He was removed because he was unfit for that post. Main job of an External Affair minister is mending relationship; sometimes even with enemies. But, in his case, he was trying to foil a budding relationship for a Criminal and a thug. By the way, how can one say Iraq was friendly to India? When did they hold Pakistan responsible for Kashmiri terrorists? Just issuing some statements like "Kashmir is an Internal problem" has no meaning.
This is East India Company all over again. This is how it happened the first time. "They" came for the spices, silk and gold but occupied the land for more than 200 years. Now "they" have come with the BPOs, don't need to physically occupy the land and can stay for as long as they please. Mr. Natwar Singh's case could be a precursor of something even bigger to come. But, really, who cares? We make the money, our stock market attains dizzying heights and everybody is in that much touted "win-win" situation. So let it go! India has been colonised again but this time there are no leaders like Gandhi and Nehru to liberate us. So stop saying 'Jai Hind' and start saying 'Jai BPO'!!!
First, Natwar is trying to play the hindu muslim game to win his political career back..My dear brothers (both Hindus and Muslims) dont support Natwar..He had not done anything good for our motherland.. He is a burden..If Mulayam wants him, let him have natwar in his shoulders..
NOW ABOUT SADDAM...
Saddam is not a martyr..He had killed lakhs of fellow muslims mercilessly.. I do not think our Indian Muslim brothers will feel happy about the killings made by Saddam.
Further, when the two son-in-laws of Saddam escaped to Jordan..they were called back by Saddam saying he will not harm them. On their return to Iraq, their wives divorced them in few days and some unknown assailants shot those two and the very next day..Do you still feel Saddam is a good Musalman...
I agree he was in favour of India..But does that mean that every Indian should mourn for that criminal who killed everyone who were against him...
PLEASE THINK TWICE BEFORE SUPPORTING SADDAM..
Our politicians are good at playing this divide and win game and this will continue as long as we give way to emotions instead of analysing anything with reality...
RE:These politicians again try to play divide and win game
by Srinivasan Ramiah on Feb 06, 2007 10:40 PM Permalink
Even those who oppose Sonia Gandhi wielding Power will feel that she is better than a humbug like Natwar Singh.This gentleman is a disgrace to our Country. Let Mulayam Enjoy Natwar's Company and take him along to the Dustbin of Modern Indian History.
The leadership in India has always Indian Muslims with the Middle East while they belong to India.
Saddam was hanged, well let Iraquis feel about it. Indian Muslims are concerned with their Roti, Kapda and Makaan which they get in India being integrated part of India and not by serving somebody from Middle East.
Mulayam has made muslims poorer by ensuring that the traditional industries (like glass making in ferozabad) where muslims are employed are shut because his policies and he gets an army of unemployed muslim youths to become slave of his ideas.
Please ensure all those who are taking India backward be thrown out of political system.
RE:natwar has spoken the truth
by Has Rah on Feb 06, 2007 09:54 PM Permalink
Don't take 17 crore muslims in your side. This is only your opinion. And our P.M, whatever he, is better than corrupt Natwar or goonda Mulayam or Amarsingh. What did Mulayam did for the Muslims, could you tell? Go and see the muslim localities in U.P. particularly Aligarh. About Saddam, my friend from iraq itself was robbed by Saddams people. I leave all other crimes done by Saddam.
by Rock Water on Feb 06, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
I dont understand how can someone try to get political gains by supporting a tyrant, Saddam gased the kurds, suppressed the Shias and tortured anyone who rose against him irrespective he or she was a shia sunni, there is a saying that one who kills by the sword dies by the sword and thats what exactly happened to him, I dont understand why are Indian Muslims supporting him and the politicians are exploiting the situation, Indian Muslims must feel lucky they were born in India and not under Saddam regime, so grow up and realise Khudda ka kyo mazzab nahi, sirf mohabbat hei khudda ka mazzab hai.
by Nandan Manjunatha on Feb 06, 2007 11:09 PM Permalink
Why are u even bothered about some dictator who killed thousands and who does not belong to India. What if the saddam was a christian, everything else being the same, would u still support him? Narendra Modi also stood by india. He still is considered India's best administrator. But people support Saddam and comndemn Modi. Double standard at its best!
