part or Esatern part of KT who can describe what the situation is?
TN parties should not have shown the same behaviour as pro-kannada parties by ransacking kannada establishment. In no way it is justified. Karunanidhi's speech is absolutely ok. He told that there is limit to everything. First time in his life he has spoken meaningfully.
But he is a great opportunist and a hypocrite. He may be a great scholar in tamil but all his ministers are good for nothing and are political gundas. Each academic year they propose new Government orders to spoil education. Also Jayalalitha is the same. Birds of same feather flock together. The Dravida parties (DMK, ADMK, DK , MDMK, etc) introduced anti-Hindi protest in tamilnadu some 30 years ago. Now we the people are reaping its benefits. We cant even interact with other state people. ("Kinathu thavalai" - meaning "frog in the well")
They also made the caste system worser. Also TN is the only state where the reservation stands at 69%, which is well above the 50% limit specified by Supreme court. Its all due to vote bank politics.
Also another thing is everyone in TN knows that that person behind former DMK minister Radhakrishnan's murder is Karunanidhi's son Alagari (Also for dinakaran office fire incident). But no action is taken against him. TN is in hands of morons. No political person is 100% perfect (in TN not even 1% perfect).
Everytime Karnataka cried that it was meted out injustice by the Supreme court and the Tribunal and denied to obey the orders vehementely. Supreme court and tribunal ordered based on the all the points described by the previous posts and much more. Remember the centre sends grievence committee every year to these states to access the situation. Its TN who suffered despite of the court's order. I am sure Karnataka people are always misguided and provoked by their politicians and vedike activists regarding these facts for their narrow political gains. But the irony is Tamilnadu and its people are always blamed for these issues. Its like punishing the victims. I found some north indian friends who are mixing up Hindi/Tamil(or Ram setu) debate with this issue and abuse Tamils. If you dont know, kindly refrain from making such absurd comments
RE:Tribunal award
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 01:32 PM Permalink
By meting out severe injustice to TN people on all these issues, now they are hell bent to derail the drinking water supply project(which they have already agreed in exchange of Bangalore water supply project) to two heavily water starved districts of northern TN(that too from TN's side). Have humanistic feelings towards your brothers and sisters.
by ganesh on Apr 04, 2008 01:50 PM Permalink
Injustice is actually towards Karnataka, most of the time. The Tribunal makes very tamilnadu centric decisions if they were to be obeyed, it would put Karnataka farmers in distress!
The only way out for tamilnadu is to increase your rain water harvesting and not rely on cauvery alone!
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 02:03 PM Permalink
You are wrong. Tribunal's orders are also better weighed ones. You cannot justify equal sharing of water because the total extent of land cultivated in both the states vary enormously. For your information, Tamilnadu is the first state in India to have compulsory individual rain water harvesting in all households and establishments to fight drought(one of the appreciated moves of the then TN govt) and thatswhy the groundwater level has increased to good extent in recent years. Poor people were provided interest free loans to accomplish this task.
Even rain harvesting cannot prevent sudden flow of flood that too in monsoons.
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 02:05 PM Permalink
By the way Ganesh,when in the past had karnataka obeyed Tribunal's or even Supreme court's orders?.
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 02:34 PM Permalink
Morover, every year Karnataka gets more rainfall due to south west monsoon along the western ghats similar to kerala whereas TN is in water shadow region but gets from North east monsoon primarily by cyclones. About 8 years back,the north east monsoon failed and karnataka failed to release even half of the allocated water, farmers were at the verge of collapse as all the three types of paddy crops destryed due to severe drought. TN Govt again came to the rescue by waiving all the loans provided by Tamilnadu Cooperative societies. The good thing is that TN farmers never borrow money from money lenders and hence survive even during acute crisis.
Cauvery flows for a distance of 475 miles from Coorg hills in Karnataka to Bayof Bengal in southeastward direction. It travels for ~100 miles inside Karnataka. KN constructed an artificial channel of 72 miles inside KN to divert water to more areas. In TN, it travels nearly 320 miles baring Pondicherry. Karnataka built two huge dams namely Krishrajasagar(KRS) and Kabini for 100 miles whereas TN has a major reservoir in Mettur and a comparatively smaller but ancient Grand Anicut(Kallanai - built ny Karikalachola 1700 years ago) for 320 mile lengthy river.
