RE:alliance with america is advantage
by ratnesh srivastav on Jul 20, 2007 07:39 PM Permalink
The fact is no country is our friend. All countries are playing for their own interests. As you can see that America is pushing pakistan to control Taliban but has nothing to say on Kashmiri terrorists.
NO one is friend. We are on our own. We may have temporary alignment of interests but nothing permanent.
I would be best if we started acting on our own instead of looking for friends.
Do you not remember: 1. How china attacked India when we were speaking hindi-chini bhai-bhai. 2. How pakistan attacked kargil when we tried to have friendship in Lahore. 3. Or how Bangladesh killed Indian soldiers when we had FRIENDSHIP treaty. 4. Or how our friends in Islamic world (for whom we supported palestine movement through out history) passed resolution after resolution in OIC asking India to give up its state of J&K.
Remember NO ONE IS FRIEND. All countries are alone. They may have similar interests and we must look for after interests.
RE:RE:alliance with america is advantage
by ratnesh srivastav on Jul 20, 2007 07:39 PM Permalink
The fact are 1. US will never help India against Pakistan. 2. US will always India against China. and it is here that our interests match but US is also a very cunning country. The always aim to make all countries dependent on them. For example: they are going back on their promise of allowing India reprocessing rights. (This is just one out of thousands). 3. We must take US helpto increase our potential but should also remain VIGILANT and must not sign any BIASED TREATIES with US. 4. The problem is US wants India to help them in Iraq and Afganistan but donot with to help India in J&K. The relationship with US is always oneway. 5. India HAS BEEN fighting its war with terrorists for decades now but every one should realise that American WAR ON TERROR is actually WAR FOR OIL. It has nothing to do with TERROR. Otherwise they would have attacked Pakistan or Saudi Arabia (Real sources of TERROR). Why America was silent about: 1. Almost all of 9-11 hijackers were Saudis trained in Pakistan. They attacked Iraq only for oil and not for terrorism.
So you see America is only fighting for money and oil whereas India is fighting to save herdelf from another partition.
US is not enemy of Islamic world. In fact US helped Islamic fundamentalism to defeat USSR. Even today it is supporting SAUDI ROYAL FAMILY (Who are funding terrorism everywhere).
Think carefully US CANNOT be anyones friend. With such friends who needs Enemies. Develop India by working and not on someone's friendship.
by Balu Durai on Jul 21, 2007 12:35 AM Permalink
Sorry boss!
Please see what is important for our national and strategic intersts. Our interests come first. Then we support are betray others. In the ever changing geo-political situation, americans are the best bet now and we dont have other alternative.
by ratnesh srivastav on Jul 20, 2007 07:38 PM Permalink
1st reactor at Tarapur - fuel stopped by america just because india exploded bomb in 1974 even after giving WRITTEN commtiments
Tejas fighter engine - Purchased for money and no charity. In fact America illegally confiscated Indian made flight control system after pokhran II
largest number of Indians living abroad - America - because america NEEDs intelligent people, againno charity
largest trading partner of India - America - still creates illegal (according to WTO) tarriff barriers for Indian Textiles.
largest foreign investor in India - by America - only because our economy is strong and they dono want to miss PROFIT making chance, agan no charity
largest number of Indian students studying abroad - American universities - because we are better than average american students
greatest aid donor to pakistan - America
largest outsourcer/job creator to India - America - not for charity but only to make profit
supplied and supplied 6.5 billion $ in arms to PAKISTAN in last 3 years (Only to fight India)
Supported Pakistan in 1971 and sent 7th fleet to attack India (we were saved because of Russian submarines who were followingUS fleet and russia declared openly to attack in case of US attack)
Supported China aginst Russians and supplied weapons which they plan to use against india.
THE BEST SCIENTISTS FROM INDIA HAVE LEFT TO AMERICA
only those whose visa has been rejected remain behind
TWO SCIENTISTS FROM INDIA HAVE WON NOBEL PRIZE FOR USA (KHORANA, CHANDRASEKHAR) WHILE ONLY ONE HAS WON NOBEL PRIZE FOR INDIA (C.V.RAMAN) AND THAT TOO IN 1930 BEFORE INDEPENDENCE.
