Any word in any language has to be used in right perspective with a positive approach, where no reasonable common humanbeing or even any other livingbeing can feel humiliated for their existence in the world. Therefore, Avinash Mahatekar, Prakash Ambedkar, Udit Raj and all others who raised this issue of using the derogatory term in unwanted song are reminding all of us for creating the genuine envionment in the society as a whole covering our people at large including Parliament, governing bodies and administration. We all need that type of leadership every where in all fields of life as such. Take a child who has come to our world in every family and every mother of the child in this world wishes for her every child the best health, respectful place in the society based on hard,disciplined & honest work culture, free from all risks.Now, being one of the children of a mother, every one of us owe the responsibility of providing right & positive environment/ exposure without any deviation to every child of a mother so that what respectful place I want for me in the society it is the legitimate right of every one without any discrimination & bias. Any activity irrespective of its economic value for some families can not be the basis for earning the right to place other fellowbeings in disadvantageous situation/ condition. Therfore, we all should refrain from such actions that is not positive or right for others and this is the only right economics of the society as a whole f
I don't know Hindi & also this song.In Tamil Nadu, lot of Tamil songs make fun of Brahmin community;Just referring caste didn't amount to insulting those community. If that song hurts beyond that thin line, it has to make change & Producer/Director already made it.
RE:srinivas
by navinkumar nandakumar on Dec 01, 2007 06:32 PM Permalink
yeah, and we should strive to reach a level of maturity amongst ourselves, wherein like the blacks in America who can call themselves nigger and have a laugh about it. Any BC/FC... can all each other names and still interact maturely. Have you ever seen a sardar/sardarni or a jew or polack mutter and protest for being the butt of all jokes. Lighten up folks
This incident is showing how mean & cheap is indian politics is. I bet that no actual cobbler would ever feel insult the way our netas are feeling. Morever mere one in one crore cobblers might know the title CHARMKAR as advised by these political REHNUMAS. Will these buggers ever ban a film which will have PANDIT(for brahmins) and Bania (for vaishyas)used in it. There is no need for spreading such hoopla around. No luhar, sunar, manihar, kasai, badhai, pandit, mochi or bania will ever make a hue and cry for these titles anywhere. Lets develop our IQ's otherwise someday day these netas will even mark chatwala, paniwala, panwadi, samosewala, halwai derogatory and advise us some other RESPECTFUL names. I wish all these netas a speedy recovery. GET WELL SOON (munnabbhai way).
RE:DEVELOP YOUR IQ's !!!
by ramesh kumar on Dec 01, 2007 06:20 PM Permalink
Mochi ko Paduka Sudhark,Sunar ko Abhushan Sudhrak or Nai ko Kesh Sudhrak, Badai ko Kasht Sudharak, Kasai ko Pashukar bolna hai aage se!Otherwise casteism ki Boo aati hai!
RE:DEVELOP YOUR IQ's !!!
by ron sam on Dec 01, 2007 08:45 PM Permalink
Why bringing Xtians into it, brahamins created caste and abused. Dalits complain of a song and xtians are blamed for it, what a logic!!
For the Brahmins who think that they are smart, I have a simple question. Why did we dalits have to suffer under your policies and cult rulings for centuries ? Isnt it time to quit your system and accept a better system. No religion in this world is so discriminatory against the poor and needy as hinduism. Infact hinduism cannot be termed as a religion because its inhuman to divide people on the basis of their birth. I would invite all dalits and brahmins to do a fresh start with a new religion. Accept the teachings of Buddha.
RE:Jai Bhim
by X on Dec 01, 2007 06:09 PM Permalink
How do I care why he didnt convert to any other religion. The point here is. WHY DID HE FEEL THE NEED TO QUIT HINDUISM ? Babasaheb was the greatest soul dont even associate him with hinduism remotely. can you answer ?
by Confused Citizen on Dec 01, 2007 06:30 PM Permalink
do not talk abt history.. it says that a millions of hindus were killed (and women raped) during Mughal period and earlier 500 yrs period since 1100 AD, millions were tortured during british period.. as far as I know the dalits and muslims have been treated best in past 60 yrs by govt, and it will continue in future.. why u r crying, first study the teachings of hiduism, and then talk here..
by X on Dec 01, 2007 06:33 PM Permalink
Dont even dare me to write the teachings of hinduism. Its the most discriminatory cult on earth. Poor cant even spit...cant drink water clean water...cant study...you call this shit a religion ?
by MGR Fan on Dec 01, 2007 10:54 PM Permalink
India was ruled only for a very brief period by Hindu kings.
From 300BC to 1000 AD, India was under the rule of Buddhist and Jain Kings (mostly, with exceptions like Guptas). Then we had 1000 years of Muslim rule and british rule.