Water is stored in KRS and Kabini reservoirs in full throughout the year and release less quantity than the allocated share. Whenever there is heavy rainfall in water catchment area (i.e.Western ghats), excess water is suddenly released flooding the whole heavily cultivated plains of TN forcing people to live in distress. Karnataka uses TN just as the drainage channel to let excess water.
Now readers can tell us who is acting as the big brother and who suffers?.
RE:Illegal
by ganesh on Apr 04, 2008 01:38 PM Permalink
Come on.. what stops you from increasing capacity of mettur dam.. statistics say 8TMC of water flows into the ocean every rainy season..
KRS and Kabini are huge?? You should recheck your definition! They are relatively smaller dams!
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 01:56 PM Permalink
They are smaller than Mettur of course. During monsoons in Karnataka, more quantity of water than the actual storage capacity in Mettur is released to avoid flooding in Karnataka.
by apocalypto on Apr 04, 2008 02:08 PM Permalink
Mettur dam is the biggest in the cauvery basin. But if you combine the capacity of KRS and Kabini (both are in cauvery basin) and compare, Mettur dam will be smaller. Also KRS and Kabini store substantial amount of water throughout the year. But in Mettur dam, due to scarcity of water, adequate water is stored only when there is flood in KSR or Kabini reservoirs.
by Manju Seetharamu on Apr 16, 2008 08:24 PM Permalink
This one is of my fellow state mate - Sathyanarayana Bhat.
Hi My Friend, it is like this. You are throwing your house garbage in my back yard & asking me to clean. This is all about Hogenakal project. Tamilnadu does exactly the same. Please go through the tribunal order. Do you have a copy of the same? Let me explain. Any projects needs to be taken up on the cauvery water, both states to agree on the project then only state can go with the project. If Karnataka set up 5000 crore project in Nanjangud which is part of Karnataka & store water after the KRS, no water will be flowing down to Tamil Nadu, do you agree Karanataka's project? This is my state , I can do whatever I like right ??? Hope this answers your doubt & question.
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 12:48 PM Permalink
Remember TN is the second largest cultivator of rice after AP. Nearly 75% of the paddy is cultivated in the rice bowl of TN (around cauvery basin). TN farmers use less water whatever available for more production. Who is smart?
Hogenakkal is not a dispute area in official records. The largest bank is inside Tamilnadu and has been developed by Tamilnadu Tourism for decades together and this place can be reached by entering tamilnadu only. Tourists from Bangalore have to travel to Dharmapuri, Pennagaram and then arrive at Hogenakkal. They travel nearly 150 km inland TN to reach Hogenakkal. The smaller bank at karnataka's side is totally inaccesible by roads and is not maintained by KN's Tourism. Only illicit liquor is sold there. Suddenly a place cannot be claimed without records. During Veerappan's time, those who are claiming now never even dreamt of that. Now they are forging into the TN's side ib boats and abuse TN boatsmen. I have seen this by myself.
Cauvery river flows in three districts of karnataka (Coorg, Mysore and Mandya) whereas it flows in 9 districts of Tamilnadu namely Dharmapuri,Salem,Erode,Karur,Trichy,Tanjore,Tiruvarur, Nagapattinam,Kumbakonam and merges in Bay of Bengal at Kaveripoompattinam(Pondicherry). The land cultivated with Cauvery in TN than that of Karnataka geographically. Cauvery is not a major river when compared to Krishna in Karnataka(but it is projected in contrary to the fact). Coorg is hilly and has less agricultural land whereas the two districts namely Mysore and Mandya rely on Cauvery for agriculture. But in Tamilnadu, cauvery flows in highly cultivated 8 districts (these lands are irriagted for thousands and thousands of years). In fact, Karikala cholan built Kallanai(stone dam) 1700 years ago across Cauvery(this is the oldest usable dam in the world today). Karnataka is a huge state(bigger than TN) and it just not consists only these 3 districts. Most of the western, Central and North Karnataka people never involve themselves in this dispute(they constitute nearly 80% of the total population). The central and north Karnataka are underdeveloped and only the south Karnataka comprising in and around Bangalore and Mysore are developed due to IT. The central Karnataka though a highly water fed region(thanks to the sprawling western ghats and its rain forests) has not seen development in terms of educational institutions, food management and other social issues.
