muslims of india are real brave and valiant persons .wonder why? look how they are hounding a helpless women , elected representatives who had taken an oath to uphold the constitution of india openly threatening to kill her . they do not dare to do the same in uk or usa they do not burn buses and block roads , do not throw stones on police in new york / chicago . they are true soldiers of faith they can make weak, WoMen and kids target of their bravery I HAVE NOTHING BUT ADMIRATION FOR THEM
Its a poor picture and situation seen that we have to be hearing some idiot from West Bengal Mosque who calls him self a Maulvi or Imam. And worst is been seen that Indian Idiots and politicna sin disguise give a hearing to it. Dogs do bark on streets but do they sing a song or create irritation. I would suggest this should be not be tollerated and that maulvi who ever is he should be arrested in creating a situation where the divide and rule agenda is being harnessed."What has taslima written against ISlam. She has just questioned the interpretation and the time which needs it to change respectfully. Has she denoinced her religion- NO she is proud of it it is only the morons who pratice woman bashing and treating them as their slaves are angered. Down with them.Kick these bangladeshi's out as they never belonged here and should not be here as they are spreading hatred which is sucking their country down to poverty, rest god bless my india when the politicains suck what can you say is going to happen, I miss it but i can only be sad , as i have to hide my proudness when people like the bengal CM and my PM walk a spineless bridge
RE:Taslima -Deportation of democartic rights by Bangladesi's in disguise
by hanek singh on Nov 27, 2007 08:40 AM Permalink
rajiv when was the last time you did not get a poor picture of india . india is a decaying country it does have a soul . money even smugglers/ drug pusher / corrupt netas have money people without money march bare foot from their villages[ over 25000] to new delhi THEIR CRY IS A CRY IN THE WILDERNESS .
Madam Taslima, India is not your and you canot live here as per your wish. Your honeymoon in india is over and please go back where about you want to. India itself have lots of other issue to see.
I would have thought moderate muslims, particularly women, will like her. Why not?
She speaks truth about Islam. She is bold enough to use freedom of speech (which is extremely rare in Islamic societies). Exposes the biases in Islamic societies.
By supporting her, the image of muslims (and may be islam) in the world can be improved e.g. tolerance and rational thinking.
But I do not see that support? Why?
Last time 3 Indian MLAs tried to kill her. Shabana Azmi and Javed Aktar are also mum.
RE:Moderate muslims should protect her and demand her citizenship in India
by Vasanth Srinivas on Nov 27, 2007 06:49 AM Permalink
Please change the Topic - "moderate" & "muslims" - What an oxymoron...
RE:Moderate muslims should protect her and demand her citizenship in India
by anir on Nov 27, 2007 04:12 AM Permalink
so u are saying mullahs, who preach killing - as said in quran, of course - like jihad, kill the kafirs etc, are the experts in islam?
so u openly threaten that if one questions barbaric islamic teaching that there will be a civil war.
Nope, I do not hate muslims but I seriously question Islam.
Its not the issue of supporting her . its the issue of helping a human being. its not new it happened many times it is the culture and nature of hindustani's to protect people who ever knock thier door for help irespective of religion caste or community. killing is not the solution
RE:athidhi devo bava
by ChalapathiRao Mudigonda on Nov 27, 2007 09:09 AM Permalink
It is not born now. The instict of giving protection is in our blood. It is our 'Maryada". See Ramayana how Rama has protected virtuous. when Vibhishana sought refuge, Rama gave it inspite of warnings from his close vanaras. He was ready even to give his own kingdom of Kosala (Ayodhya) to his enemy, Ravana, if he would come and surrender to Him.Such is our national character.So, what new thing is there when we give protection to Taslima, when she sought refuge in our country. The west Bengal Government is wrong in sending Taslima out of the state.It is most unbecoming of an efficient Governace.The UPA government supports this unnational trait.God will not excuse them who are cowards.They will reap the consequences. May God bless the rulers of this country with wisdom, boldnes, self-confidence and courage!
by imran patel on Nov 27, 2007 01:43 AM Permalink
Oh come on...don't be Mother Teresa now...
Are you telling me that there are no Indians that need your help ? Shouldn't you help a fellow Indian first before you help a Bangladeshi (Nationalism) ?
I oppose the violent protest against her.
But give me a straight answer as to why you support her,
- Her right to free speech - Her views expressed in her writings
RE:RE:athidhi devo bava
by imran patel on Nov 27, 2007 01:59 AM Permalink
I understand and I am with you for supporting her right to free speech.
For her indirect conclusion that Islam is the cause for womans plight and suffering...As per your statement you support that as well.
Would you be this open minded if a Muslim were to support a Hindus who would challenge the Hindu community. What would you as a Hindu say about that Muslim ?
