Total 926 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Older >   >>
Contextual morality is far better
by on Dec 17, 2007 11:02 PM  Permalink 

Contextual morality is far better than absolute morality. For example telling truth is a good absolute moral, but u should not tell the truth when asked about the whereabouts of a person if you are hiding a person from a murderer, hence it is contextual moral.

What BS man
by swamy on Dec 17, 2007 11:02 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Modi is his parents creation, not some fascist creation. And stop confusing readers by titling the article as though u were talking about the great Srinivasa Ramanujam and not some no name poet..

RE:What BS man
by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 17, 2007 11:03 PM  Permalink

Its poet A K Ramanujam! Not the mathematician.

Modi code
by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 10:54 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Listen all reader Puttar, Modi Code is cracked.
Modi Bhai is not an Indian. His anchanstors were Mangolians. Changis Khan has direct link with him.
Take care.

RE:Modi code
by Muraleedharan c on Dec 17, 2007 11:40 PM  Permalink
R U CONTROR

by Asdfgfasdfgf on Dec 17, 2007 10:56 PM  Permalink
Prakash, you are retarded.

by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 11:03 PM  Permalink
Sorry ASDFG.... Puttar, I am not retarder but I will sure retire from rediff if you elect Modi Bhai.

by deepak on Dec 18, 2007 04:20 AM  Permalink
Dead jew on the stick worshipping made him retard....

by Pashupati on Dec 17, 2007 10:56 PM  Permalink
So it's proven that Modi is human. But you will remain a baboon.

RE:RE:Modi code
by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 11:06 PM  Permalink
Pashupati Puttar, you need not always think of 'pashu'.
Any way I don't mind being called baboon which is a better race than monkey and which Modi & you are exactly that. Thik hain Beta ?

by Muraleedharan c on Dec 17, 2007 11:44 PM  Permalink
r u naya contractor n rediffmail naya means old is dead

So-called ''Westernised Hindus'' are so apologetic about their country, faith.
by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 17, 2007 10:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

So-called "Westernised Hindus" are so apologetic about their country, faith.

SLOWLY BUT SURELY, THIS HAS CHANGED.

Gone are those days of apologetic Hindus. Its back to the days of (say) Swami Dayanand, Vivekanand, bankim chatterjee...etc.

RE:So-called ''Westernised Hindus'' are so apologetic about their country, faith.
by Nikhil Mandavgane on Dec 17, 2007 11:16 PM  Permalink
Agreed in toto. How i wish, every Bengali thinks like you and overthrow this communism from Bengal, which is like a deadly pest for this great state, which has given the most revolutionaries and freedom fighters to India.

RE:So-called ''Westernised Hindus'' are so apologetic about their country, faith.
by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 17, 2007 11:21 PM  Permalink

Communists are history. Give 10 years max!

They will be wiped out WITHOUT ANY TRACE.

RE:RE:So-called ''Westernised Hindus'' are so apologetic about their country, faith.
by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 11:41 PM  Permalink
Not 10 years, see the next election. Communists and Bangladeshis will be wiped up.....

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 17, 2007 11:34 PM  Permalink
What did you do with your last paycheck from ISI ?

by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 17, 2007 11:41 PM  Permalink

Sayyid, use your real name.

by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 10:56 PM  Permalink
Why westernised Hindus, any Hindu will be ashamed because of character like Modi Bhai !

by bimal shah on Dec 18, 2007 01:04 AM  Permalink
Why would a Hindu be ashamed. Have you lived in Gujarat before BJP came in to power. When Hindu's revolt, they are freaking Terrorist, but when thousands of hindus get killed, converted to other relegion, or forgotten like kashimiri hindu's they are called pussies. People like you have given voice to conversion, killings, reservations. Go pre-ghodhra and pre-BJP in Gujarat to understand why people did post-Ghodhra and why BJP still get's votes irrespective of how it administered.

by Demo-crazy on Dec 17, 2007 11:16 PM  Permalink
Prakash, why dont anyone feel ashamed of those men, killers of Hindus in Godhara -Sabarmati express (58 people burnt alive -23 men, 15 women and 20 children)?

