Total 359 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
RE:Respect Kannada in Karnataka
by on Feb 09, 2007 08:27 PM  Permalink
hmmm ... After reading your entire msg twice, I think I also share the same thought. Basically what ppl from TN lack is respect and professionalism.

RE:RE:Respect Kannada in Karnataka
by on Feb 09, 2007 08:29 PM  Permalink
Also, I suggest to TN ppl that they try to learn being sensitive towards issues that warrant being sensitive. Im saying the above based on my personal experiences with Tamils(Im a teluguite). And im not going to give any justification,because i dont think its needed and its my personal opinion.

RE:RE:RE:Respect Kannada in Karnataka
by Southie on Feb 09, 2007 08:33 PM  Permalink
i am telugu as well. Lived in Chennai for many years and i found Tamilians to be wonderful people. Do u know there are many many Telugus living in Chennai. Do you hear anything about inter-ethnic violence. Do you know why you never hear of such stuff, its because the tamils never fight with anyone. Even if there is inter-state tension, no one in TN will say that i dont belong in TN because i am telugu. Very hospitable people.

RE:RE:RE:RE:Respect Kannada in Karnataka
by rayker rayker on Feb 09, 2007 09:29 PM  Permalink
"tamils never fight with anyone"
you have a wrong assessment about situations, political climate and interests. riots have nothing to do with people other than the real big ones where the hindu muslim tensions have boiled, and in many pockets entire comunities were involved - again to state it - very few times does this happen, like nithari.

water is an issue more to do with villagers, and strangely people in towns fight - so isnt it plain and straight that its vested interests? who entices them ? its strange to note that the tension between tamilians and kannadigas gives you the idea to paint them ALL (kannadigas) as bad. sweeping statements are bad. i have a relative living in chennai, and they remember being hounded by political activists (i wont refer to them as "ethnic/ tamilians") who gave enough trouble to this family because they had some inscription on their century old house in sanskrit which was mistaken to be a hindi inscription. so, i can also in a single sweeping statement say that this group is good, and this group is bad. please play fair! there's no single community thats entirely good and entirely bad. we're indians first, if ALL of us remember that, i guess there will be lot less blood shed.

by on Feb 09, 2007 08:37 PM  Permalink
That's your opinion. and I hope its really true,but somehow I feel you are saying that just for the sake of it !
Anyways,as long as you speak tamil in TN, I dont think they will be bothered to be indifferent. Try speaking a different language(like telugu) in core TN areas,not teluguite-majority areas!
And also observe Tamil people behavior outside TN, its "PATHETIC"

RE:Respect Kannada in Karnataka
by on Feb 09, 2007 08:28 PM  Permalink
Well said.Great, You are Bang on target.All the people who are writing Anti-Kannada comments,know these facts very well.They all are jealous that their states couldn't achieve the same prosperity as that of Karnataka and they have to leave their state for job in Karnataka.

RE:RE:Respect Kannada in Karnataka
by Southie on Feb 09, 2007 08:33 PM  Permalink
why is the GDP and GDP per capital of Kar lower than TN. Why is the GDP of KAR lower than AP.

No need to be jealous. We telugus make the most number of IIT graduates and great quality too.

RE:RE:RE:Respect Kannada in Karnataka
by on Feb 09, 2007 08:40 PM  Permalink
Provide relevant proof phuleease! Anybody can make such derogratory statements.
Anyways Im a teluguite living in Karnataka.And no,i dont consider AP as my state,just because telugu is state language of AP. Im a karnatakian,but speaking both kannada(outside) and telugu(at home).
So i wont buy your stupid GDP vision without relevant proof.

by on Feb 09, 2007 08:46 PM  Permalink
Mr.Southie will come up some Fake report as people from AP are known for every thing Fake.Now days even IT companies are very cautious about recruiting people from AP(Read newspapers).

This whole arguement is stupid
by Southie on Feb 09, 2007 07:25 PM  Permalink 

This whole arguement will be forgotten in the next week when the hard-liners in Bangalore take up their next pet-project....Valentines day.

Respect kannada in karnataka
by WhoTheHeck on Feb 09, 2007 07:16 PM  Permalink 

Amit,
Your views are correct.I hope other people understand that. Its very rare to find people like you appreciating with such frankness.
Anyways,to expand your view further,the whole funda is that kannada people are not up in arms against people speaking other languages.History is proof to that. Nobody's asking a non-kannada speaking person to stop speaking his/her native language completely and to compulsory learn/talk kannada. I repeat,nobody's asking you THIS.
user "uttar pradesh" remarked that as long as he can survive in hindi, why shud he learn kannada. That's the exact point Im trying to make.
Try talking only hindi in tamilnadu.much Sooner than later, you will be forced to learn tamil. Reason? because,generally tamilians will never entertain another language,even if they know how to speak in that language.
Then how come you dont find the same problem in karnataka. Because,kannada ppl,even if they have a minimum or no knowledge of hindi,will somehow manage to understand/reply back. Reason? bcoz, they have a helping nature. And, you call THIS survival. Boss(uttar pradesh), you are surviving only with hindi bcoz kannadigas help you along with it. Go live in tamilnadu and then u will understand the importance of karnataka.
Persian invaders also survived in India,without knowing any indian language, by using pure brutal force. Does that mean,that just bcoz u r able to survive without learning local language,the whole thing is justified.
Will YOU respond back in kannada if I were to come to UP and talk to you ?
The reason is not because of an inclusion of hindi as 3rd language here. For your kind info, I never had hindi after class 3. My I lang-Sanskrit, II-lang - English and III lang-kannada. So ppl need not necessiraly know hindi and trust me,most dont. They just somehow manage to blabber out somethin, all for the sake of being hospitable. And also because we(kannadigas) try, where as people like you DONT TRY and there are some good exceptions like Amit Anand.

