Total 766 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Area in Cauvery Basin
by Bangalore Chandrashekar on Feb 08, 2007 04:00 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The area in Cauvery basin of Karnataka is 36240 while that of TN is 48581. For any common man, no doubt TN is having more area in Cauvery basin.
But try to analyse the reason for the area being less in Karnataka inspite of Cauvery running for 381 KMS which is 30 KMS more when compared to the flow in TN.
Karnataka has more Dams and to store water it has lost quite a lot precious irrigation land. TN has no dams in the cauvery basin and all the land has been used for irrigation. Because of this the area in Cauvery basin is more for TN as compared to Karnataka.

RE:Area in Cauvery Basin
by hoiko badko on Feb 08, 2007 04:11 PM  Permalink
Does this verdict gives green signal to hydro electric projects planned by Karnataka ?

RE:RE:Area in Cauvery Basin
by Bangalore Chandrashekar on Feb 08, 2007 04:32 PM  Permalink
Yes, Mettur is in TN cauvery basin. Why not have one more in the basin and put an end to this whole issue?
Otherwise TN should stop objecting for the dam that is being planned to be constructed near Makedatu. This will atleast hold the excess of water that is being wasted by TN(as TN is allowing the excess of water to flow to the ocean). What do you say pal?

by hoiko badko on Feb 08, 2007 04:10 PM  Permalink
what about mettur dam , i guess this is in Cauvery basic area in TN . Correct me if i am wrong.

by Bharat Sagar on Feb 09, 2007 01:54 AM  Permalink
Karnataka has not been allowed to develop its basin area by unfair treaties in British Raj and also the interim award restricted it to 11.5 lakh hectares.

Yes karnataka has many small dams which have submerged lot of land. Besides many rivers take birth in western ghats and join immediately.
The basin area in western ghats doesn't need irrigation and only plain areas are irrigated.
so thats the reason in lesser basin area.
But the total catchment are is more than 425 TMC
which is abt 54%.

TN has one big dam (Mettur) & others small Bhavani Sagar, Vaigai, etc.Rest are Anicut which only distribute water. The water management system is old and ineffiecient which results in lot of wastage.It has been expanding its ayacut areas and also supporting three crops per year. This is what has made matters worse in already deficit river.

RE:RE:Area in Cauvery Basin
by nanda kumar on Feb 12, 2007 02:49 PM  Permalink
Bhavani Sagar is not on Cauvery. Its on Bhavani river. Vaigai is not related to this issue

Fantastic observation
by myfaq on Feb 08, 2007 02:10 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Its very stupid of the tribunal to have forgotten to take into consideration this basic fact. We as kannadigas should fight back legally and get our rights. It sounds so odd that I have to give away my water to my neighbours free of cost because I have surplus in my home. Can tamil nadu give a portion of the crops free of cost that they grow from the water taken from Karnataka?

RE:Fantastic observation
by Vidhyadhar rao on Feb 08, 2007 02:23 PM  Permalink
Dear myfaq,
Air, water etc are natural resources, not produced by Kannadigas. Cauvery river was flowing into Tamil Nadu even 1000s of years back. It is not your State's own property. Change your mindset that it is "My water", "My home" etc. Suppose wind blows from Karnataka into Tamil Nadu, will you stop it saying it is my air ? Understand things in cool manner. Rivers are not individual property for you to stop it.

RE:RE:Fantastic observation
by myfaq on Feb 08, 2007 03:01 PM  Permalink
Very true Mr.Vidhyadhar, shouldn't TN share with Karnataka some things like electricity and crops in return for Karnataka sharing water with them? Why should Karnataka spend money on maintenance to ensure that water reaches TN? Its Karnataka's advantage that water is originating here. TN has got its own sets of advantages like more ground water. Will TN allow Karnataka to take advantages of that?

by Mahesh S on Feb 08, 2007 04:16 PM  Permalink
We have been mis-interpretted as "not ready to share any water with TN". the truth is that we are ready to share it, but not it should be a reasonable share.

RE:RE:RE:Fantastic observation
by Mahesh S on Feb 08, 2007 04:18 PM  Permalink
i mean we are ready to give away a reasonable share.

by Bangalore Chandrashekar on Feb 08, 2007 02:41 PM  Permalink
Here we are not objecting to share the water. myfaq has just taken an example to explain things. Let the sharing be done in proper manner. Cauvery flows for a distance of 381 KMS in Karnataka where as in TN it is 350 KMS. Still TN gets more water why? Karntaka has build dam to help the farmers of its state. So the storage water should be utilized by karnataka farmers and then the sharing should be done. As an example you will not ask your own family members to starve and feed your neighbours. Will you do that?

