Total 49 messages Pages | 1 | 2   Older >
Can any one answer these questions?
by abby Das on Mar 05, 2007 02:49 PM  Permalink 

1.Mr Nirupom Sen gave a false statement about Mauti in a TV channel.Either it was intentional or he is totaly unaware about the factory of Maruti at Gurgaon.Should he still remain as the state inductry and commerce minister?
2.What is the "secret Trate" done between the Tata and the Govt?Why there was a need to do a "Secret Trade"
3.Budhda Bhattacharya once said "We r 235 and they r only 30" while the actual picture is the leftist Govt only got 50.4% votes while the opposition got 49.6% votes.How can he just overrule the power of almost 50% voters?
4.Mr Biman Bose gave a false statement against Ms Medha Patekar(Once again in a TV channel) and later he was forced to sorry.Why shouldn't he be sued?
5.till today Mr Budhdha Bhattacharya claims that 96% of farmers have given their land willingly.He is unable o show any documents.Even the High Court has now wanted to see documents about this.Why 31Crores of Rs is still there unclaimed out of 120 Crores?
6.Mr Budhdha Bhattacharya said"tear off the notice" when he heard about the Nandigram issue and the notice which made 7 innocent lives to be sacrificed.Being a CM of a state,doen't he kno that mere tearing of Govt NOtice doesn't make it inacive?One more notice has to be issued aginst that to make it inactive.If he is unaware about this,shouldn't he step down mmidieately?

Would someone answer these questions?

Doubt
by selvi pt on Feb 26, 2007 10:06 AM  Permalink 

I have a doubt.

If goverment policies on agriculture are reformed, can't we see growth and people benefitting from farming profession.

If govt. helps in providing irrigation facilities, ensures continuous electricity and provides knowledge on improving yield, can't we see growth?

Though it is does not look as lucrative as an IT job, but I feel it is a good profession.

Like many others, I am not against industrialization, but on fertile land.

Left's Hypocrisy
by Raj Aryan on Feb 26, 2007 09:53 AM  Permalink 

The whole Singur episode has highlighted the Left's hypocricy. In the other parts of the country the same leftist commies agitate against the industirialisation. But in West Bengal the same people are supressing the agitating people by brutal police force.
Shame on all commies. Commies have been & will be always be the hurdle for the development of nation. Wake all Bengalis & Keralities, before these people loot this country in the socialism.

Tata's involvement of Development
by DilipSoni on Feb 26, 2007 04:47 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Tata's family contributed lot for the country.If Tata is accquring a small land from farmer and giving employment,I donot believe they are doing any harm to the community.If WB government suspends the projects,then there are lot of states offer land to Tata,This so called Mamata and corrupt BJP crooks are not allowing to develop WB.

RE:Tata's involvement of Development
by hello on Feb 26, 2007 05:54 AM  Permalink
Yes. Rightly said.

RE:RE:Tata's involvement of Development
by Governor General on Feb 26, 2007 07:22 AM  Permalink
We don't know for sure.
Tatas are one of the very ethical business houses of India. No question about it. India needs industrialization.. no one will argue against that too.
But in a democracy people's voice has to be heard. Unless there is a populist support for stopping the Tata project.. politicians couldn't have artificially created trouble for so long.
May be there is more to it than what meets our eyes.
In the long run..it's better to concede to the demands of people.. I mean if the guy who has the land doesn't see the benefit in giving it away then please don't grab it from him. That's not ethical or fair to the farmer of Singur. I say this with heavy heart.. 'coz from whatever I see and hear Tata's project is the best thing that could've happened to Singur.

