Hinduism has been suffering from various forms of rituals and customs which are i most cases man made or poorly interpreted in such a way to benefit some section. This include caste system, devadasi practice and many other things including prohibiting people from other religion from enetring the temples. Due to these rituals, millions of people changed their religion to Buddism, christianity and islam. To save Hinduism and spread its great philosophy, what have to do is, drive these evil rituals from our practice. We need to keep Hinduism modern and ready to accept everyone in the universe. its a great religion and everyone irrespective of their religious or social connections should be given an opportunity to get a feel of it. Restricting people entering temples restricting them know what a great religion Hinduism is..
RE:Time to reform our religion
by SAVEINDIA on Jun 13, 2007 10:06 PM Permalink
I too thought like you for many years. Waited.Waited.But what is the use?.
no change. see the rediff news above.I am ashamed of being a hindu on seeing this news.
by Vinay Gupta on Jun 13, 2007 10:28 PM Permalink
dear Save India, The whole purpose of publicising the incidence is to make you feel ashamed.
For me such incidence happens in every religion. The difference is that Hindus are ready for change. They change their customs but can we say the same for others.
Can muslim give up Sunnat ( circumscisation), Chiristians baptism, or muslim killing animals in mass on ID UL Juha ( bakrid.
by Inadvertently Human on Jun 13, 2007 10:11 PM Permalink
Its not Hinduism that needs reform, its Hindus that need reform.
by pp rr on Jun 13, 2007 10:24 PM Permalink
Human,Our doctrinal faith is deeply rooted in caste system,sati,devdasi,sacrifices etc and therefore difficult to reform or change.
RE:RE:Time to reform our religion
by Vinay Gupta on Jun 13, 2007 10:34 PM Permalink
The whole purpose of publicising the incidence is to malign Hindus by the christian controlled media. The media is controlled by Church ( for proof try to find out the share pattern of major news papers like TOI, HT ( it is no more birla), Hindu, Manorma, NDTV, Andhra Joyati, Kairalli TV, the asian age, Star tv etc)
For me such incidence happens in every religion. The difference is that Hindus are ready for change. They change their customs but can we say the same for others.
Can muslim give up Sunnat ( circumscisation), Chiristians baptism, or muslim killing animals in mass on ID UL Juha ( bakrid.
we shud abolish all the caste system and work as Indians . Be open hearted .No reservations . treat a Human being as Human not as uppercaste or Lower caste . temples are worship centers not pride struggles .I was seeing a documentary in CNN . There are still places where dalits have to bog their head down and remove slippers while crossing areas of upper caste . India has long good old traditions and they are bound by these . Wake up . World will take over . cut those barriors . They are tools to restrict people and take control . Think and decide . Dont blindly follow in the name of tradictions and culture . If U cannot digest it do not follow it . Dont rule in the name of Ancient follwers . its more of a control system than real facts . Work hard and keep the Country Clean and green . making River water dirty and saying Ganga can absorbe any shit . Its insane !!! . Taj mahal is becoming black . Who cares . People say its in the midst of Slum . What can u do ? . Can u reduse population . can u fix things . No . we want to fight for these shitty things and waste time . Just enjoy and play blame game . Thats india and a timepass for millions and their leaders make use of this . mere bharat Mahan . Jai Hind .
RE:remove Quota - use the same yard stick
by Ramachandran venkatesh on Jun 13, 2007 10:41 PM Permalink
Caste system has always benefited the unscruplous ruling class. In the past, the brahmins and Kshatriyas were favoured. In the recent years, the cycle has reversed.
However before crying for legal intervention, remeber the following.
If I own a house I have every right to allow or prevent anyone from entering it. I may have any reason for it. You may call me mean or names. But you have to obey what I say because it happens to be my house.
If some meaningless traditions disallow you from entering a temple, stop recognizing that temple. Throw away that religion if required. Do not clamour for legal intervention.
A temple where the inmates/Thantris just cant trust their religion/ outsiders enough, has no right to exist. Do they have enough confidence in the believers of their religions to not lock the gates at night?? to not have security? to allow people of other religions to come and have a look at the grandeur of hinduism? Look at the Sai baba temple in Maharashtra where a whole town has no locks on any doors or windows??
RE:Such a temple has no right to exist
by Abhilash nair on Jun 13, 2007 10:26 PM Permalink
Wether Guruvayoor temple should exist or not is not for all of us to decide.Every religion has certain rules and code of conduct.If nonhindus are not allowed by rule,that is it.That is the tradition and let us follow it.In mecca,in the whole damn city no non muslim is allowed.That's the way in mosques too.Who are you to say that it is right or wrong?As for people like this stupid save india is concerned,whose only aim is to convert people not for christ's sake but for theirs,may christ forgive them
by SAVEINDIA on Jun 13, 2007 10:07 PM Permalink
BOYCOTT this temple .
Everybody has to boycott guruvayur temple as this temple has the dirtiest priests in HINDUISM.
Best way is kerala govt has to build a temple near existing GURUVAYUR TEMPLE and declare the present GURUVAYUR temple as a LODGE for poor peoples to stay.
by anil on Jun 18, 2007 04:57 PM Permalink
the temple is not a sia baba temple but shani temple please be clear what u right
Not only in Guruvayur temple, but in most of the other temples in Kerala, non-hindus are not permitted. Even though non-believers are permitted to worship in church & mosque, they are not treated by the church-fathers & mullas as equal to christians & muslims. The issue of Kerala temples need not be seen in isolotion.After Independence, many progressive reforms were introduced in Hindu law. But, Indian muslims & christians were resisting reforms. Our Govts are afraid of introducing any reforms in minority's personal law. If somebody talks about Uniform Civil Code (UCC), it is branded as communal. Both Congress & Communists do not want UCC now. Let them dare to tell that Dr. Ambedkar, Nehru, Patel & others who were responsible for incorporating a provision for UCC as a directive principle in constitution were also communal.Why non-muslims are not allowed in Mecca & Medina; even for employment purpose. Why Catholic priests deny bread & wine to non-christians even though entry in church is given to them. Why christians & muslims appoint a woman-priest. Is it not a case of gender discrimination. The so called secularist does not want to discuss such matters. If anybody wants to discuss the matters of Hindus, they should be ready to talk about other religions also. But, their intention is not to cleanse the hindu society; only to create controversies to tarnish hindu image. This is possible because hindus are not united. Disunity is a crime everywhere.
RE:Guruvayur Tample Entry Issue
by prabancha RAMASWAMY on Jun 13, 2007 09:50 PM Permalink
I fully agree with the points Mr. Pillai raised. Do these governments has the guts to show the same way they talk. Even I doubt the entry by Mr. Ravikrishna is politically motivated to show that in the next election Congress want to win, by getting votes from these kind of people who dont know the reality of the hinduism as well the rituals. Would the government and the socalled secular parties ready to post a rule that all are equal and no reservation is required, if they do so, they have the rights to talk about temples. Are these so called seculars ready to keep same of all temples, churchs and mosque and all religions are same, and rules are also same. They can, then why they cry for these kind of sensity matters where they cant take any action to club all religion into one.
by Mambakkam Subramanian on Jun 13, 2007 09:56 PM Permalink
Every religion every God has certain laid down rues and regulations. Evangelism is the worst part of Christianity in that in most places at least those I havbe seen and heard their sermonising, three fourths of the time is spoent on denigrating other's Gods and religious practices and only one fourths in singing the praise of the Good Lord, His SDon and the Holy Ghost.
We only want that we shoud have the freedom to worship in our temples the way we want, not the way a Godless Marxist wants us to. The trhing is very simple. In this allegedly secular coutnry every state has a Hindu religious Bpoard or Devaswom Bpoard or some such organisation. But show me a Church or Mosque controlled by the Government and where the money gifted by the believer is looted and spent by all and sundry who do not believe in Hindu Gods. In Tamilnadu you have a Government of Rationalists , who are basically guys who are said to be folowers opf EV Ramasami Naicker. The same guys are appointed as the Minister of Hidu Religious Endowment Boards. I would like to hear the explanation for this from any pof the pseudo secualrists.
Tiruppathi Balaji Temple is one glaring example where crores and crores of money collected from Hindu religious faithfuls are spent on non-religious temporal causes. If the Government thinks that a University is necessary there why not build it from the taxes , why from the Tirupathi Balaji Hundi.
RE:RE:Guruvayur Tample Entry Issue
by on Jun 13, 2007 10:03 PM Permalink
No government has the guts to hit on the minority vote bank because they are united. Hindu vote bak is a scattered one and it is the hindu ministers who take great pride in demolishing their reigion. Lets not blame the others. Ministers of governments belonging to the minority communities are for their welfare of their communities and hence the communities want to repay them by reelecting them always. The ministers belonging to the majority class do the appeasing work by kicking and creating problems to their own religion.