Kannad
by kumar on Feb 09, 2007 06:40 PM  Permalink 

I am from UP but live in AP and here is an article by a receiptient of the Karnataka Rajyotsava award.
it explains the beauty and the origins of Kannad.

http://www.kamat.com/kalranga/kar/literature/history1.htm

Why is there so much fighting in India?
by Uttar Pradesh on Feb 09, 2007 06:14 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

We have too much fighting in India.

There is the fight over the Cauvery between Karnatak and TN.
There is the fight over the Belgaum between Karnatak and MH.
There is the fight over the Krishna between Karnatak and AP.
There is the fight over the Godavari between Karnatak and AP.

Isn't all these inter-state fighting in the whole of India really silly. We need to learn to live together.

RE:Why is there so much fighting in India?
by Amit Ananad on Feb 09, 2007 06:32 PM  Permalink
Go back to ur home state UP where anarchy rules. Everybody knows about your home state. People living in glass houses should not throw stones at others. You are in Karnataka only because there is no development happening in ur home state. Only industry which is thriving is "KIDNAPPING".So better keep ur mouth shut!!!

RE:RE:Why is there so much fighting in India?
by kumar on Feb 09, 2007 06:37 PM  Permalink
why are you being unfair on this man from UP. I am from UP. I dont see anything wrong with his message of asking Indians not to fight. Are you saying that because there is kidnapping in UP or no development in UP, other states should fight. Stopping the inter-state fighting in India is a great ideal

North Indians
by Amit Ananad on Feb 09, 2007 05:25 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

As a person from Delhi I ask people who are from North India and supporting Tamilians to go to Tamilnadu and stay there for 1 full day. Then you will understand the genorcity of Karnataka people. In Bangalore one or two people must have misbehaved with them, but generally people are friendly. Bangalore city really rocks with its diverse culture & great climate. I love this city more than Delhi. I compltely support Kannada people in their agitation against cauvery verdict. Other people who are staying here & supporting Tamilians, I can only say.. Jis Thali me khate ho, usme ched karna acchi baat nahi. Have some conscience guys. Karnataka needs your support and we must give it back unconditionally & whole heartedly. Jai Karnataka. Jai Hind....

RE:North Indians
by Uttar Pradesh on Feb 09, 2007 06:12 PM  Permalink
this is rubbish. we, north indians shouldnt support any state (in the south or north) unless we believe wholeheartedly in the issue. In my case, i believe the tribunal is right. Karnatak called for this tribunal but dont want to accept its verdict. TN is getting less water than the interim but are they making the same fuss.

On the issue of Hindi, why should anyone learn Kannad because they live in Bangalore. First of all, Bangalore is multi-cultural and one can survive in Hindi. If one can survive of Hindi then why learn any local language. Isnt that the idea behind 'national language'. There was a comment earlier saying that North Indians don't learn Kannad when in Bangalore, but if you know Hindi and I know Hindi, then there is no use for me to learn Kannad. I would never disrepect your language but there is no reason for me to learn it either. Why is Hindi taught as the third language of Karantak if you didnt need to know Hindi.

RE:RE:North Indians
by Amit Ananad on Feb 09, 2007 06:29 PM  Permalink
Hindi is taught so that people of Karnataka can communicate with people without conscience like you. Just for one moment put your hand on your heart and say whether you would have said the samething if this had happened to UP. Boss, have some conscience. Don't try to take a high moral ground when issue is not realted to ur home state. You will realize this in summer when there will be huge water shortage in the city. Then you are the first people to criticize the state govt. Least you can do the state which has given you everything is support it when the it is in distress.

RE:RE:RE:North Indians
by Uttar Pradesh on Feb 09, 2007 06:36 PM  Permalink
No boss, the first thing i would say if this had happed in UP is whether the tribunal was fair and since i believe the tribunal has been fair, there is nothing to complain about.

In the event that i believe the tribunal was unfair, i would want the state govt to challenge the tribunal's decision. However, i would not blame the decision on the neighbouring state and use foul mouth against her people. The use of foul mouth against anyone is anti-national. Besides, even if the verdict was unfair, how can we blame tamilians for it. its not like someone sitting in Salem was deviously planning against Karnatak for this. There is no need to threaten our fellow Indians, even the ones who live in Karnatak.

The state hasnt given me everything, India has.

