Enemy always 1. Corrupts Fighting Forces and systematically dis-invigorate them.(scams and HIV) 2. Corrupts the three wings of a Govt. machinery, 3. Creates panic in public places, 4. Poisons Drinking water, 5. Works out a net work of espionage, 6. Circulates counterfeit currency, 7. Plans destruction of Dams and Power generation projects,
Are we finding these in Indian life ?...Then it is time for all of us and gear up to face these.
Time to ruthlessly terminate Corruption at every rung.
These are main objects or targets a country faces.
Every one knows these. But listing them is to only make the reader notice them visually and keep himself aware to do his best to conduct himself and work for his country
1. Corrupts Fighting Forces and systematically dis-invigorate them.(scams and HIV) 2. Corrupts the three wings of a Govt. machinery, 3. Creates panic in public places, 4. Poisons Drinking water, 5. Works out a net work of espionage, 6. Circulates counterfeit currency, 7. Plans destruction of Dams and Power generation projects,
Are we finding these in Indian life ?...Then it is time for all of us and gear up to face these.
Time to ruthlessly terminate Corruption at every rung.
These are main objects or targets a country faces.
Every one knows these. But listing them is to only make the reader notice them visually and keep himself aware to do his best to conduct himself and work for his country
Their(Army persons) are in fire, when they are protecting the Nation. The root cause is finance. A soldier is maintaining at two places one at home town, another for himself is spending. When he goes on pension he gets a paltry sum between 2500 to 3500 when his age is at prime of 35 to 40 years where the family is growing and he is without any employment. This is the root cause which he is mentally worried about bleak future. hence extreme step he takes. The Government and authorities should address this problem.
It is attempt to crush the subordinate officers and repression.The reasons for such in cidents should be analysed.The army set up is not very cleana nd angelic.officers normally dominate and are unfair to subordinates they dont like.Thuis dadagiri is Indian weakness everyewhereIAS IPS.Sub apne aap ko boss smajh te hein.Death penalty is too harsh a ounishment.but speed with which army handsdown opunishmeent is luadable.Our indian jusicary should learn lessons and must shed uits cover of shamelssness and speed up system.I as human tigh actibvist and civl,.liberties watcher strongly condemn this order.the so,dier should go in appeal to high court or wherever appeal lies.People should oppose this judgement.Army is ot above us but an organisation to serve us ,the society.Discipline in army and polcie should be very high but uinhuman treatment is niot accpetable.
RE:Samanwaad in Army too?
by Gandhi on May 26, 2007 06:59 AM Permalink
Death sentence is to harsh. May be some animosity between these guys which would have led to this, still no justificatin for a Murder. But may be we can imprison him for life but life sentence is too harsh. Every where we find the murdrers and rapists getting away scot free. May be we can be little considerate with him.
by MajorMurugan on May 26, 2007 08:54 AM Permalink
Dear Prof Gupta, though I'm not the bofficial spoksman of the Army, I would like to answer your comments: 1. Punishment in the Army is not only topunish the culprit, but also to send a warning to other would be offenders. not "Dadagiri" but "DISCIPLINE". 2.I agree the Army set up is not very clean , there are a few black sheeps in every profession and Army is also not immune to such people. And to weed out such people, the punishment has to be Extreme. 3.The Officers dominate their subordinate, but are not unfair to them. You cant fight a war if you request your soldier " My dear,will you please come for the attack, fight and kill the enemy (such, loving dialouges are part of films)" Here we order them to fight till the last man & the last bullet & its the Officers who lead from the front. You can see the percentage of officers killed in the recent conflicts: the Kargil war of 1999 is one example. Unless you dominate your men & prove your self you cant lead them. Honestly speaking: your men should be afraid of you more than the enemy, otherwise you cant win a war. Trust my words I'm a veteren of two wars. 4.Unless we show care for our men they will not follow you in the war. You can see by the number of young jawans killed in action, "They obeyed their officer so the fought till death" other wise they would have ran away from the battle field. Its very difficult for me to explain or you to understand how you can dominate aswell as care for your men at the same time, thats
by MajorMurugan on May 26, 2007 09:11 AM Permalink
Continued..... 5.As a human rights activist I wish you please question the terrorist who kill civilians & our jawans before questioning the Army. Are the lives of jawan so cheap that every time they have to answer why they killed a terrorist. Yes sometimes innocent civilians are killed by mistake & thats very sad & wrong, at that time the jawan has to be punished. 6.Hierrachy has to be maintained in the army at what ever cost. This soldier killed his collegue may be under Extreme stress, which cant be understood by public who enjoy the freedom & security provided by the army. His action is not justified but cant be supported either by letting him off. Death penalty is extreme but it has to be given in rarest of rare cases as a warning to others. Otherwise army will becme like other organisations of the country. Army is not above the law, but its defenitely different from other services.lease leave it alone to mind their own business in way they know. 7. Army has taken steps to reduce the stress by means of counselling, easy leave options etc. But it will take some time. 8.The stress is because here in our country the army is overworked with shortage of men. In other nations army is used mainly to fight external aggression by enemies. But here we fight with local terrorists, provide relief in case of floods, drought, cyclone,tsunami, earthquake etc. which is the duty of civil administration.