by hard stone on Feb 06, 2007 09:55 PM Permalink
All you spoke what you heard from BBC and CNN as what saddam did to protect his country to keep it intact now whats happening even the world so called super power battling for their survival, if he has commited any crimes as you Shias says then what you are doing in Iraq now, time will prove that Saddam was the best solution for Iraq and America one day will learn the lesson, as indian we must not interfare in middle east affairs as we must see from where our needs fulfilled and be happy, but 1 question i always ask my fellow indians that israel is commuting crimes every day on Falastinins and we indians are still with them why,
RE:RE:natwar has spoken the truth
by Rock Water on Feb 06, 2007 10:04 PM Permalink
Isreal is not harming any palastenines its the palastenines who are killing the Isrealies, and 1st palastenines are power hungry people why is the hamas and fateh killing each other when the home is divided why blame isreal, dont you think that the Jews need a home after what had happened to them in the 2nd world war, hey palstenines and isrealies should live together in peace and harmony but palestine would resort to killing and u dont get freedom by killing, if they adapt non voilence then the world will listen to thier concerns and work out a solutions dont just balme Isreal, its like one of those mad fanatic men talkin who hav no formal education but specilise in brain washing hey we are in a 21st century were every human being has his right to live in harmony and such fanatical ideas should be crushed
RE:RE:RE:natwar has spoken the truth
by Ajit Tyagi on Feb 06, 2007 10:18 PM Permalink
Rock water ...You are right..
The problem with Islam and christianity is that they coexist with people of other faith (many times even with people of there faith, Shia sunni, Catholics protestants..). This is the main reason why we have problems in Palestine, Chechanya, Lebenon Kashmir, North east India, Kerala, Iraq, Afghanistan, balochistan, Sindh, NWFP,East timur, Africa...Did I forget some place?
RE:RE:RE:RE:natwar has spoken the truth
by Ajit Tyagi on Feb 06, 2007 10:20 PM Permalink
Please add no in the second line...Its can not coexist and not coexist...
RE:RE:RE:RE:natwar has spoken the truth
by dilip mathew on Feb 07, 2007 03:51 AM Permalink
Can you tell me whatz the problem in Kerala?? I don't see any problem?? It is people like you who create all the problems?? What you said is also very much existing in Hinduism, otherwise why will there be a debate over reservation. Next time when you comment do think and comment?
by ashok ramanthan on Feb 06, 2007 09:30 PM Permalink
mr khurram i think has lost his bearings. no doubt the way saddam was executed was a shame. but it does in no way absolve him from the innumerable crimes, homicides that his government committed. why should we stand up for him? a criminal of humanity. because he is a muslim? and praising politicians for standing by muslims, is only playing in their hands of vote bank politics. mr khurram should realise that. and so should the 17 crore muslims he is talking about. we are a secular nation and should treat everybody equally - on merit, on issues, in policy. and mr khurram you hopefully feel as much part of that coutry as i do! if not you are free to go to any muslim country you like. and god bless you.
by fareed ahmed on Feb 06, 2007 11:32 PM Permalink
PLEASE REMOVE MY NAME FROM YOUR LIST PLEASE. I DONT THINK I WOULD WANT TO GLORIFY SADDAM HUSSAIN. OR MOURN HIS DEATH!!!!! AND I DONT WANT TO SALUTE NATWAR SINGH.. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!!!!!
by fareed ahmed on Feb 06, 2007 11:33 PM Permalink
I disagree to Sukhwinder!!! If he is so interested he may goto pakistan himself. Thank You!
by hard stone on Feb 06, 2007 10:03 PM Permalink
why not bring that 30 crores back to india and make a unified country. cheers to you.
by on Feb 06, 2007 09:13 PM Permalink
Mr. Khan, Could you please give one instance of Mr. Saddam Hussein standing by India during her hour of "need"? For example, did Saddam Hussein vote against Pakistan whenever the issue of Kashmir was brought up? Please just give a simple Yes/No answer.
by hard stone on Feb 06, 2007 10:06 PM Permalink
why not bring that 30 crores back to india and make a unified country. cheers to you.
by the king on Feb 07, 2007 02:48 AM Permalink
khuuram khan,its only becoz of idiots like you that natwar singh is a politician,when will u guys get educated ?
by hard stone on Feb 06, 2007 10:06 PM Permalink
by vinay singh on Feb 06, 2007 09:38 PM Permalink
I agree with khurram.Those indians who are critizing him should remember saddam was the only leader in the muslim world who backed india on kashmir issue.his comments on kashmir were "to create a nation in the name of religion is medeival and barbaric".during his reign indian businessmen were preferred over pakistanis.he had greatest regard for smt indira gandhi. I bow my head in honour to the memory of this great man,who was truly a secular leader.
by on Feb 06, 2007 09:43 PM Permalink
Would you also please bow your head in honour of the millions of Iranians, Iraqis, Kurds, Kuwaitis who died because of this "truly secular leader"?