Would you have said the same thing had one of your dearest was in that rail coach?

Modi stopped the violent mobs that were bent on reprisals. In the police action more than 245 Hindus were killed. It is wrong to accuse Modi of things he did not do.

Please be fair in your comments.

by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 11:40 PM  Permalink
Demo-Crazy Puttar, itna bhi crazy mat ho Beta ! History has punnished muslims of Gujrat not only for Godhra but also for age old accrocities they made in that state. Modi Bhai did a good job unknowingly.
Now since the case is over, let Modi go. A butcher is not useful for a long.....

by Pashupati on Dec 17, 2007 10:57 PM  Permalink
Give some credit to non-bengalis some times yaar.

by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 11:08 PM  Permalink
Okay Pashupati Puttar, you take Mamata and Budhha, both. And as a bonus Karunanidhi.

by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 17, 2007 11:02 PM  Permalink

Sure, there were many. But, none of them were partisan regionalist. They were pan-indian nationalist. period.

Contextual Morality
by on Dec 17, 2007 10:42 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Sir, Even Einstein's law itself says everything is relative..you have to write an article not with a conclusion in mind that absolute morality is good and contextual is bad..this is how it looks like when one reads "he absence of moral absolutism enables us to justify everything" do remember that the absolute morality western thing is just on papers the reality in western philosophy is only this either you are with us or with them...wheever thre is a side takenin this absolute morality you Sir should observe that the winner has always been right...so please do not thrust a mathemeticians article about Indian way of thinking in an absolute manner but in the same contextual manner as we indians tend to think...remember ...Japanese internment as near as 1940's and also the treatment of former colonies nad Rwanda genocide aided by so called Absolute moralists which applies to only their own peole ...it is prety much like Southern Hospitality....

RE:Contextual Morality
by umashankar s on Dec 18, 2007 01:47 AM  Permalink
rightly said. Author is mad and skewed against indian way of thinking.

Now we r poor only due to congress
by Hemanta on Dec 17, 2007 10:41 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

very honestly writting even if u will be sorry to know that the India human hunger index is more then the country pakistan.pls dear when u r getting any oportunity give a best lesson to congress.

RE:Now we r poor only due to congress
by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 10:58 PM  Permalink
Congress deserves a hard lesson but Modi Bhai has to be tought first that he can not escape by abusing democracy.

why this non...
by pecosta on Dec 17, 2007 10:39 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

why this nonsense article appers when BJP appears to win, why not this article appear when %* innocent piligrims where burnt, tell where in the world a minority goes on to burn people of majority? hindus wake up, fascism is what islam is , hindus wake up.

jai hindu.

RE:why this non...
by Pradip Parekh on Dec 17, 2007 11:24 PM  Permalink
quite right. the silly author thinks he has hit upon a brahmavakya when he quotes: "unlike the West, which functions on the basis of moral absolutes, Indians function on the basis of contextual morality."

so to answer your question, the author has fallen victim to the contextual morality himself which wants him to rail against the bjp victory.

the quote itself is a nonsense to begin with, and i will limit myself to the first part. the west is repsonisble for 2 of the murderous 3m in india, ie missionaries (recall goa inquistion) and marxism, both brutal ideologies intended to uproot people from their moors and keep them conflicted with their native civilization, destabilizing the socieities to serve western itnerests. the west has one standard for itself, and other standard for the other people such as in the 3rd world. if you see the big and small wars in the world what is west's involvement in it? one could be forgiven to think that to behave in brutal manner to serve self interest - like this war fully backed by the u.s. congress for oil, as greenspan explained - is the western moral absolute. for the west to so confidently declare that iraqis wanted usa to attack iraq, ie the incredible arrogance of the idea that the west knows iraqi interests better than iraqis themselves is a western moral absolute. the west has changed for the better only in recent decades, and mainly due to their near self-annihilation of ww2. within the western society itself there are no moral abs

by farid patel on Dec 17, 2007 10:41 PM  Permalink
islam is not fascism. islam is about justice. God commands justice and forbids transgression. Read from the authentic sources with a neutral objective perspective without any biases or prejudice or pre programming.