by krishan prasad on May 26, 2007 12:43 AM Permalink
You should have met the wife, children and dependent family members of the non-commissioned officer Havildar who got killed by that sig/man (army jawan) and seen their plight before venturing into this thought.
by prashant nautiyal on May 26, 2007 01:53 AM Permalink
killin of an innocent person will and should always lead to such action , even if he wasnt a non commisioned officer . Decision Totally justified
Where abt Shabuddin,Mukhtar Ansari,Abu Salem list is endless...these killer have hundreds but getting VIP treatment by government and working very effciently agianst poor Army people who living hardest life on earth............SHAME ON ALL OF US AND POLICY OF GOV.
RE:Where abt Shabuddin,Mukhtar Ansari,Abu Salem
by Mrinalini Kumari on May 26, 2007 02:07 AM Permalink
Hi Mayank, Please stay in context, this article is about army firing. Tum to kal bin Laden tak pahunch jaaoge. Making longer story short, many things in this world are easier said than done. Namaste!
Read various reacftion from esteemed readers. Wish there were reactions to this from our top brass including our PM. Conditions of service of the defence forces is extremely dangerous in the present circumstances. It is extremely essential that Indian Public at large and the Government in particular take urgent steps to improve the conditions and respectability of service of these fellows in defence forces, lest things get out of control.
Its high time , we get out of our cocoons of warmth and and at least show some concern for our army . These guys are no cricketers who play matches to win or lose , but ones who get killed , if there are some people left in this country worth their salt , they standards must be improved , these are extaordinary men and women , who should be given the best equipment and pay packets , if the government does not have money , then it should atleast tax the big guys in the industry , who are acquiring companie safter companies abroad and paying their executives in crores.... food for thought
RE:WE MUST PAY THE DUE TO THE ARMY
by prashant nautiyal on May 26, 2007 01:50 AM Permalink
@Its high time , we get out of our cocoons of warmth and and at least show some concern for our army how will u?
Its sad that the people who guard our frontiers have to take such extreme steps. It all because of the hardships they have to endure. No longer Army is the preferred choice for youth all because of bonded life and wafer thin pay packets. Sadly there is no one to listen to them. Its just the IAS lobby and Politicians who are to blame.... and ofcourse we citizens also as we all are busy with our lives. just save them and our country..
RE:Babus of India Wake Up
by Nandakumar Konkar on May 25, 2007 11:13 PM Permalink
How does this death sentence compare with thousands of suspects who are killed by police in lockups? The virtue of discipline cannot be imposed on army alone. It's also the failure of top army commanders to pressurise the political leadership to agree to reasonable demands. More than politicians & babus it is the top army brass that is callous to the pathetic condition of jawans. This death sentence shall surely be reduced in High Court.
by k d on May 25, 2007 11:50 PM Permalink
DONT GIVE CAPITAL PUNISHMENTS TO FRUSTRATED ARMY MEN, THEY NEED CARE AND AT THE MOST, GIVE THEM COMMUNITY SERVICE FOR ENTIRE LIFE. AS A PUNISHMENT OR LIFE SENTENCES..!! GIVE A BREAK TO SOLDIERS!!! PROTECTION CAN BE HAD BY HIGH TECH SURVELLLANCE SYSTEMS ALSO! ALSO, PAY THEM ATLEAST 10000 A MONTH!!! INDIA CAN SAVE ON OTHER ACCOUNTS LIKE USING ALTERNATIVE SOURCES OF ENERGY INSTEAD OF OIL!!! LET ARMY MEN LEAD A RESPECTABLE LIFE THEY DESERVE MORE THAN US ALL CIVILIANS!!
by mani mani on May 25, 2007 11:58 PM Permalink
kudos!!! what a wonderful thinking.. seriously they need care and at the same time it high time tht we civilians wake up to their apathy..