SHOWS CLEARLY INDIAN SCIENTISTS PREFER TO WORK FOR AMERICA BECAUSE MERIT IS RECOGNIZED
RE:ITS A HOPELESS CASE,
by Jehan Mir on Jul 20, 2007 09:26 PM Permalink
inkypinky ,CIA agent is back again. Poor guy is paid minimum wage and asked to put in hundreds of hours scanning discussion boards,chat rooms promoting irrational US positions.
Your nature is terrible to say the least. You refuse that nuclear energy is CANNOT replace oil and gas else US would not be dependent on Gulf oil.
You have been exposed as an american stooge.
You are free to kiss and lick American BOOTS but we Indians will never bow down to sign any third class agreement.
If you are so in love with america then get the hell out of India.
And Indian scientists have delievered:
It took US and USSR more than 9000 nuclear explosions to be able to design Thermonuclear bomb whereas Indian scientists designed in 5 1 explosions without any help.
It is people like you who have crap names to hide behind and pretend that you are indians. But your game is up.
remaining local mediocre scientists are jusy giving empty claims abouit developing thorium reaators. its not possible when the best scientist have left to america. most defence projects have failed eg. arjun tank, tejas fighter.
either sign the deal with anerica OR the NPT, else the nuclear plants run out of fuel soon.
RE:ITS A HOPELESS CASE,
by ASHOK on Jul 20, 2007 03:33 PM Permalink
I will agree with your comments/observations. India went on producing third grade Ambassador / Fiat and standard herald cars for decades.
Socialistic goals never allowed India to develop its Industry.
It is now that we are going into private sector and trying to bring in latest technology.
It will take time to catch up. If arjun singh / vp singh / buta singh / MM singh succeed in clamping down India's nascent private sector, than this will keep on happenning.
These are ominous times for India.Our politicians -especially of congress variety- and their kowtowing bureaucrats are at it again.Americans know which carrots to dangle where and when.There in Washington our bureaucrats are getting bedazzled by 'imprimatur'-dropping in- acts of first Ms Rice and then Cheney.While Rice is a India baiter,Cheney is supposedly a friend,having acknowledged 'India's very good nonproliferation track record',and having argued that 'India has no interest in the spread of this deadly technology. By taking additional steps to secure its nuclear materials and technology, India continues to build upon this track record'. He even declared, "Given the Agreement's strategic importance, we must be sure that amendments or delays on the US side do not risk wasting this critical opportunity." So our immature,egoistic babus think that the US administration will fall in line with Cheneys public utterings! Simultaneously, here in Delhi,the war-toys merchants from Boeing and Hawk are touting the futuristic F-35 while trying to palm off the defunct F-16s to join the IAF.There is a subtle message to the effect how a successful wrap up of the nuke deal could pave an enabling path for India to acquire the presently unveiled dream-toys in the immediate future and even more exoticas undreamt of, in the distant future! Such is the business guile of Americans hiding their obnoxious wile against India's national interests.Is 'Hindi-Yankee bhai bhai'in the air?
RE:India's Nuclear scientists being pawned and conned
by ASHOK on Jul 20, 2007 03:10 PM Permalink
Who is forcing india to buy F 16 , we are at liberty to buy what we need as long as Russia or US is willing to sell it.
It was US who snubbed Indira Gandhi and kept giving arms to pakistan and look what happenned to that. US lost its money, and India became strong.
by inkypinky on Jul 20, 2007 03:19 PM Permalink
why do you have to depend on russia or america ? because the best scientists from india have left to america and the remaining medicocre local scientists have failed to deliver.
by ASHOK on Jul 20, 2007 06:32 PM Permalink
But what is the root Cause ??? Our politicians do create an environment which rewards the best amongst best.
RE:RE:India's Nuclear scientists being pawned and conned
by ASHOK on Jul 20, 2007 06:34 PM Permalink
But what is the root Cause ??? Our politicians do NOT create an environment which rewards the best amongst best.