RE:RE:RE:Tata's involvement of Development
by ritwick sanyal on Feb 26, 2007 10:41 AM  Permalink
Yeah but got only 5%-10% of the farmers u cant derail the project which 90%-95% ppl support..why else would u see more ppl working on the Tata Site than the number protesting..the figure of 500 ppl given here is also wrong..the correct figure is 350 pp protested and they were pushed back by 500 policemen..all the anti left parties wants to gain political mileage by protesting..and if u hear buddhadev bhattacharya and mamta banerjee's speect any educated person can tell that the CM has a vision and a roadmap for development which he is trying to implement while the opposition doesnt have any roadmap and protesting just coz its in opposition..i think bengal doesnt have any option but believe in the dreams of CM and follow his path..coz the opposition is hell bent on pulling the state backward while CM is trying his best to move ahead..

by abby Das on Mar 05, 2007 02:31 PM  Permalink
Dear Mr Dilip
Have the Tatas ever quantified the exact number of jobs that would be given to the villegers?how many of the posts would be filled by the outsiders?It is just a "secret Trade" done between the Tatas and Mr Nirupom Sen and Mr Budhdha Bhattacharya.

by Chandan Seal on Mar 05, 2007 02:29 PM  Permalink
Dear Mr Dilip.
"Tatas Giving Employement"...have the Tata group ever quantified the number of jobs that would be created inide the factory?How many local villagers and how many outsiders would get those jobs?
It is just a "Secret Trade" done between mR Nirupom Se,Mr Budhdha Bhattacharaya and the tata group.

Pls allow TATAs to transform Singur
by ashish sinha on Feb 25, 2007 11:25 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear farmerrs of Singur,

I am requesting you to stop your resistance against TATAs. Once the industry comes up, its you who shall benefit the most. have a look at the industrial township of Jamshedpur. How much its residents benefit due to the TATAs. Look at what all facilities the TATAs provide to common people and then you will realize that Mamta Banerjee is fooling you all.

If you want any improvement in your standard of living, pls support this industrialization.

thankyou all

RE:Pls allow TATAs to transform Singur
by Faceless Indian on Feb 26, 2007 02:40 AM  Permalink
Dear Ashish,

The farmers who don't have anything to eat,no water to drink, no roof above their heads, bareky anything to wear and NO ELECTRICITY for days have read your post on rediff and would like to thank you for understanding their predicament and offering this brilliant solution.All they have is their patch of land and now the govt wants to give it to Tata's. And if you have ever worked with any govt. official , you would know how much compensation they would receive for it and GOD KNOWS WHEN IT WILL COME and ultimately after passing thru 20 sarkari officers whose palms have to be greased - HOW MUCH OF THAT MEASELY AMOUNT WILL REACH THEM.

No one is against industrialisation - if the land has to be developed by Tat's - taken barren land elsewhere and develop it.....why homestead land ? And secondly, if a single farmer doesn't want to sell his land, so be it. NO govt. should have the right to displace them against their will.

Think about it - why are the poor and deprived always displaced in the name of national progress. If you remember in Bombay - a very crowded area needed to have a flyover - would have been a welcome thing - ask any bombaikar. But it was stopped becoz Lata mangeshkar and other rich guys of the area protested their privacy would go.

Here, the question is of the poor farmers livelihood, not even of privacy. So please get a grip on the situation before giving the above comments.

RE:RE:Pls allow TATAs to transform Singur
by hello on Feb 26, 2007 03:39 AM  Permalink
First on what basis you are telling that the

land are agri land, Mr. Faceless?

RE:RE:RE:Pls allow TATAs to transform Singur
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Feb 26, 2007 09:31 AM  Permalink
Yes, the land in Singur is fertile, if NOT the MOST FERTILE LAND IN INDIA. I know because I am from nearby place.

You should ask, why no other state Govt is acquiring fertile farm land from farmers and giving it to industrialists.

Every where Industrialists are buying land from people directly. CPIM/TATA should do that in Singur as well.

Just yesterday, Ambanis bough many 1000 acers of land in Haryana BY DIRECTLY PURCHASING FROM FARMERS.

Most importantly, CPIM is forcefully acquiring land from poor farmers by illegal means.

The basic law based on which land is being acquisitioned is ILLEGAL as opined by Supreme COurt in Dec 2006.

Just watch the trouble Buddha faces in next few months.

RE:RE:RE:Pls allow TATAs to transform Singur
by hello on Feb 26, 2007 05:53 AM  Permalink
For Progress only it is late. We could have

progressed a long back.

