Total 6129 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 66 | 67 | 68 | 69 | 70   Older >   >>
Well said Mike
by Milind on Sep 16, 2007 11:48 AM  Permalink 

Inspite of your Christian upbringing, your knowledge of Hinduism is very impressive. People like you re-confirm our faith in our tolerence.

It appears that you have taken pains to understand Hindu religion and our way of life. Hinduism is a way of life. Muslims and Christians who look at the world with myopic eyesight will not understand it.

It is very easy to bash other religion. It takes courage to understand their faith and see where it stands.

I guess only a Hindu will say this: Continue to be a good Christian or a good Muslim. And you will automatically become a Hindu. We wont try to convert you because Hinduism is a thought process. Not a religion. The word "Dharma" which is closes to religion means "Duty"

Denying Harry Potter is denying UK?
by JB on Sep 16, 2007 11:36 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Imagine in 5000 yrs some people fight over Harry Potter...arguing if he really existed or not. And someone from UK writes an article 'Denying Harry Potter is denying UK"..

A hundred people write comments and argue and fight with one another on that subject. A few millions of people spend their time and effort debating on that nationwide.

That's what's happening now. If Valmiki was alive today he'd be laughing at everyone... or may be feel sorry for all the Hindus.

RE:Denying Harry Potter is denying UK?
by maranare nambi on Sep 16, 2007 07:04 PM  Permalink
great rama's existence is part of what our heritage (even though we speak different languages)all over India.it is not being talked about only in valmeki ramayana but also in lot of other sources in all the indian languages. so this harry potter book comparison looks more like the mentality of the ASI directors affidavit in SC. hope rama's curse does not reach u

by Milind on Sep 16, 2007 12:04 PM  Permalink
JB,

Read my posting above to Mike. Your comparison is silly and naive. Harry Potter is not Maryada Purshottam Ram. He will remain Hary Potter and his popularity will not last 5000 years. He does magic tricks which impress kids. Understanding Ram Avtar is very complex. Inspite of being a noble human being, he was unfair to wife Sita since that came in the way of his Justice to a Dhobi (washerman). This is not a Hindi movie hero who is a perfect son, lover, husband, brother, citizen etc. Real life is more complex and we need maturity to differentiate between good and bad.

RE:RE:Denying Harry Potter is denying UK?
by swapnil patil on Sep 16, 2007 02:31 PM  Permalink
ha....
so much for christians having broad view of others,,,,

its the christain right which killed millions of Hinuds , muslims , Jews, etc etc etc,,,,

they have done more genocides than the likes of hitler, aurangazeb ever did,,,

but all bloody useless hindus still hold the white skin in high regard..

coz for us if a white man says somehting it is always right....

its the christain right which is bombed Iraq out of moderninty ( and threw out the most moderate Islamic ruler saddam) and plunged iraq into chaos...

just for oil

next is iran ...for more ouil

and same is with teh sethusamudram project....
it will take out the Thorium sands of India and make it vulnerable by making those waters international waters....

what abt ecologoical friendliness....

and if ram setu can be destroyed, why not just raze all churches and mosques ( temples will be destroyed anyway) also to ground and do farming on the land...thats a productive use..

by JGN on Sep 16, 2007 01:09 PM  Permalink
Mr. JB, please visit www.postiveatheism.org and The Necessity of Atheism by Dr. D.M. Brooks available at www.gutenberg.org You will get information regarding the atrocities committed by the followers of other religions also. When criticizing, be impartial. No use deriding only Hindus.

Denying Ram Is denying India; Ram setu; Minority reservation.
by Kamlesh Shah on Sep 16, 2007 11:19 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I thik there is a wellplanned programme goimg on by some other relegious leaders & some political parties such as Congress/ left,/dmk etc. getting benefit of soft nature of Hindus & try to disregard Hindus by pinching often & often , forced majorities to accept it. This is also supported by some electronic & print media who always wrongly praise western countries thoughts. This is serious. But please note that Majorities have some limit of tolerance & when it reaches that limits, resulting as what happened in 2001 in Gujarat. Thus this is very serious & try to avide it. Otherwisw big gap will be created between two different religion communities, creating untrust between them & chances of major conflicts & violence. Plese wake up public & make a big loud voice over such dividing people activities.

