Mr. Jyoti Basu's children live in USA, a capitalist society whereas, he has had been running a so called communist party which systematically destroyed the lives of people in West Bengal. All these politicians, one and all, are biggest hypocrites who make fool of their countrymen while stashing money and family away in foreign countries. America is the most prosperous country in the world and this has been acheived thru the practice of capitalism.Government is to help businesses create jobs and not to come in the way of the progress. Indira Gandhi and her father alligned themselves with the losers(USSR, CUBA), because these uneducated dictators did not feel comfortable being with progressive and democratic countries. If we were to go in the path of Capitalism under the leadership of Vallabh Bhai Patel, we would not be fleeing to US and other rich countries. Mahatma Gandhi's spoiled brat Nehru and his descendents made one billion people suffer while amassing huge wealths for themselves. Even now Congress party led by uneducated Sonia Gandhi is not letting Indians breathe freely. We are electing thugs and dictators who need to be replaced by well educated, openminded leaders.
RE:re: US investment
by abhishek bhattacharya on Sep 22, 2007 06:07 AM Permalink
Government is a part of the people and not only reserved for so called uneducated people. If Ms. Dubey thinks herself more educated, then why not make some difference by leading the country. Writing in rediff will not make any difference. America is now a developed country because they have enormous natural resources to share among relatively small population. France, Spain Greece and many other capitalist countries are plagued with poverty and unemployment. You can't expect this for India just after 60 yrs of independence. Don't forget USSR was one of the 2 super powers in the world. And, still now China is governed by communist party. No one can say China is loosing. Capitalism can not be the only simple way of progress. We need to make sure everyone gets a bite of the apple. Well educated, well aware, hard working India will make progress. And, please don't try to humiliate Mahatma. You don't want to be ruled by British (or America), are you?
by for education on Sep 22, 2007 06:48 AM Permalink
Mr. Communist - abhishek bhattacharya - keep cheering Jyoti Basu and the Chinese communists while West Bengal goes to what Rajiv Gandhi once rightfully termed "dead state". The recent World Bank report http://www.worldbank.org.in/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/COUNTRIES/SOUTHASIAEXT/INDIAEXTN/0,,contentMDK:20556842~pagePK:141137~piPK:217854 ~theSitePK:295584,00.html says even Bihar (under capitalist BJP rule) is on its way to catching up with other developed states, so now Bengal can be the new butt of all jokes, thanks to your relentless cheering!
by abhishek bhattacharya on Sep 22, 2007 07:15 AM Permalink
Maharashtra is not under communist rule and Mumbai is the business capital of India. Then why thousands of people are dying in Vidarbha in the same state. People in Vidarbha does not feel happy to see most of India's richest personalities live in their state. They does not care about Maharashtra being a thriving state or how many indian businessmen are making their way into the Forbs list. They care about how much of that progress is falling into their hand. For the same reason Chandrababu Nayadu's govt in Andhra lost its support even after turning Hyderabad an IT city. So, capitalism is not the only answer. Hardcore communism may be a vague concept in todays world, but India needs a way in between to foster its 2/3 of rural population. That is why left is still ruling in bengal.
by Anuj Kumar Singh on Sep 22, 2007 11:16 AM Permalink
Have you ever visited Maharashtra? Do you know most number of foriegn people are from which rural area? Do you know which rural area having a mercedese benz dealer. You are leaving in dialima. Come up and see all part of India first then try to compare your poverty and poor state with others. Your mindset is hooked with communists and you have mind washed. Try to listen and learn from open eye then you will see clear picture of contry. Do you know the dying farmer's capital?
Bengalis are educated, smart and rich culture. It's amazing Communists have a strong hold on Bengal. It doesn't take a genius to figure out billions of Indians have suffered a lot for over 60 years due to rubbish socialist poliices of Communists and Nehru clan.
