Total 926 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>
West does NOT follow ''moral absolutes''
by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 18, 2007 08:27 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

West does NOT follow "moral absolutes".

Average Americans are more believer in Xtian cults, illogic than average Indian.

RE:West does NOT follow ''moral absolutes''
by Dravid on Dec 18, 2007 08:38 AM  Permalink
If you dont know something, better keep your mouth shut. What do you know about christian values?

by pepsi on Dec 18, 2007 08:39 AM  Permalink
@dravid

pls give a little glimpse abt christian values .....

~cheer,pepsi

by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 18, 2007 08:38 AM  Permalink
How much u know abt Hindu values?

RE:RE:West does NOT follow ''moral absolutes''
by Surya Kanishka on Dec 18, 2007 09:27 AM  Permalink

XIan's have values ??? IC

by Ramakrishna J on Dec 18, 2007 09:47 AM  Permalink
U r wrong, they got lot of values..

Converting ppl %u2026
Broadcasting there religion in all channels %u2026
No morality.
Back stabbing. etc, those are some examples pl add If u know more. :-)

RE:RE:RE:West does NOT follow ''moral absolutes''
by Ramakrishna J on Dec 18, 2007 09:47 AM  Permalink
U r wrong, they got lot of values..

Converting ppl %u2026
Broadcasting there religion in all channels %u2026
No morality..
Back stabbing.. etc, those are some examples pl add If u know more.. :-)

RE:RE:RE:West does NOT follow ''moral absolutes''
by Surya Kanishka on Dec 18, 2007 09:29 AM  Permalink

We are hearing for the first time ???

by swaroop tagore on Dec 18, 2007 09:44 AM  Permalink
u got to learn ill teach u

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 18, 2007 09:23 AM  Permalink
I agree that an average American is a believer in absolute nonsense - though it is debatable if that is more than that in India. BUT it is dangerous if Americans are illogical because that is just as bad as mullahs in Iran having nuclear weapons.

Much of things in America are great - and that is mainly coastal areas in East and West - the middle America sort of sucks.

by amit ambekar on Dec 18, 2007 09:27 AM  Permalink
The author is biased in his views towards Westerners. Across the world contextual morality exists. There is nothing called absolute morality, because there is nobody to define absolute. The person who tries is also relative to his own context of perceiving things. The article is useless.

by Cape Comorin on Dec 18, 2007 09:47 AM  Permalink
How come a hindu talk about logic? Quite strange!

Modi & Ramanujam Test
by Ramesh Joshi on Dec 18, 2007 07:49 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Whatever may be the theory, one thing is certain. IT IS NARENDRA MODI ALL THE WAY IN GUJARAT!

RE:Modi & Ramanujam Test
by Prakash Asrani on Dec 18, 2007 08:10 AM  Permalink
That is what Hitler's follwers also used to say.

by abc on Dec 18, 2007 08:32 AM  Permalink
aap to angrejo ke zamane ke jailor jaisi baat kar rahe ho

by Sun on Dec 18, 2007 09:10 AM  Permalink
Sour grapes ;))))

RE:RE:Modi & Ramanujam Test
by krishna ramesh on Dec 18, 2007 09:21 AM  Permalink
nandigram what they did are always hitlers my dear.dont throw stone at others.think what other hitler has done before calling hitler

by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 18, 2007 08:37 AM  Permalink

You speak like Goebles.

by Sun on Dec 18, 2007 09:12 AM  Permalink
Or a true commie.

Good article - but the first part is not agreeable
by Biswajit Ghoshal on Dec 18, 2007 07:47 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is not true that the West work on absolute morality. The G8, the WMF, the EU, the practice of "most favoured nation", the practice of having different import duties from different countries, Iraq and Afghan attack by the mostly allied forces, the concept of "preserving American way of life" - are all examples of contextual morality. In fact now the whole world practices contextual morality only.

RE:Good article - but the first part is not agreeable
by Pabbajp on Dec 18, 2007 09:05 AM  Permalink
Yes, you are right. After all every one is human being not only Indians. Rediff just wants to blame or through some durt on Modi. Why rediff is against Hindus??? Are they getting funds from Muslim organisations? or the Cheif Editor is from minority??? Why dont they show the curruption in the soceity and why dont they highlight issues related to common man or infrastrucutre or development???

by DCS on Dec 18, 2007 09:20 AM  Permalink
why everybody against NM..?
u know the truth.

by Sahadevan KK on Dec 18, 2007 09:47 AM  Permalink
Article is good... But the whole part is not agreeable!!!!

by NAVANEETH on Dec 18, 2007 09:19 AM  Permalink
If a muslim is a terrorist, congress hestitates to hang him. If a hindu being accused of causing terror to Congress, then he is merchant of Death and he is branded Hindu terrorist. Rediff is an agent of congress it seems.

by Tathagata Mukherjee on Dec 18, 2007 08:40 AM  Permalink

Well said Ghoshal.

WHAT IS THIS ALL AOBUT
by j p on Dec 18, 2007 07:36 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT HE WAS TALKING ABOUT

RE:WHAT IS THIS ALL AOBUT
by Prakash Asrani on Dec 18, 2007 08:09 AM  Permalink
Go back to school

by Pabbajp on Dec 18, 2007 09:20 AM  Permalink
Rediff says that Hindus should not speak out or retaliate and as like earlier(for the past 1200 years) Hindus shouls keep mum/calm. We have to give all our resources to minorities on high priorities(MMS). It is so simple that In India talking about Hinduism is communal but talking about other religions it is Secular. Thatz all

by babu rengaraj on Dec 18, 2007 09:48 AM  Permalink
you are right pabbajp

Revenge begets more terror.
by Ramesh Nittoor on Dec 18, 2007 07:08 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The aberration evident in Gujarat polity is indicative of the need for reform in the legal system. The deviant officers and politicians have become heroes for many. Revenge is no substitute for justice. Revenge begets more terror.

The need is for closing obvious loopholes, more decentralization and empowerment of officers to dispense justice and evidence gathering. Higher detention powers for political-executive authority to act decisively are not as important as it is to absolutely prevent misuse of legal machinery to delay or even subvert justice.

Though manifesting itself in grotesque polity, it is less of a political failure and more of an administrative failure. Such unconstitutional power generated and protected in Gujarat politics skews in favour of the payer of user charges, who also seek to perpetuate it by funding such aberrant politics.

This is a clearly evident short circuiting of governmental structure.

RE:Revenge begets more terror.
by Ramesh Nittoor on Dec 18, 2007 07:51 AM  Permalink
"Indians function on contextual morality." --- The contextual morality, the way Yudhisthara dispense justice when question in Mahabharata, also would favour severe justice for the erring ones who are clearly expected to know about Constitution and law.

RE:RE:Revenge begets more terror.
by Ramesh Nittoor on Dec 18, 2007 07:58 AM  Permalink
UPA-Left combine is no less guilty. The party which threatened to behead the lady writer, are still in allaince. It couldn't be less sordid.

by Ramesh Nittoor on Dec 18, 2007 08:14 AM  Permalink
The silver lining in this matter may be the reply to EC given by present Guj CM. It does make adequate room for inclusive polity and step by step clipping of all extra-Constitutional power centers. Good amount of tight rope walking lies ahead for all parties.

by abc on Dec 18, 2007 08:33 AM  Permalink
Will you please stop talking to yourself?

Indians have low political IQ
by Sameer on Dec 18, 2007 06:46 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Sanatan dharam was great 3-4 thousand years back. India had fertile land, there was enough to eat and be satisfied. Hindus were perfecting the art of meditation, music, numbers and sex.
Fast forward to 800 AD. By this time , world was mobile and was investing in arms and learning psychological ways to dominate. Arabs who were nearest to us, heard about the riches of India and came charging in. Hindus were neither ready physically nor mentally to offer any resistance. They had never seen such barbaric warfare. When you are rich and weak, invaders come. Britishers too came for the same reason.

Britisher left because, India was 'kangal' by 1947. There was nothing more to extract. Khalas. They made Gandhi a hero by propping him up( you don't want to be killed while fleeing so migh as well give the power to a peacenik, anothe eg. Mandela) and we still don't question that.
Passivity of Sanatan dharam is in our genes. Sikh Gurus finally broke off with Hindus because they were not ready to put up with this BS. Hindus merrily continue their way. So far numbers are with us but for how long?
This world will be ruled by race which has high political IQ. Islam is on upswing. They have successfully exploited wars between two sects of Christianity- Catholic/Protetants vs Orthodox Chrisitnas and also used oil to gain access to several institutions in the West. If they play their card well, 21st century would belong to Islam. Sorry Hindus, Christians, and Sikh friends.

RE:Indians have low political IQ
by Perv Sharma on Dec 18, 2007 07:47 AM  Permalink
I think your knowledge of History is only limited to INDIA - the Islamic forces used all the barbaric methods to expand - EAST OR WEST . But, in the west they went upto spain wherein they ended up facing an equally BARBARIC CHRISTIAN CRUSADERS - IN FACT IT IS ACKNOWLEDGED THAT ITS THE MOST HORRIBLE CRIMES COMMITTED BY THESE CRUSADERS - but the result - END OF ISLAMIC SPREAD TOWARDS WEST - it meant the end of Islam and the rise of West - especially the English rather than Christainity and the ENGLISH RULED THE WORLD AND THEY DO TILL TODAY - EVERY ISLAMIC COUNTRY EVEN TODAY IS A SLAVE OF THE ENGLISH BUT NOT INDIA OR THE HINDUS ?

by Ramesh Aryan on Dec 18, 2007 07:32 AM  Permalink
I will give Muslims all over the world another ten thousand years,try with all your strength.no body has the guts to rule the world.ok if possible the santhana Dharmis can rule this world by love and affection through yoga,way of life teachings which the world religions, so called strongest Islam and christians are living the life of wild creatures.sorry to say this but i cant help my dear earthmate.tHink about it till you go mad.jai hind!

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 18, 2007 09:01 AM  Permalink
Oil is getting over. Only countries with brain power will prosper - and the only players in this game are the west , russians, chinese and indians.
sorry sameer - there is no place for the brainless and ill educated.

RE:RE:Indians have low political IQ
by abc on Dec 18, 2007 08:27 AM  Permalink
The biggest battle on the earth was Mahabharata. Bhim tore off the chest of Dushashana with his bare hands and drank his blood. So, we did see our part of barbaric acts. Also, we hear about all these astra-shastra that were used in Ramayana and Mahabharata. I think Hindus perfected the art of warfare too.

What dragged the Hindu society down was the stupid Caste system. We officially declared that only 25% of the population (kshatriya) was fit as warriors. That too me is total BS. To say that because one was born in a Kshatriya family he had the aptitude and attitude necessary to fight or to lead an army is a joke. I think the urge to fight, to invade and to capture is independent of caste. I don't know why our 'perfect' ancestors didn't get it.

by r patil on Dec 18, 2007 08:54 AM  Permalink
To abc
caste system did not drag us back.There are many caste which attacked as warriors during the time of need.Specially the farmers.rajut caste and maratha caste ,peshwas,bhumihar brahmins,are the testamony of inter caste job minglings.The reason why hindus lost after 700(We were attacked for 700yrs,the great sinds and afganis sustained resistance from 7000 till it fell to islamic invaders) yrs of continues attack where as the great Persian lost to the islamic invaders within 100yrs after islam was born.Even after India was attacked ,India continued to become a hindu majority inspite of the barbaric murders,only because we were morally,physically strong and very populus country.Read Sita Ram goels In defence of Hindu Society.He has noted from hindu and muslim manuscript that we lost mainly because we failed to understand the "enemies mind",and they take proper advantage of the hindutaboos.Like hindus did not attacked enemies villages and they did not slaugter the non-combatants male and enslaved their females and children.We did not attack in night,did not attack unarmed solidier,did not atack war animals,did not attack laces of worship and so on.These all things were used by muslims to invade successfuly.

contextual morality
by mahesh kapadia on Dec 18, 2007 06:42 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

For the betterment of Indian future as a real secular state we need a Uniform Civil Code very badly.

Sonia and 'contexual morality' and chalta hai syndrome
by Sameer on Dec 18, 2007 06:29 AM  Permalink 

She was first welcomed as bahu now she wants to rule Indians by means which even Indira Gandhi would have found reprehensible. 'Chalta hai' is other word for contextual morality.

A saying
by Kumar on Dec 18, 2007 06:08 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I don't want to comment on either the BJP or Congress but want to tell a saying:
In an autocracy, the citizens reflect the character of the rulers, whereas in a democracy, the rulers reflect the character of the people. If Indians want to form a civilized, just, compassionate, practical, prosperous, peaceful, strong and happy nation, we all need to remember this. The politicians are just a reflect of us people because we elected them. Think what we need to do for the common people so that form a better and stronger nation? I will say, to start with, educate every single person.

RE:A saying
by Sivam Kumaran on Dec 18, 2007 01:00 PM  Permalink
Right Kumar. This is what I used to discuss with my friends when they blame politicians for our problems.
The average politician is as corrupt as average Indian. If there was Kamamraj or APJ, even Modi, They are not average.
Our politicians are true reflection of our society. If we want to see majority of politicians to be uncorrupt and patriotic, we have to have majority of us to be similar character. Till then we have no other option, but to be ruled by karuna's, lalu's etc.

by ss gpal on Dec 18, 2007 04:40 PM  Permalink
Yatha raja thatha praja ( as is the king so are his subjects) was correct in those days of lollipop kingdoms.In the present day context the whole stotry is yatha praja thatha rajah ( just as the citizens are so is the king) because one amongst us will be the MP/ MLA and he will rightly reflect our attitude.We spit and shit on roads and relieve ourselves where ever we feel like and so does the mla's or mPs as they are from us.Be the change you want to see in others. simple.If every one adopts this be the change, we will regain our glory.

by Kumar on Dec 18, 2007 06:10 AM  Permalink
I don't want to comment on either the BJP or Congress but want to tell a saying:
In an autocracy, the citizens reflect the character of the rulers, whereas in a democracy, the rulers reflect the character of the people. If Indians want to form a civilized, just, compassionate, practical, prosperous, peaceful, strong and happy nation, we all need to remember this. The politicians are just a reflection of us people because we elected them. Think what we need to do for the common people so that we form a better and stronger nation? I will say, to start with, educate every single person. Invest in the primary and secondary education of all the people, from slums to the Doon school and see the nation prosper.

by siva b on Dec 18, 2007 08:32 AM  Permalink
Where is autocracy in India? Modi was democratically elected.

Modi and the Ramanujam Test
by Gurudutt kamath on Dec 18, 2007 06:05 AM  Permalink 

Behind every human decision, there is an element of FEAR, small or big. This pushes forward the actions of the humans towards what they aim at in life.
So, in this Gujarat election, the same principle has been acting vigorously. UPA president probably was envisaging a long term threat to her long term continuity in this country vis a vis Modi occupying the highest office in the parliment of this country.

Total 926 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Older >   >>