Permanent Solution to Cauvery dispute - My Final suggestion
by Vidhyadhar rao on Feb 08, 2007 01:01 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

First and immediate suggestion to both Tamil and Kannada citizens - Please understand that we are from a common origin and we possess very similar culture and ethos. Hence we should never abuse each other based on our resources strength or knowledge strength. All are equal citizens of this wonderful nation.

Practical and permanent solution to the Cauvery dispute - Both the States of TN and Karnataka have increased their cultivated land to lakhs of acres over the past years through several irrigation development schemes. Any further increase to this cultivated land must be stopped immediately as we have already achieved self-sufficiency in foodgrains production. For this purpose, the Central Govt should immediately appoint a new constitutional body called the Cauvery River Authority. This will totally manage the Cauvery river as a National Resource (like Indian Railways) which will belong to the country and not to any individual State. The respective 4 southern States will / should have no individual right or control over the waters and they cannot do any act arbitrarily.

This Cauvery River Authority will assess the water requirement of all the 4 States each month and each year and will provide water effectively to Karnataka farmers for its presently cultivated lands only. The balance of water will flow down to the lower riparian States of Tamilnadu and others. The Authority would also provide the water to these 3 States as per their minimum requirement and also based on the groundwater level in the delta region. The Authority will also take effective steps to introduce latest scientific techniques (like drip irrigation etc) to ensure that water is not wasted by any farmer in any of these States.

More importantly, each farmer or each State will pay a nominal cost for each TMC of water they receive from this Authority. (no precious resources should come free of cost !).
This amount will go towards maintenance of dams, canals, anaicuts etc which have been built or to be built in future for proper maintenance of the River.

Look at the foreign countries as to how they cleanly maintain the rivers as their National heritage and look at how we Indians have
cared for holy rivers like Ganga and Cauvery ? Can we take any pride in such shabby way of maintaining them ?

Cauvery is the lifeline and is also emotionally attached to both the States.........wonderful
descriptions of the river are found in ancient Tamil epics (like Silappadhikaram) where Cauvery is depicted as one river which Never Fails even if the monsoon fails. ( Vaan Poippinum Than Poiyaa Cauvery).

Let the living Tamils, Kannadigas, Keralites and others understand that we only live for a
few decades (of years) and we are going to pass away. But Cauvery lives eternally to be
seen, enjoyed and utilised by our future generations. So let us put a full stop to this dispute/ debate and find a permanent and peaceful solution under the Cauvery River Authority of Central Govt which is to be formed as suggested by me.

Long live Mother Cauvery ! Long live the Pride of the Classical Language Tamil and Kannada.
Long live the Nation-State mother India.

Vidhyadhar Rao, Chennai.

RE:Permanent Solution to Cauvery dispute - My Final suggestion
by kamal srinivas on Feb 12, 2007 09:25 AM  Permalink
Stop writing something which you would never follow...." All are equal citizens of this wonderful nation" isnt it sarcastic....you people in TN behave as if it is a seperate country..... sometimes we feel ashamed to call you guys as Indians.... or our brothers and sisters.... you have no respect for other country men or their culture, isnt TN capable of providing food and work to its people that you people keep wandering in other states and countries and make colonies over there!!?? and why wont you just preserve and use underground water?

how long the writ petition process takes ?
by hoiko badko on Feb 08, 2007 12:24 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

By now it must be clear that Karnataka will file a review/writ petition with the Tribunal. Does anybody know how long is that process ? I mean how long the tribunal takes to announce the reviewed verdict ? Should the Karnataka should be legally bound to adhere to the Verdict until the review petition's verdict ???

RE:how long the writ petition process takes ?
by raj on Feb 08, 2007 03:22 PM  Permalink
Verdict is only a recommendation.Karnataka will file a review petition and the final judgement will take about one year time.Even then, it doesnt become Law, it has to be legitimised as Law by passing the bill in parliament.

TN or anybody cannot enforce to release the water as per the verdict, Karnataka can say, I will not be able to release water citing whatever reasons they want...

In the meantime, we can definitely convince the courts of the reality and get the justice.
Assuming that, Courts go wrong again, we can always protest and stop the verdict becoming a Law.

As long it is an Unimplmentable solution, Nobody can force us to release water.