Secondly, Secular government means "for the minorities only" government.
by Simply Human on Jun 13, 2007 09:43 PM Permalink
John You are so full of contempt. what does Jesus have to say about this? Please enlighten.
by on Jun 13, 2007 09:52 PM Permalink
John, do not talk about love and hate. If your religion is so safe and nice why did we have the serb war with so many muslims and christians perishing. I think this must be the right way.
by Simply Human on Jun 13, 2007 09:51 PM Permalink
If you have found the right way, follow it. Your statements do not creat love but only hatred and you know it. A holier than thou attitude is nothing but contempt. Jesus took away your the right to judge others. YOu have a lot to learn about Xanity
by Anil Tandale on Jun 13, 2007 10:10 PM Permalink
Christianity was really so tolerant, that it violently driven away islam to keep fair skinned europe totally pure. Mr John and Mr Joshua pls read european history, before condemning hindus as hateful. We the Hindus of India wish to be as tolerant of Chritians of Europe, and also Islam of Arabian countries in their treatment of other religions, so that Hindus can live peacefully after centuries of slavery.
by Abhilash nair on Jun 13, 2007 10:37 PM Permalink
Dear John, The problem with guys like you is that you have taken the words in bible at their face value little realising what they actually mean.You say christianity is non violent?let's see.It has spread all thru the world by sword and sword alone.Remember the aztec,inca and maya civilisations?remember a certain hernando cortez who killed 25000 innocent amerindians in one day by deceit to claim mexico for christ?Why the very phrase"power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolurely"was coined by francis bacon on the pope.All ur popes have involved themselves in petty politics.You christians have innocent blood in your hands.you think just beacuse you are a christian u will go to heaven not realising that you have to be good at heart too for that to happen.Because of u christians,people all around the world thought that world was flat and that sun rotated around teh earth.Being reborn,u say.u need it because u are full of hatred.wake up!!!!!!!!you suckers are in india beacuse of tolerance of hindus,u asses so called evangelists !!!!!!!!!!
RE:RE:RE:Guruvayur Tample Entry Issue
by on Jun 13, 2007 11:11 PM Permalink
Morons are in al religions. You also belong to the category to call a religios place a club or a hotel. I guess you should go to the best club and hotel- Muringoor divine center in chalakudy, kerala. They will drive your screws rightly and place you where you should be.
by Simply Human on Jun 13, 2007 09:55 PM Permalink
Let ppl from other religions comment. If we believe we have the philosophical strength we can deal with them.
by on Jun 13, 2007 09:58 PM Permalink
What makes yo think you are the only ones (christians)who have found the right way? Man you are cool.
Lets see if YOU have the guts to say that I do not believe in the temple and let us see the consequences.
by PRADOSH on Jun 13, 2007 10:11 PM Permalink
The Muringoor divine center in chalakudy, kerala is more than like a a club n hotel now, philip can go there n get peace..
by PRADOSH on Jun 13, 2007 09:59 PM Permalink
If equal right to everyone then one more rule should be introduced, now a part of income from temple goes to govt, does this govt dare to introduce same system to x'tian n muslims ? if this kind law comes JOHN PHILIPS will keep mum ? The people of kerala know the kind of income with MURINGOOR, are they giving any report to govt ?
by unni krishnan nair on Jun 13, 2007 09:59 PM Permalink
Christian churches and Mosques may keep their doors open for people of all religion. It is not because of the catholicity of these religions. Basically they are prosylitising religions. They have a history of playing all tricks available to swell their numbers. Budget for the next harvest of conversion, as Gandhi wrote in Harijan long back.
The Organised church and Mosques are conducting themselves more like amultinational corporations doing aggressive selling of their branded products. Selling of Jesus and Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) is their sole aim and for this they have to definitely keep the door open.
Whereas Hindu way of living (not religion) is not a prosylitising religion. Therefore it has no compulsion to keep its door open for all and sundry. But temples have to open its doors for the Hindu believers no doubt.
by Simply Human on Jun 13, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
What do u mean when you say "Disunity is a crime" ? what should be the punishment? Who will be the leader for everyone to follow?
by on Jun 13, 2007 09:50 PM Permalink
I feel PKV pillai has a good point. I do not think converting to christianity is the solution.