By any way , indian culture & Hindu relegion is thousands of year old & it cannot be vanished, because Truth always expose itself & this is a truth.

RE:Denying Ram Is denying India; Ram setu; Minority reservation.
by Jeffrey Mittal on Sep 16, 2007 11:34 AM  Permalink
Look at what Karunanidhi just said.

You wonder what the grand plan is.

Of course, anything that Vajpayee says is labeled "fundamentlist" or radical but hitting at the core of Hindu beliefs is OK.

What a farce. Jsut posting messages does not work. Look and learn from the missionaries-they are willing to spend so much time and effort to sell a story.

What do the Hindus give back like the Smemtic religions?

Ask yourself this, try to reflect honestly, then become inspired and start locally.

Just posting messages on a board won't do it.

Listen to what Swami Viveakanada and many others have been trying to tell you.

Jai Hind

RE:RE:Denying Ram Is denying India; Ram setu; Minority reservation.
by JB on Sep 16, 2007 11:43 AM  Permalink
You think you can make Hindus to be 'missionaries? First thing, most Hindus dont know what their beliefs are. They have no clue who their god is, they bow to any god that looks like a hindu god...what can they teach to other people?

second thing, most Hindus are just selfish and care for only things that matter to them. Whatever others do or dont do, doenst matter to them. That's the reason for the sorry state of India...because nobody cares.

They are good in talking , good in debating and good in posting messages, and that's what u'll get from them. Good luck..!!!

by Jeffrey Mittal on Sep 16, 2007 11:58 AM  Permalink
Your observations have truth in them.

I cannot make them "missionaries" because Sanatana Dharma is not based on the concept of guilt or "sin".

For them to do something for their fiath or to have a "mission" is something that they have to do.

I agree talk ic heap and a cheap way out.

Any measure of success requires effort.

I believe that Sanatana Dharma is worth it and wil continue till the end of my life to stirve to realise my own true self and welcome you to start your own journey, free form Dogma.

Wherever you go , leave the world a better place than you found it

by Govindan on Sep 16, 2007 12:38 PM  Permalink
Great! It is evident that you are inspired by Sanatana Dharma,which propounds the Eternal Truth.I would like to be in touch with you. Do contact me at: knn_1981@yahoo.com

by JB on Sep 16, 2007 12:31 PM  Permalink
I wonder how many hindus know the meaning of what you call 'santana dharma'...but if that's ur beliefs, than good luck...at least you know what you believe in

by Milind on Sep 16, 2007 12:18 PM  Permalink
JB,

I feel sorry for you JB. Dont be brainwashed. Your eyes and ears are open. But your mind is closed. Hindus dont think it is their "mission" to convert others to Hinduism. Actually conversion to Hinduism is meanigless. Mother Theresa though she was doing a religious duty by helping the lepers and trying to convert them to Christianity. Baba Amte, who also worked for Lepers (including his 2 sons who are doctors) did not have the compulsion of conversion and popularity which was a need for Mother Theresa. This is a good comparison between the schools of thought.

It is very easy to bash other religions. It takes courage to understand their faith and see where it stands.

I guess only a Hindu will say this: Continue to be a good Christian or a good Muslim. And you will automatically become a Hindu. We wont try to convert you because Hinduism is a thought process. Not a religion. The word "Dharma" which is closes to religion means "Duty"

RE:RE:Denying Ram Is denying India; Ram setu; Minority reservation.
by JB on Sep 16, 2007 12:36 PM  Permalink
I understand your good intention and I appreciate it. Technically it's impossible to convert someone to Hinduism, because the caste system is the backbone of Hinduism. If you convert someone to Hinduism, what caste will he be?

