Total 18 messages Pages | 1
Teaching of Prakrit
by Krishnan Nair on Mar 19, 2008 09:37 PM  Permalink 

Glad that Sino-Indian relations are growing better. Ya, Buddhism has a role in nurturing it. The case of Prakrit should be thought of in this connection. All the prominence and funds are given to Sanskrit. Though a Sanskritist, I am not satisfied with this. Prakrit also should be given its due recognition. Arrangements to teach Prakrit in universities should be made instead of simply adding the word Prakrit to the names of Sanskrit departments, where in many cases no Prakrit teaching is carried out. Buddhist and Jain literatures are in Prakrit and both constitute a precious treasure of Indian culture.
Dr.K.Maheswaran Nair
Professor
Department of Sanskrit
University of Kerala
Thiruvananthapuram
Kerala, India
E-mail ralidh@gmail.com

China should learn to respect Dalai lama & free Tibbet first.
by manoj kumar on Nov 03, 2007 03:43 AM  Permalink 

Dalali Lama should be worshiped by all since his entire life has been focused on bringing peace & happiness in people's life. He is not a ordinary monk, he is one who has transformed life of millions of people arround the globe. He has helped thousands of leaders, business people, celebrity, poor, every one to meditate, aatma bodha & come out of suffering. Even china made his and thousands of his follower's life living hell. Yet he never retailated always talked about peace & love to face the problem. Dalai Lama did on global level what Gandhi ji did in india. India must honour him. He represents true anceint indian dharma.

Indo-China friendship zindabad.
by cajetan coelho on Mar 26, 2007 01:34 PM  Permalink 

Buddhism too has seeds for world remaking and word reshaping. Humanity needs to draw on all that is good from its rich old and tested traditions.

Dr. Cajetan Coelho

dont believe china
by Subramanian Padmanaban on Feb 08, 2007 12:16 PM  Permalink 

Don't believe China. This is the same nation that invaded us from the back when saying Hindi Chini bhai bhai from the front. Even now you have to doubt the purpose behind building the Lhasa railway line to Tibet(that too much of the line goes underground) and the outer space missile tests that they are doing. If they dont have any rivals in the region why do they need to do all this ?

Proud to be an Indian
by Shailesh Shankar Bhojane on Feb 08, 2007 11:17 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is correct if China believe and follow the principles of Buddhiism, all problems between two countries will be solved. Buddhiism never allows attack on neighbours, capturing land etc..it is based on thoughts with ultimate goal peace, peace of mind for everybody, not limited in boundaries of any country..universal peace.

RE:Proud to be an Indian
by kumar on Feb 08, 2007 12:15 PM  Permalink
this is not true. what do u think happens to hindus in bhutan and Sri Lanka. if they were really peaceful, they would have given equal rights to all people in their countries.

RE:RE:Proud to be an Indian
by Shailesh Bhojane on Feb 08, 2007 01:40 PM  Permalink
i am saying the same thing that nobody is following the teachings or principles of any religion for example Buddhiism and only trying to show their religion is better from others. I am talking about all religions and believe it is not the religion but what you think and follow is important. And that great thing indian culture teach us and hence I said proud to be an Indian.

Hindi-Chini Pati-Patni
by VAIBHAV RASTOGI on Feb 08, 2007 11:13 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I fully agree with the statement that "Buddhism will enhance Sino-Indian friendship." Infact as of today this is the only relation which we have between these 2 countries. I am also seeing the signs of Buddha's coming. I am sure that Buddha has taken birth and is very much living in India these days. Buddha will not only unite India and China but will call BRICS as his family and will change the world order.

Please view my bolgs to know more about it - buddhaarya.rediffiland.com/

RE:Hindi-Chini Pati-Patni
by hard stone on Feb 08, 2007 11:39 AM  Permalink
relation in between two neighbours are most recomended deeds in almost all religion, and we india always do this, see what we are facing now with Nepal almost 70% of nepalis economy is run by india and indians are getting killed in nepal, but Quote like hindi chini pati patni or irrelevent, specially the rebirth of a person which has never been experienced, if he really want to be born again then why not somewhere else why in india, for God sake please never talk about uniting china with india, what they eat what they do in their day today life is ridiculus, and their record of human rights is worst,so let india be in peace.

RE:RE:Hindi-Chini Pati-Patni
by VAIBHAV RASTOGI on Feb 08, 2007 12:01 PM  Permalink
How many Chinese people have you met with? Let me tell you some of their charecteristics. a) They respect elders b) They give lots of importance to family values c) They believe in non-violence d) They are compassionate e) They are vegetarians

Bad people are everywhere. When India can work with those who ruled on us for 200 years then why not China, with whom we had a dispute only once. When we can accept the language of colonization then why not Chinese? On top of all they are our neighbours.