Secondly, please respect other religions too. Do not think you are of high birth because majority of the people in the world are christians.
By criticizing other religions you have just brought down yours to an abysmal level.
by balakrishnan varrier on Jun 13, 2007 09:57 PM Permalink
I am an ardent devotee of Sree Guruvayurappan, the presiding diety of Guruvayur temple.In my childhood and until I left my village to Calcutta, I used to prepare garlands for the presiding diety in our village temple, wearing wet cloth after morning dip in the temple pond. we were not supposed to take even coffee prepared by mym mother in the house, before completing this job. It's called "sudham" and that was the custom in those days. No garland from outside was allowed to be taken to the sanctum sanctorum and put on the diety. Now people finish even breakfast before going for their temple duties. So also garlands for Kerala temples go from Coimbatore, Pollachi, etc. Many such things have changed in the social and religious life in Kerala. So the "punyaham" dictum can also change. But it has to be changed in the appropriate way and not in the street urchin talk style of Kerala Devaswom Minister Sudhakaran. Taking cue from you Mr.Pillai, I challenge the Sudhakarans and thousands of others to raise their fingers and voice against the Personal Law of Muslims and Christians. If the govt. can change religious laws of Hindus under the provisions of the Indian constitution, the same must apply for Muslim laws and Christian laws.
by dhana r priya on Jun 13, 2007 10:50 PM Permalink
The current DMK Govt. in TN who are the so-called 'rationalists' following EV Ramaswamy have no faith only in Hindu Gods. They take every opportunity to denounce the Hindus and their Gods. But what do they do in Dec-Jan? They attend every Ramzan feast & partake the gruel(kanji) after the fast. Their 'rationalism' is only for the Hindus. Even in this, they do not have uniformity. The present CM Karunanidhi celebrated his 84th birthday on 3rd June and what do the followers do? They organise special pujas in temples for his long life!!! (Pujas in temple for one who doesnt believe in Hindu Gods, organised by members of DMK who are 'rationalist' followers of EVR!!!). In the same vein, each & every temple in TN comes under the HR&CE Dept of the Govt. of TN and the collections from the Hundis in these temples are appropriated by the Govt. Can this (or any other) Govt. dare to do this with the Mosques or Churches?(which receive the maximum foreign exchange for conversion - ref. 'Angels & Demons' by Dan Brown) There is absolutely no nadir to which these politicians will go to appease the minorities. I believe that the Communist Govt in Kerala has no right to interfere in the subject. The Devaswom is one of the few Boards that still maintain strict Hindu practices and this seems to be a concerted effort to weaken the institution per se. With regards to the other comments by Xtians in this string, I would just ask them to introspect if all is right with their religion before commenting
Gone through for and against opinions /outcome with regard to Shree Guruvayur Krishna Temple. Making tempest in tea-cup is everybody's order of life now-a-days in India or abroad and keeping mum towards the truth. Tantris, no doubt are above all with respect to temple matters are concerned. Let them perform their duties. Learn religious matters of self and will defintely get pacifying facts from it. Superficial criticism will take you anywhere.
RE:Temples of Hindus
by on Jun 13, 2007 10:45 PM Permalink
While you are in Guruvayoor you know you are in Lord Krishna's presence. Forget the tantris.
Vedas also say that Idol worship is a sin. I think that all major religions say that Idol worship is a sin. Idol worship as practiced by Hindus belong to pre-Vedic india.
According to Vedas, God is formless, unborn and omnipresent and hence it is wrong to say Yogi Krishna or King Ram was a god. Look at principal # 2 of Aryasamaj that directly comes from Veda.
RE:Idol worship is not part of Hinduism
by NuraniEaswran subhramaniyam on Jun 13, 2007 10:20 PM Permalink
in what way it is related to the issue. Do u mean no one need to enter the temple to avoid idol worship.
by Sanjeev Verma on Jun 13, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
Idol worship goes against the teachings of Vedas. Vedas are the true source of knowledge and basis of Hinduism. God is omipresnet and formless and it is preposterous to even attempt to worship God in human form. Look at the following site.
by venkat on Jun 13, 2007 10:16 PM Permalink
That is the beauty of Hinduism. It has so many ways to reach God - Arya Samaj, Advaitha (which is form and formless) etc., Vedas did not mention about idol worship. They did not oppose it.
