Total 12 messages Pages | 1
ghetto
by Kanishka Durgesh on Jun 04, 2007 04:49 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

now i m not going to bash India for its usual horrible infrastructure, corruption, slums and etc
all i would say i think we indians should join and hand in hand to make a our country a better place and proove to the world that we too can be the best
thats all i have to say

RE:ghetto
by obama on Jun 04, 2007 05:10 AM  Permalink
WE ARE THE BEST no doubt... we just have to believe in our own selves!

Good thing to do, But still lot to de done.-Anand
by anand dubey on Jun 04, 2007 02:25 AM  Permalink 

It%u2019s nice to read about such bright ideas. I wish and pray this dream turns into reality. we should also be concerned about thousands of such slums already existing and few other developing across India every year. I would suggest Gov., N.G.O%u2019s , and People to identify the root cause for development of slums and try to fix that too.
Support the Idea.

Another manifestation of rotten system
by ali kazmi on Jun 04, 2007 01:03 AM  Permalink 

We should also look at the reasons which lead to creation of such ghettos. The problem starts as people in villages and small towns percieve a difference in the facilities provided to them as compared to a metropolitan like Mumbai. So the plan for exodus to Mumbai takes root. The typical villager will gather his household stuff, and embark on a journey to Mumbai in a second class train compartment, which incidentally is a ticketless journey most of the time.
In Mumbai he contacts his brethren who have already grabbed premium government land in a slum, and gets inspired to grab a similar piece of land. The police and state machinery who should have ensured that such encroachment does not occur, keep their eyes closed towards it, as obviously they do not think that they are going to make any money by stopping this process. So another illegal colony comes into picture.
Now the dishonest and unscruplous politicians come into picture. These politicians do not care as much for the benefit of the country and the society at large, as they care for their own myopic benefits. So they actually encourage this process, and then when the elections are nearing the corner, they visit these ghettos and legalize these places and provide electricy connection.
But these slum-dwellers who have got used to getting the freebees are always clamoring for more. And they are also supported by the so-called social acivists.
And this leads to hatching of these evil schemes like the Dharavi settlmn

Dharavi is the first experiment.
by Vishnu Sharma on Jun 04, 2007 12:12 AM  Permalink 

If Dharavi can be cleared then any other slum in India can also be cleared.
We really need to spruce up things in India
No need to waste time hedging over such issues.
The need of the hour is to work hard to improve the conditions of the common man on the street.
We need to polish his ways and direct him towards better standards of living, hygiene, habits and work ethics.
Only then can we add 10 million more people to the ranks of the middle class.
I would like Dharavi to be converted into a decent neighbourhood. If there are workshops
then these should be all in on section of the neighbourhood.
The remaining areas should be converted into decent housing with ample trees and shade.
A park and a track and field course would complete the change.
The sewage system also needs overhauling.
No more open sewers. All this can happen only when people who see the big picture can step in.
The common man in the slum is NOT in a position to make this change. Only his co-operation can
be co-erced. If he refuses then he should be over-ruled.

jokers
by Paanwala on Jun 04, 2007 12:06 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The earlier Maharashtra CM said he would make Bombay into New York, the current joker says he would make Bombay into Shanghai.
Dharavi is not an isolated issue.. people come to Dharavi and live because it's still better than the villages they left behind. Unless you work at the grassroot level and develop the whole of India, there is no chance that selective development i.e. Metropolitan development can succeed. All this one-sided development is a recipe for social unrest and catastrophe.

This idiot PTI correspondance should consult dictionary for the word ''Ghetto''
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Jun 03, 2007 11:17 PM  Permalink 

This idiot PTI correspondance should consult dictionary for the word "Ghetto"/

Dharavi is slum, not ghetto.

If there is a way out and a way to improvement it needs to be tried
by BostonPunekar on Jun 03, 2007 11:01 PM  Permalink 

I have a opinion, instead of sitting in the drawing rooms and being critical of every thing someone does and some one does not do, end result is we becoming same as the Dhobi of Ramayana. Well progress and development does not occur just by wishing and commenting. There is an effort and as in science and technology unless the experiment is sucessfull one cannot enjoy the benifits of sucess.

Hence to be progressive and a progressed country all efforts which show the way of progress have to be tried. If you dont try that you then have the risk of turning in a Nepal, Bangladesh or Burma.

If you shed all these inabitions then there is a chance of India becoming a developed country.

Hence only for these reasons above I wholeheartedly support the Government of Maharashtras effort to develop and re build Dharavi. Mumbai does not need any landmarks which say "Asias biggest slum". Any efforts to get rid of that stigma should always be welcome.

Asia's biggets ghetto: win-win for all?
by Bodh Ramdeo on Jun 03, 2007 07:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

For eons Indians have boasted with pride of having the "world's largest ghetto" - their greatest claim to fame. And it's the entrenchd slefish, self-serving polticians who are most responsible for things being such a mess in this India's 'commercial capital' and staying that way.
Even with all this hype and hoopla, at the end of the day, the slum-dwellers may still eventaully be forced out, or they will sell up and move to the next open space and start another slum, all with the connivance and approval of corrupt netas and babus. Hopefully the netas in other states will try to replicate the same in their fetid slums they call cities.

RE:Asia's biggets ghetto: win-win for all?
by manoj thakkar on Jun 03, 2007 09:33 PM  Permalink
I agree with you. The situation have become so worst that whatever our netas says People usually just dont believe them. Indian people need to learn to be more practicle along with being only emotional.

Total 12 messages Pages: | 1