The only solution will be TN's acceptance to Karnataka's Proposal.
My dear kannadigas we need not worry about Tamils, We just need to protest strongly , legally , Thats it.

RE:RE:how long the writ petition process takes ?
by maignanam chandran on Feb 09, 2007 10:25 AM  Permalink
hi raj,

i find you constantly highlighting issues of "tamil" instead of our "water problem". Lets not forget both tamils and kannadigas live in both the states alongwith other people. So instead of addressing as "tamils" & "kannadigas", please as an Indian address the issue as between states. Hope you take me in right spirit and mend your ways. - A Bangalorean

RE:how long the writ petition process takes ?
by raj on Feb 08, 2007 03:22 PM  Permalink
Verdict is only a recommendation.Karnataka will file a review petition and the final judgement will take about one year time.Even then, it doesnt become Law, it has to be legitimised as Law by passing the bill in parliament.

TN or anybody cannot enforce to release the water as per the verdict, Karnataka can say, I will not be able to release water citing whatever reasons they want...

In the meantime, we can definitely convince the courts of the reality and get the justice.
Assuming that, Courts go wrong again, we can always protest and stop the verdict becoming a Law.

As long it is an Unimplmentable solution, Nobody can force us to release water.

The only solution will be TN's acceptance to Karnataka's Proposal.
My dear kannadigas we need not worry about Tamils, We just need to protest strongly , legally , Thats it.

RE:RE:how long the writ petition process takes ?
by hoiko badko on Feb 08, 2007 03:39 PM  Permalink
Raj, Thanks for clarifying things.

Very Matured and Balanced Column
by hoiko badko on Feb 08, 2007 12:20 PM  Permalink 

Himanshu Thakkar has done a wonderful job by presenting the facts in unbiased way. Thanks to Rediff team.

STOP THE DEBATE
by Vidhyadhar rao on Feb 08, 2007 10:36 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

On behalf of all patriotic Indians, I appeal to Rediff to BAN this abusive and personalised debate between 2 emotional communities (kannadigas and tamils). This is unhealthy that each community is attacking the origins and culture of others, in the name of Cauvery. Request all the viewers to join me in "Stop the Debate " campaign.

RE:STOP THE DEBATE
by ravikiran on Feb 08, 2007 12:56 PM  Permalink
Mr.Rao,
Thanx for your advise after a day long debate? Why there is a U-Turn

RE:RE:STOP THE DEBATE
by Vidhyadhar rao on Feb 08, 2007 01:08 PM  Permalink
Sir, I am ready for healthy debate, but I am not ready to abuse Kannadigas or Tamils against each other using 3rd grade words. People write anything just because no one can stop them. This is not the Right of Speech enshrined in the Constitution. I am not a law graduate but i think i am right in this. When the limits are crossed, I thought that the debate should stop. Please read my article on Final solution to Cauvery Dispute and comment on it. Thanks.

RE:RE:RE:STOP THE DEBATE
by ravikiran on Feb 08, 2007 01:45 PM  Permalink
Mr.Rao,
I fully appreciate your views abou this becoz lets try 2 understand that this not a war that TN has won it. People are feeling that they won long fought battle and trying to express their happiness which naturally provokes the other sector

RE:RE:RE:RE:STOP THE DEBATE
by Vidhyadhar rao on Feb 08, 2007 01:58 PM  Permalink
As you say it is not win or loss; it must be a win-win situation if both the States sit and discuss an out of court settlement. But who will come forward now. Its all an ego issue for our politicians.

RE:STOP THE DEBATE
by Ramesh Mokkapati on Feb 08, 2007 09:46 PM  Permalink
This is Freedom of Speach, Mr. Rao. Let people speak openly about it. I think most of the contributors are using their free time to air their opinions. Hope our politicians read these messages and do understand that this is far more serious than just cheap politics.