Any normal humans cannot realise Almighty just like that. We are just humans. To realise almighty practically, we do idol worship and advocate that let it reach the formless lord. understood?
by Sanjeev Verma on Jun 13, 2007 10:04 PM Permalink
Swan,
I am saying what I believe in. The goal of Arya Samaj is to reform Hinduism. I do not go to temples and worship God through Yoga and Meditation. If Idol worship helps us to transcend only formless then why do we have so many Gods and Godesses in Hinduism? Have you heard about wars between Vaishnavas (worshipper of Vishnu) and Shaivas ( worshiipper of Shiva) in the past? My theory is that these Gods and Godesses belong to tribal India in pre-Vedic period. The reality is that most of the world worshipped Idols before Christianity and Islam came. I do not beleive that Idol worship was invented to help us transcend formless as stated by you. I am aware of this argument. Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati has discussed this issue in detail in his famous book "Satyarath Prakash".
by cocainecobra on Jun 13, 2007 09:37 PM Permalink
idol worship is a start and hinduism appreciates gradual evolution of understanding almighty....each individual is different in grasping and understanding....people who donot require idols can go GNANA marga...hinduism allows everything
Its like LKG to Graduation...Hinduism recognises LKG and also directly allows graduation for people who can understand the higher order metaphysics
you cannot ask a first standard kid to understand quantum mechanics..its bad for both
RE:Hindusim?
by venkat on Jun 13, 2007 10:17 PM Permalink
Vedas did not caste system by birth but divided people based on the quality of work. Some useless souls like the present christians who misuse jesus misused it to create this division. Problem is not with the sources but humans.
by PKV Pillai on Jun 13, 2007 09:56 PM Permalink
Caste-system is not the monopoly of Hindus only. Then tell me what is the meaning of the term "DALIT CHRISTIAN". It means a section of Christians are DALITS. How many Dalit Christians have become Cardinals & Archbishops. Who ill-treated the poor Negroes in Europe & America. Who practised slavery in America till Abraham Lincoln's period. How many persons from Asia & Africa have so far become Pope in Vatican.
by on Jun 13, 2007 10:15 PM Permalink
Every religion has caste systems in their own way. Caste sytem in hindu religion in earlier days was with respect to each caste having to perform a particular duty in the society. It is not whether or not god created all as equals. Things needs to change in hinduism this aspect. Casteless hinduism is heavens gift to earth. If castes do not exist in other religions then why are some sections of minorities already in the BC and SC/ST categories while others are trying for these statuses for better life options.
I remember a catholic friend of mine comparing his status in christianity comparable to brahmins n Hindu religion.
God created man and a religion for man. That religion is love. Stick to it.
by SAVEINDIA on Jun 13, 2007 09:36 PM Permalink
Brahmins to become superior among the humans created caste system and documented it in VEDAS.
But today is science world.We will overcome castes, hatred preaching Vedas & Brahminical minds very soon.
by bynnu on Jun 13, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
"We will overcome castes, hatred preaching Vedas & Brahminical minds very soon." yeah i hope tht too..
Ok u want to overcome castes.... show some balls and stop the reservations for the SC/ST.
U want to over caste system, herez ur start.
Every coin has 2 sides, if u wanna remove brahmins from the caste system, then u have to remove all the SC/ST and all their allies from the system.
Its easy to say remove caste system[aka remove brahmins/upper caste from system].
Today for this issue if 100 people are barking how hideous the caste system is, trust me the moment u talk out caste based reservations 1000 people will start ranting and supporting caste based reservation.
this is what our bible says which is very relavent to the present topic, just take some time to read it b4 commenting pls James 2 Favoritism Forbidden 1My brothers, as believers in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ, don't show favoritism. 2Suppose a man comes into your meeting wearing a gold ring and fine clothes, and a poor man in shabby clothes also comes in. 3If you show special attention to the man wearing fine clothes and say, "Here's a good seat for you," but say to the poor man, "You stand there" or "Sit on the floor by my feet," 4have you not discriminated among yourselves and become judges with evil thoughts?
5Listen, my dear brothers: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him? 6But you have insulted the poor. Is it not the rich who are exploiting you? Are they not the ones who are dragging you into court? 7Are they not the ones who are slandering the noble name of him to whom you belong?
8If you really keep the royal law found in Scripture, "Love your neighbor as yourself,"[a] you are doing right. 9But if you show favoritism, you sin and are convicted by the law as lawbreakers. 10For whoever keeps the whole law and yet stumbles at just one point is guilty of breaking all of it.