RE:Communists still strive in Bengal.
by sunil swain on Sep 22, 2007 04:49 AM Permalink
Bengali's are homeseek and they cheat heavily on kolkota town.But outside they are zero.
by anindya de on Sep 22, 2007 04:41 AM Permalink
When such smart,educated and rich cultural people such a decision and stand by for it for such a long period of time, then you should give rethink about your inttuition on communism. We smart majority bengalis are proud of our decision. Its might be amzing for rest of India and they can bash us for that. Thats their choice. But we do not change our opinion depending on what other people might think or say about us, rather what we find good for ourselves.
by ACM on Sep 22, 2007 04:57 AM Permalink
So what is your take on the communist stand the N-Deal? But for the communist, by now, India would have been busy celebrating the arrival of much need clean energy and unhindered development of our population. Also, please explain why West Bengal, inspite of having such a productive population, and impressive amounts of natural resources not fare as well as progressive Maharashtra or Punjab or half-desert Gujarat?
by abhishek bhattacharya on Sep 22, 2007 06:22 AM Permalink
Do you still remember ENRON? How much they proposed to charge for their electricity? Why Maharashtra govt proposed a subsidy? It was way beyond our capacity. We need clean power, but in an affordable price. Nuclear power is still date the most expensive power. And safety? Why America stopped building N-plants after the 3-mile island incident in 70ties. India should not be blindfolded by America. This country doesn't do charity. And, bengalis support communist party, because they don't support Narendra Modi or Ayodhya.
RE:RE:Communists still strive in Bengal.
by Anuj Kumar Singh on Sep 22, 2007 11:20 AM Permalink
blame, blame blame.. A bengali knows that Calcutta is the best in India and even world. These khadoos are so pocha that one cant imazine. They must accept that today they are the most backward in ideology, wealth and culture also. They need to overhall
by deepak on Sep 22, 2007 05:29 AM Permalink
Bengalis r also very idealistic and easily won over by high sounding communist ideals which like most idealism has humanistic pretenses. Communism has destroyed the Bengali ethos, stripped them of their inherent cultural religious pride and made them confused.
RE:RE:Communists still strive in Bengal.
by Anuj Kumar Singh on Sep 22, 2007 11:21 AM Permalink
A bengali always find the way to sell India in the hand of China
by ASHOK on Sep 22, 2007 11:42 AM Permalink
Anuj >> Pls do not talk rubbish. Right now only problem is Bengal & kerala are in the grip of Commies and Commies are not able to take these states to prosperity. For that Labelling Bengalis or Malyalese is outright wrong
yeah, Kolkata is rocking but u people are shaking ground in other parts of India, The traitor commis are opening gates for terrorists from Bangladesh,In recent news i found that there are more than 1,00,000 bogus ration cards were given to illegal Bangladeshi immigrants and in the border disticts there are more number madarasas than schools and hospitals, I dont know when they understand that they are killing many innocent people in other parts of India.Please all bengalis araise and awake.
RE:Bongs Rock
by VY on Sep 22, 2007 02:46 AM Permalink
yeah, Kolkata is rocking but u people are shaking ground in other parts of India, The traitor commis are opening gates for terrorists from Bangladesh,In recent news i found that there are more than 1,00,000 bogus ration cards were given to illegal Bangladeshi immigrants and in the border disticts there are more number madarasas than schools and hospitals, I dont know when they understand that they are killing many innocent people in other parts of India.Please all bengalis araise and awake.
by Freddie Jason on Sep 22, 2007 12:51 AM Permalink
Rani Mukherjee - India's top most actresss. Satyajith Ray, India's greatest director Amartya Sen, India's greatest Economist and Nobel prize winner Kishore Kumar - India's greatest Singer Sanjeev Kumar - India's greatest actor
by Freddie Jason on Sep 22, 2007 04:30 AM Permalink
Well. I admit my mistake. Sanjeev Kumar is a Gujarati and not Bong, but I still hold my ground and say that he's India's greatest actor. And yes I did leave off a lot of other Bengali names - Bankimchandra Chatterjee, Subash Chandra Bose, Rabindranath Tagore, Rajaram Mohun Roy, , Saratchandra Chatterjee, Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Sharmila Tagore and a host of other names.