RE:RE:RE:Denying Ram Is denying India; Ram setu; Minority reservation.
by Govindan on Sep 16, 2007 12:53 PM  Permalink
Vedas and Puranas do not advocate caste system,which was contrived and devised by the British to 'divide and rule' Indians.The rulers who took over from the British also found this a profitable ruse and till date these unscrupulous politicians are continuing to divide the people along 'caste' and 'communal'
lines. What is the logic of reservation for non-Hindus? Nobody will oppose reservation on economic criteria,without caste and communal distinction.But these filthy politicians are taking advantage of the secularism in this country and misusing it to hit tolerant Hindus.How long will Hindus tolerate this onslaught?Christists and islamists are compounding the problem for Hindus.

by JB on Sep 17, 2007 01:36 AM  Permalink
RE:RE:RE:Denying Ram Is denying India; Ram setu; Minority reservation.
by Govindan on Sep 16, 2007 12:53 PM

I believe you call yourself a Hindu because you are born in a Hindu family. Other than that, I dont think you have much knowledge of Hinduism.

In Ramayana, there was a Sudra, a lower caste man called Sambuka. Do you know why Rama slained him with his sword? I guess not, else you would not say that the caste system was invention of British ( where did you go to school by the way?)

Rama slained Sambuka because he was offering penances to reach the gods. He did not want a Sudra to offer penenaces and reach gods. So he slained him and the gods from the heavens cried out "Thou hast protected the interests of the Gods, O Highly Intelligent Prince, now ask a boon, O beloved Offspring of Raghu, Destroyer of Thy Foes. By thy grace, this Shudra will not be able to attain heaven!'""

by Mansi on Sep 16, 2007 01:53 PM  Permalink
I disagree with absence of caste system in Hinduism. Its present at least from the times of Valmiki who was supposed to be lower caste, well a couple of characters in Ramayana are supposed to be.

Reservations are a ugly topic - they are bad for most of us. However in some places, even in this very age lower caste is troubled. Look at your maid, or any help you get. In developed countries you'd not have maids at home, and thats the goal too.

About reservation based on "economic well-being": I bet politians like it better because they get votes from poors which is majority, compared to that of minorities.

However, it is difficult to enforce it, and spell the law too. You can magically get poorer for one year before your medical admission (or for that matter few years). Go figure, but still richer-class is at advantage. At time of getting jobs and admissions, you'll be poorer than your help.

The real economics about the Ram Sethu
by Jeffrey Mittal on Sep 16, 2007 10:40 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This is a cut and paste from someone who is in this line of work.

An economic analysis of theis project

" Even though they blast off the whole structure, NONE of commercial ship can

pass though it. This ship would be coming again in same route -encircling Sri

Lanka.

- The economic returns will be not equalized even in 80-90 years to the

investment made till now.. as it can only pass small boats and steamers

- The ecological hazard will be more than any return in your national interest

as it will devastate the sea ecology. That can not be undo in any case.

- The digging ship which was bought from Holland is damaged which cost 200

million $ as rock structure is not oceanic

- Kerala will be exposed to Tsunami waves, it was ram setu, which protected it..

And at last but not least- Its matter of faith. Let me ask you a simple question

- would you allow to dig a oil well if petroleum found at Kaba?? though Oil well

can be more in national interest of Saudi Arabia.

For more insights read Indian Express dated 14th Sept. 2007, Hindustan (Hindi)

and Mint of 13th Sept. 2007. You can find how this proposed project is not

feasible from economic point of view as well."

I have been working on the Ram Setu since last two years from Remote Sensing and

GIS perspective. One can manipulate common population using technical jargons as

someone quoted NASA on the age determination of Ram Setu. Of course one can

not decide the age of rock, but the str

RE:The real economics about the Ram Sethu
by Jeffrey Mittal on Sep 16, 2007 10:45 AM  Permalink
Cont'd

I have been working on the Ram Setu since last two years from Remote Sensing and

GIS perspective. One can manipulate common population using technical jargons as

someone quoted NASA on the age determination of Ram Setu. Of course one can

not decide the age of rock, but the structure, formation, association and

visual interpretation can always be done. And this is where remote sensing is

concern.

- On the basis of remote sensing principles and image analysis my study found

that this structure is man made.

- It is constructed on the basic bridge making rules

- Ram Setu is best example of cross channel bridge as it is designed sustain the

waves and tsunami current, which are frequent in Bay of Bengal.

So this is from a person who works in the field.

