Total 104 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
Delay in Action
by ChandanKishore Kant on Sep 12, 2007 08:14 PM  Permalink 

it is not a new thing which would surprise us regarding the delay in action by the governments. As i am writing this on 12 september,2007, i could not get any substantial information yet on what actually has been done for flood affected people in Bihar so far. my friends in Bihar told me that the devasted state was still awaiting 'the' help.This clearly pinpoints the issue how important Bihar is in the eyes of central government or for that matter anywhere in the country.People start frowning when they listen about Bihar, giving expressions signalling that it is useless to go for help in the state. This is a great tragedy. People from this poor,illiterate state have come all the way struggling hard.But for one reason or the other, there seems to be no benefits from their struggle.People there struggle for their livelihood, sense of uplifting the state is a very far thought.It's been more than 60 years since the country got independence,nevertheless, very little has been done for the state. All the successive central governments have continuously been treating Bihar as a centre of labourers.All the lower class and labour intensive work are dominated by Biharese, as they have no other choice. A special constructive package has to be made for Bihar, so that the state and its people can get a chance to sense how it feels like standing shoulder to shoulder with other fellow Indians who unfortunately keep bullying Biharese and treat Bihari as an abusive identity.

Interlinking of Rivers
by indiman on Aug 07, 2007 02:15 AM  Permalink 

What happened to the interlinking of rivers project. Every year there is a flood in some states, drought in others why cant these flooded states accept the interlinking concept and stop playing politics. It seems like there are more states in India that will see their people die of floods than share water with other states that dont have water. Isnt too much of anything not a good thing.

Tell Dr. Singh
by Minto on Aug 07, 2007 01:20 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Tell Dr. Singh that there are minorities among flood affected people. I am sure once he hears this, he will spring into action.

RE:Tell Dr. Singh
by Rahul on Aug 07, 2007 01:22 AM  Permalink
Dr Singh's Favourite Movie?

Minority Report

Losing sleep?
by Padmanabhan M on Aug 06, 2007 08:44 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Hope Prime minister is not losing sleep over the plight of flood affected people's struggle. I don't hear him say that unlike he did when an alleged terrorist was questioned by police!!

RE:Losing sleep?
by Drive A McLaren on Aug 07, 2007 01:27 AM  Permalink
you bloody RSS/VHP goons have to take a shot even in time of crisis. Shame on you.

RE:Losing sleep?
by Padmanabhan M on Aug 07, 2007 06:59 AM  Permalink
Sir,
I have nothing to do with RSS/VHP. I am genuinely upset with the inadequate response from the government to help the marooned people. From the TV and newspaper coverage, it seems the aid effort is simply not coping up with the magnitude of the problem. In times like this, leaders, especially the top ones, must show themselves in public to breath life into the rescue and aid efforts.
I commented since I felt that he went public with the 'sleep less' comment so promptly to aid a suspected terrorist, which was inappropriate when investigations were pending.
This has nothing to do with religion. Don't look at everything through that prism.

Nithish Kumar's Magic Wand
by Jingaru Jingla on Aug 06, 2007 05:07 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Let Nitish use his magic wand he promised during elections to improve the contidion of Bihar and Biharis.

Kuchh bhi bakna bahut aasan hai, but doing it is difficult.

He will be thrown out in next election.

RE:Nithish Kumar's Magic Wand
by anup kumar singh on Aug 06, 2007 05:21 PM  Permalink
Natural calamities is nothing to do with who is CM/PM. Main thing matters is It should be taken seriously, and all initiatives on the war level should be taken by the government to taken care of their people who elect them, and send to parliament.

by Jingaru Jingla on Aug 06, 2007 05:32 PM  Permalink

But before Nitish, I thought all floods and other natarul calamities which make bihar so poor were created by Laloo.

Not that Nitish is CM these problems become "Natural".

Kya baat hai...Bhai wah..

by Anup Kumar on Aug 06, 2007 05:37 PM  Permalink
Derel,

This shows ur credibility as a person. Grow up,you coward....if you dare,say whatever you have o say on face

by Derel Shetye on Aug 06, 2007 05:51 PM  Permalink
Abhi Kaisa Laga ! Dilpe Lagina !!!! There is no one to prevent Natural calamities ....! So baaware to make any comments against anyone !...Jaha Kha te Ho Waha ki Gun Gana Sikho !!!

RE:RE:Nithish Kumar's Magic Wand
by Jingaru Jingla on Aug 06, 2007 05:19 PM  Permalink

Laughing on others misery. You seem to have spent your entire life so far in a gutter.

by Prem Prakash on Aug 06, 2007 05:37 PM  Permalink
Don't tens jingaru! Forgive derel. Actually it is not his fault, he learn inhumanity from his parent. Defiantly his faulty birth is responsible for that.

by Prateek Basu on Aug 06, 2007 05:20 PM  Permalink
At least he is a million times a better man than his two predecessors who only looted the state and his intentions have always been honourable

by prasoon chaudhary on Aug 06, 2007 05:12 PM  Permalink
And who will be taken in??

by Jingaru Jingla on Aug 06, 2007 05:15 PM  Permalink

Not Kalam for sure.

by Kapil Choudhary on Aug 06, 2007 05:30 PM  Permalink
Ye you are correct kuch bhi bakana aasan hai, yahi tum kar rahe ho.

He is the best person that bihar can have as CM

by Jingaru Jingla on Aug 06, 2007 05:36 PM  Permalink

Abe kapil..kahan se bol raha hai tu...teri naukri lagwane me bahut bada haath hai Nitish Kumar ke ek relative ka...tu to taareef karega hi.