So it is clear that the problem is not with Hinduism but with Indian Society and more importantly the middle castes (read as rich OBCs) who are the biggest beneficiaries of the caste system
by ramesh kumar on Dec 01, 2007 07:05 PM Permalink
If you believe in Rebirth and theory of Karma, a brahmiin who did wrong in the past will be born as Sudra in the present. A sudra who did good in the past will be born as Brahmin in the Present. So whom u are blaming. Present Brahmins are yesterdays sudras. u are blaming yr own community. Have love towards all as u don't know who they are. all are equal in the eyse of God. It is by your karma that you become rich, poor. There are poor brahmins and there are Rich Dalits and vice versa.
RE:RE:Jai Bhim
by ramesh kumar on Dec 01, 2007 06:26 PM Permalink
We Hindhus have given Asylum to Dalai lamaji in India. No other religion or country can dare it. So who is great, find out yourself.
RE:RE:RE:Jai Bhim
by X on Dec 01, 2007 06:28 PM Permalink
Is India your fathers property. India belongs to us. Dalai Lamaji is most welcome in OUR country. So lay off. We do not need your permission.
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Jai Bhim
by Confused Citizen on Dec 01, 2007 06:33 PM Permalink
bu dalits and minorities surely think that India is their father's property.. so begging everywhere for so called backward class (and SC ST) certificate..
by X on Dec 01, 2007 06:35 PM Permalink
No we are not begging. You are taking what rightfully belongs to us. This is our country. You are nothing but parasites who have suck our blood for centuries. No more.
by ramesh kumar on Dec 01, 2007 06:44 PM Permalink
Because majority of Indians are Hindhus so u have liberty of abusing Hindhus. Hindhusim is most resilent religion in the World.Try abusing Islam, Christianty, Budhusim in some some country then u will know the consequences. What is happening to Hindhus/Budhist in Malaysia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Burma. You should feel lucky that u are born in India. Abusing of Hindhus, you can do so till Hindhus are in Majority. The day Hindhus become in minority, our constitution and all our liberties will go. Read history man. u are very much ill informed. Let Budha bless u man. Do not have hatred for others. Practice Vipasanna.
by ramesh kumar on Dec 01, 2007 06:58 PM Permalink
Mr. X, though I am a Hindu, I learned Vipasanna from Budhists which is a form of Meditation and it purifies your mind & body and teaches u love towards all.u also need to learn from your Gurus so that u have love towards all & hatred towards none.
Though most of the Indian poiliticians have no minimum qualification but all are good in Marketing stratergies! These surely teaches us how to crab a chance! I have not seen the movie nor heard the song but when when switch on the News channels hearing the intensity of the news thought this moive really has something offensive....but what i am reading just a word..
Mochi is a profession. You can hear voice "Mochi" everday on the Streets of evey Mohalla in every city every day, a person on cycle for getting your shoes repaired. there are mochi shops in every Mohalla of India. What is wrong in calling a Mochi as Mochi. A Luhar a Luhar, a Nai(hair cutter) a Nai, a Subjiwala a Subjiwala, a Sunar a Sunar, a Neta a Neta and so on. Why all this fuss. Do our Govt intend to ban all these to be called with other names, they can do so by all means. But till an ordnance comes to this effect, we should be left to call a Mochi a Mochi.
RE:What has gone Wrong with our politicians.
by Vitthal Zalki on Dec 01, 2007 10:40 PM Permalink
Before making all this fuss, go to the basics of Varna, they were on the basis of profession or occupation which was undertaken. Thus in the modern corporate culture or engineering an electrical engineer, mechanical engineer or a leather technologist or rather in a corporate worlds there is a classification like VP, Director, Operative etc. an operative cannot mingle with with director or VP or CHMD. 5000 years back Brahmins, Banias, Kshatriyas were like todays Directors, Chief of secuirty, Finance etc. Giving too much importance to such nasty things will again take us back to from where we have come out and hand over out reins to foreign (Previous British or Mughal Raj)
RE:why consider the mochi as derogatory.
by ramesh kumar on Dec 01, 2007 06:13 PM Permalink
Mochi ko Paduka Sudhar,Sunar ko Abhushan Sudhrak or Nai ko Kesh Sudhrak bolna hai aage se!Otherwise casteism ki Boo aati hai!
Enough is enough. Most of us Brahmins of this generation have never indulged in any kind of anti-Dalit activity .. I get really pissed off when some two-bit Dalit leader starts quoting Ambedkar and abuses Brahmins. I hope they grow up and look to lead a meaningful life instead of harping about the past. Its like reminding the Germans over and over again about Nazi crimes. The past is over. Look to the future instead of looking at the past all the while!