See, abusing Hinduism does not make me a better Muslim. Does bashing Islam make you a better Hindu ?
by deepak on Nov 27, 2007 10:20 AM Permalink
Imran you use the Al Taqqiya to good effect...Please note Hinduism doesnt react violently to criticism only Islam does..not just in India but all ove the world..Islam blows up , kills chops hands and heads and blows up again, trains, buildings.all becuase someone dares to speak....now wat is the point of defending Islam by terrorizing writers?? you think "the Last Temptation of Christ' where Jesus is shown making love to Mary Magdalene has destroyed Christianity??? nahi na??? so let the mind soar..these r not the days of Caliphas where you chop hands and kill people for Allah...trust me Allah can mind his own business.
by Perdesi on Nov 27, 2007 02:33 AM Permalink
Dear Imran,
It's not abuse. Religions are evolved to give a way of life path to human being. It's nothing but a kind of law which one abides. Hindu religion always believes in change depending on circumstances and period. The changes to this religion came thru critics. Criticism is a part of the regular refinement. The only problem with Islam is it never takes criticism in a positive way. It always starts to do %u2018Jihad%u2019 against it. That%u2019s why I said that I support her on both the things you listed.
BTW, Hindus believe in criticism and they always correct themselves if the criticism is right and we do not think whether this is done by religion X or Y. example: %u2018Sati Pratha%u2019 was first criticized by Christianity and we believed them and changed the way of life. What about your religion. I do not believe you as moderate. Taslima just criticized it. She did not abuse the Islam.
by arjuna on Nov 27, 2007 01:49 AM Permalink
you come out of the well imran. you think too narrow. who is teresa she doesn't know indain values. do get confused between culture and humanity help. do understand indian culture.i support her right to free speech.
by Mohammed AliSherKhan on Nov 27, 2007 02:44 AM Permalink
I think Imran you are wrong- be truthful and not diplomatic. Have the courage to tell the world taht all Moslems consider themselves Moslems and therfore servants of Islam first and have the great goal of conveting infidels into Islam and turning the barren non-Islamic lands into the green lands of Islam. Getting caught up in petty issues like nationalism is anti Islamic and defeats the greater ultimate goal of converting one and all to Islam.
by arjuna on Nov 27, 2007 02:13 AM Permalink
then their are no separate rights for muslims. the rights given by our constitution applies to all indians who 'considers themselves as indians' irrespective of caste religion. hope you understand the inner meaning. see imran we cant prove if god exists or not. its all materialistic world people are doing lots of crazy things to sell themselves for money may be taslima is one of them.i dont think just one crazy woman's writing will not rock islam. life will go on so stop getting into religious mind.
RE:Imran please explain ISLAM without hadith
by Truth hurts on Nov 27, 2007 01:40 AM Permalink
Imran ..people are waiting for your answers friend...:))
by imran patel on Nov 27, 2007 01:38 AM Permalink
Are you telling me that every story published in the NYT till date has been accurate ?
Again, I repeat. Hadith are NOT the words of Allah. They are compilations of instances from the life of the prophet through his companions. They are good sources of information, but NOT the absolute source of Information.
If there is a conflict between the Hadith and the QURAN, The QURAN must take precedence.
It is NOT the word of GOD. For me it is like a dictionary.
by imran patel on Nov 27, 2007 01:47 AM Permalink
Anu, you got it right.
You do NOT have to agree with me to support my right to free speech.
That is a distinction we fail to make. We do that for 2 big reasons,
- Emotional. - Lack of education.
Again, I do not agree with the views expressed by Taslima in her Books, BUT I support her right to free speech.
Why can we not make this distinction. Think about it, if we the educated class of this country cannot make this distinction, what can we expect from the un-educated class. No matter we have this "MOB" mentality in the developing nations.
by on Nov 27, 2007 01:50 AM Permalink
During a battle, when Mohammed (PBDUH)'s army reached the valley of Hunain, the enemy had reached their earlier and were hiding prepared to attack. When the arrow's started to shower on Mohammed (pbuh)'s army, his men were terrified and started to run away.. That%u2019s when Prophet Mohammed (pbuh) proclaimed that he is a prophet of god and his followers should not fear. He asked them to move forward and fight the enemy. Only a handful returned and they fought. Though they were weak by physical strength God gave them victory by his divine help. That%u2019s exactly what God is reminding us in Quran verses 9:25.
by imran patel on Nov 27, 2007 02:02 AM Permalink
They are termed authentic...But they are not equal in authenticity as the Quran. Can't you see that difference.
If Muslims say that Quran is the word of Allah, that mean it is 100% Authentic. Then we say that the Hadith is not equal to the Quran, but a step lower. What does that mean ?
Think about it Bhuddha. Are you still saying that the Hadith are 100% accurate ?
The torch bearer of women's rights and women's progress in India and the world as a whole????
Normally if it was a case of dowry or related, she would have taken procession after processions...continuously harping how backward is Indian society.
I hope she is coward and afraid of the fatwa, is she?
RE:WHERE IS SHABANA AZMI?????
by hanek singh on Nov 27, 2007 08:29 AM Permalink
RECENTLY SHE WAS SEEN IN SOHO [ NEW YORK] SIPPING MARGARITA IN A POSH MEXICAN RESTAURANT . PLEASE BE KIND TO HER , LET HER FINISH HER DRINKS .