I do bow my head. But, unfortunately, it is in shame that a tyrant who didn't even spare his own son-in-law has so many apologists among humanity.
by vinay singh on Feb 07, 2007 06:52 PM Permalink
Well he was a dictator no doubt about that.He faught against iranians but then iranians were no saint,they discriminate against non muslims and treat them like flith.My sympathesies are indeed with kurds.but then killing kurds is some thing saddam only did.Iranians are culprits of large scale killing of kurds,turks razed kurds homes through tanks and killed thousands of them. Saddam was a secular leader he gave equal rights to every citizen irrespective of religion.all ethinic groups enjoyed fair representation in administration.Infact his foreign minister,who later on became prime minister ,tariq aziz was a christian.Moreover he has always been a friend of india. US killed saddam owing to the crimes comitted by him but what about the despots raised by CIA in south america and africa,who killed millions of people.Its US gvoernment and george bush who should be tried in international courts.
This corrupt and unfortunate cipher, who is corrupt to the core, is now complaining against the very party that gave him positions of power. Did this ingrate not realize during (his) good times that Sonia was not born in India? The sooner these guys vanish from the scene, the better it is for the country.
Natwar was big chamcha of Nehru-Gandhi family all along.Now he was kicked on ass by the same family.So now he barking like a faitful Dog.So neglect such Dogs.
RE:Natwar
by Sukhwinder on Feb 06, 2007 09:08 PM Permalink
Please don't use such language for a man who has served India for so long and so well. Using such language only reflects on your upbringing ..... which doesn't seem to be much!
RE:RE:Natwar
by Srinivasan Ramiah on Feb 06, 2007 10:53 PM Permalink
YES SUKHWINDER, Mr.Bongale's Language might be harsh but the content is true. Natwar was not serving our country,but was serving himself and his son! Srini
RE:RE:RE:Natwar
by Chetan Natekar on Feb 06, 2007 11:12 PM Permalink
We all just talk about politics and corruption but what are we doing to set things right? Just blamning someone will not help, if you dont like the system then get into it and change it. As long as people like us do nothing but simply express our opinions on sites like refiff, there will be people like Mulayam and Natwar around.
RE:RE:RE:Natwar
by Sukhwinder on Feb 07, 2007 09:06 PM Permalink
King, U dumb f**k!! read this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Natwar_Singh Just because things happened before the beginning of you worthless existence doesn't mean they didn't. Yes, Mr. Natwar Singh%u2019s past is tainted but then who is really clean in Indian politics. Before you and the other idiots curse him, try and review what you have achieved first!!
RE:RE:Natwar
by Hemin Sanghvi on Feb 06, 2007 09:28 PM Permalink
Right, Sukhvinder...whatever our politians are but they spent whole of their life to public...we in India instead of improving ourshelves always blame politians, beurocrates and leaders... we should not use abusive languages to atleast politians above 50 ages... though I am a strong supporter of right wing but I respect all the politians who gave something to this country(eventhough some of them had got big money)...
Please do not talk that the politicians have given something to India..I agree that they have brought all the sickness like curroption, mismanagement, goondaism, whatever evil you name, its all brought by our polititicians..Each of the Politician is having crores and crores of rupees. Natwar goes in Mercedes Benz..I dont think he could buy one if he had earned straightforward....
Jus go and relax rest of ur life Mr.Natwar singh. India doesn't need u anyone. Thnx for ur service. India need young,well educated leaders with innovative ideas. Dont try to bluff 500 million youngster in india, not anymore.
RE:RE:RE:need to take retirement
by Sukhwinder on Feb 07, 2007 09:12 PM Permalink
King, U need to get your head out of your behind!! My GK is much better than yours! and BTW, Events have been occuring before you were born. It is apparent in your case that your idea of GK is what you've read recently. There is this thing called History and it is an integral part of GK ... U Dumb F**K!!!
Do not take it bad of what is said by Sukhwinder. I think brother Sukhwinder wants you to improve your english and not teasing you.. Please keep writing and your english will be developing automatically..
Dear Sukhwinder,
Never try to hurt anyone..One thing, we all were born for Indians and not for British people..So our English will not be so good..Hope you got the point..
RE:RE:RE:need to take retirement
by fareed ahmed on Feb 06, 2007 11:37 PM Permalink
Sukhwinder is another firang! Its not necessary to know good english to let your opinion be known. If you did not understand what Azeem said, then you dont english at all.