Nothing other wards.

by G.Ravinder on Feb 26, 2007 08:13 AM  Permalink
I do agree with Mr Assish and the political parties should try arrange right compensation to farmers and not to oppose the industrialisation

Gr

by abby Das on Mar 05, 2007 02:37 PM  Permalink
Dear Mr Asish

While doing factory at Jamshedpur,how much of fertile and cultivable land was used?Secondly during the making of Jamshedpur,none needed to do any "Secre Trade" with this Tata Group.No Industry and Commerce minister had to give false statements against the Tata competitors.

Talking about benifits,well,what ever secret trade was done with the tatas,if a portion comes down the chain,yes,people like you may be benifited but apart from Mamata Bannerjee,person like Medha Patekar,Anuradha talwar,Mahasweta Devi would rather prefer to die instead of being a part of this secret trade.

truths about tata
by rajesh bhaskar on Feb 25, 2007 09:02 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

toyota the biggest car manufacturer in the world produces 1million cars in 250 Acres of land in US which has 5 times more land. why tata need 900 acres when they are going to produce only less than 200,000 cars a year. total car sales of tata all over india is less than 100000. why they need this big land and what is the motive behind it. politicians and tata nexus . this is not the old tata who is patriot to give away to india., it a corporate. let the farmer willngly decide, if 50% farmers give the land tata can get 400 acres which more than enough to produce 1 million car. why no activists is going court by reseraching this facts

RE:truths about tata
by Ritwik on Feb 26, 2007 12:36 AM  Permalink
toyota the biggest car manufacturer in the world produces 1million cars in 250 .........

Guys we are missing the whole point here.
The base model of Toyota Corolla in US costs more than $17,000(more than 7 lakhs rupees) and in India its more than 10 lakhs. But whats the cost of TATA's car???? Yes its 1 lakh.
Pricing a mid-size car in India at 1lakh is absurd. Now TATA's are not insane that they are going to invest the remaining money from their pocket. So what they are planning is building a global infrastructure in one place including the plant itself, all kind of subordinate plants(like car seat, belt, %u2026%u2026.) and also housing for its employees and thereby saving the cost and making up for the extra bucks.

RE:RE:truths about tata
by hello on Feb 26, 2007 01:32 AM  Permalink
There is a small error in the way you projected
the project.
We don't know what is TATA's intention, how they
market their product. By assuming this & that
we cannot come to a conclusion.
Of course, Everybody will operate on profit, it
is in their effective marketing skills.
We should appreciate their strategy which build
wealth for our people & boost the economy.
Be happy like me.

RE:truths about tata
by hello on Feb 25, 2007 10:20 PM  Permalink
We don't have that much robotic facilities like
toyota. Also, we need to give lot of people
job. If we put robots, how these so called
farmers will get jobs.

RE:RE:truths about tata
by Prem Kumar on Feb 25, 2007 11:02 PM  Permalink

Well said Rajesh Bhaskar. Tata is clearly playing the game of corporate criminals - It was funny when Tata appeared on interview for cnn-ibn and talked about corporate responsibility when he is involved in such a crime against poor farmers of Singur.

Mr. Hello, please don't use loose words like Robotic facilitis & stuff. Car making is not toy making and there isn't much difference is manufacturing facilities of both campanies, it is only difference is the BIG greed of TATA.

He is also stealthly siding with DOW chemicals, criminals behind Bhopal Gas tragedy, and get them a back door access to India's market.

When are they gonna have some love for their own country & countrymen before profits?

RE:RE:RE:truths about tata
by hello on Feb 25, 2007 11:04 PM  Permalink
Car making is not like Bhopal gas plant.
There is not much dangers like a Bhopal Gas
Plant.

RE:RE:RE:RE:truths about tata
by ashish sinha on Feb 25, 2007 11:20 PM  Permalink
hey prem kumar, i completely agree with "hello". The person has made a valid point. Toyota has a highly streamlined way of manufacturing cars. TATAs do not have that technical capability.

thats why its not surprising at all that they need more land than what TOYOTA needs. and I am telling you this because I have visited the TATA plants.

