guys, before coming to any conclusion whether Narayan Murthy dishonoured national anthem or not, first find out what exactly he had said. as far as i know, he didn't say anything derogatory. given his stature and experience, one can expect him to be watchful while commenting on something like national anthem....
It is ridiculous! Some people have no work. There are thousands of people going to bed without a square meal in this so called mighty nation, there are politicians who loot the country in broad daylight and our demographic indicators are worse than even many underdeveloped countries. People like Narayan Murthy who have helped generate employment for the youth who had little direction in this directionless country, who have given away vast amounts of their personal wealth for the betterment of people and a vision to this country are being challenged by unscrupulous people who are yet to make a mark in their own neighbourhood. Narayan Murthy is a national pride whether some people accept it or not. These organisations should try to put some politicians behind bars even for a day who are blatantly amassing wealth in this poverty stricken country.
RE:Stupid Controversy
by Anand Menon on Aug 14, 2007 12:25 PM Permalink
I second u on that. There are over a million issues in this underpriveledged country of ours and yet there are these ridiculous people who come out with these ridiculous accusations merely to hog the limelight. It's hard time that the legislation came out with some strict guidelines to fine people who indulge in these frivalious accustations and cases.
Kannada Rakshana Vedike is a group containing goons, racists and corrupts. Whatever they do, there has never been a proper protest nor have they provided any solution. They only hurt whom they don't like. This group should be banned for insulting great people.
RE:Kannada Rakshana Vedike are terrorists
by Paritosh Sinha on Aug 14, 2007 12:57 PM Permalink
I agree with you.Kannada Rakshana Vedike is a group containing goons, racists and corrupts. Whatever they do, there has never been a proper protest nor have they provided any solution. They only hurt whom they don't like. This group should be banned for insulting great people.They want cheap popularity. What have they contributed for the nation?Have they created jobs like Narayan Murthy?Shame to their tribe
by karunadakahale on Aug 14, 2007 12:12 PM Permalink
yOU WILL COME AND HELP WHEN THERE IS INJUSTICE TO KANNADA AND KANNADIGAS ???
RE:RE:Kannada Rakshana Vedike are terrorists
by Ravi Shankar on Aug 14, 2007 12:34 PM Permalink
chaklam, Its easy for a junky like you to sit in a corner and typing all these junk messages..dare you tell this statment infront of one kannadiga..come on wake up dude..dont act like a kid..we all are Indians thats the bottom line.
by pragyan panda on Aug 14, 2007 12:17 PM Permalink
Kannadas dont need help from Kannada Rakshana Vedike. I'm sure we have more Rational people in the state of Karnataka & India to take up the cause of Kannadigas.
It always happens in India..big icons get away with though they commit hale of mistakes,crime & any anti-social activity.The rules are made only for people those who have no money & power.It's no exception in case of narayan Murthy.
Mr. N. Murthy must understand the value of national anthem. If he is a educated man, he must respect the nation. Again the honourable court should not have quashed the case.
RE:It happens only in India
by MS on Aug 14, 2007 12:24 PM Permalink
wheres the freaking disrespect. i am sure you dont take any disrespect when your parents asked for dowry for you
RE:Why only for Narayan Murty Some Indian Community not want to sing National Anthem & Vandemataram
by Kvins on Aug 14, 2007 12:13 PM Permalink
Yes you are right..there are few traitor.. jo namak yehan ka khatay haii.lekin ada karte hain pakistan ko
See Mr.Murthy, you may be a tycoon of IT Industry. But above all that you are a human. When u took birth, you were a child, during the school days you were a student and now become a number one IT comany's founder. What may be your next role no one knows. You may be expert IT but that does not mean that whatever comes in your mind you spit through your tongue. You should respect your nation, that only gave u this much opportunity. Even in US, Indians are treated third rated citizen. But in India we give celebrity status to you people
RE:RE:When climbing high, one should have tongue control
by soumik kalita on Aug 14, 2007 12:11 PM Permalink
It is ridiculous! Some people have no work. There are thousands of people going to bed without a square meal in this so called mighty nation, there are politicians who loot the country in broad daylight and our demographic indicators are worse than even many underdeveloped countries. People like Narayan Murthy who have helped generate employment for the youth who had little direction in this directionless country, who have given away vast amounts of their personal wealth for the betterment of people and a vision to this country are being challenged by unscrupulous people who are yet to make a mark in their own neighbourhood. Narayan Murthy is a national pride whether some people accept it or not. These organisations should try to put some politicians behind bars even for a day who are blatantly amassing wealth in this poverty stricken country.