RE:GOD WHERE R U
by Jagdeesh on Jun 13, 2007 09:32 PM Permalink
Hello joseph,
You s-h_it eating fellow. Stop talking about other religion's faith. The strength of Hindu religion is its tolerence, that too some extent. Why other religions want to enter in to hindu temple and what is the need. Don't they believe their respective Gods. Stop doing this nonsence. Let people follow their respective religion. No one has rights to ralk about other religion.
RE:RE:GOD WHERE R U
by SAVEINDIA on Jun 13, 2007 09:38 PM Permalink
Why are so angry and preaching hatred jagdeesh. Check the REDIFF news above. It says "I don't regret Guruvayur temple purification ritual: High priest".
-- is this the tolerance preached in hinduism. As a hindu i dont expect these words from a priest. After all these events,why should one goto GURUVAYUR temple. Lets abandon that temple that preaches hatred.
by bynnu on Jun 13, 2007 09:36 PM Permalink
"you xxxx xxxxx fellow. Stop talking about other religion's faith. The strength of Hindu religion is its tolerence"
boy that didnt seem like tolerance. The guy didnt seem anything bad also. sad way of proving tolerance.
by bharat on Jun 13, 2007 09:37 PM Permalink
What is relavent your scripture in this topic.
Do you heard about Bhagavat Geeta! The same Sree Krishna advised.
Now you may think then why people doing like this things. Answer is Humen being always make mistakes. Regardsless of their faith. Do you heard about Northern Ireland and IRA problem between Catholics and protastant!!
by SAVEINDIA on Jun 13, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
Mr.Bharat, Know history and speak. The social fight is not based on FAITH bharat. But what we hindus do,we fight ourselves.
RE:RE:RE:GOD WHERE R U
by on Jun 13, 2007 10:26 PM Permalink
Bharat ifs right about his last point about on N.Ireland. East timor issue is yet another example. Hindus were not in these places. No religion is free from problems even though they preach otherwise. Believe in love and hinduism.
by Jagdeesh on Jun 13, 2007 09:40 PM Permalink
Jesus will never come again. He very well know what would happen to him. He had enough experience when he came earlier.
by SAVEINDIA on Jun 13, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
see the love JESUS preached man.I love him whatever you say. We hindus never preach love among ourselves. This new items is itself is a proof of our hatredness.
Just a curious question how much tolerance we want from our religion? Why is the priest being targeted for following rules of the religion? Had it been an issue of breach of any other religions rules this minister wont have any guts to say what ever he is saying. Had he been muslim or christian and broken the sanctity of Mosque or Church he would have not been alive for making such a protest. He is still alive, isnt it tolerance of Hinduism? How much you want Hinduism to be tolerant?
RE:How much tolerance you want
by pp rr on Jun 13, 2007 09:35 PM Permalink
Its does not look like the matter of tolerance but the doctrine of one's faith considering all other human beings inequal in creation.In other words "I am of superior race than the other".one cannot practically practice such a faith as it dehumanizes all other human beings.its an ugly face of this worldview .
RE:RE:How much tolerance you want
by sam on Jun 13, 2007 09:38 PM Permalink
yet another simple question, why no one challenge any other faith, why people challenge only Hindus faith?
RE:RE:RE:How much tolerance you want
by pp rr on Jun 13, 2007 09:51 PM Permalink
The challenge raised is not at subjective level (what the followers of that particular religion think and do) but at the objective level(what the scripture or the faith actually states in its document).one should not judge any religion based on its abuse but on what the religious doctrine states.
RE:RE:RE:How much tolerance you want
by on Jun 13, 2007 10:36 PM Permalink
Sam. True tolerance is the answer. But as humans this also may not last long.
by Jeffrey Mittal on Jun 13, 2007 09:30 PM Permalink
See below.
We are not educated about our own faith and the people wit vested interest in destroying the Hindu faith are using this as another opportunity to spread disinformation and then take away more control from the Hindus over theri instituitons.
Think if any other faith in this ocntry has a non believer in that faith controlling the religious institutions.
So, Sudhakaran, an atheist (i.e. non beliver) is controlling along with his minions the Devasom board and stealing hundreds of crores of th poor devotees money.