Also, people at Singur are fools that they r rejecting the TATAs. Look at JAMSHEDPUR. What a world class standadr of living TATAs provide to the residents of this city. A city that was a part of earstwhile Bihar, can boast of international standard living. Seeems people at Singur have not seen all that. OR miss MAmta does not want them to know.

RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:truths about tata
by hello on Feb 25, 2007 11:27 PM  Permalink
Rightly said.

by Cheese Guard on Feb 26, 2007 02:40 AM  Permalink
Who are staying in Jamshedpur. Original people before jamshedpur was there or people from all over india. Issue is once land from these folks is taken, they have to do jobs which is not gaurenteed.

Tommarow, if someone walks in your house and tells sell me your house for 10000 Rs. Be my chaukidar and your wife will was my cloths will you take it. Its same issue with farmers. Be fair to them.

by hello on Feb 26, 2007 06:37 AM  Permalink
Now understood one thing, it is given market
value. First understand what is market value
then talk like 10,000 etc.

BUDDHA WILL DO WELL TO SET UP FENCE ALONG INDO-BANGLADESH BORDER, NOT IN SINGUR
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Feb 25, 2007 07:21 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Fact is, CPIM led WB Govt is in deep trouble today. Rest of India is progressing, WB still remains backwater.

They have allowed 10s of Millions of Bangladeshis in WB for VOTE-BANK. Now we have 8 Crore pop, everyplace filled out. 20% of that, that is 20,000,000 are illegal Bangladeshis.

BUDDHA WILL DO WELL TO SET UP FENCE ALONG INDO-BANGLADESH BORDER, NOT IN SINGUR. Why Buddha & Co stopped fencing Work before last election? For vote?

CPIM is a double faced monster. CITU is now slipped to 4th position as Workers union. CPIM is hell bent in creating Worker' Union in IT/ITES, which will destroy nascent IT Industry which started comingup lately on WB. Its the same Communists who destroyed Westbengal's Industrial backbone.

People of WB never went to outside state for menial work. When a portion of a mall fell near Delhi few months back and many laborers died, almost all of them were from WB.

This is what WB has become under 30 years CPIM rule.

RE:BUDDHA WILL DO WELL TO SET UP FENCE ALONG INDO-BANGLADESH BORDER, NOT IN SINGUR
by Ritwik on Feb 26, 2007 01:20 AM  Permalink
Its really hard to argue with unreasonable people like the writer and his companion.

But I will try to put my views.
Along with the state govt. it%u2019s the central government who is also responsible for the illegal immigration. It%u2019s the BSF who controls the border not any political party. I am born and brought up in Bengal and I can tell you that the most of the BSF guys they spent more time in the border brothels than on the border.
Saying that I also believe in the past the ruling party in WB under the leadership of one of its most flamboyant leader( I guess you know whom I refer to%u2026%u2026.) didn%u2019t pay any attention to this infiltration and minorities have always been the vote bank of Left front. But you cannot claim they dragged people from the other side to increase their vote bank.
I think for these all of them the Central Govt., the state Govt., and the main culprit the BSF should be blamed.

After we had our new chief minister, he immediately responded to the growing number of Bangladeshis and eventually a fence is getting built(around 60% is complete) between the 2 countries. But West Bengal share a large border with Bangladesh(2216 km). There are still some controversies erecting the border in some parts from the Bangladesh side and they are working on it.
But I just want to let you know that this problem is eminent when 2 neighboring countries has a large economic divergence. Even US still cries about people crossing borders from Mexico. Ever year its estimated that 850,000 people cross the USA Mexico border illegally.
They have recently started building fence along Mexico border(much after building of fence got started in W.Bengal).

People of WB never went to outside state for menial work. When a portion of a mall fell near Delhi few months back and many laborers died, almost all of them were from WB%u2026%u2026.

That the reason chief minister is trying his level best to change the scenario and get more jobs in WB so that people doesn%u2019t have to leave the state. So eventually you are conflicting your own previous views. That%u2019s funny%u2026%u2026.

