Total 57 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
Do we have any optoins?
by jagannath on Jan 18, 2007 02:34 AM  Permalink 

May be there this is another bofors, but we really lack in tech powers for this kind of navy.

With due respect to DRDO and its contributions we have already seen its limits in certain areas such as LCA, Trishul, ACWS, Arjun Tanks and many more. We are not matured enough to build such a huge aircraft carrier. If you order an aircraft carrier today, it will be delivered to you minimum after 5 years. They are not ready made. What are you supposed to do till that time? This deal is not the part of actual arm sale by US to india, but a gesture towards the growing friendly relationship in terms of military cooperation.

arre yaar u dont understand
by friend friend on Jan 18, 2007 02:28 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

We will buy the ship, see the technology & then COPY it. We are good in cpoying...

RE:arre yaar u dont understand
by Deepak Srivastav on Jan 18, 2007 02:43 AM  Permalink
even if we copy ,its a technology of 60's .. what will we do copying .. wastage of time and money

acquisition of the ship
by Deepak Srivastav on Jan 18, 2007 02:24 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

absolutely rediculous. Instead of buying old Junk from russia or US we should invest it in India. We might take 50years to build a ship but atleast we will have the technology to build it indegeniously. Its worth a wait and investment so that future generation do not depend on western countries to secure its own boundaries. Stop buying junk from US. Think beyond your pockets.

RE:acquisition of the ship
by Shalini Bhaskar on Jan 18, 2007 07:20 AM  Permalink
Dear Friend,
ha Ha By the time we take our sweet time of 50 years to make the ship, we will be inferior even to Pakistan in this matter, producing an useless antique .. !! Make use of what's available now...
"In war & love, nothing is unfair..my friend.."

price tag
by Prakash Bhandari on Jan 18, 2007 02:09 AM  Permalink 

Indian navy bought it for $48.44 million.

Acquision's from US or dumping yard
by Nerraine Lima on Jan 18, 2007 01:52 AM  Permalink 

India is further going down in brain drain and now even in technology its getting its brains drained out...Old is not always gold in technology

USS Trenton Acquired
by shekhar tyagi on Jan 18, 2007 01:52 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Are, we still living in the 70s??? I fail to understand the basis of buying "junk" from US as well as former Soviet union. Why on earth do we need the warships commissioned 30-35 years ago?? As is the general feeling, i too am of the opinion that somebody in the Govt. must've smiled his way to the bank. Seriouly pathetic.......

RE:USS Trenton Acquired
by Tracy Akins on Jan 18, 2007 01:57 AM  Permalink
The real question that should be asked is: "Why is a nation of a billion buying 30 year-old ships from a nation of 300 million?"

shameful....
by nitin maurya on Jan 18, 2007 01:30 AM  Permalink 

pathetic!!! slap on the face of india

The Government missed another chance .
by rajesh deshpande on Jan 18, 2007 01:28 AM  Permalink 

There is so much of skilled manpower in INDIA .I am sure we could have made this kind of a Warship and also created some emloyment for the people of INDIA.

defence deals should open to public
by vijai singh on Jan 18, 2007 01:08 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

why buying all the scrap of the US or Russia all the time, use your own indigenous technology
like space programmes, or buy from Israel at competitive cost. Indian defence deals are always doubtful,

RE:defence deals should open to public
by on Jan 18, 2007 01:28 AM  Permalink
'Cos Isreal is really known for it's Navy.
Thick eejit!!

RE:defence deals should open to public
by indigo on Jan 18, 2007 01:30 AM  Permalink
It s really high time for the governments and defence stratigest to think about buying something really productive ! May be this act could only help to make America think that we are still on infant stage own our own technology at the same time jeopordising the safety of our Brave MEN IN UNIFORM... Where are we going ???

Govind,Mexico

Indian Navy acquires USS Trenton
by micky on Jan 18, 2007 12:55 AM  Permalink 

has the indian establishment gone crazy or they want to make fun of our Indian scientist`s capability that they are buying a scrap with our hard earned money.and we are talking about modernising our defence fleet.

Total 57 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >