RE:i do not think the term itself is derogatory
by on Dec 01, 2007 04:55 PM Permalink
Hey.. now onwards kindly call all Indian Cobbler as Shoe Reformer or Designer,, else they will sue us
RE:Mayawati Ji ...please Open the Eyes Ears & BAN
by on Dec 01, 2007 04:56 PM Permalink
Mere bhai.. Ram ka naam mat le.. warna congress / BJP aur laloo bhi khade ho jayenge
Mr. Prakash is right. Why should you address a person by his caste. He/she should definitely be addressed by the name. Infact Caste is born out of the trade and skill people were capable and involved.
Further it has become the habit of makers of cinemas in India to abuse and ridicule Hindu religion and its caste and majority of Hindus enjoy the sequences not realising that, it is they being abused. In tamil films, this abuse and ridicule is rampant by the so called comedy actors mainly by Vivek and even people like Rajnikanth is a mute spectator. Formerly we had a Ace director having same mentality in K Balachander who though being born in brahmin community keep critising and take films on the brahmin community with his own imagination. But he is a star director in the minds of most tamil hindus. This is the fate of Hindu religion.
In contrast Muslims refer their religion more than their parents and themselves. Any humiliation to their religion is taken as theirs and they take to streets which though found condemnable but in realisation, justifiable.
RE:CASTE CONTROVERSY
by R Balasubramanian on Dec 01, 2007 04:55 PM Permalink
In profession, you first address a person then his designation. Even in public meetings we address the gathering ladies and gentlemen though there will be a lot of children. When you have name why call by caste or profession?
RE:CASTE CONTROVERSY
by GN on Dec 01, 2007 04:58 PM Permalink
When people can bargain for getting reservation in the name of CASTE, RELIGION, whats the problem in somebody calling you by the caste name. ? CASTE system defines the way of living of a community. If you follow it you must be proud of it. So whats wrong in it.?
There is a dialogue in OM SHANTI OM in which Sharukhan says he hate the surname of MAKHIJA, because with that name he won't come up in filmy life. Is that fair. There is no body to defend Makhijas. But i doubt is there any surname Makhija exists?
RE:RE:mOCHI
by Nandakumar R on Dec 01, 2007 04:57 PM Permalink
thanks 4 ur reply. No even i didn't term as derogatory. But it is only the politician making hue & cry
RE:mOCHI
by goodboy on Dec 01, 2007 04:51 PM Permalink
The use is definitely demeaning as Shahrukh says with makhija name he cannot rise in film industry. So all makhija's now wake up and make shahrukh and farah apologise.
RE:Yes, Thomas Bata was a Mochi.
by DALIT RAJA on Dec 01, 2007 04:47 PM Permalink
You are partly right. There is nothing wrong in Calling someone by profession. But you must understand that over time certain titles acqired derogatory meanings. So such terms as Mochi should not be used.
For example someone comits a mistake, I heard upper caste people calling their own brothers Sudra. That means Sudra has acquired a negative abusive meaning there. You understand this.
RE:Yes, Thomas Bata was a Mochi.
by R Balasubramanian on Dec 01, 2007 04:57 PM Permalink
Dear Raja I appreciate your views. But I am unable to understand the real meaning of the prefix to your name.
According to our Constitution," says Mahatekar, "a person cannot be referred to in terms of his caste. And if you do so you are insulting him. It is objectionable and therefore they should ban this line in the song." pL NOTE mochi IS NOT CASTE IT IS PROFESSION.
RE:MOCHI
by Ramesh Kumar on Dec 01, 2007 04:47 PM Permalink
Dear Agar Aap nhi jante to mat bolo. Like Sunar Jewr Banate hai to Moch Jute Banata Hai. So Moch is a Case not a Proffession
RE:RE:MOCHI
by Chandra B Pandey on Dec 01, 2007 04:54 PM Permalink
According to me Mochi is not a cast but it is a profession and to the best of my knowledge there is nothing wrong in refering profession. Why there is nothing wrong If SRK's movie calls Makheeja as Makhi---- Ja. Please stop dividing India and adress bigger issues which is pending before us.
iT IS NOT THE DALITS WHO ARE CRYING FOUL BUT IT SEEMS THAT ONLY THE DIRTY AND MOST HOPELESS POLITICIANS OF INDIA ARE PLAYING FOUL AND WANT CHEAP PUBLICITY THAT THEY ARE CONCERENED ABOUT THE DALITS ETC. THE FACT IS THAT THE DALITS SC ST ETC DO NOT FEEL BAD WHEN THEY GET RESERVATIONS AND OTHER BENEFITS FROM THE GOVERNMENT AT THAT TIME THEY DO NOT MIND BEING CALLED ANYTHING BUT OTHERWISE THEY SHOULD NOT BE CALEED SO AND SO ETC IS ONLY DIRTY POLITICS.
RE:Whoever makes/repairs Shoe should be called
by uddhav raj on Dec 01, 2007 04:38 PM Permalink
u r right. i am brahmin, if i sit & start repairing shoose, chappals people will definitly call me MOCHI, there is nothing wrong.
RE:Whoever makes/repairs Shoe should be called
by R Balasubramanian on Dec 01, 2007 04:44 PM Permalink
You are totally wrong Uddhav. Dont you polish your shoes and chappels on your own? Dont you do this to your children? Your family and friends and neighbors will definitely not address you as Mochi.