I dont give a shit if the average is higher for elder siblings....What would I do with that piece of information/research result, oh I got it.... I would probably have only 1 child to keep my family's 'Average IQ' higher.
Hmmm bahut dur ka socha hai, Kudos to Norwegian scientists..
RE:So what if the average is like that...
by Neta Mafia Don on Jun 29, 2007 06:11 PM Permalink
There are exception to every rule, unfortunatly in this case you are one of the exception buddy, better luck in next life.
Infact this has been reported in a US based newspaper much much prior.
it was the news in Seattle based news paper named Seattle Post Intelligence and the tittle read it as "Families' eldest boys do best on tests" by RANDOLPH E. SCHMID.
And you dont believe me, then here is the URL. its still out there online.
RE:Rediff Copy Cat , Copy cat....!!! this is indeed plagarism ..!!!
by Ramesh on Jul 03, 2007 02:37 PM Permalink
May be this bureau looks for international papers' online websites and copies them! :D good that you pointed this out.
Though we cannot jump to a conclusion as such, a lot needs to added to the study. These may be the patterns that showed up in a case study.
However, I too have bee studying the same and feel not necessarily the same always. However, it depended on the up bringing and the responsibilities shouldered. I found that whoever be it, eldest or the youngest, if he/she mantled family responsibilities, they showed more matured and have been well mannered.
I agree with you - this is a totally junk science report.
Unfortunately journalists are usually too dumb to understand statistics as are social scientists. Just because they can run statistical software on computers, they imagine they understand what the results mean!
RE:First born
by Tamil Arasan on Jun 25, 2007 06:58 PM Permalink
While it is debatable whether 1st born kids have higher IQ, the fact is they are very well placed usually because they are the darling of their parents as well as relatives.So they get the best of every thing in life.This must be it. I am 1st born & I should know !
RE:First born
by Arvind Sridharan on Jun 27, 2007 01:25 PM Permalink
I'll have to agree with the last statement. This is not because I'm a second child but this is because i've noticed this in many families. however i've seen some first children that are smarter too so I don't think there's a pattern.
The study is interesting indeed. The first-borns will have to be cautious against complacency. The later-borns need not worry too much. Sachin Tendulkar is not the eldest. Parents must strive for an egalitarian family, however. Best wishes, Raj Kumar Bajpai, Dehradun.
My experiment result shows norwegian researcher have relatively lower IQ level compared to Indian counterparts. How there IQ was get good boost of 20.3% if that norwegian was born in india...and whoppin 35% w.r.t native norwegian if either of his parent is indian. now say wot ?
no way can this be true ... first of all, any study that studies only men & concludes that the first-borns r smarter, is just not a representative one. second, look all around, it's the younger sibling that tends to be smarter and more independent. for the first born, even parents are more jittery, since it's their first time too!
RE:disagree completely!
by ACM on Jun 25, 2007 10:16 AM Permalink
True. The first one pretty much has it served in a platter. The second ones being inferior in size, have to look for other schemes to get what they want. More exercised brain translates into better IQs. Anyways - totally useless study and information.