RE:RE:Nithish Kumar's Magic Wand
by Anup Kumar on Aug 06, 2007 05:39 PM  Permalink
Natural calamities is nothing to do with who is CM/PM. Main thing matters is It should be taken seriously, and all initiatives on the war level should be taken by the government to taken care of their people who elect them, and send to parliament.

Flood Sitation
by Shaju Ouseph on Aug 06, 2007 04:40 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I had been teaching St. Thomas residential Schoool basar since 2006. At that time I pass through A.P, Orrisa, Bishar etc. states. I know the real situation there. The living condition of the people is not so good. The governemnt should arrange funds for the development of that states.

RE:Flood Sitation
by Santosh Kumar on Aug 06, 2007 05:29 PM  Permalink
Please dont talk about fund because this is what they (neta and beurocrats) are looking for.

Government has capability to permanently overcome this trouble. They have very good ministry, department and division in place to control such flood in Bihar but they made it main source of corruption/fraudism compare to any other department.

No one wants to stop his business. Every year this flood comes intern state machinery asks for relief fund from centre. 50% of allotted money goes in their pocket and again they wait for next year.

It is unfortunate that in our country, some of the people wait for such type of disaster so that they will get chance to earn money through scam or whatever.

by indiman on Aug 07, 2007 02:11 AM  Permalink
Well said, makes sense I am sure Lalu was the first who started this idea.

by Santosh Kumar on Aug 06, 2007 05:27 PM  Permalink
I AM FROM BIHAR.

Please dont talk about fund because this is what they (neta and beurocrats) are looking for.

Government has capability to permanently overcome this trouble. They have very good ministry, department and division in place to control such flood but in Bihar but they made it main source of corruption/fraudism compare to any other department.

No one wants to stop his business. Every year this flood comes intern state machinery asks for relief fund from centre. 50% of allotted money goes in their pocket and again they wait for next year.

It is unfortunate that in our country, some of the people wait of such type of disaster so that they will get chance to earn money through scam or whatever.

Floods
by UNNIKRISHNA RAMAN on Aug 06, 2007 04:22 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The whole problem is in the inaction of the central as well as state govts who never thought it fit to approve the river-linking programmes suggested by many experts including our beloved Ex-president Dr. Kalam.. Unless we do some thing to divert the extra inflow to areas which is in bad need of water at the same time, nothing can be done to prevent these calamities every year. While the flooding in metros are only man-made disasters, flood in states like Bihar is natural calamity; only thing is that timely action can minimise casualties and outbreak of killer diseases..

RE:Floods
by Derel Shetye on Aug 06, 2007 05:21 PM  Permalink
Abe Gadhe .....What will they do against Natural Calamities......! Just think when you are blamming aginst Maharashtra Government when it is flooding in MUMBAI !!!!

by Anup Kumar on Aug 06, 2007 05:41 PM  Permalink
Derel,

This shows ur credibility as a person. Grow up,you coward....if you dare,say whatever you have to say on face...

by Jingaru Jingla on Aug 06, 2007 05:39 PM  Permalink

Oye Unni,

Rive linking type of thought can come only in the minds of theoretical people like Kalam/Vajpayee. Its very difficult to even dig a canal properly given the technological **advancemnt** of india.

Naher banane ki haisiyat nahi, aur river linking ki baat kar rahe hain aap log.

Bihar flood
by ashish chaudhari on Aug 06, 2007 04:09 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

with every flood problem in Mumbai, people make a large hue and cry towards BMC and Maharastra government. The hidden agenda is to detach Mumbai from Maharastra.

Now when there is problem in Bihar, will those people speak anything against Bihar government? This is height of hipocrasy.

RE:Bihar flood
by kishore tendolkar on Aug 06, 2007 04:22 PM  Permalink
with all sympathies towards the people of bihar who has been suffering from this menace for several years, what the politians & other intellectuals from Bihar doing? Natural calamities can not be avoided but damage due to these calamities can definately be reduced if not avoided completely.

By the way , excellent point raised by Mr.Ashish; anybody & everybody is trying their best & using natural calamity to the cause of separting Mumbai from Maharashtra?

When Bihar is flooded with water where is great intellectuals & so called social workers like Dilip Kumar, Nana chudasama, Teesta Setlavad, Anupam Kher, Sunil Shetty, Vijay Tendulkar?

regards

kishor

Center failure
by Rocky Dimpy on Aug 06, 2007 03:59 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It is government/ people-sitting on top job to provide infrastructure to the people.

And, it is not people responsible for the bad condition.

This confirms that how Bihar is treated from center on support front?

RE:Center failure
by sri kanth on Aug 06, 2007 04:18 PM  Permalink
lolz its the bihari lalooo who ruled bihar for 15 years is responsible for it...

RE:Center failure
by Rahul on Aug 06, 2007 04:53 PM  Permalink
before laughing at others think twice, no one will come to your help if you keep laughing without seeing the problem of other countrymen as your own.
Bihar is not out of India. If something wrong was done in Bihar by Laloo and you were aware about it,then it was also your duty to give some constuctive help to the people of Bihar.
It is clear when media puts one section of people against another, even its clear in case of some politician, but it becomes very difficult to understand why people of one section put themselves against another. By doing this they play in the hands of those vested interest. Please be aware of this. Be a good country man. May God and Bharatmata bless you with love and happiness.

RE:RE:Center failure
by Ganapati Hegde on Aug 07, 2007 01:26 AM  Permalink
It is imperative, that the Government of India give full assistance to the state of Bihar. The Bihar government should also not hesitate to seek help from other state governments and international relief agencies.

Politicians should not play poiltics with the misery of the people. The Central government has the responsibilty of providig full assistance to the state of Bihar.

Total 104 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >