Shame on you. This is not expected from an IFS officer of the old school.
Not surprisingly, your conclusions are erroneous as well. Enough nonsense has been written about Iran's 'eastern flank'. Take a look at the map and you will see what really constitutes the eastern flank of Iran.
For General Musharaff or any other Pakistani to try and 'secure the Eastern flank of Iran' is to commit political hara kiri. He is not as big a fool as you appear to be.
RE:The Saudis and Pakistan
by arup ghosh on Sep 20, 2007 03:28 PM Permalink
I think Mr Bhadrakumar is right. I would however not believe that Pakistan would be in a position to attack iran under any circumstances. Because if that is the case then Iran would fuel the Shia-Sunni fight and that would result in a civil war in pakistan which musharraf doe snot want in any circumstance. He has enough on his plate. What Musharaff might try is that he might push the militants towards Iran and try to get them there as that would loosen up the pressure that is put on him by US. Musharaff also knows that his existence and support from US will be there till there is a need for him. What probably will happen is that Musharaff might try to prolong the current process to extend his term as president in pakistan
by DM on Sep 20, 2007 03:25 PM Permalink
Mr. Rao you need to learn some etiquettes. How can you just abuse someone and that too for no reason. I don't think the article would have offended you so much unless you are an Iranian or Saudi.
Before you comment on Mr Bhadrakumar's English please check yours. Lynchpin and Linchpin are both acceptable and check any dictionary you want to.
by KrishnaPrasad Bhat on Sep 27, 2007 02:41 PM Permalink
Rao, Mr. Bhadrakumar was a Indian ambassador to Turkey and also to some Central asian country. He has tremendous knowledge on Foreign affairs than somebody like you. Be responsible when you want to abuse somebody. Very bad of you.
by Hemanth Pallavajula on Sep 20, 2007 05:40 PM Permalink
Claps Claps Claps....for DM
Rao, Go through the depth of thought process put in by Sri Bhadrakumar. I will say Exemplary. And lets respect that. Until reading this article, I only thought, Pakistan and Saudi Arabia have jointly took the decision to deport Mr.Sharif back to SA.
by Ashok Rao on Sep 21, 2007 07:18 PM Permalink
DM and Hemanth P:
Kindly go though the map available at this URL: http://maps.google.com/maps?tab=wl
and you will see that over 50% of the eastern flank of Iran is Afghanistan.
On the Pakistan side, you will also observe that the eastern flank includes the NWFP and the Baluchistan area, where the Pakistani military has been forced to a grinding halt.
Now tell me, even if you are not a military expert: What do you think are the chances of Pakistan being able to do anything on the eastern flank of Iran? Are the chances greater than zero, and if so, why?
Will they provide air bases for US aircraft? the US doesn't need those, they already have five carrier battle groups in the Gulf.
One wold expect a Pakistan expert like Bhadrakumar to do at least this much basic research before shooting off an essay. But alas.....
RE:RE:MESSAGE Vikramajeet Choudhary
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 11:58 AM Permalink
AND HE WAS MARRIED TO HER BY HER APPROVAL AND DID YOU KNOW YOU IDIOT NUT HEAD THAT HE GOT MARRIED TO HER AT 9 AND SHE WAS SEND TO HIS HOME AT THE DAY AGE OF 13
RE:RE:RE:MESSAGE Vikramajeet Choudhary
by Hemant on Sep 20, 2007 12:15 PM Permalink
now you know who is the child rapist. How someone at 9 would know about marriage??, You stupid
It goes without saying that all dirty linen of the islamic world is being passed around. Its a shame to mankind who on one side have the advantage of the 21st century with great strides in science and technology which could benefit every living being on earth while on the other end absurd five to ten centuries old ideas and thoughts are forcefully implemented. Saudi Arabia for one is to be blamed for many of the predicaments which the asian world is presently facing though it is part of Asia. It seems there is no fear of the almighty any more be it a small man on the streets or the custodian of the two holy mosques. It is definitely an indication of worse days we all will encounter in the next few years. The axis of evil will enmasse bring chaos and disaster in our neighbourhood. Hopefully good sense will prevail soon after and mankind will never ever make the same mistakes under the name of religion.
RE:Disgusting indeed...!!!
by Arunkumar on Sep 20, 2007 11:29 AM Permalink
caspian !!! Learn to respect other religions. Country (motherland) and humanity are above all religions. Don't provoke religious belief, every religion has brighter and darker sides. Learn this for a peaceful existence for self and coming generation.
by ganajivenmanraj seven on Sep 20, 2007 11:28 AM Permalink
What a way to express anger.... do it in abundance here in the forum so that all know where your arguments stand. You have a false idea about the 21st century though you would have done well in the 14th century. God bless you in abundance.
by jayasimha on Sep 20, 2007 10:57 AM Permalink
you have idol breakers--we have breakers of dilaphitated structures--so we are even--dont crib.Rest of the stuff is pure crap
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 10:59 AM Permalink
DEAR GANAJIV WHAT A FUNNY NAME.. WHY DONT YOU BOTHER ABOUT WHAT IS HAPPENING IN YOUR COUNTRY THEN TO POKE IN OTHERS MATTERS. INDIA HAS THE PROBLEM OF ULFA NAXALITIES SEPRATIST MOVEMENT IN TAMIL NADU MAHARASTRA WE DONT KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING IN ARUNACHAL PRADESH MIZORAM . LTTE, AND GOD KNOW HOW MANY GROUPS AND ALSO THE PROBLEM OF KASHMIR. YOU DONT WANT THAT AND WANT TO TALK ABOUT SAUDI ARABIA AND OTHER COUNTRIES. FIRST SEE AT YOUR BACK AND THEN GO AND LOOK AT OTHERS .. GARBAGE HYPOCRITE
RE:RE:Disgusting indeed...!!!
by ganajivenmanraj seven on Sep 20, 2007 11:31 AM Permalink
heheheheh that's a good one indeed. All problems you mention are menifestation of the original problem which origins in Saudi Arabia. You know it along with all my countrymen. God bless you too as the problems very soon will be next to your feet. Cry foul then...
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 11:33 AM Permalink
WELL YOU ARE STILL AVOIDING THE PROBLEM IN YOUR COUNTRY AND TALK ABOUT OTHERS... LTTE ORIGINATED FROM SAUDI ULFA FROM SAUDI NAXALITES FROM SAUDI YOU R DAY DREAMING OR IN A FANTACY LAND..
by ganajivenmanraj seven on Sep 20, 2007 12:12 PM Permalink
Mr. Tan, Its good that you accept our co- existance and contributions to national goals. You may also accept that we Indians are presently doing good with proper use of 21st century knowledge and technology. This may also put into your angered narrow minded head some logic that the day may not be far when arabs, including the ones from saudi seek employment here. Begging for your information is big business just outside the two holy mosques too. Please do check the credentials of the beggars there. You will be overwhelmed with shock. High time you discuss things here in the forum with a cool head.
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 12:46 PM Permalink
Well it seems your head is twisted as is not is the place were it is suppose to be .. you hindu hypocrites play this game .. first you said muslims of india are loyal to pakistan.. and when i told about contribution you now jump to saudi asking employment in india. well if saudi do that then it will be a great country as they will competiting with indians who are very brilliant for jobs here. As far as poverty goes yes there are beggers in saudi who are illeterate but was is not for saudi many indians educated people would be beggers ..
by ganajivenmanraj seven on Sep 20, 2007 11:45 AM Permalink
Many of the outlawed organizations you mention have definitely no connections visible as yet with Saudi Arabia. Nevertheless, all religious rivalry between Hindus and Muslims in India has a helping hand from Saudi Arabia. We in India should be Indians first rather then bent on religious orientations. Have we not co existed from time immortal??? You have to accept things which are common knowledge, please do keep your mind open Mr.Tan. It will do you a lot of good along with the people who discuss in the forum here.
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 12:00 PM Permalink
WHO THE HELL TOLD YOU WE ARE NOT INDIAS . IT WAS A MUSLIM WHO GAVE YOU MISSILE TECHNOLOGY AND NUCLEAR BOMB ABDUL KALAM. IT WAS MUSLISM WHO GAVE YOU CULTURE. AND FOR YOUR TWISTED HEAD INFORMATION THERE ARE MORE HINDUS WORKING IN SAUDI AND SENDING A HUGE FOREIGN EXCHAGE... OK AND IT WAS NOT FOR SAUDHI HINDUS LIKE YOU WOULD BE BEGGIN OUTSIDE YOUR MANDIR
RE:RE:RE:Disgusting indeed...!!!
by rangaswamy soundararajan on Sep 20, 2007 11:16 AM Permalink
Mr Tan - we cannot remain to what is heppening around us, particularly in Pak and beyond, as these things do have an impact on the common man in our country, i.e. India. See what happened East Pakistan. Though it was purely an internal matter between pak (W) and Pak (E), ultimately when the situation became worse, millkions took shelter in India, increasing the financial burden and we the common men had to pay through nose in the form of additional tax etec. Therefore, we cannnot remain aloof in this shrinking world.
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 11:30 AM Permalink
ok who orchestrated the division of east pakistan . RAHUL GANDHI OPENLY STATED THAT HIS PARTY HAD ORCHESTRATED THE DIVISION. SO NOW WHEN YOU DONE IT THEN YOU PAY FOR IT... AND DONT HAVE A STUPID MENTALLITY FOR DIGGING THE PAST AND THINK OF THE PRESENT.. YOU SOLVE YOUR PROBLEMS OF INSURGENCY AND THEN TALK ABOUT OTHERS... AND BESIDES SAUDI HAS DONE A FAVOUR BY NOT DIVIDING PAKISTAN OR ELSE YOU WOULD HAVE MORE REFUGEES HEADED TOWARDS INDIA ....
by howisthat on Sep 20, 2007 11:45 AM Permalink
@tan
how funny u advice others to worry abt india ...lol ... why is that ur brethren nut cases run like rats and shout and protest for some unknow palestenines and dictator saddam hussain ???? .... speak abt hypocrazy --we mhave stupid muslims
RE:RE:RE:Disgusting indeed...!!!
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 12:05 PM Permalink
WE LEARNED FROM YOU WHEN YOU STARTED TO TALK ABOUT HINDUS IN AFGANISTAN AND PAKISTAN ... YOU HINDUS ARE THE REASON FOR ALL THE PROBLEMS YOU ARE THE ONE WHO CREATE PROBLEM AND THEN KEEP QUITE AND SEE.. AND ALSO INDIVIDUAL HAS GOT THE RIGHT TO EXPRESS HIS OPINION AND SO WE PROTEST PALESTINAIN AND SADDAM HUSSAIN YOU HINDUS HAD SPECIAL RELATIONSHIP WITH HIM WERE ELSE WE MUSLIMS OF INDIA WERE AGAINST HIM ... YOU SEND MEDICINES AND FOOD TO HIM WHILE HE WAS UNDER US SANCTIONS... HYPROCRITE HINDU
by RoseMatrix on Sep 20, 2007 12:54 PM Permalink
when muzzies like tan cant argue, they simply cry foul. get a life muzzy tan !!
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 12:48 PM Permalink
yes truth hurts and that it is YOU ARE PURE PEOPLE WHO SPONSOR TERRORIST ... NARENDAR MODI ETC.. I WILL KEEP IT UP AS YOU HYPOCRITES ARE SPREADING FALSE INFORMATION IN THIS BLOG AND DIVIDING INDIA AND MAKING INDIA WEEK. BUT I WANT TO HAVE A STRONG AND UNITED INDIA ...
by ganajivenmanraj seven on Sep 21, 2007 09:56 AM Permalink
Tan!!! U go out there in Saudi and take a good tan on your body as well as soul. Your ideas of India as well as your fellowmen are warped. It means you need to reread Indian history. Showing off your unabated anger here does not prove anything. Just look at your language...its outright 'Disgusting Indeed', God save you and your kind. It would do a lot of good to India if you pack your baggage and go on a holy pigrimage to your holy lands. It will be win win situation for both you and me. Adios!!!!
by sameer on Sep 20, 2007 06:18 PM Permalink
well said TAn,Muslims gave India thier golden period,thier TAJ MAHAL,Thier Biryani (Cuisine),dressing sense,Poetry(Ghalib)
by Sumit Dutta on Sep 20, 2007 12:51 PM Permalink
regarding culture, India is the land of Indus Valley Civilization whihc build cities with town planning 5500 years back,so our culture dates back to atleast 5500 years!!have you heard of Homi Jehangir Bhava after whom the BARC is named..that'll give you an idea of the history of our nuclear bomb.The ULFA and the naxalites have training camps in mostly Bangaldesh which receive funding from Pakistan/Saudi Arabia.There are only a few organizations all over the world that opnely support riots and terrorists activities and that is Bin Laden and Co. and they claim responsibility fro the majority of such operations.The invaders from central Asia took advantage of the infighting amongst the indian rulers of that time and did incalculable damage to our nation for 7 centuries.How mnay Indians do you have working(not begging..the govt. does not permit a hindu to sit and beg out there) in Saudi and how many illegal Bangladeshi immigrant do you have in Bengal begging and indulging in thieving?
by tan on Sep 20, 2007 02:46 PM Permalink
OK YOU INDUS VALLEY ALSO PROVIDED SHIVA LINGAM AND SEX AS KAMA SUTRA SATI WAS PROVIDED BY INDUS VALLY WAS BARC ALIVE WHEN INDIA EXPLODED THE FIRST NULCEAR AND POKRAN II. WHEN MISSILE DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM STATED IT WAS KALAM..WHY DID THEY MAKE A MUSLIM HEAD OF THE MOST SENSITIVE ORGANIZATION IN INDIA... AS FAR AS YOUR STUPID RHEOTORIC IS CONCERNED ABOUT TRAINING CAMPS THERE IS NO VISUAL PROOF OR IF AT ALL JUST LIKE YOU THEORY OF RAMA AND HIS SETHU AND THE LIES ABOUT YOUR RELIGION SAME ARE THESE CLAIMS OF TERRORIST CAMPS... NO PROOF. AND YOU HINDUS... AS FAR AS BANGLADESH IMMIGRATNS ARE CONCERNED WHY DIDNT YOU STOP THEM ..WHO ASKED YOU TO LET THEM IN.. NOW I WILL TELL YOU HOW THEY CAME INSIDE BY BRIDING INDIAN ARMY SOLDIERS... AND AS FAR AS MOGULS ARE CONCERNED THEY GAVE YOU CULTURE OF BUNCH OF PEOPLE WHO WERE DRINKING COWS URINE.. THEY BUILD STRUCTURES LIKE TAJ MAHAL YOU TWISTED MORON
All countries are ruled by people who have huge political and power ambitions and want absolute power to bring about destruction to satisfy their own inadequacies. All this missiles and arms and wars are nothing but games of ambitious people to get more power casualty is always innocent civilians. As a common man I just want to lead a normal happy life and if some egomaniacs ambition is causing me trouble to hell with that person.