And Mr. Singh you are totally wrong. First of all, even though most Bongs love Dada, we are crazy about Sachin Tendulkar (Who is my absolute favorite, and who I think is India's greatest cricketer). And, yes we are a passionate lot, can get a lil over zealous and are lil crazy abt our heritage (In a good way).But believe me, this is our greatest strength and thats what gets us going !!
by VY on Sep 22, 2007 02:43 AM Permalink
also commis India's biggest Traitors, and the people who elected them are also traitors,This commis are opening gates for terrorists from Bangladesh,In recent news i found that there are more than 1,00,000 bogus ratiion cards were given Bangladeshi immigrants and in the border disticts there are more number madarasas than schools and hospitals, I dont know when they understand that they are killing many innocent people in other parts of India.Please all bengalis araise and awake.
by elsen david on Sep 22, 2007 03:16 AM Permalink
Freddie Jason Bangru of Bangla. Sanjeev Kumar was India's greatest actor but was from Gujrat (Hari Bhai) not from Kalakutta.
Rather Kishor Kumar was a great actor also. He always used to call himself from Khandwa, MP, not from WB. Nothing against Bengalis for their Heritage, just wanted to correct here. I am not sure why did you not mention Gurudev Tagore.
by dev singh on Sep 22, 2007 02:59 AM Permalink
Bong never think beyond bengal. They have the superiority complex of being the better race. Can you people answer - why do you call ur state as west bengal? For u bengal, bengali and jyoti basu is every thing. No ganguly no cricket. No Basu no politics No Strike no industry. :-)
RE:RE:Bongs Rock
by yyy on Sep 22, 2007 12:59 AM Permalink
When Calcatta people will think different? They are just sheeps. They just follow what CPM/I does. Communist follow china.
Ganguly was a leader but he has got old. When cannot you guys think or breed a new leader
it shows Bengal is not more state of Tagore,It has become state of sheep .
Once again produce leader not sheep that you have now
by sanchita datta on Sep 22, 2007 01:19 AM Permalink
Is SHEEP yr fav word?u failed miserably to prove your insignificant nonexistent point of view.Try some stronger words...which have some weight.Next time you are writing a post please do keep the dictionary handy.And yes...am a bong and proud to be one...and the achievements of bengalis....and dont give a damn abt wht losers like u have to say.U r a SHEEP...baaaaa baaaaaaaaa!!!
RE:RE:Bongs Rock
by Freddie Jason on Sep 22, 2007 01:11 AM Permalink
I dont care abt your negativity. We Bongs love India. We are passionate about our country, Culture and state. Kyu Baat Badane ki Koshish Kar Raha Hai. Shanth Rakh Vishnu Bhai. Is Turafh mat soch !! Dhanyavaad !!
I think Basu has forgotten communism and with all those comments has proved he is nothing but demented. Its very demeaning and thus he is no better then a traitor to communism.
RE:A Traitor
by Vishnu Sharma on Sep 22, 2007 12:39 AM Permalink
He is far better than you. Who is a traitor to Bharat. At least he saw the light at the end of the tunnel belatedly.
by san man on Sep 22, 2007 04:21 AM Permalink
Basu is corrupt to the core. He's not seen any light, he's only seeing some dollar signs flashing. I support the N-Deal, but I don't support that commie crook Basu. He will always be a traitor to India, even if he supports N-Deal.
by abhishek bhattacharya on Sep 22, 2007 06:35 AM Permalink
Basu is corrupt. But, can you point out how he will be an eternal traitor to India? At least he did not give Pakistan half of Kashmir, as Neheru did.