RE:When climbing high, one should have tongue control
by Balaji on Aug 14, 2007 12:46 PM Permalink
Mr.Moorthy has not paying without sucking the blood of IT professional. If he has really interested in India's growth. He should have adopted some schools meant for orphonage and train them to come up in life. Simply taking the best brain available in market,he does the remaining. In chennai, there is a software which deploys mostly disabled people and make them best brain and simultaneously gaining success. This has not been come to light. MD of that company never shown his face to the outside world. He got best employer award who gives employment to disabled. See, Social Service is part of life. You have lot of channels to make this country developed. HCL is doing some charity by conducting courses. Likewise what Infosys did for this society. If you are average and fight come up in life, you have no place in infosys. THIs is True
by Chanakya on Aug 14, 2007 01:54 PM Permalink
Balaji...this is the height of jealousy on someone else's growth....you are soooo pooor and remain pooor throughout... by the way, what little did you do for others with the earnings you have? while it is none of my business - please ask the question to yourself...i don't need your answer
by Balaji on Aug 14, 2007 02:52 PM Permalink
Dear Mr.Chanakya, I do charity and inculcate uneducated and respect those who do the same. I feel that I did not do any wrong. What about you, I dont know.
RE:RE:RE:When climbing high, one should have tongue control
by Balaji on Aug 14, 2007 03:36 PM Permalink
How much is your hand,that much you contribute. Why we comment a person means. His statements are about nation where we live. We are touching neither his personal life or his fame. Even we thought of him to be the next Prez. But his true color came in to light. We have all rights to pass comments when he talks something about the nation
by egrl on Aug 14, 2007 03:31 PM Permalink
Dear Chanakya. I respect your self dicipline. But you have not shown any such discipline while commenting me. I hope you would follow this in future. Personal vendetta will hamper relations
by Chanakya on Aug 14, 2007 03:21 PM Permalink
Dear Balaji...as a self-principle, I neither boost about what I do in return to Society nor do I comment on someone else's achievement and status. somehow, I still feel your comment on Mr.Moorthy is beyond mine/yours status in society compared to where he is today with his self achievement as well as commitment to society/human kind.
by Vishal Kale on Aug 14, 2007 12:11 PM Permalink
1. How is playing the instrumental version of the anthem an insult? It may be foolish, but certainly not an insult. Kindly remember that on Republic day, only the instrumental version is played. 2. Why dont most people stand up for the national anthem? Even big shots! Why no case against them? 3. Take a poll: ask people to recite the anthem. Open Challenge. I have done it on a dare from my elder brother... try it. You will be surprised how few people actually know our national anthem word-for-word. Is that not an insult? 4. Why dance to the changed tune of Vande Mataram? Why no court case against the musician? Remember: Vande Mataram is the national song 5. How many people salute the flag on independence day? 6. If we are rated as third-rate citizens in US, why go there at all? First you sell your soul for the sake of money and then cry foul! Make up your mind, man. I have no sympathy for these NRIs. It was their decision to leave, and they can face the consequences
by alert on Aug 14, 2007 12:08 PM Permalink
Balaji.. your remarks are childish...Murthy did not show any disrespect to National Anthem. He has provided so much job opportunities to his countrymen, earned so many billions of FE to ur nation, brought so much fame and respect to our country internationally, had been a trend setter....In US and other countries Inidans are respected a lot and not treated as third rate citizen. Dont be blind to the facts and talk like a chavunist. The disrespect to the nation comes from the dirty politicians you elect who loots crores of public money. Did you ever think how these MLAS have got so many buildings and lands and Crores of cash with them. Is it from the salary and genuine business they earned. Even the recent case of 185 MLAs planning to go to China is an example.