RE:North Indians
by Uttar Pradesh on Feb 09, 2007 06:19 PM  Permalink
http://www.kamat.com/kalranga/kar/literature/history1.htm

RE:RE:North Indians
by Rationalist on Feb 09, 2007 09:51 PM  Permalink
What r u so hell bent of proving?

For all those who accusing Kannadigas
by Rationalist on Feb 09, 2007 03:31 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

For all those accusing KA either staying here or outsied please understand,
we know very well tat rivers r national resourcses & v need 2 share it,all v want is to be done in a fairer way. Not by taking us for granted & imposing orders as per ur(tribunal) wish. What v r asking is only our right.
KA is a very peace loving state never consious about their language so much.
Where in South India can 1 find such a large %ge of vegiterians than KA, not in AP, not in TN, of course not in Krl,who beleive in non violence,let alone harming humans, they hesitate to harm even animals.
V worship the poet who gave message of "VISWA MANAVA" which means " whole world is one family".
Kannadigas r very simple people without any complications.They dont know lobbying, dominating even in thier own place. But it seems like the people comming from outside r taking it as thier weakness & simply trying to take advantage.
Just like India having problems with her neighbours same is with KA. Not that KA is a troublesome state. Those people who r accusing KA are intolerant people themselves can tolerate Kannadigas defending.

RE:For all those who accusing Kannadigas
by mahendra ganesan on Feb 09, 2007 10:25 PM  Permalink
Even Hitler is a vegitarian. But he killed 6 million Jews.

Gujarat is also more vegitarin than u guys. We know happened in Gujarat.

ur logic here is going against u very bad.

Eating meat or not eating meat will not make anybody bad.

Seeing, Hearing, Speaking and thinking bad will make bad.

Here I am simply commenting as ur logic is bad. But I accept kannadigas r relativly soft. I am an Indian-Tamil.

RE:RE:For all those who accusing Kannadigas
by Joy Felix on Feb 09, 2007 10:39 PM  Permalink
Boss I do not know much about KA, but Killing many people in 1991 and applying black paint on Belgaum Mayor and supporting all these activities do not fit the "soft" description. Am I missing some thing? Thanks.

RE:RE:RE:For all those who accusing Kannadigas
by rayker rayker on Feb 10, 2007 12:05 AM  Permalink
did ALL of the kannadigas kill those 19 people ? did ALL of the kannadigas paint the mayor black ? why chose a few to represent the majority ? and both were almost surely by political activists and rowdies, so do you want to take the rowdy elements as a reference ? i'm sure there are rowdy elements and political activists everywhere. the real test for being "soft" or otherwise is for people to move into cities, acceptability, language and cultural adjustment, etc. and i bet karnataka is as goo as a place in india as elsewhere, contrary to how you are trying to portray.

RE:RE:RE:RE:For all those who accusing Kannadigas
by Rationalist on Feb 10, 2007 12:18 AM  Permalink
Mr.Rayker, Ur views r totally unbiased & very mature. When the rest of them seem to have allied against KA, very few seem to support KA. Let the justice win.
I'm not against any Tamils. There r lot of good Tamilians who have contributed a lot KA literature,art & culture. Its few bad people who r earning bad reputation for their own people.

RE:RE:RE:For all those who accusing Kannadigas
by Rationalist on Feb 10, 2007 12:09 AM  Permalink
Sir,what I m talking is not about average kannadiga. In 1991 Tamils had also attacked kannadigas. They also attacked KA police and left lot of them injured.
I even know about a incedent one night in 1991 when few Tamil youths snatched a pistol from police constable, put him down on road & tried to fire.But luckily for him the bullet dint release(thanx to vintage arms that KA posseses). Later the constable was rescued by a group of people who happened to spot this.This is just an eg.
It is result of their domination that 1991 riots happened.Also slum Tamil youths behaved like goons and normal Kannadigas like me were intimidated by them in areas where dominated.The situation still prevails to some extent. Is'nt it a shame that v r intimidated by outsieders in our own land. If v r tolerating all these things is not softness then whatelse. Stop using some isolated incedent in whole history of KA to accuse.

RE:RE:For all those who accusing Kannadigas
by Rationalist on Feb 09, 2007 11:49 PM  Permalink
Dont compare to crores of Kannadigas to a maniac like Hitler. He is one exception.Speak in general terms.
Being vegetarian is one step closer to being closer to non violence. They r not immune to seeing blood & flesh like nonveggies. Understood.Its difficult to understand if u r not one veggie.

RE:Abusive Kannadigas...
by Uttar Pradesh on Feb 09, 2007 06:16 PM  Permalink
i kinda agree with you. as long as the southies fight, it might help north india.

RE:Abusive Kannadigas...
by Rationalist on Feb 09, 2007 03:40 PM  Permalink
Kannadigas r soft by natur, not that they want 2 give u any impression to u were having.V dont care wat impression others have on us. V blive in wat is just & cant tolerate injustice of this magnitude.Thats all.But v r tested enough and taken for granted by the Indian govt for us 2 b rude today.Cant help, sorry

Total 359 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>