Mao has died and Chineses have almost buried his memories. Dalai Lama has also accepted Tibet as part of China. Current China is different from the China of Mao. They are not Atheist anymore. Current China is flexible and will accpet the change.

If you can not be optimistic then please do not become pessimist and do not speak anything illogical.

RE:RE:RE:Hindi-Chini Pati-Patni
by Deva Pratap Saathivayal on Feb 08, 2007 01:11 PM  Permalink
You said
"
a) They respect elders
b) They give lots of importance to family values
c) They believe in non-violence
d) They are compassionate
e) They are vegetarians%u201D

I have few experience with them, these are my observation:
a) True. We to do that and they think we respect our elders. what%u2019s the big deal in that.
b) True. So what?
C) Partially true. They are just like us in that area.
d) Could be true. Not sure of.
e) They are vegetarians - False. Extremely few are vegetarians and those are Buddhists priests, they don't eat meat and 5 vegetarian food of lust that few Hindus and all Janis give up. Buddhists though they eat meat they claim them as vegetarians by saying they didn't kill the animal and they ate it since it was already killed. What logic... If they don't eat why would one kill an animal?

They have actually bent the Buddhism in sent a way that it has less meaning.

RE:RE:RE:RE:Hindi-Chini Pati-Patni
by VAIBHAV RASTOGI on Feb 08, 2007 01:59 PM  Permalink
You are saying that Chinese bent the Buddhism. What Hindus did? Hindus accept Buddha as the 9th incarnation of Vishnu. How many of us are aware of this fact and the teachings of Buddha? Will we accept Krisha only when he comes with a flute and have multiple marriages. Was not Buddha the incarnation of krishna Himself?

We should not always blame the governments for the same. It is the people of India and China who should take initiative to build this relatinship and I am sure that Chinese Govt will not object the same and the current statement can be taken as an initiative from them.

When I talk about the flexibility in China then I am talking from religious perspective. We did not listen these kind of statements during Mao. Mao used to say that -"Religion is poison.". This is the same China which is giving these religious statements today as mentioned in the original article. And that is the reason I say that China is changing. I accept that China has lot more to deliver and it can only be a beginning. We should appreciate these kinds of initiatives from China.

by mahendra ganesan on Feb 08, 2007 02:48 PM  Permalink
Hey this is again trying to create hatered by crating some debate here by false news like all chinese are vegitarians.

In Gujarat too u can not tell this statement.

Do not respond to this stupid statements guys. Just they r using our discomfort with china.

that's it.....

by rishi singh on Feb 08, 2007 12:38 PM  Permalink
Dear Vaibhav,

Please understand the problem is not with Chinese general people, the problem is with Chinese Leadership.

India has historical ties with China, no denials....but don't forget what happened in 1964.

The chinese red army, used to shout "Hindi Chini bhai bhai, Yeh jameen hamara hai, Tum Wapas chale jao". Abe yeh kaisa bhai hai....agar bhai hai to tu peeche chale ja na !!

Our then PM/DM were fooled with the principals of Panchsheel by chinere Foreign Minister and Red Army kept on Marching in NEFA, if it was not for Indian Army and the resistance they had put, dear, the whole of current NE would have now become "Special Autonomous Region of PRC" !!

I am not saying that we should not build our friendship with China, actually we can't afford to miff them, but we should also keep our eyes-ears open and beware of all this crap of bhai-bhai, pati-patni.

Each country is for itself in today's world order, no permanent friend or permanent foe !!

RE:RE:RE:RE:Hindi-Chini Pati-Patni
by VAIBHAV RASTOGI on Feb 08, 2007 12:43 PM  Permalink
Regarding the leadership, Mao has died and Chineses have almost buried his memories. Dalai Lama has also accepted Tibet as part of China. Why? Current China is different from the China of Mao. They are not Atheist anymore. Current China is flexible and will accpet the change.

Do not forget that the people who are in communist party are also Chinese. Communist Party of 1960 at the time of Mao is very much different of today.

The above statement also came from the Chinese leadership and has some significance of it.

I request to read my bolgs at
buddhaarya.rediffiland.com/.

RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Hindi-Chini Pati-Patni
by rishi singh on Feb 08, 2007 12:52 PM  Permalink
Dear Vaibhav,

Can you please elaborate on your statement :

"Current China is different from the China of Mao".

How have you reached to this conclusion?? Apart from opening the gates of their economy, what political, social changes have happened in China??

Didn't Tien-an-mein square masscare happened, after Mao or you would like to modify the statement that , current china is different from ages of Mao & Deng????

China still has lot to do, before it can be trusted by India.

Also, how can you state that Chinese people are veggies.....don't they eat chicken/beef/pork, although it's of no consequence here, but just for the sake of information !!

Cheers,
Rishi.

Total 18 messages Pages: | 1