Now Cheney is trying; so be careful. Cheney also has promoted ENRON, who ran away from India with Rs.6300 Crores from the Industrial Development Bank of India. Same will be true if India buys nuclear plants from USA.
why do you have to depend on russia or america ? because the best scientists from india have left to america and the remaining mediocre local scientists have failed to deliver.
USA has a different 123 Agreement with China. China is allowed to have what India cannot have. USA just wants to destroy India"s nuclear industry which was built up since 1974 with the help pf the Soviet Union and Russia. India ccanot have feet on two boats. Russia is now against the West. If India wants to have Russian technology which is vital for every parts of industry and defence and Space-Missile, India ccannot be at the same time a subservient to USA.
RE:USA wants to Destroy India's Nuclear Weapons Program
by Aftab on Jul 20, 2007 10:06 AM Permalink
We do not have the state of the art technology to handle nuclear issues.So we have two options beg it or develop it.
If we develop it, it may take longer time to reduce the technology gap and our Indian scientists are capable enough to accelerate the process of reducing the gap if sufficient resources and freedom to do experiments are provided to them.
If we beg then we will get, not the latest but a few decade old technology with lot of restrictions imposed on us.In return US will indirectly ask for economic concessions also.Let us not forget that behind every action of US "greed or compulsion" is alwyas there.Even when they give donations / grants it is Amitabh Bacchhan Type of donation who has donated the land in UP and Maharashtra to save his neck.
We have confidence in the goverment of India that whatever they agree or agree to disagree will be in the long term interest of country and without sacrificing the national pride.
by Dipak Bose on Jul 20, 2007 11:42 AM Permalink
USA is not the leading country regarding nuclear power research, Russia, Japan France are. USA has done no research and no commissioning of new nuclear plants for the last 30 years. India is going again for the wrong products as it did when it has purchased Hawk aircraft from Britain costing $6 Billion but Hawk has 30 years old technology. I do not have any confidence on this government, who has just elected a criminal as the new President.
by ASHOK on Jul 20, 2007 02:43 PM Permalink
Dipak Bose India need uranium to run Thorium cycle. We do not have Uranium available.
How do you propose India should get it over. ( France / Japan have no Uranium to be sold) US / canada & Australia is one block on this count.
Russia is not ready to defy US.
Tell me what options we have.
I believe our guys are equally competent and will give hard time to US and will not compromise our Future.
But you saying, we should side with Russia. Well Russia can not make a good tractor / car or even TV. They are heavily dependent on Europe. A country which is itself trying to getup on its two feets , it will take long time for Russia to be a strong partner to India.
Also Russia has nothing to deal with india in agriculture / medical / consumer electronics/ computers ..... well list is pretty long.
Do they have anything close to WINDOWS !! Even Iranians depend and copy US made software.
RE:RE:USA wants to Destroy India's Nuclear Weapons Program
by Mahesh Kulharia on Jul 20, 2007 08:07 PM Permalink
Aftab is absolutely right.
And Meghalaya has one of the largest reserves of High quality Uranium ore. But because of enviornmental issues and militancy Government is not using it.
Instead of getting very old technology for a complete subbordination of foreign and defence policy it would be much better if we extract this uranium.
by inkypinky on Jul 20, 2007 03:20 PM Permalink
why do you have to depend on russia or america ? because the best scientists from india have left to america and the remaining mediocre local scientists have failed to deliver.
by inkypinky on Jul 20, 2007 11:02 PM Permalink
BUSINESS - RUSSIA IS THE LARGEST ARMS SUPPLIER TO BOTH INDIA AND CHINA....thats highly immoral supplying arms to both sides.
Jehan Mir For India it is important to have energy security. Today Best of Nuclear technology as well as oil exploration / Drilling and production techniques are avavilable with US only. I repeat "WITH US ONLY"
While India will be free to get many of its Nuclear shopping list supplied by Russia/ Canada/ France / Japan & Australia, but only after we resolve our Nuclear issues with US.
