Total 784 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22   Older >
Mumbai - Total infrastruture failure
by unmesh kulkarni on Jun 30, 2007 11:20 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

MMRDA should be blamed for the mess happening in powai, Kurla. All these places the MMRDA statred works for the road but have not completed it at all. Every time it rain the traffic is jam packed. Mumbai pays the maximum tax to central gov. but does not get anything back. Every year the rain stalls this city at least 2-3 days. This has to end, else mumbai will loose its charm .

RE:Mumbai - Total infrastruture failure
by hijesh puthalat prabhakaran on Jun 30, 2007 12:23 PM  Permalink
Gr8 , u seems to be a master in Hinglish , know the difference between lose and loose.

RE:Mumbai - Total infrastruture failure
by Prakash Nadar on Jun 30, 2007 12:14 PM  Permalink
will loose? I would say almost lost.

who is to be blamed
by on Jun 30, 2007 11:16 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Who is to be blamed? Mumbai municipal corp,MLA,MP.We r the culprit.Why we throw garbage on the road?why we have not stopped using plastic bags? Construction is everywhere.By merely paying taxes our duty does not get over.We have to educate ourselves otherwise not only Mumbai whole Big cities will get flood with few showers.Can we not collect rain water FROM ROOF TOP & use.We merely run marathon & campgain to save environment but in realty we r not doing anything for this cause.

RE:who is to be blamed
by Joseph George on Jun 30, 2007 12:25 PM  Permalink
We are going places. I am heartened that the responses are stretching beyond blame assigning. Are we mere cyber tigers however? How about Samir, Vidhyadhar, Unmesh et al starting an NGO. I have left Mumbai since 1995

by Rehman SH on Jun 30, 2007 10:49 PM  Permalink
Not pollution control. this is due to consumption explosion. You pack up every inch of soil you own with concrete. Not letting sufficient vegetation cover to imbibe rain water into ground. The main problem is not smoke from your vehicle, but due to indiscriminate mining and manufacturing, that is too to satisfy your artificial needs. Minimize them first. Pollution starts at the point of wants and gradually emerges out at the point of utility, manufacturing and mining. Limit the space under concrete and expand the space under vegetation. Concentrate first on availability of pure air, potable water and unadulterated food, they are utterly scarce now. Concrete and gadgets are nor our aim. Welfare !!!!!! Questionable is human life, because materials have overpowered the nature and natural being, that is human being.

by Ajeda on Jun 30, 2007 12:09 PM  Permalink
Exactly.. well said .. but i am "hopeful" there are other ppl like you who practice and not merely talk..

Worst
by Neta Mafia Don on Jun 30, 2007 11:13 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

And mumbai ke bekar log bolte hain Mumbai is the best. This place is nothing but accumlation of allot of Human and bull ship with people who are real ass

RE:Worst
by sivajibhai on Jun 30, 2007 11:30 AM  Permalink
Enjoy the rains maaan.. get out of your house and get wet...

by kunal mundle on Jun 30, 2007 01:33 PM  Permalink
dum dum your name should be dumb dumb..

by Ajit Barve on Jun 30, 2007 12:17 PM  Permalink
Then y don't u move out?

Mumbai's Monsoon Woes
by Srinivasan Ramiah on Jun 30, 2007 11:12 AM  Permalink 

There is no point in empty criticism of BMC and other Agencies. Look at the Macro Picture and SEE that those Technocrats who have viable solutions occupy vital Decision -making Positions. Without the following points taken care off no solutions are possible:

1. Stopping atleast the future Proliferation of unauthorised Slums/Structures. Those who [for Votebank Purpose encourage it are Anti-National]. These slums block the flow of Water to the Sea.

2. When new proposals/Plans for Roads are undertaken, let there be a study on the implications on the surroundings.

3.Giant Portable Water Pumps [driven by Diesel engines-many in numbers] can be procured and used at key areas to minimise the Hardship.

4.People can be alert to save the neighbours in low-lying Areas.dont expect "THE GOVT" to do everything for you.

Hell with Politicians and BMC Officials
by Narendra Shelke on Jun 30, 2007 11:10 AM  Permalink 

It seems that BMC officials and Politicians will not realise the severity of problem until they get trapped in rains and face problems like thousands of Mumbaikars. After every monsoon schemes are announced and tenders are called just before april/may, to ensure no work can be done for monsoon. They need to start working on projects soon after monsoon is over and not wait for rains to come and lash city once again year after year.

mumbai rain
by pravin tiwari on Jun 30, 2007 11:05 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

wah kya baat hai mumbai ke barish ka mazaa lene ka.Today is rain has started, mumbai railways n roads r in too much bad condition. Who is responsible for that.what is state n central government is doing. Mumbai is economical capital of INDIA. Every time dranages system problem. After that why 100yrs old dranage system we have used. Mumbai too much but after wards this system does not change.

RE:mumbai rain
by AJAY ANAND on Jun 30, 2007 11:11 AM  Permalink
I think the whole planning of infrastructure wasnt done keeping in mind burst of population, traffic and incessant rains.

kindly do not over expect.
by kunal mundle on Jun 30, 2007 11:01 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

what do you people exacly expect!!! with this kind of rain any city in the whole world will have water logging problems... case in point london, hong kong, kuala lumpur which shut down even after 35 mm rain.... mumbai atleast manages to pick itself up & move ahead.unlike
banglore which took 1 week to recover 2 years ago after getting only 100 mm of rain over a period of 1 week... same amount which mumbai gets day in & day out during the rainy season...
ditto for chennai & kolkatta.

RE:kindly do not over expect.
by kaka on Jun 30, 2007 11:52 AM  Permalink
Please back up your claims with appropriate links

by Ajit Barve on Jun 30, 2007 12:14 PM  Permalink
other cities have other problems which they tackle pretty well

by Rehman SH on Jun 30, 2007 10:49 PM  Permalink
Not pollution control. this is due to consumption explosion. You pack up every inch of soil you own with concrete. Not letting sufficient vegetation cover to imbibe rain water into ground. The main problem is not smoke from your vehicle, but due to indiscriminate mining and manufacturing, that is too to satisfy your artificial needs. Minimize them first. Pollution starts at the point of wants and gradually emerges out at the point of utility, manufacturing and mining. Limit the space under concrete and expand the space under vegetation. Concentrate first on availability of pure air, potable water and unadulterated food, they are utterly scarce now. Concrete and gadgets are nor our aim. Welfare !!!!!! Questionable is human life, because materials have overpowered the nature and natural being, that is human being.

Total 784 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 21 | 22   Older >