The tribunals deceision is atrosious. Ifeel they should take responsibility for the amount of damage that is expected to take.How can you deciede the sharing of cavery water on the basis of crop pattern. The basis should have been on the number of people per sq.mile and certain quantity extra for the state from where the cavery originates. I feel stern action should be taken on the members of tribunalfor such a decesion. Also should not forget that due to this there can loss for businesses and also because of this revenue loss for karnataka alongwith bad name.
RE:Sharing of cavery water
by Narayanan Ramasubramanian on Feb 05, 2007 02:58 PM Permalink
Yaa the tribunal says it correctly. How much land has been sacrificed for the river to flow? how much of that land is there in public use .. all these factors have been taken into account. We have been fighting for this a long time. Just because the river originates in karnataka does not mean you will bulldoze others..
RE:Sharing of cavery water
by sabyasachi Mishra on Feb 05, 2007 02:53 PM Permalink
even if the basis had been number of people per square mile still tn gets it. 3/5th of the river flows in TN.
this shows step mother attitude towards karnataka. we dont accept and behalf of all kannadigas i would like to clear one thing here we ready to die for our farmers we never leave even drop of water to tamilnadu
RE:we dont accept
by venkat on Feb 05, 2007 02:53 PM Permalink
Dear All , please dont ever take tis issue as bw tamilians Vs kannadigans ..This is a national issue and please remeeber the farmers of karnataka leant the art of agriculture from their brothers @ thankjavor ..still lots of field vissits are going on by karnataka farmers .....Tailnadu have large agricultural areas under crops..karnatake also catching up..but do remmeber the sucides arent reported in TN as in many places as politicians have the most say here ......Jai Hind
AS THE ORDER HAS BEEN PASSED AFTER 17 LONG YEARS,I FEEL ALL ASPECTS HAVE BEEN CONSIDERED AND A FAIR ORDER IS PASSED.PEOPLE IN KARNATAKA SHOULD REALISE THIS AND NOT FALL PREY TO WILY POLITICIANS AND ANTI-SOCIAL ELEMENTS WHO ARE WAITING TO EXPLOIT THIS SITUATION. k.bala
RE:CAUVERY
by sabyasachi Mishra on Feb 05, 2007 02:57 PM Permalink
you are right bala. had this been dealt humanely it would never have taken 17 years. it has been policitcs all through for which this is so. you will soon see theories such as 1) the president is from TN 2) the DMK is backing congress at the centre 3) karnataka has an opposition govt to the centre blah blah.
Please donot pull in our Honourable President into this cheap political drama. Because Congress is not ruling Karnataka, Congress tries to build up a scenario to say because of JD rule only verdict went in favor of Tamilnadu. And In Tamilnadu, it may happen in reverse.
RE:Sanki
by mohan br on Feb 05, 2007 04:44 PM Permalink
Great. By the way, what the tribunal members got. Please educate us. we may need to be smarter in future.
Already TN farmers are getting two crops per year whereas Karnataka farmers are getting only one per year in Kaveri basin. TN is cultivating more than 4lakhs of acres of land whereas in Karnataka its only 1lkh.
RE:GREAT AND SUCCESS FOR TAMIL NADU
by nagaraj gowda on Feb 05, 2007 03:25 PM Permalink
Even karnataka people also human beings like tamilians. but it is sure,if this happenes,they will die with out drinking water. are you not feeling that this is unfair?
RE:RE:GREAT AND SUCCESS FOR TAMIL NADU
by balamurugan kandan on Feb 05, 2007 03:27 PM Permalink
dont die yaar...come here to Great Tamil Nadu....we will give water to you all :) :)
RE:GREAT AND SUCCESS FOR TAMIL NADU
by mohan br on Feb 05, 2007 04:47 PM Permalink
By the way, can you tell us where you bought all those tissue paper rolls all these years. If you are in Bangalore, we can sponsor some to you too.
by balamurugan kandan on Feb 05, 2007 03:25 PM Permalink
Wish me from where you are dear friend....:) Thanks for all your wishes to Tamilians
by balamurugan kandan on Feb 05, 2007 03:24 PM Permalink
Wish me from where you are dear friend....:) Thanks for all your wishes to Tamilians
The Verdict is not fair...the water gets generated in karnataka...stored and processed in karnataka....and the result is just the peanuts given by the central govt...It would have be fair enough if the water was divided 50-50...we are against the verdict.
Most of people in Karnataka are dependent on Kaveri for drinking purpose. However the monsoon is , the situation will be worst in summer. BWSSB lets water to every household once in 2 weeks in b'lore. Now it will be really a pathetic situation. Already Undergound water table is decreasing in and around b'lore.I don't agree to the decision. Pls re-consider.
RE:There won't be water for drinking also in Karnataka
by balaji padmanaban on Feb 05, 2007 02:48 PM Permalink
A good majority in TN too depend for Kaveri for both drinking and irrigation, Sir. Please dont analyze the situation with a skewed mind. Kaveri is a shortage river. Neither TN nor K'taka can meet their demands just with Kaveri.