Total 201 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Definitely India has the freedom
by MOHAN PYARE on Nov 28, 2007 07:02 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Definitely India has the freedom to conduct nuclear tests. We have no doubt about that Mr.PM. The issue is what is the cost involved. Assume that India set up nuclear plants with a total capacity of say, 25000MW. This will cost us nothing less than 2 lakh crores. Then if we go for a nuclear test, USA will impose sanctions on us as they did in 1998.That means we will not get the spares and the uranium fuel for those reactors. What will happen then? You will have to shut down the plants. All those industries which rely on the 25,000MW power from those plants will go without power. The consequences will be disastrous.

RE:Definitely India has the freedom
by chanti on Nov 28, 2007 07:37 PM  Permalink
you are more clever than our PM. You try next time to become PM.

Nuclear deal
by Abhishek Mukherjee on Nov 28, 2007 06:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The fuel deposit in India are alarmingly low. The uranium ore concentrate used is very lean. Hence in the long term usage of nuclear power you have to either import uranium fuel or can use alternate fuel (mainly thorium ) technology which is far from mature. In these circumstances striking a deal with the superpower which mainly controls the IAEA in a big way can help in India getting undisturbed fuel supply. The agreement thus becomes necessity for continuation of nuclear power in India. The harmful implications of the deal are too technical in fine print which our beloved politicians can understand. Hence the debate of going into the deal should be done with skilled personnel who have adequate knowledge of nuclear energy.

RE:Nuclear deal
by adrgdr on Nov 28, 2007 06:58 PM  Permalink
What percent of Indias fuel needs are dependent on Nuclear Fuel? Would you pl explain?

RE:Nuclear deal
by MOHAN PYARE on Nov 28, 2007 07:11 PM  Permalink
Total installed capacity in our country today is 1,37,000 MW. In the next 10 years we have to add another 1,00,000 MW to this capacity. It can be from coal based plants, nuclear plants, hydel plants, wind based plants, solar power plants or a combination of these. The most abundant source in India is coal. The question is how much coal based power plants can be added without causing serious environmental problems like acid rains. Acid rain is already a serious issue in China.

one more way to divert attention
by andupandu khan on Nov 28, 2007 06:55 PM  Permalink 

Dr Singh government ( Sorry its Italian Government) is a big failure. Gov doesn't have any agenda / plans. For pro-congress,ask yourself one question- does your AAM AADMI really happy and comfortable?

necular test
by MAHENDRA on Nov 28, 2007 06:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Mr Pm will ur big brother allow

RE:necular test
by MOHAN PYARE on Nov 28, 2007 07:15 PM  Permalink
Bachha shaitani zaroor kar sakta hai.Magar, pithai nahi khayega iska koi guarantee nahi hai.

Congress & BJP Alliance
by MadhuSudanGopal Rao on Nov 28, 2007 06:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In the larger interests, of the People, Country, the current issues and various other factors, Can the think-tank of both the parties sit down, brainstorm and possibly think of an Alliance which would eliminate all the regional parties of Devegowda, Mayawati, Jayalalitha and work for the Common Man. Let BJP shed the religion issue (behave a national party) and Let Congress shed culture of appeasing the minorities. I feel both these issues are linked to each other. If one of them is resolved, the other is gone.
Rediff viewers....Your thoughts please

RE:Congress & BJP Alliance
by John. P. Patrick on Nov 28, 2007 08:35 PM  Permalink
Read as a "Non Indian", to feel an "Indian".

Congress
--------
(-)
"little worked (Am Admi) policy",
"little worked (Garibi Hattao)",
"mostly Nehru dynasty rule",
"Reservation in any form",
"Riots-Punjab/Kashmir",
"alledged Weapons scandal",
"Other scandals"

( )
"Open Market",
"Nuclear test 1",
"Green Reveloution",
"Non alignment movement",
"Economic master minds"

Note: Could have done better for sure, could have been more transparent at least for the heck of using congress and Gandhi as sur name giving respect to the very name.

BJP
---
(-)
"politics & religious faith not seperate",
"Desperate",
"Use mike more than to do something",
"Kargil war",
"reads particular word than a sentence", "various people got exposed",
"Burning train & Godhra Riots",
"George Fernandez",
"Babri masjid"

( )
"Nuclear test 2",
"Wagha Border / peace / Bus",
"A.B.Vajpaiji",
"India Shines"

Note: Religious faith & votes helped BJP to reach center. Fine after reaching
they could have exposed Cong, should have shown the other way round to the people towards growth, but they were just worried to play a "Pinch Hitter role" and not worried about countries longer role and future, which Congress did.

Personal Opinion
I don't see any difference in these both the parties.

We should make DeveGowda sign the documents.
by adrgdr on Nov 28, 2007 06:53 PM  Permalink 

We Should make DeveGowdas sign the documents.
When the time comes, presto, America will become communal and documents are held nul and void :)

If need arises, we will conduct N-tests: PM
by drunken monk on Nov 28, 2007 06:42 PM  Permalink 

Looking forward to Ban on India from US. soon after this test.

spit n lick mannu policy
by ajaaxz on Nov 28, 2007 06:31 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

mannu first CPM made u shut up now u want US to do same, poor chap let Sonia get into dis,
offf how this genius economist is used by Sonia,pretty smart on her part

RE:spit n lick mannu policy
by G A on Nov 28, 2007 06:35 PM  Permalink
She has given tickets to her cook and security officer for himachal elections, next wud be the sweeper and then the driver !!! hats off to her

If need arises, we will conduct N-tests: PM
by my message on Nov 28, 2007 06:30 PM  Permalink 

Mr. PM,

Please tell us the consequences of a Nuclear Test. The US will just sit quiet and enjoy the Nuclear show by India?You expect us to believe that???

Also do not mention about what the NDA did. The moratorium declared by the NDA was unilateral and not enforced by anyone. But, what you are now trying to do is get others to force the moratorium on India.

Total 201 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>