Self interest an interesting evil. US gains in terms of economic opprotunity and India gains in terms of acceleration of power generation capability. And internation community gains in term of bringing India into mainstream. How things shape up finally will be decided by geo-startegic compulsions.
RE:INDIA IS A BIG MEGA POWER
by UmaShankar SathyaKumar on Aug 04, 2007 09:09 AM Permalink
INDIA IS A MEGA SUPER POWER (OK..I agree that India need to built roads and so on. So, do US needs to built long lasting good bridges!!)
The number of companies listed on the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE), is more than 7,000, and is second only to New York Stock Exchange.
Growing at 8.5% GDP per year now, in 25 years, India%u2019s GDP on a Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) basis will be at the same level of the USA is at today.
Bank deposits in India is nearly 50% of its GDP, among the highest in the world.
India has the second-largest army in the world, nearly 1.6 million active service staff.
India is home to the world%u2019s largest number of pharmaceutical companies.
Other than US and Japan, India is the only country to have built a super computer indigenously.
India is the first country in the world to use Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) in national elections.
India has the third-largest investor base in the world.
India is ranked the fifth country in the world in terms of satellite launches.
First democratic country to elect a woman Prime Minister.
Well...Unless we announce that we are a MEGA SUPER POWER....the West will not announce it for India.
Let us give the USA on how to build rock solid BRIDGES!! (I am bit Cheecky!!)
by arvind on Aug 04, 2007 10:36 AM Permalink
Umashankar, whatever u said is true. But its not yet time to be complacent about India's growth and say that India has become a mega power. We would do well to be happy with the growth we have achieved, but still realize that this growth which we have achieved still has to penetrate even to the lowest level of the society- which just has not taken place to the desired extent. Just step out of your home and watch the people in your surroundings! - You will still see people begging money for having food one time a day, people struggling in slums, people crowding in the street in front of the water tanker to get that little amount of usable water! I am sure u will well realize that we have 'miles to go before we become a superpower' .
by antiCongress antiBJP on Aug 06, 2007 10:19 AM Permalink
As Pakistan and Mushraf face many problems, because Terrorism in the name of religion.
India will also fell into the same deep well, when we will begin Islamic/Hindu terrorism.
by abhijeet nandy on Aug 04, 2007 04:48 AM Permalink
Ok Uma...I love India too. But by no stretch of imgination has US gone down on its knees to India. Its a deal where US will benefit too. We might be wiser to read the fineprints of this deal before going bonkers about it. And India by no stretch of imagination a mega power. We don't have proper roads,water or electricity supply. Our farmers are committing suicide. So hold your guns before you call India a mega power. We are on the road to be one but we aren't there just yet.
by Abhimanyu Malhotra on Aug 04, 2007 08:51 AM Permalink
if we hadbeen far behind Sameer , do u think that US would have ever approached India for a nuclear !!!! US was so desparate only because our proliferation rate is Higher than any other country, we do have all the technology but we lack the major Raw materials like Uranium and plutonium. Though we have Thorium and radium but they r not enough and potent as Uranium.... enjoy buddy we r not as Backward as u r thinking.
by Parag on Aug 04, 2007 08:40 AM Permalink
Ha ha ha...Rajani.....great...after long time....remember that Sunday serial.........Albert.....csl
Dont we have uranium and technology to build our own Domestic Nuclear Reactors... Why we are depending on US or any other country to provide us the technology and uranium ore.
RE:Dont we have the capability to build Nuclear Reactors for Domestic
by subbiah murugan on Aug 03, 2007 11:20 PM Permalink
Not my dear,
We have advanced Nuclear technology as USA But we dont have enough uranium reserve.Our research for thorium based reactors going on so that we can use it as fuel.(worlds 25 % of thorium reserve are in india.Due to our advanced and Safety use of Nuclear technology US agree India as a possessor of Advanced Nuclear technolgy.
RE:RE:Dont we have the capability to build Nuclear Reactors for Domestic
by SUNIL SHARMA on Aug 03, 2007 11:50 PM Permalink
in nuclear technology we are far behind than all developed world including russia.
by knb on Aug 03, 2007 11:15 PM Permalink
correction. We have technology, centrifugal extractor, PFBR are far better than NSG countries. We dont have enough Uranium for that v r looking for Australia.And to get from them, need to be NSG or be signed in NPT
by keseven on Aug 03, 2007 11:17 PM Permalink
NSG itself is a deception for India. NPT is a joke.
Our enemy pakistan fears that if India with its conventional weapons can have an edge on them than what will they do if they are completely nuclear armed. So its but natural that they will do lots of "bomba bom"!! Dead to pakistan & Long live India...
Clearly the fact that pakistan is building a new nuclear reactor with chinese help and that china continues to supply missiles to pakistan flouts every rule set by the NSG and MCTR of which china is a member. By signing this treaty a. We get a secondary tag vis a viz china. b. We accept more restrictions and increase our costs for our defence industries. Why is it that none of the p5 powers themselves agree to such seperation agreements.
When two democracies doing a long reviews in years & come up with something like N-Deal for benefitting the world & lot of countries. What else, USA has to do? Sending 100s of Nuclear Bombs & ICBM directly to India? What is there for concern for these people? like Paki & China?
RE:RE:When two democracies doing a long reviews in years & come up with something like N-Deal
by Sachin on Aug 04, 2007 03:22 AM Permalink
sahi bola mamu
Its dangerous to arm pakistan with nuclear assistance from outside, its a rougue state, the nuclear armaments may find their way to terrorist any time, its most prominent nuclear scientist(?) is a thief, he sold the technology to others for money, what a country!
RE:Nuclear Pakistan
by Syed Hussain on Aug 03, 2007 10:15 PM Permalink
dont worry, pakistan will not attack india with nuclear weapons. dont create unnecessary fear psychosis.
by Girish Bartakke on Aug 07, 2007 04:53 PM Permalink
Pakistan won't dare do attack India with Nukes. They don't have that much guts. So nobody is afraid in India about Pakis so called Nuke Attack.
RE:RE:Nuclear Pakistan
by Syed Hussain on Aug 03, 2007 10:16 PM Permalink
pakistan army is highly modern, disciplined and well trained. mad mullahs dont run the pakistan army.
by Sanjay Chawala on Aug 03, 2007 10:28 PM Permalink
India is not scared of pakistan attack. But obviously will not prefer a country disincline towards peace to have something to play with.
This is the same way as US thinks. It prefers to have deal with India rather than Pakistan
by abhijeet mody on Aug 03, 2007 10:29 PM Permalink
in your dreams syed...disciplined armies do not go to war against an enemy without informing governments...disciplined armies do not undertake a coup of the nation...they do not suppress democracy...what a fool u r..!!
RE:RE:RE:Nuclear Pakistan
by Pradeep Thomas on Aug 04, 2007 12:06 AM Permalink
Yeah.. they invite you to their meetings.. and you are a part of their Strategy planner..
Pakis.. are now controlled by the fanatic mullas.. try to understand the reality.
by anurag khare on Aug 03, 2007 11:41 PM Permalink
Syed don't you people have a web portal in pakistan to paste your useless comments, I guess not ha ha ha.............
by nikhil dev on Aug 04, 2007 12:27 AM Permalink
you know why china helps you. in india we have a proverb DUSHMAN KA DUSHMAN DOST HOTA HAI. I hope you understand.and please don't write about pakistani's army mordenrisation.this is a open secret and every single country knows it. and if you don't know you seriously need to update yourself. any other question???
by Nikhil Dev on Aug 04, 2007 12:23 AM Permalink
hey sayed, We are not raising question over any country's army morderisation , it is our need to get this deal done and we did it.and pakistan concern no where in the picture,other many small countries like pakistan exist in this world but it is our bad luck we have a neibhour like pakistan. you can do anything but can't change your neibhour that is the problem with us.I don't say pakistan general public but pakistani army take full advatage of this everyone knows. Otehrwise what is your existance.on what front you are better than bhootan.
by desi on Aug 03, 2007 11:29 PM Permalink
abey paki agent..chup ker...India ka khata hai aur pakistan ka gungan kerta hai..deshdrohi..Gaddar..
by Vijay Kondalkar on Aug 03, 2007 10:37 PM Permalink
Hey, we are not in worry and fear, you just decide your safety, because we know the present indian army's capability, you first try to guard lal masjid, becuase dont have that much capabilty to start the nuclear war, the movement you think we can detroy whole pakistan
by Pradeep Thomas on Aug 04, 2007 12:04 AM Permalink
Mushraf may not take that step.. but those crazy Mullas.. like that cleric of Lal Masjid.. when they get more powerfull they shall immediately put it into a "Pakistan Airlines" commercial plane and send to US.. killing their own passengers with it..