indeed a very good article

RE:good
by madhav gokhale on Mar 29, 2007 03:16 PM  Permalink
HATS OFF TO BIHAR WHICH SENDS MAXIMUM STUDENTS TO IITS INSPITE OF ALL THIS

Nice Report
by Amit Kumar on Mar 29, 2007 03:03 PM  Permalink 

Very nice report and well presented also.
It gives a true picture of changing Bihar. I guess, it is not as bad as presented by media.

Extra-ordinary attempt for ordinary mortals...
by Dream Girl on Mar 29, 2007 02:56 PM  Permalink 

Hats off to Nitishji... Let us hope this as a great beginning and the remnants of Nalanda would rejuvenate and reverbrate again...

Nice
by pankaj narang on Mar 29, 2007 02:54 PM  Permalink 

A very nice article. Somehow you feel happy to read all this. I am sure and we all would agree that development is nothing but spreading knowledge and education. Way to go.

The difference is here
by sunil shankar shetty on Mar 29, 2007 02:51 PM  Permalink 

Great story!!! Its a story were people, especailly school going children a trying to make a difference. Working their way out against all the odds....

St Boris
by khan on Mar 29, 2007 02:50 PM  Permalink 

These schools seems to be very good, at least the are have roofs and painting on walls,
i was in "St Boris" means Bora school,wer student have to carry "Bora" to sit and study.Bora is Jute sack.So fron Bora we named it to Boris,when i came to delhi for further studies, my college friends use to ask me from which school i did high school,and i use to proudly say "St Boris".
Being in St Boris was very good,it was total freedom,
Sab thik tha bas master ji prdahatey kam teh aur martey zeyada they.
But still thankful to Almighty and the govnt that at least we had St Boris.
Otherwise who knows we would have been bus driver or "khlasi"(conductor)

A day in the life of a school in Bihar
by sanjiv Choudhary on Mar 29, 2007 02:46 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Thanks for an unbiased good coverage. Bihar has been deprived of such kind of media coverage. I'm sure if Nitish continues to be the chief minister for atleast 5years,the whole Bihar would look different.
Ragards.
Dr. Sanjiv Kr Choudhary from BITS Pilani, Rajasthan

RE:A day in the life of a school in Bihar
by Shailendra Gupta on Mar 29, 2007 02:53 PM  Permalink
Do you feel Nitish Kumar has provided this these facilities? Sounds so funny.

by Bikas Jha on Mar 29, 2007 03:00 PM  Permalink
If Lalu can take credit for Railway turnaround, why not Nitish be glorified.

by Dream Girl on Mar 29, 2007 04:12 PM  Permalink
well said.. and that too lallu says railways has INR 24,000 crores in reserve.. Hmm.. Does he know how many zeroes to put for that amount of money in the first place? My simple challenge.. If they have so much money, why cant they make 2 railway stations in this country world class!!! The infrastructure of railways is still the same, the coaches still smell the same old rotten steel, etc etc and he says he has turned around the railways.. Greatest joke of our life times.. ha ha...

A day in the life of a school in Bihar
by sanjiv Choudhary on Mar 29, 2007 02:46 PM  Permalink 

Thanks for an unbiased good coverage. Bihar has been deprived of such kind of media coverage. I'm sure if Nitish continues to be the chief minister for atleast 5years,the whole Bihar would look different.
Ragards.
Dr. Sanjiv Kr Choudhary from BITS Pilani, Rajasthan

education system in india
by ananthanarayanan iyer on Mar 29, 2007 02:46 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hi, Its not just the government schools in Bihar, I think good sites like rediff.com can even analyse the education system in whole of India, even in private schools, I have come across the following system in a chennai, Tambaram based school not naming it coz am not sure if its an offence:
1) Private schools get popularized normally with the result they produce for class 10 and 12
2) I studied in a school where they have a filtering system on class 9 with sections A, B, C and D, class A students are ppl who score above 80% always, class B will have 60% and above, class C will have 45% and above and class D will have students who fail
3) Class D students can be rest assured that they will not be promoted to 10th std and class C failing cases also have reduced chances
4) The school will produce excellent results most obviously 100% passed out
5) My question is actually in the current competitive world students scoring 45% and above always mostly will pass with average teaching or sometimes without teachers as well
6) How much competitive are the teachers who does not take up challenge of teaching a student who is failing? is this a commercial market? where is our education system going? can anyone guess the donation for entering such schools? and it is a reputed school !!!! hope some action happens against such child crimes !!!

RE:education system in india
by sarvesh kumar on Mar 29, 2007 09:39 PM  Permalink
Very well said mr satyanaryanji,
there is a great school called Delhi Public School, who are depending on parents and their teachers impart private tutions at hefty amounts for 2 - 3 hours a week per subject. the sums earned are shared with school authorities also else this can not florish.
Parents struggle hard to see their children get high ranks and these private schools take credit and also hefty school fees.
The have no interest to see that their average or poor scoring children get attention of teachers by concelling remedial classes or improved NLP teaching methods.
god knows when we shall stop running after these blood suckers.
Our governemnt schools are far better.
Let Nitish Kumar who is a Enginner by profession, re-engineer the Bihar and set this example to UP MP etc to follow.

Execellent work Keep it up.
Congratulations.

Total 352 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Older >