RE:BUDDHA WILL DO WELL TO SET UP FENCE ALONG INDO-BANGLADESH BORDER, NOT IN SINGUR
by Shaibal Bose on Feb 25, 2007 09:32 PM  Permalink
I totally agree with Bhaskar. These Anti-National Communists will do a better job - if they start talking about not only Fencing Indo-Bangla Border but also kicking out all those Al-Qaida Oriented Illegal Bangladeshi Elements, whom they have made Citizens, by handing over Ration Cards. All for a Vote.
(Take a 5 Minute drive from Barasat towards Bangla Border and you know what I am talking about)

by Raj Aryan on Feb 26, 2007 09:58 AM  Permalink
Bull's eye.. Mr.Bhaskar Chattopadhyay. I'm gald that there are atleats few sensible & patriotic bongs who can see through the commies devilish strategy.
I always felt that the patriotism of bongs does not go beyound there language & Sourav Ganguly, which they exhibited when India was playing South Africa in Eden Garden Kolkata by supporting the opposite team.

CPIM has communalised WB' s Industrial Policy by having 2 yardsticks for Nandigram, & Singur.
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Feb 25, 2007 07:19 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

By rolling back from Nandigram at stiff resistance of Jamat-E-Ulema-Hind, but not from Singur - CPIM has practically Communalised the Industrial policy of West Bengal. Now CPIM is facing music from many parts of South 24-Parganas where significant Minority pop lives. And there is no way, Buddha can acquire those land/

So, Buddha is promising more and more unconstitutional sops for minorities to tackle the outrage.

Buddha will do well to fence Indo-Bangladesh border thro' which 10s of millions of Bangladeshis are entering India along with terrorists. Keeping eyes shut for votebank is disaster to happen.

I hope CPIM learnt its message from nandigram, when minorities didn;t listen to its dictat. Police, Administration is still unable to enter the villages even after 1 months since the fighting started.

RE:CPIM has communalised WB' s Industrial Policy by having 2 yardsticks for Nandigram, & Singur.
by Raj Aryan on Feb 26, 2007 01:38 PM  Permalink
by Raj Aryan on Feb 26, 2007 09:58 AM
Bull's eye.. Mr.Bhaskar Chattopadhyay. I'm gald that there are atleats few sensible & patriotic bongs who can see through the commies devilish strategy.
I always felt that the patriotism of bongs does not go beyound there language & Sourav Ganguly, which they exhibited when India was playing South Africa in Eden Garden Kolkata by supporting the opposite team.

CPIM is twisting/turning facts on Singur.
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Feb 25, 2007 07:17 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Samik Ghosh>>May be I am wrong , I am ill-informed ... but all over the world I have heard that if agriculture makes way to industry even to a small extent , it is helpful to the society ?

You are a typical CPIM cader. Or at least, you still have that cader mentality - twisting and turning facts, but never speaking the truth.

1. Singur is a prime Agri cultural Farm land. CPIM suppressing that fact.

2. The law (1890s British law) based on which Govt is forcing land acquisition has been shot down by Supreme Cort of India in December 2006.

3. In India we have rule of law unlike China. You can't just grab somebody's land against their wishes or by intimadation by CPIM Caders as being done now.

4. CPIM lied that 98% people gave land willingly. However fact remains, some 40-45% money is still NOT collected by land owners.

5. CPIM is fabicating facts that only 3% of WB land is non-agriable. However, Debabrata Bandyopadhyay, India's most experienced bureaucrat on Land-reformation has categorically rejected that. He said from the same document (from where CPIM is quoting) that 17% of WB land is agriable.

6. Nowhere in India, be it Guj/Mah/Orissa - farmland are being acquisitioned for Industry. I have spoken with many friends outside WB, and they said: are you mad? Why Industry will be setup in farmland? Nowhere it will be allowed.

7. Marginal farmers will be doomed if they sell their land. Why Can;t Tata set up the plant in arid lands of Bankura/Purulia districts, which are also close to Jamshedpur?