So, what the non-Hindus on this board are trying to use a logic or"economic sense" to justify destroying what is importantto the Hindus is debunked.

But I am sure that this won't make the pseudo-secular media headlines.

I am also sure that the machinery for making another foray to kick the Hindus will now think up something new.

We will see what is the next attack on Sanatan Dharma.

by Jeffrey Mittal on Sep 16, 2007 11:01 AM  Permalink
I did neglect to mention that there is some economic benefit-

1. To Karunanidhi and his minions, who will make crores form the government projects using tax payer money.

2. To the traitors who want to waeken India by "buying" technology - vis a vis _ "Bofors"

he money can go straight to the Swiss accounts.

3. Helping our mssionary friends, by who grace the next victims of a Tsunami will be "saved". This does bring a lot of money into India as funds flow in to help these sinners..

4. Of course the ruling UPAA gets its cut so that they can try to buy votes for the next election.

Yes sir, it looks like a master stroke for Ms. Gandhi as mentioned by the author.

The Hindus will soon forget till the next attack comes in the form of a "terrorist attack or an attack on the faith.

We also have some people o this bord tring to show how clever they are by ashing "what species di Hanuman belong to-the simple answer is "Do you know how many species lived and extincted bfore your pathetic life on this earth?"

Now for a deeper meaning, Hanuman represents the monkey in all of us -our minds-which is always jumping as a monkey from here to ther. His life in its steadfastness, stregnth and devotion show what can be acheived by Dedication to ahigher cause, represened by Shree Rama.

I don't have the time to bicker with these types but rest assured EVERY thing in the Rmayana has a superficial meaning for these "clever" epople and much deeper meaning for the true seeker

by Jeffrey Mittal on Sep 16, 2007 11:09 AM  Permalink
I figured as I ma already into this I put some food for thought for the Hindus reading this.

As Swami Vivekanada said " arise and awake" my fellow Hindus.

Would any other faith tolerate this?

The Indian Media is filled with Hindu Bashers, including this site.

So, what can you do?

First BE INVOLVED - not only in posting messages but at the local level, including politics, which has been hijcaked by these pseudo-seculars(read anti Hindu or anti Sanatana Dharma)

You can sit by, watch and get rolled over or you can stand up for your rights and take back waht is rightfully yours. There will be dangers and challenges. Are you upto it?

2. Instead of following usual (money making) careers such as software, get into jouranlism, even the Indian Beaurocracy to make true changes, which make Indian culture as great as it is. Tolerance is NOT weakness neither is it allowing ourselves to be bullied.

3. Further, as some one mentioned, at least get a basic understanding of the philosohical basis of Sanatana Dharma. There are plenty of resources on the web.

I want to warn you, it does take some effort and time.

Above all, take the energy you have built up from reading this and help your fellow man, who believes in the same faith.

An excellent rsource for understanding the deeper meaning of the great Ramayana is

http://www.advaita-vedanta.org/articles/vedantic_significance_in_ramayana.htm

Arm yourself with knowledge, Be like Hanuman-strong and steadfast.

Satellite view of Ram Setu
by on Sep 16, 2007 10:26 AM  Permalink 

Satellite view of Ram Setu
Dear friends i found close up satellite view of Ramsetu on http://livewikimapia.com/ramsetu
Very nice photos... just check out u will like it.

Ram - The truth, belief, way of life
by Anuj Kumar Singh on Sep 16, 2007 10:11 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Manmohan done N issue a great thing but on other hand you cannot ignore the religious issue. Our PM is a great economist but there are few other things that exists in the world and more stronger then economics, money and politics. That is society and culture. India is a country for religion at known for its great culture. Being a Hindu, I cannot accept continuously attacks on my religion. It is a matter of faith. You cannot disapprove that there was no Rama, a person, idol for Hindu civilization. Hindu belief a god. Everything cannot be materialistic.Then there would be no meaning of parent, elders and society and even humanity. I dont see any cause to blame BJP because this party always supported development and US centric. But Hinduism is not a thing that can be ignored always. "Hinduism is a way of life-M.Radhakrishnan". This great culture follows Ram and don't attack any other religion and believe in Karma. You cannot ignore this matter saying this was a mistake of some ASI people and can't apploud government for an agreement done with a country.Can one Would support destruction of Jama Masjid or Swarn Mandir for easing traffic and building MNCs in Delhi?

I don't understand why everybody starts blaming Hindu religion. Can these politician say same for other religion?

Nuclear issue is a great step towards development and peace. People should vote based on their judgement. Ofcourse, Lefties decision is desasterous for our country.

RE:Ram - The truth, belief, way of life
by ks sk on Sep 16, 2007 10:16 AM  Permalink
THis is a better info!!! for U

7)Origin of Islam-Mecca-kaaba

http://www.salagram.net/VWH-Kaaba.html

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-3107668723792236207 &q=kaaba vagina&total=3&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=1

http://www.salagram.net/VWH-World.html < BR>http://www.stephen-knapp.com/photographic_evidence_of_vedic_influence.htm

For whom do you speak
by Hans Solo on Sep 16, 2007 10:04 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

"Ram defines our nation, our ancestry, our civilisation"

Go and check that with a South Indian or a North-Eastern or even in West India.

Don't push such absurd ideas about nationalism, or civilizations. If deities started defining a nation then India has over a million Gods / Goddess.

As for "Gandhi died with Ram's name on his lips." this is a Congress promoted Myth which u so heartily accept and reject everything other stuffs which Congress did.

RE:For whom do you speak
by JB on Sep 16, 2007 11:52 AM  Permalink
You are right, for someone from south India rama wouldnt mean anything other than a nice story. For them Murugan or Iyyappan might mean more.

People like Tarun and his supporters only speak for a few brahmins in north India, and there are a whole bunch of people who dont realize that and follow the idea.

Ram is one millionth part of the wide array of hindu beliefs and gods. Ram in no way defines Indian nationality or ancestry or culture or whatever in any way. This is just a propaganda by some fundamentalists

by Govindan on Sep 16, 2007 01:14 PM  Permalink
Dont test the patience of Hindus.Christists like you have contributed to the ill-will now brewing in the society between communities.On top of that,you are buying the mercenary politicians to give you reservations.

by ks sk on Sep 16, 2007 10:39 AM  Permalink
IF U ARE A CHRISTAIN CHECK THIS:-
6)Truth about Christanity-Jesus-BBC documentary
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-849559218520536481&q=bbc documentary jesus India&total=5&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=0
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5 728073007653123366&q=bbc documentary jesus India&total=5&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=1
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=- 1023236085851663386&q=bbc documentary jesus India&total=5&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=2
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=- 6317904024927739883&q=jesus lived in india&total=146&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=6
http://personalpages.tds.net/~theseeker /Abraham.htm
IF U R A MUSLIM CHECK THIS
1)http://www.salagram.net/VWH-Kaaba.html
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-31076687237922362 07&q=kaaba vagina&total=3&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=1
2)http://www.salagram.net/VWH-World.html
3)http://www.stephen-knapp.com/photographic_evidence_of_vedic_influence.htm

TO cfhhhh dgdgg
by ks sk on Sep 16, 2007 09:54 AM  Permalink 

IF U ARE A CHRISTAIN CHECK THIS:-

6)Truth about Christanity-Jesus-BBC documentary

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-849559218520536481&q=bbc documentary jesus India&total=5&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=0

http://video.google.com/videoplay?doci d=5728073007653123366&q=bbc documentary jesus India&total=5&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=1

http://video.google.com/videoplay?doci d=-1023236085851663386&q=bbc documentary jesus India&total=5&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=2

http://video.google.com/videoplay?doci d=-6317904024927739883&q=jesus lived in india&total=146&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=6

http://personalpages.tds.net/~thesee ker/Abraham.htm

IF U R A MUSLIM CHECK THIS

1)http://www.salagram.net/VWH-Kaaba.html

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-31076687237 92236207&q=kaaba vagina&total=3&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=1

2)http://www.salagram.net/VWH-World.h tml

3)http://www.stephen-knapp.com/photographic_evidence_of_vedic_influence.htm

Total 6129 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 66 | 67 | 68 | 69 | 70   Older >   >>