RE:RE:A Traitor
by Binay Biswas on Sep 22, 2007 08:50 AM Permalink
Dear Mr.Bhattacharyya: If some one has taken Bengal to its worst level---its mr.basu.Because of his poor administration and support, today's driver,conductor dare to slap passengers; because of his patronage the panchayat people all the money in their pocket and does nothing. When they can not take it in pocket--they can not show the expenditure and goes back to central. He has made people spineless, thoughtless, creative activity less, motionless. Bengal people can only how to get mesmarized by looking at other's development,.Its all because of basu.He has turned the whole Bengal's road horrible. The people have become so stagnant in thoughts that they can even swallow a palatable food. Given proposal, they can not accept chemical industry, given money-they can not widen NH-34, given option, they can not make nuclear plan at Haripur. What else these are except mental retardation---all because of Bsau---AS HAS FORECED ALL THE BRAINS TO LEAVE STATAE AND HAS FILLED UP ALL THE OFFICES WITH RUBBISH---WHO even do not know how to move-if not why to move.
No one save---it is loss of 3 generations. Think about these all before supporting him--- Its pathetica that he could all these to them who think they are brilliant in thoughts--He is the GREATEST TRAITOR of Bengal. His adopted children are rulling the State--the gundas, contractors, panchayat leaders, auto-bus illeterate conductors. What a scene--these people are slapping common people and people are digesting--ha! ha! u p
Basu has seen the shifting of the wind - the vast majority of the masses being for the Indo-US N-deal and against the Commies, especially their threat of bringing down the govt and forcing early elections. So to forestall any mass defection of it's cadres and middle-class sympathisers, he's rushed in to change course away from the gathering storm and save the day for the Commies, by proclaiming he too is for the N-deal. Wow, what a hero! He might just leave Yechury, Bardhan, Karat et al 'red-faced'.
RE:Basu for N-deal
by summer on Sep 22, 2007 12:40 AM Permalink
left opposition will fade very soon. I sincerely hope that Mr. Jyoti Busu will soon dismantle Communist Party and declare end of communism in India. He alone is capable of doing it because he is the force keeping communism alive.
by abhishek bhattacharya on Sep 22, 2007 06:40 AM Permalink
Where did you get this idea? Its great. You guys must had a good nationalist discussion in a 'dhaba' while watching Bay Watch or Friends.
by jay krishnan on Sep 22, 2007 12:54 AM Permalink
Is it not possible that Mr. Jyothi Basu is a sincere patriot who made an exception to the communist agenda and endorsed a decision in the best interests of the country ? He made it clear, however, that this is only so the nation can have Nuclear power for industrialization purposes solely and not for backing the foriegn policies of any country nor favour any of its imperialistic agenda. Is it not possible ? Or does everyone have to be an oppurtunist like the Software coolies that are making so much noise on this forum ?
by jay krishnan on Sep 22, 2007 03:07 AM Permalink
Jyothi basu takes directions from China ? you know that's a very low thing to say about a man who has been the grand old man of indian nationalist politics. This shows the quality of your observations and the treatment that should be accorded to them. All of your comments including yourself belong in the garbage can.
RE:RE:Basu for N-deal
by abhishek bhattacharya on Sep 22, 2007 06:44 AM Permalink
Do you wire tap his phone? What else you know about Mr. Basu and China? You should go to tahelka and be malamal.
All should bycott the media and news channels that gives undue importance to minorities. Let them give in genuine cases but not all. Tamilians should bycott DMK in next election as he is doing harm than good to the country. He Karuna nidhi should be booked under TADA and sent to the jail where Sanjaydutt was lodged.
What if kerala and WB were not ruled by Commies? What if India was free of currupion What parties doesnt appease muslims for votes. Imagine the situation and the status of India
RE:What if??
by Indoamerican on Sep 22, 2007 12:00 AM Permalink
Then cant we make small attempt to acheive this and make India a little better than present. Dear fellow Indians. Pleae dont bribe any one or accept bribe. Please buy things that are locally made so that we can improve local buiseness.(As in US) Develop Deshprem (Love for motherland) Please vote and only vote those who are better than todays leaders. Do not vote people who do not care the sentiments and religion of mass and talk nonsense. Make India a better place to live.