Where are we going?
by srinivas kanna on Feb 08, 2007 05:45 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Well we are forgetting onething here. That we belong to the same country.Sitting at a computer desk and making analysis will be easy but its pretty hard to understand the present situation. Does the author think that the tribunal who gave the verdict would not have considered these? no way. Its a neutral tribunal and it has given its verdict. If you want to oppose it, please file a writ petition. Instead, calling for bandh and preventing transportation will not do any good. TN has lost an estimated 50 crores because the lorries carrying the import/export goods didnt ply through karnataka. And the language used by the people in this message board, horrible. Tamilians were remarked as beggars,traitors,someone went to the extent of asking tamils to drink his piss. When i posted a comment to mind the language used, someone started bashing me, one person is giving his cell phone number asking me to call so that he (kannadigas) can teach a lesson to me and addressed me as bloody fellow. Where are we going? before the verdict you will join hands with the tamils and once the verdict went against you people, you start shouting.The Cauvery tribunal was not biased. SOmeone gave a super intelligent count that during the 1992-93 riots only 0.0004% of the tamilians in bangalore were killed. Well, isnt it so idiotic. Each and every state has its own flaws. Be it politics, administration or whatever it may be. If within our country,we are not maintaining peace and respecting each other,well its pretty difficult to go forward.I didnt mean to say that the tamils didnt use abusive language. They did, but they used them only when they are provoked. SO dear fellows (be kannadiga or tamil) respect the verdict, if you find it as flawed, your CM is there to file a writ petition (ironically the all party meeting ended without making any decisions). Dont bash up anybody physically or through abusive langugage. Thanks

RE:Where are we going?
by Mahesh S on Feb 08, 2007 09:16 AM  Permalink
where were you when ur people were calling us with names. when you got the taste of it, ur base started to burn and now u remember that we belong to same country.

RE:RE:Where are we going?
by ravikiran on Feb 08, 2007 12:49 PM  Permalink
S very true

RE:RE:RE:Where are we going?
by ravikiran on Feb 08, 2007 01:00 PM  Permalink
Especially to the most uncommon man who calls him common man who was speaking from all ends

by ravikiran on Feb 08, 2007 12:58 PM  Permalink
Mr.Raghunath,
Please advise the same to ur lingo fanatics also

by ravikiran on Feb 08, 2007 01:49 PM  Permalink
Mr.Raghunath,
Please do not point fingers

RE:Where are we going?
by rajsundar elangovan on Feb 08, 2007 09:07 AM  Permalink
Its good to hear a very measured comment in a debate like these. For all, even lawyers in Karnataka have gone for a strike. What do they know of the issue? I think the number 419 in the verdict is spearheading the commotion rather than the verdict itself. People don't understand that the actual water karnataka releases is just 11 TMC more than what it did in the previous years.

I think its not good for us (including the author) to comment on the verdict at a premature level. The 1000 page verdict has to be fully analyzed first.

by Ramesh Mokkapati on Feb 08, 2007 09:58 PM  Permalink
Murali Mohan, i am from AP and can not understand why you want to criticise the Tamil CM for being Blind. Surely this is not our culture. Don't blame education, blame the politicians and their greedy policies. Please don't try to demean others just because they are different from you. I am up for a decent debate on this.

by srinivas kanna on Feb 08, 2007 10:14 PM  Permalink
sir, first you speak proper english. and behave like a cultured human. just for supporting your state dont blindly abuse others.

This report would benefit the Chinese
by Manny on Feb 07, 2007 10:44 PM  Permalink 

This report looks like something the Chinese could use to take over the Brahmabutra

Kanaadiga - Get ready. Defend using facts and not thru violence.
by TrueIndian on Feb 07, 2007 10:21 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Instead using abusive languages in this board, you get ready for the next round of legal war in the court. Do remember to file a review petition before 3 months.

Tamilnadu will defend the tribunal verdict where ever it is tried again. Victory will be for TAMILNADU. The truth lies with TAMILNADU.

Krisha Tribunal also is there for you guys from karnataka between Maharashtra, Karnataka and Andhra. Try to be cool and submit the facts when asked by Krishna Tribunal.

Always you cant attack the court. You have to defend using facts and not thru violence.

Try thru AHIMSA and in a LEGAL way.

Jai Hind.

RE:Kanaadiga - Get ready. Defend using facts and not thru violence.
by karthik venki on Feb 13, 2007 07:49 PM  Permalink
Hey True Indian,

It is only the Tamilians that get stereotyped all over the world as: Madrasis, Illats, Aravas, Kongas. Because Tamilians are a bunch of hooligans, illiterate and criminals.

by Mahesh S on Feb 07, 2007 11:37 PM  Permalink
its really funny to hear abt AHIMSA and LAW from you... why dont you go and preach abt the same to your LTTE friends.

by srivatsa yb on Feb 08, 2007 12:07 AM  Permalink
exactly...tell ur vaiko to shut up then

RE:RE:RE:Kanaadiga - Get ready. Defend using facts and not thru violence.
by The Lion on Feb 15, 2007 04:44 PM  Permalink
Ohhh! So this called to be making mount out of mole. Nice!

Total 766 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>