Despite all the evidence that the BJP has used Hindutva only for electoral gains, the conned supporters of the party, simply cannot see their leaders' game.
In a way it is good. Their failure to execute Hindutva agenda in government shows the supremacy of India's constitution
RE:Rotten Analysis by Sheela; True Analysis Follows
by priya on Dec 07, 2007 08:47 AM Permalink
Well what you are advocating does not seem any less INTOLERANT!!!!! You want to eliminate the other faiths just like them!!
by priya on Dec 07, 2007 09:19 AM Permalink
The philosophy that you quote is unquestionably liberal. There is no doubt about that. But there are serious doubts, from the case you are making, that you at all understand it.
RE:RE:Rotten Analysis by Sheela; True Analysis Follows
by SAA on Dec 07, 2007 09:45 AM Permalink
Islam preaches oneness of God and He's Allah and Muhammed(SAL) is the last prophet, its our believe man....why u worry about it.....you stay on ur own track and lets live in harmony.
by SAA on Dec 07, 2007 09:42 AM Permalink
Shiva....what u know abt Quran, first read it b4 u talk.....I agree there are some islamic terrorist....who don't understand Quran properly and hurts other people, other religion. These terrorist are fighting for some worldly reasons only.....do u think anyone these days is fighting to convert others to islam NO.
Actually people in old days converted to islam by seeing the qualities of muslims.....but these days muslims are not true muslims, if one is true muslims he won't hurt anyone.
by sheela mathew mathews on Dec 07, 2007 10:17 AM Permalink
Shiva singhji,
"In places like New York and California, hardly anyone attends the church".
The above is completely untrue. I live in New York and I know it. If you look at America, the fact is people are turning more and more to religion, which is mostly some extreme form of Christianity. In New York, churches are overflowing with worshippers, from St. Patrick in Manhattan to St. Micheal's in Flushing. Black's and Hispanics have taken to the evangelical Christianity in big way and small worship places, store front churches, mostly managed by individuals, are opening at street corners. This phenomenon was recently explored in NY Times. Islam is kept at a distance, despite contrary claims, and Hinduism is being more and more being looked upon as exotic, something like Madame Blavistky's cult of the 1920s. Americans still do not know what the great Hinduism is all about. Only negative characters like David Frawly, Money Hungry Yogis, and despicable commercial minded Yoga experts are all that they know about.
We have ourlselves to blame for this, because the type of Hindusim now being imported here is the exotic veriety, associated with Yoga, ritualistic Mediation, and alternate living, the kind of exotic stuff which can never get into the mainstream, but remain fads.
The ritualism and casteism aslo plays a negative role. Characters like Modi, and their doings are the worst advertisement for Hinduism in America. People like Ram Madhav come to America and give hinduism a bad
It is not as if a Muslim on the road was shot by Modi, he was an Indian guy who dealt with arma, a possible militant and we are much bettr off with him dead.
The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.
RE:RE:Sheik was NOT innocent
by mahendra nayak on Dec 07, 2007 09:20 AM Permalink
The police statement that time was that he come to kill Modi. But why was his wife raped and killed
RE:Sheik was NOT innocent
by antonio on Dec 07, 2007 09:37 AM Permalink
is his wife not guilty of not reporting his treason and anti-national activities to the police as per law?
who is this lady named as sheela bhat . never heard of her doing any social work for betterment of poor indian women .is she a house wife living in gujrat bhat. s are kashmiris as far i know, so what she is doing in gujrat on the eve of elections . will some body throw light .
RE:gujrat elections
by Rakesh Mehta on Dec 07, 2007 08:20 AM Permalink
Dude, there are multiple problems with your views (for example, why should it be necessary for a journalist to do social betterment for women? Does not make sense.), but nevertheless.
Sheela Bhatt is a well-respected journalist, in journalism for about 25 years. She is the (ex)wife of noted Gujarati journalist Kanti Bhatt who is known pretty much to every Gujarati through his writings in the Gujarati magazine Chitralekha. They even ran their own magazine called Chetmachhandar and then Abhiyaan.