by Nikhil Mandavgane on Dec 17, 2007 11:22 PM  Permalink
Your justice is faulty and against nature. Your justice advocates torturing and killing non muslims. Ifthis is your kind of justice, see the results of this the world over, ofcourse, in non muslim countries.

by Demo-crazy on Dec 17, 2007 10:49 PM  Permalink
200 lashes for a rape victim is not justice. Ask your Saudi judges whom their law minister praises as fair.

Killing by stoning for accusation of adultery is not humane treatment of a woman.

I had heard that witness of one man is more than that of two (or four?) women - not sure about this one..

Accusing a person of blasphemy and killing is easy in Islam.

Many liberal minded person seriously doubt if Islam is really a religion of justice and peace. The followers of Islam in Iraq, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, Afghanistan, (and a good number of them) in India - do not give the picture that this religion truly stands for peace.

I will be learn from a knowledgeable person if I am wrong.

by prosperousindia on Dec 17, 2007 11:02 PM  Permalink
Dear farid,
All muslims are not terrorists. But sorry to observe that most of the terrorists are muslims.

by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 17, 2007 10:44 PM  Permalink

WHAT JUSTICE U SEE IN ISLAMIC COUNTRIES?

WHY NOT A SINGLE MUSLIM COUNTRY GIVES EQUALITY TO NON-MUSLIMS?

WHY HINDUS/BUDDHISTS/SIKHS ARE WIPED OUT FROM PARTS OF INDIA WHICH BECAME ISLAMIC COUNTRY?

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 17, 2007 11:17 PM  Permalink
btw - Tathagata ( make sure I spell your name right ) are you a vegetarian ?

RE:RE:why this non...
by farid patel on Dec 17, 2007 10:47 PM  Permalink
i clearly said there is justice in islam. where those so called islamic countries implement the laws is not my concern. but Alhamdolillah the state of minority is much better in islamic countries than any where else.

by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 17, 2007 10:48 PM  Permalink

U CLAIM ISLAM IS ABOUT JUSTICE, BUT UNABLE TO CONDEMN WHAT MUSLIMS FOLLOW!

U ARE WORST KID OF ISLAMIC BIGOT!

by farid patel on Dec 17, 2007 10:52 PM  Permalink
condemn what?

by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 17, 2007 10:54 PM  Permalink

ITS NOT GETTING INTO UR HEAD WHAT IS TO BE CONDEMNED!

WOW! WHAT A BIGOT YOU ARE.

RE:RE:RE:why this non...
by bimal shah on Dec 18, 2007 01:09 AM  Permalink
Try conversion to hinduism in those country.

by farid patel on Dec 17, 2007 10:42 PM  Permalink
this is also known as politics of fear. you create fear to divide communities and gain support to justify your evil actions. Wake up humanity

by pecosta on Dec 17, 2007 10:48 PM  Permalink
go n preach this sermon to LET,HUJI,JEM...., hindus till now havent taken up arms,as some person in indian history said the "problem of islam will be over the day hindus unite " i c that day very close.

jai hindu.

by farid patel on Dec 17, 2007 10:51 PM  Permalink
that's your problem its not about hindu or muslim community. its about a terrorist whether a hindu or muslim. i condemn all form of terrorism be it muslim or hindu. don't add fire to fuel

by ganesh ramanathan on Dec 17, 2007 11:13 PM  Permalink
A TRUE muslim never appeases violence , The so called islamic countries are un islamic in nature if they support violence in the name of islam!!!

