Article 343 of the constitution of India states that Hindi shall be the official language of the Union. Listen u southerners, Hindi is the national language, other languages are recognised by particular states.
RE:JAI HIND
by brahman on Jun 27, 2007 03:58 PM Permalink
sir, then why Hindi is not made compulsory in all schools whether government, private or convent? Having provided in the constitution, the politicians/government are insulting the language by not enforcing it...right?
by Rajendra Nigam on Jun 27, 2007 04:20 PM Permalink
oh, the politicians can insult anything, anyone for the sake of their vote bank, so isn't this question in first place is irrelevant.
to be on the practical side, lets see, if we can go ahead with implementing hindi compulsory in all schools:
o anyone would HAVE to learn their mother language. o isn't english a language of status (sadly)? so people always want to learn it. o now comes hindi (yes, it is the 3rd language), but can a child really take the burden of 3 language? i guess not.
So, at most, till class 5, a child should learn only 2 languages.
and here, 1st is the mother tongue (and has to be), and 2nd, sadly though, is english.
by Kartikey Srivastava on Jun 27, 2007 04:01 PM Permalink
because of the arrogance of some states, and everyone knows the Indian Government is incompetent, it always has been and it probably will remain incompetent.
by brahman on Jun 27, 2007 04:03 PM Permalink
a rule/procedure/article which is not implemented and adhered is not a valid rule/procedure/article... hope you got my point...
by Kartikey Srivastava on Jun 27, 2007 04:06 PM Permalink
well then a lot of articles are not taken into account in India such as equality so basically we should not even have a constitution.
by cynic on Jun 27, 2007 04:13 PM Permalink
maybe Hindi guys are a little arrogant, but Tamilians are the worst. They prefer to talk in only Tamil and they dont even bother to answer in English. Nobody except some misguided educated Tamilians want to go and settle down in Chennai. Tamilians are more arrogant than Hindi-wallahs. And their support for anti-national LTTE is disgusting, thank god some leaders like Jayalalitha recognize the dangers of hobnobbing with LTTE.
by brahman on Jun 27, 2007 04:15 PM Permalink
Hindi gues are arrogant...what made you say that... in fact there is no separate group as Hindi guys... it is a wonderful language with has different words for every meaning... like thu, thum, aap, aayega, aaoge, etc. with respects ... which is totaly lacking in English... likewise, we cannot generalise all tamilians, barring a few who come to this message board and write crap some times..leave them aside, tamilians (barring their undue/hyped up devotion to RK the boss) are good people..
RE:RE:JAI HIND
by cynic on Jun 27, 2007 04:15 PM Permalink
most of educated Tamilians prefer to settle in Bangalore Hyderabad or US. Chennai is the city with the worst attitude of Tamilians on display. Even my Tamil friends dont want to settle down in Chennai. Anyhow upper-caste guys there are hunted like rats by DMK goons.
RE:Thoes who don't know
by Kartikey Srivastava on Jun 27, 2007 04:03 PM Permalink
yes, i agree with you. i have not been there, but a friend of mine has said, unless u go to New York or the US for that matter, u will not understand that there is so much poverty there. The crime rates in cities like NYC and London are comparable to those in Delhi and Mumbai and they actually might be higher.
I lived in mumbai for good 20 years. Watched many areas encroached by huts, and witnessed the growth of New-Mumbai. But now, the city has reached its limits.
The city is polluted, bad drain management, and every one wants to make money in realestate without giving a thought the human needs like parks, etc.
Now a days, decoities are normal facts of the day.
I have been to smaller cities in the south that are growing. I would move there soon if I get a job somewhere down there.
RE:Me moving out.
by N M on Jun 27, 2007 04:09 PM Permalink
Well said Prakash..Here in the UK..there are so many parks and gardens for families..it makes me jealous that we cant have these back home india..i just hoped that our government had built more gardens and huge parks for the common man reather than buildings everywhere and anywhere...Here in the UK the gardens and parks are so well planned beleive me our Mumbaikars would love to spend time with their families in these gardens..But we cant enjoy them as our government does not realise the importance of building gardens and parks..The size of parks and gardens here are almost double to triple the size of Azad Maidan back in Mumbai..comparing it to Hyde Park or Kensington Gardens..right in the middle of the city and a garden every 10 t0 15 mins here in London..
RE:RE:Me moving out.
by brahman on Jun 27, 2007 04:32 PM Permalink
haha BAAPU, kyom unko sharminda har rahe ho yaar... acha kaam karthe hai london ko saaf safay rakhne main....karne dho na...
by sandip gaikwad on Jun 27, 2007 04:22 PM Permalink
I also had been in Mumbai for past 24 years. I have seen the growth population espetially. But the basic facilities in south are not good for the money you put in. I am staying Bangalore. And this so called METRO city do not have drinking water supply, Municipal hospitals and transport facilities. How will a poor guy survive here? But if you look back at Mumbai, even with such dense population, the city Municipal coporation has done good job. We used to drink water directly from tap which does not taste or smell bad. No such facilities here. We must get a packaged drinking water, without which we cannot survive. A 20 liters can cost Rs.40, and if you r living with family u will need that CAN everyday. Next -- no municipal hospitals. A poor guy if he falls sick he has to only rely on home made medicines, practices and Gods grave to get well. But, in Mumbai ever ward u will a Municipal hospital and poor will be trated for free. So move to south and u will have to pay of all the things that you need have to pay for...... Now should I talk about the trains in Mumbai... every 3 minutes u will find a train at the platform in western. Think about these things also. Yes, population is exploding in Mumbai and the Navi Mumbai SEZ will add to it...
by brahman on Jun 27, 2007 04:26 PM Permalink
here is a true Indian comes out with the truth of Bangalore (and bangalooooooorians, who always booooooost about their bangaloooooru)
by Chandu on Jun 27, 2007 03:55 PM Permalink
The situation is same in all other cities as well. Honestly, if you need a better life, go back to your ancestral village and live. Villages are the best place where people can still live with dignity. All the cities are filled with potholes and people are living like rats there.
by ravi on Jun 27, 2007 04:00 PM Permalink
Very rightly said. After retiring I will move back to my village.... In fact many people are doing the same....
RE:Maharashtrians..
by rakesh yadav on Jun 27, 2007 04:08 PM Permalink
WE have learn from our past mistake,now u people doing the same.so the past is gone,what we did dont do the same mistake.Be again like marath,We will make again INDIA Pride.
It is a good sign that the growth of India%u2019s stinking metros are coming down. But the flip side is that it is spreading to other smaller cities. For eg. In the 70s and 80s, people from all corners of the country used to travel and settle down in Mumbai for job and a better life. However, The new generation of the same people travel down to southern cities like Hyderabad and Bangalore for better life. This is a good sign and The govt should also streamline the development activities for these smaller cities to better handle the stress caused by the additional population. Taking IT into 2 tier cities is a good idea to decongest and check the price hikes in the main cities. Also better agricultural output and minimum Gurantee for the food crops can rein in people from emptying the villages. Another observation is that the northern cities are getting filled up with Low level job seekers like coolies, petty traders and other labor oriented workers while the south is brimming with high end professionals.
Who will be the winner then? Remember hatrate to others does more harm you haters than those being hatrate.. you can kick out all non Marathis out like the Assam did..First the bengalies and then northies...Result no one travel there and no one invest there too... Who is the winner dude?