By the same token I would say Iran is a great country and it should resolve its issues with US and move forward in Nuclear as well as Oil technology.
RE:Let us keep following in focous.
by Vinay Gupta on Jul 20, 2007 09:29 AM Permalink
Ashok, you are right.What if US using India and that suits India. Iran is not the well wisher of India. Any Islamic weapon is going to be used against India, be it from Pakistan,Iran, Bangladesh or saudi .
Regarding Iran. Iran saved Pak air force in 1971 by allowing its fighter plane to enter in its teretory so that they are safe from IAF assault. On Kashmir also Muslim country donot support India stand that it is intergral part of India. At the most they say that issue should be resolved through negotiation.
Moreover , it is time for India to become free from Oil/energy Blackmailing and go for neculear energy. US needs India is a great advantegious situation for us and we shud exploit it. People didnot object when Musharraf used 9/11 for PAK advantage
RE:RE:Let us keep following in focous.
by ASHOK on Jul 20, 2007 09:47 AM Permalink
Vinay I agree with your observations. I am also aware of dirty role played by Iran , when it comes to India vs Pakistan. When I mean Iran is great nation, I mean common people of Iran. ( Not the mullahs and not Ahmedinizad >> He is leading Iran to Destruction) If you meet avaerage iranians, they are great people , heavily supressed by Mullahs.
by Balu Durai on Jul 20, 2007 09:58 AM Permalink
well said vinay. india needs energy security and we cannot depend on the fossile fuel ever and if we dont try to reduce the usage of oil, one fine day the idiots who are producing may use it as balckmailing weapon. China is surging ahead to secure its energy requirements and we cannot sit back idle. We have already wasted almost 60 years to develop on par with developed countries like germany etc. But we had time for talking communism and socialism in that process lost ouselves. Within next fifty years India will one of the three closest allies to US and we are going to need the alliance in this multipolar world. If we talk about NAM and all the irrelevent things, we will be left behind again and if there is any potential conflict between us and pakistan, the same islamic countries like saudi, iran, turkey and even indonesia will come to pakistan' s rescue as in 1965 and 71 but who will come to us. So our strategic interests are important for us and please dont heed what these communists in india are bluffing for their own vote consumption. We need 123 and America for our security.
by Balu Durai on Jul 21, 2007 12:59 AM Permalink
Sorry mr. Aftab,
If a true indian is speaking on behalf of india and for its interest, and if you see this through the prism of muslims or non-muslims why you people will not be so backward in all spheres. Sorrry for you.
by Aftab on Jul 20, 2007 10:14 AM Permalink
Please remove the saffron glasses as you are able to see only saffron or green.
Dear friend nature has provided us so manybeutiful shades of colour that you will be amazed.This is possible only if you remove saffron glasses and if possible the saffron cloth also.
by Dipak Bose on Jul 20, 2007 11:48 AM Permalink
Wrong on two counts: (1) You have no idea about technology in Europe( including Russia) and Japan. USa looks very poor today compare with Europe and Japan.
(2) Even if USA has the best technology( which is not true at all), they will not give these to us. They did nothing for us for the last 60 years, now they want to sell their junk nuclear power plants with so much restrictions. USa refused to help India to industrialize and to explore oil. The Soviet Union did helped India on both counts, but Indians are ungrateful.
by ASHOK on Jul 20, 2007 02:26 PM Permalink
Deepak Bose You have no idea about technology. 1) Let us start with Petrochemicals >> can you give me even 1 name from Russia. US companies are all over in naptha as well as gas cracker technology and downstream.
2) Now talk about Refinery Technology>> can you give me even 1 russian company which sets up refineries at grass root level. Again it is US companies and ofcouse Shell from Eorope.
2) Now let us talk about offshore oil >> Russia is nowhere in the world. Today Russian oil industry is all due to EXXON & SHELL.
