the European Union, Japan, South Korea & Taiwan means access to the largest trading bloc in the world - 35 trillion dollars economy/year, technology transfer, jobs & oustourcing, liberal travel regulations etc.
Bad realtionship with Anerica means no more foreign investemnt, no more outsourcing, no jobs, no technology, no american/european/japenese/korean products, nothing. Only Chines Pong-Wong cars & plastic toys & Russian Lada cars & Chernobyl reactors that blow up every week wll be available.
RE:Good relations with America and its Allies
by LaX Ray on Aug 24, 2007 03:44 PM Permalink
study a little more, the need is both way, so nothing to fuss or worry
It is really amusing to read the comments. Till yesterday all were blaming the Lefts and the BJP. Some even gone to the extent of calling Lefts agents of China. Now that some "AMERICAN" says that the deal is bound to create trouble in future everyone seems to start attacking Manmohan Singh. Now the question is are we trusting our own people (read leaders). When American says the opposition is headless chicken we seems to agree and when American says the deal is bound to create trouble in future then also we agree. So what is our opinion? Are we just blindly accepting what ever American says. Suddenly the America who can save us from "Muslim Terrorist" become the cunning country which wants to know our defence screats. Com'on guys its high time we have our opinion. It need not be the correct one but atleast we can be proud that it is our opinion. Now we are realizing that Lefts and BJP are not making a hill out of a mole. I am not support of Left or BJP but we should stand with those who are right and in the matter of N-Deal Left and BJP seems to be right. We should unit together and tell the government that unless the Indian interest are safeguarded there should be no operationlization of this deal. Let USA make it in uncertain terms that India can conduct Nuclear test after the deal and there will be no distruption in fuel supply. Only then we should move ahead otherwise it is better to live without power then live powerless with power.
RE:Readers comments,
by Atma Prakash Tiwari on Aug 24, 2007 01:11 PM Permalink
Its correct that BJP initiated the Nuclear talks and they still support it but not in its current form... The same needs to be renegotiated to suit us or it has to be Win-win for both India & US
Why the hell we are hell bent on getting (rather begging for) Nuclear energy from NSG group??? Why don't we look at suggestions made by Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam to reporocess Thorium, which we have in abudancy in India and which can take care of our energy needs.
The only problem is Congree will never allow something which is suggested by anyone who is not from Congress even if the person is of Kalam's stature....
RE:Indo-US Nuclear Deal
by Atma Prakash Tiwari on Aug 24, 2007 01:15 PM Permalink
Than work towards making those reactors... didn't we make Cryogenic engines (which was refused by Russia) & Super Computer (Which was refused by USA)...
dont be silly, the cryogenic technolgy was given by russia ultimately, the supercomputers proccesors (the most important part) are imported from america.
by Atma Prakash Tiwari on Aug 24, 2007 01:22 PM Permalink
Well Mikkey... You may be correct...But why can't we look at making our own reactors?? Reactors in US & Russia are also human made, right??? And I belive that we have intellectual capability to do the same on our own...
RE:RE:Indo-US Nuclear Deal
by Mikkey Moouse on Aug 24, 2007 01:27 PM Permalink
all your best scientists have left to work for america, so no one can develop any thorium reactors. eg. Mr. S. Chandarsekhar, Mr. H.G.Korana
by Atma Prakash Tiwari on Aug 24, 2007 01:30 PM Permalink
We can produce 100s of Khurans, Chandrasekars... Don't underestimate India and Indians
The good part is...we will get lots and lots of fuel....along with other economical cooperation for US and its allies....
Bad Part:- The Security and detterence policy being implemented by India will go to hell....Its clearly mentioned...the enrichment should not be there for accurign nuclear weapons...so from where else we will get efuel to feed our nuclear deterence policy. And mind me....dats the only thing which can make a country work its way...thats the arm of free state...Because of this only...we had sanctions in 1998...we knew...we were not afraid of sanctions...but of the atomic policy is not shown to world...may be in few days...china will take the arunachal pradesh....may be US will not be that much afraid to enter the indian waters...may be pakistan will force to wage another war...as we know....US has good business...and I assure you this will will welcome more and more deals in the future....