Shivaji was a great ruler and his supreme commander was a muslim, how many people know this truth?? hence there is wrong in islam but only on the so called violent muslims who do not know the gist of islam

Ganesh

RE:RE:why this non...
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 17, 2007 11:23 PM  Permalink
Shivaji had a great character and never harmed women and children of even the enemies he captured. It was his sterling leadership and character that needs to be emulated by anyone wanting to establish a country run on Hindutva principles. Unfortunately - many like this Tathagata fellow is more of a fan of people who do just the opposite.

by Demo-crazy on Dec 17, 2007 11:09 PM  Permalink
No, the intention was not adding fuel to fire.

It is an interaction to understand from a learned man - correct me if I am wrong. I want to know why people say Islam stands for justice and peace and yet we see everyday so many instances that are counter to this thought which is preached by Islamic scholars, politicians and rulers.

One more recent instance was of a father strangulating his daughter for not wearing hizab (it happened in Canada recently).

Don't you educated people think it is time for reforms in Islam? How long should people follow stone age rules, which are brutal against your own womenfolk?

by pecosta on Dec 17, 2007 11:05 PM  Permalink
why every terror activity lead leads to a muslim house hold? what was the need for haneef n safil to bomb glasgow.why do u need to extend moral support to terrorist family(haneef)? go n reform ur religion,no hindu has gun in his hand, if that happens no one can predict what will happen, what was the need to drive kashmiri pandit's, if muslims r in majority that will happen to others,fascism as i said is what islam is.

To anurang shrivastava
by farid patel on Dec 17, 2007 10:36 PM  Permalink 

Anuray says:Riots happen all the time. Its always a question about who starts it. Maybe you have the answer , Farid. I know that the community which has numerical superiority typically has the last word.

farid says: do you justify killing a innocent hindu or a innocent muslim for no fault of his own returning to his home after work in the riots between so called communities. No way. this is wat riots are all about, taking innocent lifes for own selfish purpose. those who do are not hindus and muslim, but are demons and terrorist and i don't support terrorist

East is East, and west is west, never the twain shall meet!
by deepak on Dec 17, 2007 10:31 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In the words of Sir Charles Eliot, who affirms that "it is clearly absurd for Europe as a whole to pose as a qualified instructor in humanity and civilization. He writes: "If Europeans have any superiority over Asiatics it lies in practical science, finance and administration, not in philosophy, thought or art. Their gifts are authority and power to organize; in other respects their superiority is imaginary."

RE:East is East, and west is west, never the twain shall meet!
by Nikhil Mandavgane on Dec 17, 2007 11:33 PM  Permalink
Agreed deepak, i'm more educated and enlightened by ur letter. It's a fact, these europeans can't equal us in philosophy, thought or art. However, some Asians, closer to the europeans, geographically, have disdain for the very three virtues you mentioned.

RE:East is East, and west is west, never the twain shall meet!
by prakash on Dec 17, 2007 11:19 PM  Permalink
Hell with western people. Just wait for another 20 years....

Thanks Mr.Raghavan
by deepesh chandrasekharan on Dec 17, 2007 10:31 PM  Permalink 

I would like to thank Mr.Raghavan for this enlightening article. It opened me to the really interesting idea propounded by AKR.
I read through the comments posted here, some of them acidic, but felt they all prove what the author of the article just said. We react to anything depending on the context. Some have criticised him for being brahminical and some have praised him for 'supporting' the Hindu nationalist philosophy. I think the author has done a grt job in leaving it to the individual reader to read meanings, but to me it was sheer magic in terms of the fact that we have lost our right to blame Modi or any other Indian for the state of things coz, in a way it is our contextual thought process, our tendency to support ideas or men selectively that is to blame, not Modi or Jinnah or Gandhi. Thanks for helping us introspect into the Indian psyche. I dont care if u r a tambrahm or a justice party supporter- what u said and its meaning hold greater value to me. thanks again.

Total 926 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20   Older >   >>