She started out as a protege of K. Bhatt (when she was Sheela Zaveri) and later married him. She is now in an editorial position at India Today.
Bhatts are typically Brahmins in Gujarat. Zaveris are banias (she is from Bombay, though). Bhats may be Kashmiris (I did not know that) although the Bhat last name is common amongst Manglori community (Tulus?).
Having said that, her journalism credentials are impeccable and she is quite powerful in the journalism circles. However, having read her views on Rediff, I have to sadly say that she is heavily influenced by the Arundhati types and NGOs. Maybe she was bought out by some of them; as Dhirubhai the great Ambani had once said, every person has a price, you just need to know what it is.
by hanek singh on Dec 07, 2007 09:11 AM Permalink
mr mehta, was it neceesary for you to parapharse your reply with an insult .it only shows the culture you have grown . mine was a simple query . bhat in punjab are considered belonging to kashmir [ muslims] i have been living in usa for over 22 years and yet to come accross a gujrati bhat. you may be a fan of this bhat but you have no manners , using abusive words . gujratis in usa are reputed to be cultured and mild manner people proper way to address a sikh is SARDAR JI not dude
by Rakesh Mehta on Dec 07, 2007 07:11 PM Permalink
Sardarji, aap to buraa maan gaye. I used "dude" as a synonym to friend. Second, I did not insult you or use abusive language. Please review my response. In fact, I stated that I will refrain from making any comments on the views you hold; see what was written in parenthesis.
Second, it is not easy to know that you are a Sardar, just from your name. I do understand that Sardars have the title "singh" at the end of their name. However, it is necessary but not sufficient to show that one is a Sardar.
Final, how did you assume that I am a fan of this "Bhat" (Sheela Bhatt, that is). Look at the end of my information about her. I do say something about not agreeing with her views, which of course I don't. I am a hardcore Modi supporter, BTW.
Incidentally, your mail does make several remarks to which I too could take objection (you raising the point about my culture, etc.).
Finally, Bhatt is a pretty common name. If you are into Hindi movies, for example, have you heard of Mahesh Bhatt? Your not having interacted with a Gujaratin Bhatt does not prove their not being Gujaratis.
SHEELA BHATT, HOW COME YOU CHANGED SO MUCH? THAT TOO ON ELECTION EVE? WHERE WERE YOU UPTO NOW ? WOKE UP JUST LIKE RAJESH KHANNA WHO TODAYS SAID MODI KI TO SHAADI BHI NAHI HUI. ARREY HOTI TO BHI KYA...RAJESH KHANNA JAISON NE TO APNI BIBI KO GHARSE BHAGA DIYA THA. ATNY, HOW MUCH MONEY DID YOU GET? WITH INDIA IN THEIR HANDS, CONGRESS CAN PAY YOU A LOT ANYWAY.
RE:What a biased report. How much money?
by hanek singh on Dec 07, 2007 08:21 AM Permalink
ARE BHAI EK NAPUNSK KE SATH KASE RAHTI. BHAG GAYI .AB AAP HEE BATAU KYA KARTI BICHARI. KHUBSURAT BHI THI AUR JAWAN BHI
Now change can only bring stability, atmosphere of freindship and brotherhood. Where there is will there is way. Where there is change there is prosperity and bright future of citizens.
RE:Change for healing the wounds, Change for justice, Change for prosperity
by RAMESH MENON on Dec 07, 2007 09:11 AM Permalink
Yes Madam. Let us bring change and harmony....like Kashmir! Where Hindus are treated very well, let us bring that kind of harmony througout India. You must be from Delhi Sultanet!
All these years Modi was put on notice by Rediff ilk for his Hindutva believes. Now he is damned by the same gang for not adhering to the same ideology. It is a strange tact of this gang-to fight the champion, if you cant fight his/her cause.
More than the gripe about the disillusionment of RSS with Modi, it is the plan which RSS had for Gujarat, which is revealed here (10000 workers in beurocracy etc..) which is frightening..
One would pity the fate of Gujarat if the RSS succeeded..Gujarat should resurrect itself.