RE:Sorry state of affairs
by Manju Seetharamu on Apr 16, 2008 08:27 PM Permalink
This one is of my fellow state mate - Sathyanarayana Bhat.
Hi My Friend, it is like this. You are throwing your house garbage in my back yard & asking me to clean. This is all about Hogenakal project. Tamilnadu does exactly the same. Please go through the tribunal order. Do you have a copy of the same? Let me explain. Any projects needs to be taken up on the cauvery water, both states to agree on the project then only state can go with the project. If Karnataka set up 5000 crore project in Nanjangud which is part of Karnataka & store water after the KRS, no water will be flowing down to Tamil Nadu, do you agree Karanataka's project? This is my state , I can do whatever I like right ??? Hope this answers your doubt & question.
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 12:15 PM Permalink
Hogenakkal is not a dispute area in official records. The largest bank is inside Tamilnadu and has been developed by Tamilnadu Tourism for decades together and this place can be reached by entering tamilnadu only. Tourists from Bangalore have to travel to Dharmapuri, Pennagaram and then arrive at Hogenakkal. They travel nearly 150 km inland TN to reach Hogenakkal. The smaller bank at karnataka's side is totally inaccesible by roads and is not maintained by KN's Tourism. Only illicit liquor is sold there. Suddenly a place cannot be claimed without records. During Veerappan's time, those who are claiming now never even dreamt of that. Now they are forging into the TN's side ib boats and abuse TN boatsmen. I have seen this by myself.
by on Apr 06, 2008 02:40 PM Permalink
hai sangeetha I see that u have a very good in proving TN and TN farmers are smart. If you guys were smart as you claim why don;t you get a bit more smarter and find water else where. We can save this argument.
But the question TN has not answered is "When TN knew it did not have water resource on what basis it it allow farmers to cultivate in large scale? How smart? If TN can allow its farmers to irrigate lands why shouldnt Karnataka do it. So you see both govts are doing the same and smart people like you keep posting non sense....
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 12:06 PM Permalink
contd, Most of the north central and north east karnataka are dry and it witnessed the highest number of farmer suicides in KN this crop year.
This sorry state of affairs exists because KN politics is dominated by people belonging to southern districts. Thatswhy, time and again they make this cauvery issue a major political drama. This is not the same with Krishna river eventhough a water sharing dispute exists between Karnataka and Andhra over Krishna river.
But in TN, Cauvery if the lifeline and thatswhy if the water is deficient, crores of people are affected. Even then, TN never witnessed farmer suicides as in Maharastra and KN beacuse some of the populist movements by TN govt. TN is highly industrialised and the development is equally spread. During Crisis, they move to places like Tiruppur, Sivakasi, Madurai etc for their livelihood. Only people from dharmapuri and Krishnagiri districts move to Bangalore as it is closer.
Read the article about Hogenakkal issue. Its atrocious behaviour. Why the public is accepting the shitty behaviour of these so call politicians who care a less for public and always use politics for personal benefits. what's the logic in damaging some one's property who is nowhere involved in the total transaction? Is it a solution???
Arabi is spoken from Turkey lebanon sudan yeman to iran in the waste area more bigger than india only one language is spoken. Where as in all china 5 times bigger than india only language is spoken. Even in north BiMaraUS staes only one language is spoken.For this small land of south india why this much language,Tamil,Kannada,Malayalam,Telugu,Kongani,Tulu,Some Badugu also. Land is small and the population is unpropotionate.Even people living in there hate each other,Insult each other, All the time kannadigas are provoking thevoilence.Recently when the issue of ram