RE:Win An iPod Every Min!
by Lewis Peter on Aug 03, 2007 11:31 AM Permalink
Just stop your silly marketing!!. At least respect the issue being discussed here. Lousy opportunist
I had written a letter to Ex President of India -Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam last year when Bihar was suffering from floods. The jist is as follows: India Sub Continent - a large land mass with varied weather conditions. Somewhere water is more than abundant and yet other places face drought every now and then. Despite of having water resources in various pockets of our country, our mis management converts into to be a curse rather than boon. We have been independent for 50 years now. Can we not have a water management team who can channelise the water that goes waste every year and more over it ensures to disturb our lives? Why can we not construct a water relay system that can channelise all the flood water to places where we do not have water at all? There was an article in HT sometime back that claimed - Gurgaon and Delhi to run dry of ground water in next 10 years! Do we need to wait to get dried up and then look for resources? I think it is high time some govt. official or political took charge of this situation and start managing the basic - Water.
RE:water management
by Rajesh Mago on Aug 03, 2007 12:56 PM Permalink
Hi Harmeet,
Your ideas are good and needs to be seriously considered. With so many IIT's and other research institutions etc. having good researchers and scientists, we can definitely look for timely solution to this critical situation if the Govt. takes some serious initiatives. With so many people dying of floods and drought every year, I wonder why nothing has been done about the Water Channelization. I am sure that it must be possible, though large funds and efforts must be required but it should definitely be possible. What I can see is that Govt. is not considered about the common man dying. The politicians in Delhi and Gurgaon have enough money in their Swiss accounts to lead a happy life abroad even if after 10 years there is no water here. I am sure they are lazy to take some serious action for working on these projects and wants money from such flood and drought relief projects. They must be making crores as no one sees how much actually reaches the effected families. It's a good money making business and they want to continue it till end when we all die. What should we do? We should find out ways to make these politicians work on this serious issue. Media and courts can definitely help if we - the general public makes serious efforts to get this implemented. BTW - Did you get any reply from Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam. I think No!.
by pradeep sangam on Aug 03, 2007 11:37 AM Permalink
I salute such ideas and time spent on such articles. I don't know why such thinkers are not encouraged. These people instead of sitting in corner of nation and writing this come out with high voice to make developments.
by Anniyan on Aug 03, 2007 12:02 PM Permalink
I too appreciate your views..but APJ alone cannot do anything.. see the politicians, media, or any other...govt dont even have any idea..may be Vishveswaraya in the early days, but APJ remained Vishveswaraya's views...why this govt not taking any steps...
RE:Can you believe this ?
by abhishek raj on Aug 03, 2007 11:19 AM Permalink
Mr. VS to which great State u belong to. Stop ur Bihar bashing if you cant sympathize with the destitute out there. Neta can%u2019t do much bat natural calamities. Even in your own State most of he top notch beaurocrats would be a Bihari and your so called great politician would listen to them b4 taking any decision
RE:Can you believe this ?
by Chanakya on Aug 03, 2007 11:11 AM Permalink
V.S... for a change if you were the CM of Bihar, what you would have done for the current day's flooding????