RE:can anyone tell me
by Abdul Khayyum on Aug 14, 2007 12:27 PM Permalink
The lesson to carry from this is stay away!!
Stay away from National Anthem, Stay away from National flag Stay away from Father of Nation, Stay away from regional Language, Stay away from Religion,
cause, if you get into this, you will have some silly idiot making noise over a trivial thing. These guys will be useless incorrigible dumb misfits, and they will make nosie as if the hell is hanging loose on them. So the simple thing is while in india stay away from these things. Is Somebody is talking bout freedom!! well then cofine it to a happy independence day!! Americans make shorts and panties with their national flag, and in india, you dont even have a cap!! It is the national flag after all.. should be respected... never loved.
by z on Aug 14, 2007 11:56 AM Permalink
no remark 'agianst'. infy , at an internal function, played the instrumental version of the song. and NM said that it is because the 'foreigners' cant sing / understand our anthem and hence thye did not play the verbal one.
by manu on Aug 14, 2007 12:17 PM Permalink
What ever word he used, thing is why should we compromise on our National Anthem.Does any other country would have done this.I think Murthy does not know the sacrifice Indians have done for our country.Shame on him.
by Gundappa on Aug 14, 2007 12:17 PM Permalink
Narayana Murthy is a third-class donkey. National anthem does not need to be understood by foreigners. It is played due to arouse our patriotism and everybody, be it foreigner or anybody present during playing of the song, should listen to it with respect as we do to other country's anthem.
by Chanakya on Aug 14, 2007 01:57 PM Permalink
Gundappa...your name should be just Gunda...not gundappa... you have no manners, decency and respect to anybody...what worth you are in front of Mr. Murthy, to whom you are referring as third class donkey... you are very cheep in your thinking and writing... in what capacity are you commenting on Mr. Murthy? are you the ultimately decsion maker in this so called alleged disrespect?...
by Chanakya on Aug 14, 2007 12:28 PM Permalink
Gundappa seems to be a first class donkey.... Patriotism is not in singing...patriotism should be through your deeds and activities...
by Gundappa on Aug 14, 2007 12:42 PM Permalink
Aarey gadhe chanakya, one medium is required to arouse your patriotism! Patriotism does not come of its own in one's mind, it has to be arounsed by something, by speech, by song, by witnessing movies, listening to songs etc. Then Gandhiji, Netaji, Surya Sen, Bhagat Singh were not required to lead the youth then. Don;t throw loose comments without going deep of anything
by Chanakya on Aug 14, 2007 12:12 PM Permalink
Gaurav, National Anthem is the most respected salutation to the Nation we Indians have...but, it has nothing to do with foreigners... moreso, when people of other countries who has no idea of the language/meaning of the National Anthem, would have felt strange within them, had it been sung verbally...but in tune, they would have also enjoyed the same (being music notes)... it should be appreciated in one way that, even while it was a function involving only foreigners, NM did not ignore the Anthem and played it, though in tunes.. one should not go by the literal meaning of a particular word 'insult'..we should appreciate the respect and significance NM had for National Anthem.
It is really a tragedy that a person like Murthy has to fight this case in the courts against no gooders. Our courts are now filled with egoistic judges "Gupta ji kamaal kar diya aapne, Richard Gere ka arrest warrant nikal diya appne". "arre Verma jee aapne bhi Murthy ki waat laga di". wah wah.. The kind of society we are.....all this really sucks. Anyway Happy Independence Day to all the Nationlists.. Vande Mataram....