WE CAN ONLY GROW IN A PROTECTED AND SECURE ENVIRONMENT...WE DONT WANT TO WAGE A WAR...BUT ALSO WANT NOBODY ELSE TO WAGE A WAR ON INDIA...WHICH NEEDS POLICY...ATOMIC POLICY...
The 123 Agreement is available http://www.state.gov/r/pa/prs/ps/2007/aug/90050.htm
Pkl. Afternoon ,12.45pm,friday, 24th Aug. 2007 This is papering the unpleasant realities of the high contracting negoiators for their own unchanging positions;ie US would not allow Indians in any forseeable future to get Nuclear testing and hold on to Fuel supplies; come whatmay be the reading of clauses of this Agreement. these scholars see it rightly as source of future of divergences among high signing parties.Indians are in dire need of Uranium fuel for its high energy needs ,while gas costs rise allhigh.Hydro-electric power also silts and disturbs tribals in their forest homes. No easy solution seems to be in offing while Bush administration moves ,now ,to last year in office,soon.So much hope should not be hitched to the delivery of Nuclear Goodies to Indians in the wake of the disputed 123 Agreement in Indian Parliament. D.goel
Going through the text of the Deal, it is clear that it is ambigous in terms if India does not fully implement it in spirit. The US will then have two options :- If the concerns of India are genuine and do not affect USA in anyway, it will keep a blind eye. But if the deeds of India are against american interest, then it will surely try to bite.
So, it is India who is in the driving seat of the deal. US is just the traffic policeman. As long as you dont break the law, go on. Minor offence ,make the policeman happy. You will only be in trouble if you hit the policeman himself.
RE:Deal
by sangineersha on Aug 24, 2007 12:57 PM Permalink
You r slightly wrong, It is USA who is driving seat and we as passenger make mistake the driver will through us out the bus keeping back all our bag and baggages. Pls Read the article again.
by sanjay on Aug 24, 2007 01:10 PM Permalink
How can you expect the passenger to make a mistake?? Unless he decides to jump out of the Bus himself????
by sangineersha on Aug 24, 2007 05:17 PM Permalink
Use brains, It is an analogy, If India does N Test it will be considered as mistake and USA will not only stop N Fuel but also take back all the equipments and technology.
by Sahadevan KK on Aug 24, 2007 01:33 PM Permalink
Mayawati orders closure of Reliance Fresh stores.
Now political parties and people understand what the Left says against the FDI and Corporates in retail sector... 2 crores poor retailers will be finished and 30-40 corporates will conquer the space. We will not have any control on them. BJP and BSP take the steps what the Left has taken.
123 Nuclear Deal is Best For Indian Economy. I really appreciate Manmohan Singh,India's visionary,for having made this biggest effort for India to become Developed Nation by 2020.Nuclear Deal will be benificial in all these ways: 1)India to attain Civilian Nuclear power for self sufficiency in Nuclear Energy. 2)Good Relations with America & all friendly relations taking India's Foreign Policy to New heights. 3)Pave the way to Attain permanent relationship at UN. 4)Become a Developed Nation by 2020. Best of Luck to Congress & Manmohan & Sonia Ji. Suman Sibal Highly appreciate Congress's stand. Congress should remain firm on nuclear deal. With Best Rgds,Suman Sibal.M.Tech. Mob:9910237788.Posted from Delhi. Email:sumansibal@yahoo.com website: http://sumansibal.freeservers.com
RE:I think India & US are in tune with 123 Nuclear Deal.Suman Sibal.M.Tech CIVIL
by sangineersha on Aug 24, 2007 12:41 PM Permalink
It is not important what u think, the fact is there is Interpretation dilemma and USA and India are not in unison, the above article is proof of that.
Let us not fantasise and understand the reality and not praise the persons involved in sycophant manner.