Total 116 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Important to think what exactly one is aiming for ...
by Jay Sudrik on Jan 23, 2007 08:18 AM  Permalink 

Its a very good article. Everyone wants India to progress and make good. However, we don't have a collective vision of where exactly we want to make progress.

Its clear now that just beating the numbers doesn't make lives better and being rich doesn't exactly mean getting better. Progress is much more than that. We definitely should look at moral education and improving manners in our public lives to make it a real good country. At heart and as individuals we are very good people, but together as a group we don't form a pretty picture due to lack of our public manners and sense.

I have been abroad and I have experienced warmth of our country being outside for few years. I came back and am staying happily in India relishing the same, however, there are definitely things we can improve.

Nice Try
by Jyothi on Jan 23, 2007 08:15 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Where did your heart go when you went abroad? Dont preach what you cannot practice boss. I will only say nice try in better english!!

"I belong to life's batch of 1979 and as I grew up through the 1980s and early 1990s " then how come " I am 27 now and I pray that I can see India fly... "

RE:Nice Try
by adarsh sampath on Jan 23, 2007 08:39 AM  Permalink
hi,
I know its easier to preach than to practise. We all know these facts but always want someone to remind or wake us. Believe it or not its a truth we all know our duties but no one follows it. Everyone is in a look to pull others down.

We again need to get together and work to make india a prosperous united and more importantly a peaceful india.

Nice Article
by AjayKumar Veeranki on Jan 23, 2007 08:03 AM  Permalink 

Hi Ravi

I dont care what other say, as a fellow NRI, after staying in India for 23 years, I must admit, your article express the feel of most NRI who wish to see India brighter with heart.

Khudoos to you.

Keep up the good work

DO YOU HAVE THE HEART TO COME HERE
by thepolice stewart on Jan 23, 2007 02:45 AM  Permalink 

Mr Ravi,
Are you ready to come back here and do the needful,rather than you sitting out there telling your Canadian friends about the feelings that you have/had for your country and educating them wrongly and taking pride in what they do.
as they boast globalization is taking over,its explotation in the name of globalization which the imperialistic powers are hell bent to continue the practice in a subtle way.

dude its easy to say things from there,i tell you --YOU DONT HAVE THE TRUE HEART TO COME BY!!

just thinking
by on Jan 23, 2007 02:42 AM  Permalink 

India is booming there is no doubt and all know this fact in the world. Good jobs, career, training, latest electronics/gadgets, clothes, cars, wines, restaurants, theater, in summery what money can buy is available in India and lot of people can afford now days.

But a simple Q: Where should we go for cycling, hiking, river rafting, skiing, tennis, jogging, clean water, clean air, golf, clean lakes/rivers for boating/relax, driving distance state/national parks, freely hanging deer/other animals, lot of trees, housing in lush green areas, beautiful color of leaves in fall, beautiful drives, clean beaches and long list which money can not buy?

Why so angry!
by on Jan 23, 2007 02:24 AM  Permalink 

Many of the posts seem to be shouting out the author for pointing out some deficiencies in our system. I think every person who contributed to this discussion cares about the country and wants to make things better, for themselves and for the under privileged. We do not need to fight each other. Do whatever is in your capacity to improve ourselves all the time. No country or system is perfect. We have numerous warts ourselves. Let us recognize this and try to make a fair yet competitive country.

ill written article
by eron kar on Jan 23, 2007 02:16 AM  Permalink 

I don't know, how such amateurish one sided articles as the one by Mr.Ravi Bhaskar are put up "in Bold" on a site like Rediff which is perceived by many of it's readers putting up more wholistic articles, more mature in their approach, not just some nostalgic emotional babble by a confused Desi NRI.
The future of this country as a booming economic power and a global power in all aspects would be chalked by young fellow Indians like Navin and others who chose inspite of being capable to contribute towards a better India,a better place for their next generation to live in...I applaud them.For opportunistic blokes like Ravi and his friend Shailendra, they will just come back from Canada/USA and start boasting that they are proud Indians now and not NRI's anymore just as they had gone to Canada in search of greener pastures earlier.The trend has already started and it's for everyone to see.So i think Ravi is just trying to justify his return to Indiandom, through this article, in the near future.
The irony is the people who'll welcome Ravi back with a warm heart would be people like Navin who stay back,work hard to make this dream come true. Well that goes to show just one aspect of the heart of this country vis-a-vis countries(Read USA/Canada) where even 3rd generation Indians complain/crib of Racism and Glass ceilings.
India is rocking guys, hey NRI's you wanna come back? Well all i can say is that getting an Indian passport is difficult nowadays with all the demand, you know...
So give it your best...Jai Hind

It's just choice
by on Jan 23, 2007 02:07 AM  Permalink 

India is good for IAS, IPS, big politicians, film stars, Indian celebrities, super rich businessmen and God. At that level there is not too much difference between India and western world.

India may be good if everything is going good but if you get struck with court, lawyer, police, big accident, big medical problems then you will know real India and you will get phd in Indian constitution by going 100 times court/police station. Your degree, experience, English accent all will be kicked by Omvir Havaldar, Delhi Police. Most frustrated thing, you can not do anything just "sir please MahtmaGandhi 500". If you can not speak Haryanvi with Omvir Havaldar then you hve to pay Rs 1000.

For a group of people who wants to be more in career, job, training, certification, switching companies and they feel that they can do better in India. It's good for them to live there. I know few guys who moved to India from USA just they think 24X7 only career, job and money.

For a group of people the job is part of life but other things are also important like services, clean air, clean water, hiking, biking, river rafting, tennis, hang out, traveling. For them western world is good.