This is going on throughout India and if anybody spends some effort they can google and understand how great the assault is.
www.savetemples.org tells you about Andhra and Samuel Rajashekar Reddy
Educate yourself and don't get caught up in these efforts to split the Hindus
by on Jun 13, 2007 10:34 PM Permalink
Kindly check if Sudhakaran, the , ateist has the guts to open the gates of mosques to everyone who would call himself a believer of islam and still be able to keep his head over his shoulders.
Lets not talk about andhra. Land belonging to the tirupathi government has been auctioned off to church of South India which YSR heads. I do not see why he needed this as the tirupathi temple was never short of cach as everyone knows. This shows how much he is doing for the hindus. The site you gave can be designed by anyone with the info. Speaking alone is not enough. I too can open a similar site without much work(I can make it more pleasing too).
by sam on Jun 13, 2007 09:36 PM Permalink
my question is simple and straight, if any other religion has liberty of not bending there rules why not Hinduism? Can you go to Mosques without a cap on head? Will a Christian accept Prasad from a temple? No then why hindus only compromise with there faith.
by lover boy on Jun 13, 2007 10:05 PM Permalink
I guess here "Hindu bashing" is new mantra of season. Its in fashion to make uneducated and ill-informed statements about Hindu religion, practise, rituals and philosophy. For these people its their 3 minutes fame.
I simply don't understand, if these people have so much problem with hindu religion and its practise why they even care to be and called hindus, why the hell they just convert to their favourite religion or faith.
by on Jun 13, 2007 10:41 PM Permalink
Conspirac is their game. Our beliefs are our wn. Live like a proud Hindu if you are one, live like a proud christian if you are oneor as a muslim. First learn to respect the religions of your fellow countrymen and stop blaming the politicians. They have not been of much use.
by sam on Jun 13, 2007 09:53 PM Permalink
Hinduism is very flexible, please go ahead and start a new sect of hindus. If hindus are giving pain.
by on Jun 13, 2007 10:36 PM Permalink
SAVE INDIA. i do not know which religion you belong to. But people do not visit temples for the preists.
by sam on Jun 13, 2007 10:49 PM Permalink
Its not a matter of priest, some one attacking preist here is not attacking him alone. This is an attack on fundamental principles of religion.
It may help understand hwere this pirest is coming form.
This is from a parallel article by Prem Panicker
"The couple, with Ravi, Purushottaman and others in tow, then entered the temple to offer prayer; Mercy, a Christian by birth and belief, stayed outside; as a non-Hindu, she was not permitted entry into the temple premises.
An unknown devotee spotted a cross dangling on the gold chain Mercy had draped around her son's neck, and complained to one of the priests that a Christian had entered the temple."
Wonder why she hung a chain with a cross just as he was entering the temple?
Surely the minister's wife could afford other "secular" or even Hindu gold chains.
And now the same minster is using "caste" and "Brahmanical arrogance" for political mileage.
I guess he forgot about that "little" incident.
What should be done when this rRavikrishna entered the temple wearing a cross, if the rules are clear?
How cheap.
Probably good for beating up the Hindus. (here the leftist& congress are allies)
So the readers may wnat to think about the motivation of Ravi, Sudhakaran and the CM for thier statemens and actions.
I believe that all Believeres should be allowed to enter and pray WITHIN THE RULES.
These poeple deliberately broke the rules and now a re using it to get poltical mileage
RE:Some background on this incident
by andre joseph on Jun 13, 2007 10:00 PM Permalink
"Paripoornan" is how the allmighty is described in Malayalam. Loosely translated, this means "someone who is perfect in every sense". He made man and like a mother who does not discriminate between her children, God too cannot see one human being in a lesser light than the other, for they are all his creation. The Tanti and the Vayalars are just microscopic specks in his creation. No human being has the right to deny another the right to reach out to his creator, be it in a Temple, Church or Mosque. In doing so, he is sinning against his creator. Any rules which are made in places of worship should only address issues which ensure orderly conduct and maintain it's santity rather than look at the religious background of the person in question. I may be a Christian, but what right does anyone have to prevent me from being a devotee of Lord Guruvayoorappan? Or is it that a Christian God made me and a Hindu God made all Hindus? It's sad when educated people start behaving like fourth grade kids knowing very well there are people who stir up such issues to gain some mileage from it. Logically in what way did the Vayalars affect the sanctity of the temple and what did the Tanti achieve by conducting a purification rite? God's presence in his house does not depend on who came there to worship him or if a few coconuts were broken. He is the supreme power and we humans are just tools in his hands. The sooner we understand it, the better.