No one wants Chernobyl in India. Remember, we have to deal sternly with US, On our terms.
i am nowhere in favour of bowing down. But fact remains , we can not get good technology from Russia.
yes Russia helped us when we needed it most, That does not mean , we sacrifice on our future commercial deals. We are a free nation to deal with any one , who suits our requirements
This deal legalises indian nuclear military capability and allows India access to international Uranium for power production.This deal is very good for India.That is why Chinese and Pakis are so much against it.Let us all welcome it.
Cheney,Mr.Helliburton is dying to attack Iran and needs a India as a springboard.
Cheney would offer his butt let alone any concessions on the N-deal to reach an agreement with India.
Cheney has nothing to worry about.He has no family members serving in the military.Its the third world within USA,serving in the military which would take the brunt of war causalties and deaths and their poor families would quietly suffer unspeakable grief and hardships.
India,you are on the right track.Keep pushing,you will get all what you want and more
RE:Mr. Halliburton
by Jehan Mir on Jul 20, 2007 01:53 PM Permalink
India is welcomed to team up with US and Israel. But right now US is extremely unpopular throughout the World. The Unions in England want to bycott Israel.
But the big question is whether all this teaming up amounts to anything.US can be friendly but is never anybody's friend. US likes allies to help fight her wars or promote her agenda but US will not fight India's war.
India has been great in PR. department . India had great relationship with Jamal Nasser of Egypt,Yassar Arafat and even Saddam Hussain and in fact had better than Pakistan 's relationship with these countries. The problem is India would cut herself off from the Islamic markets and there are about 44 Muslim countries. Economy is the name of the game and not fighting wars. Iraq war has destroyed Us economy . Dollar falling against Euro and other countries. US has no money to back up the checks she is writing. US is in a very bad shape. Sooner it gets out of Iraq , sooner it can rehabilitate herself.
India needs peace desperately for progress and to overcome multitudes of problems. I sometime wonder ,how India feeds over billion people everyday.
by Vinay Gupta on Jul 20, 2007 09:20 AM Permalink
Mir, What if US using India and that suits India. Iran is not the well wisher of India. Any Islamic weapon is going to be used against India, be it from Pakistan,Iran, Bangladesh or saudi .
Regarding Iran. Iran saved Pak air force in 1971 by allowing its fighter plane to enter in its teretory so that they are safe from IAF assault. On Kashmir also Muslim country donot support India stand that it is intergral part of India. At the most they say that issue should be resolved through negotiation.
Moreover , it is time for India to become free from Oil Blackmailing and go for neculear energy.
by sridhar gorantla on Jul 20, 2007 07:56 AM Permalink
Well, so far the entire Islamic world has done nothing to India, except to split vast India in to Pakistan, Bangladesh & India in the name of religion. Atleast, let the Western world do something to India. India has never attacked any one in its history. India was a super power before the Invasion of foreign religious fanatics and imperialists.
Its time that India look for its own development and try to uplift the lives of its common citizens, rather than give too much importance to any other country. Of course, India will never suppress others for its develoment, what it will have to do is be focussed to achieve its own development rather than any other diversions.
In this sense, its perfect to gain US support to gain energy independence and especially OIL independence, since 50% if INDIA's imports are just oil imports of about 50Billion dollars. If India could reduce its dependence on foreign OIL by 50% in next 20 years, by way of nuclear power & other renewable sources and using solar energy, then it can be mostly be free from the dependence of foreign oil and save its FOREX. This foreign exchange can be used for infrastructure projects, which are essential to INDIA's development. Imagine even if INDIA reduces 20% in the next 5 years, it will save around $10 billion every year on import bill, that can be diverted to Infrastructure development. Also, OIL usage will increase global warming.
RE:RE:Mr. Halliburton
by sridhar gorantla on Jul 20, 2007 08:00 AM Permalink
How pity you are for the lives of the US Citizens. But you doesnot seem to have any concern for the lives of the so called maniacs who are killing even common citizens in the name of JIHAD. If you do have concern for the lives of the innocents, then please try to sned your message to the maniacs who have gotten blind by their attachment to the religion and taking innocent lives. These fools doesnot even understand the difference between the religion and GOD or ALLAH.