8. He quotes Amartya Sen/Yunis as supporting Singur. This is fabicration. They never supported it.

RE:CPIM is twisting/turning facts on Singur.
by Prem Kumar on Feb 25, 2007 11:09 PM  Permalink

Well said Baskar.

by mrinal patra on Feb 25, 2007 11:42 PM  Permalink
Dear Mr. Chattopadhyay,
I have nothing against you personally. Going through the comments of different people, it seems to me that some people have taken up their stand for and against the land acuisition in Singur and are fabricating stories to justify their stand.
True the land in question is fertile. But then the entire gangetic plain in West Bengal is very fertile. Does that mean that there should be no industry in gangetic plane of West Bengal? And how much of land is involved, only 4 square kilometers out of West Bengal's total land mass of about 87,000 square kilometers. For your information, India has very percentage of total geographical area under cultivation (about 57%, which is much higher compared to almost all other countries in the world except Bangladesh 70%). Some politician are trying to protray a picture that we do not have sufficient farmland and if land is taken away for indutrialisation then we could have food secuity problem. This is utterly nonsence. The real problem in India is the farming sector productivity. Giving a tiny percentage of land is not going to create any problem if we concetrate on increasing farmland productivity. I agree that some farmers will need help in relocation. This is where the political patries should help the farmers and not agitate them and then fish in the troubled water.
I am sure the Tatas are not setting up factory in Singur just for the sake of uprooting the farmers. They sure must have seen this location from many different angles (logistics, locational advantages, availability of skilled labour etc) and come to the conclusion that Singur is the most suitable location for their small car project. I think the farmers dearer to some politicans can only dream of buying such cheap cars.
Lastly do not think the land in Bankura and Purulia are all arid. We bought some so called arid land and invested in irrigation and fertility mangement and I can produdly say that the productity and profitabilty of this so called arid land is at least 5 times more than the land in Singur and we are generating 1 full time employment for every 2.5 acres of land. I would suggest politicians should go and help the farmers in improving their farm productivity and frofitability and not merely agitate them and then fish in the troubled water.
The politicians in question seem to be frog in deep tubewell with not so much knowledge about development. So they should do some retrospect and act for the betterment of the society as a whole.
Once again do not take any personal offence.

by Ritwik on Feb 26, 2007 01:58 AM  Permalink
In that way we can say that you are an ardent Trinamoli who likes to do politics with poor people and who have con proper decorum among their party members(ransacking the VidanSabha as an example). Or you can be a naxalite which has a good supporting cause to start with in 1970%u2019s but now is handful of illogical anti Indians.

The government never suppressed the fact. But how long can you survive on agriculture. Due to global warming the climate is changing and its reflected in this years potato cultivation(main crop of Singur) when a million farmers made a huge loss when their cultivated potatoes got ruined due to February rainfall. How long can these people depend on weather for their fate.
Its estimated that West Bengal needs less than 1% of its fertile fields for industry. That%u2019s not a big deal considering most of West Bengal is fertile land thanks to the Ganges.

What will you do if hooligans like the TMC and naxalites hardly any local people torch the posts and disrupts life and do politics with poor people just for the sake of gaining political importance I guess where are they including the initiator of this article when we have drought and flood every year in Bengal.

They are not grabbing land it but they are paying 10 times more what the Maharashtra Government is paying for the same land

I think this dude need to learn geography. The non-fertile land in Gujrat, Maharashtra and Orissa is much more than compared to fertile West Bengal and moreover which state want its competitor to look good during this era of wooing business in their own state. Lot more farmers commit suicide in Maharashtra that Bengal. No farmers in Bengal dies due to police shootout like in Kalinganagar in Orissa

by Raj Aryan on Feb 26, 2007 01:38 PM  Permalink
by Raj Aryan on Feb 26, 2007 09:58 AM

Singur
by Raj on Feb 25, 2007 05:00 PM  Permalink 

For those who would like to know the seriousness of this issue, please go & ask a farmer in any part of India who is having a fertile land whether he is willing to give up his land for any price. The amount of fertile land in our country is decreasing. The Bengal government who dosent have any experience in industrialisation should have been more cautious in selecting the location.

Total 49 messages Pages: | 1 | 2   Older >