RE:Brahmin oppression and other stories
by Sting Ray on Dec 01, 2007 06:11 PM Permalink
GR, people like X are in a way right; that their earlier generation and generations before have suffered a lot. HOWERVER, they have not. They are writing here NOT ONLY because of ambedkar alone, but also because of ambedkar's teacher, who was a brahmin (the teacher's name was ambedkar and gave his name to him) and people like him, who were brahmin and non-brahmins too. So when X says something like that, he probably does not know that many brahmin leaders were at the forefront of dalit progress. Plus, he is so much been teached to hate brahmins, that he will probably never change. The real way is that shown by Vivekananda. Not buddha. So let him crib. Such people always die with hate in their mind without earning anything.
by vivek sharma on Dec 01, 2007 06:26 PM Permalink
This incident is showing how mean & cheap indian politics is. I bet that no actual cobbler would ever feel insult the way our netas are feeling. Morever mere one in one crore cobblers might know the title CHARMKAR as advised by these political REHNUMAS. Will these buggers ever ban a film which will have PANDIT(for brahmins) and Bania (for vaishyas)used in it. There is no need for spreading such hoopla around. No luhar, sunar, manihar, kasai, badhai, pandit, mochi or bania will ever make a hue and cry for these titles anywhere. Lets develop our IQ's otherwise someday day these netas will even mark chatwala, paniwala, panwadi, samosewala, halwai derogatory and advise us some other RESPECTFUL names. I wish all these netas a speedy recovery. GET WELL SOON (munnabbhai way).
by X on Dec 01, 2007 05:49 PM Permalink
You have always indulged in anti-dalit activity. Why do you oppose reservations ? We have been exploited for thousands of years and all we want is a fair go. Enough if this discriminatory religion. All the dalits will sooner or later have to embrace buddhism.
by GR on Dec 01, 2007 05:50 PM Permalink
What the hell, man! Do you know me? Don't make such blanket statements. If you think reservation will help, go ahead. But stop this Brahmin bashing.
by GN on Dec 01, 2007 05:53 PM Permalink
Brahmins did indulged in a practice and injected new rules and regulation to take control over other castes and to keep away all other caste people away from Knowledge.( Not to Dalit alone ) But that was the history, which saw the downfall of great religion like hinduism.
but keeping in mind the current scenerior, instead of breaking apart, it is the time to re-unite as one. Be indian and facilities should be given to poor people irrespective of caste and religion.
RE:RE:RE:Brahmin oppression and other stories
by X on Dec 01, 2007 05:53 PM Permalink
we dont need to ask you wats fine and wats not fine for us. I am happy if all the dalits convert to other religions. If they become Buddhist I will be most happy. No religion except hinduism is so discriminatory against the poor and the down trodden.
by ramesh kumar on Dec 01, 2007 06:01 PM Permalink
If all the dalits convert to other religions as proponded by you, then problem of reservations will be solved for ever in India, because as per you there is no opression/discrimination in other religions. By the way have u converted to other religion and not asking for reservation.
by X on Dec 01, 2007 05:57 PM Permalink
A typical brahmin will always claim to have supreme knowledge...get out of that mindset before its too late for you.
RE:RE:Brahmin oppression and other stories
by GR on Dec 01, 2007 05:51 PM Permalink
Very well said. Its actions that determine what we are, not the family we are born into.
by X on Dec 01, 2007 05:51 PM Permalink
who needs a christian to divide hindus ? hinduism itself is divisive. the most discriminatory "religion" on earth. Embrace Buddhism.
by GR on Dec 01, 2007 05:54 PM Permalink
I dont think Hinduism or Buddhism need any advertising from you and me. I haven't heard of Hindu or Buddhist missionaries, have you? So, lets not get religion into this. When I mentioned Brahmin, I was refering to the tendency of the caste-based divisions that people still subconsciously have .. and this is exploited by the politicians
by GN on Dec 01, 2007 05:57 PM Permalink
X - you need a thorough education about Hinduism, till you have it please dont abuse religion.
One need a path to worship the allmighty. so follow any religion, Budhism or any other religion existing is ofcourse a good path to follow, provide you have the guts to follow it 100% and never abuse other religion, caste.
by X on Dec 01, 2007 05:59 PM Permalink
What abuse are you talking about. Buddhism teaches me the speak the truth. I never abused your religion. I just said the truth that the poor and down trodden have no standing if they are hindu. its a religion for the rich and the influential.
by Sting Ray on Dec 01, 2007 06:13 PM Permalink
Oh and you think that's not an abuse? First of all, nobody understands what real hinduism stands for if they practice untouchability. So stop cribbing about hinduism. It just shows that we are fortunate enough to get rid of you from our religion.
If we check in kerala itself? there will more 40 different communities spread between three major religions CMH ,if government start giving resevation starting from the weakest of weak ? reform begins, merging starts,then inter-religion link starts, then THe ONE Strongest SCRIPT Religion Survives. Resevation is only to enhance Better Education and quality living for all.