Very easy to analyze the system from outside......
by navin tripathi on Jan 22, 2007 10:24 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Sitting back there in Canada and showing your discontent about how you were ashamed of your own motherland is very easy. Man if you have the guts to write something like this, then you should also stand up and be counted. Sitting comfortably outside of the system and shouting that this is bad and that is unreasonable is very easy. Did you ever thought of contributing to this rotten country some of your intellect. I am just a fresher age-23 who got a job of 20,000/- per month, but even from this salary i am supporting education of 3 poor children. Your article is the extent of hypocrisy and shows what sort of a hypocrite you are. If you have the conviction and if you think that you can defend yourself mail me back at navin.tripathi@gmail.com
else just remain settled and silent in some foreign land and leave India's development to people like us.

RE:Very easy to analyze the system from outside......
by Shailendra on Jan 22, 2007 11:23 PM  Permalink
Hey Navin,

If you could only read through the lines yuou would understand rather than be furious. Ravi Bhasker has portrayed in his article his thoughts neither stink of hypocrisy nor of exxageration. You know what his contribution to India is? He is a working pofessional whocearns his own money, an independent and proud Indian. It is good that you earn 20K and you provide schooling to 3 poor children. Do you know what he has or has not done? Before pointing fingers it would be good to know more about the person. Do you have the right to judge the person just from reading the article? Oh..maybe you do have the right but is it a knowledgable and conscious judgement.
Wishing you good luck

Shailendra Chalasani

RE:RE:Very easy to analyze the system from outside......
by Deepika on Jan 22, 2007 11:32 PM  Permalink
Hey Shailendra

if u hv read the lines properly u wud have already made out that though this Indian-Ravi, is independent earner....he has devoted his skills to another economy and not India. From his article it does not appear that he is a 'proud indian' as u say.

as far as appears from thge aricle... he is just tring to show the human aspect and its necessity and i am sure that u wudnt fail to agree that fellow Indians did contribute for the ones in distress in the times of Tsunami.

yes we dont know this person so as to give a judgement....but dont u think that he has been too jugemental to leave his Motherland behind?

RE:RE:RE:Very easy to analyze the system from outside......
by Shailendra on Jan 23, 2007 12:24 AM  Permalink
Hi Deepika,

You said "if u hv read the lines properly u wud have already made out that though this Indian-Ravi, is independent earner....he has devoted his skills to another economy and not India. From his article it does not appear that he is a 'proud indian' as u say."

Yes he has devoted his skills for another economy but that could be because he was looking for greener pastures. A lot of Indians do that and for that matter a lot of people in a lot of countries do that. And from his article it apperas that he may not have been a proud Indian but now he is.

You said "...necessity and i am sure that u wudnt fail to agree that fellow Indians did contribute for the ones in distress in the times of Tsunami."

I am assuming he wasnt talking about financial contributions but more in terms of an utopian society.

You said "...but dont u think that he has been too jugemental to leave his Motherland behind?"

I dont think he was judgemental about India and hence he left. His leaving India I think was most probably like I said earlier i.e for greener pastures.
But my question is does that make him an "India hater" or any lesser Indian than you or I? Ravi is utilizing "The freedom of speech" article incorporated in our constitution. To tell you the truth I love his idea of an India who is a superpower with a heart. I hope the Gods have heard and have motioned his thought.

RE:RE:RE:RE:Very easy to analyze the system from outside......
by Deepika on Jan 23, 2007 09:23 AM  Permalink
shailendra

that is what i precisely said.....he chose to move out looking at the greener pasture at that point of time......then why sud he cricise.....yes some people here might have attitudes which are hinderances to development....but at the same time there r those who r helping India to move forward...we never say that Indian growth is taking at the potential growth rate.

Tsunami contribution not only refererred to the monetary aspect but the human aspect of the society too. Except for peple working in Public Institutions and MNCs....the self employed that is, were not forced to contribute to this cause....but yes everyone joined hands at the difficult times.

An utopian society can be....and sud be a goal....thats understandable, but it cannot be the means or the starting point.....or a phase in middle of the develpment process. Development might lead to utopian structure.

Ravi appers to have been a proud indian when it shined........before that he he was ashamed and he left for the greener pastures as u put it......and after that has gutts today to give India a direction....in his own utopian way.

I am not against his thought....but i am questioning his crediatability on the grounds of his leaving at the first place.

RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Very easy to analyze the system from outside......
by Shailendra on Jan 23, 2007 07:06 PM  Permalink
Hi Deepika,

I am at a loss of words. Anyway you are entitled to your opinion. But I would suggest that you read Ravi's comments. Hope that will erase some of your doubts.
Best Wishes
Shailendra Chalasani

India does have a heart you just have to see it
by Paru Patil on Jan 22, 2007 09:47 PM  Permalink 

I have lived abroad too. But came back to india because i got kicked out (deported). I had left india when i was 3 and now i have returned when i am 20. Now if i were to compare. There will be some glaring differences like infrastructure and cleanliness and so on. But when i discuss the people. I certainly find the difference. Firstly i was a student in Australia. There choosing a friend was really tough, god knows when they will turn their back to you. I got screwed by a few friends. But here the meaning of friendship is a bit different I find the friend network more tightly knit here, I found people who i could depend on, like drive me 90km from my town to another at 2am because my friend had an accident. Money between friends is not much of an issue here. I am currently a student here doing my engg. I am planning to finish my engg and enter a teaching school. I find that education the best way to change a nation. I certainly not thinking to going abroad.
I feel that in todays world people are too used to instant coffee. HOT WATER COFFEE POWDER = COFFEE.
We are certainly not going to get a magic powder to change our country in one day. It will be a long hard journey. And i want to make sure like the billion others that i walk ever step with my country endure pain, fight tiresome and find victory. It will take time, but i will wait or die waiting.

Total 116 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>