Yes, Mr. Shenon, you are absolutely right. I am a big fan of the actor Sanjay Dutt, and may be a big fan of his characters as well. But I am no way near being a fool to actually start liking him as a person. He has committed a crime that can very well be put very next to treason. I think he should use the time in prison for retrospection and introspection, and repent for his actions. Or at least, he should feel lucky for not being born in Saudi Arabia, China or one of those countries who shoot, hang or decaptitate in public, without a long wait for treason.
I hope he comes out from the jail after 6 years as a changed man, having paid for all his sins and comes back to acting making his way in Bollywood, and entertain all of us once again.
I was aghast at all the sympathy flowing for Mr.Dutt and his portrayal as a changed man who was handed down a harsh punishment. I am glad that someone is writing the story in the right tone finally.
This man knowing allowed criminals to use his house as a safe keeping / transit point for granades and riffles. I am sick at the out-pour he is receiving cause its been over 14 years and he did not repeat the offense.
Everyone claims to be a changed man after they know that their actions directly or indirectly resulted in the death of hundreds of innocent people and changed the lives of thousands who have to survive it through the rest of their celebrity in-significant lives. I cannot see the sense in expectations of sentencing him to community service or letting him go with anything less. The only message that will send is that Dutt's little attempts of reforming himself which DONOT include severing his relation to the underworld saints is more valuable than the 100s who died.
So, have we reached that end of the justice system where the dead and the survivors voices have no significance compared to a celebrity criminal ???
I TOTALLY AGREE with Mr Shenoy. If Paris Hilton has to spend a month in jail just for a drive under alcohol offence and have her license suspended for a year, It shows the power of Judiciary in the US that keeps the faith of people on it.
Comming to Mr Sanjay Dutt..What was he doing with 2 AK 56? and Granedes that to some 46 of them??? Do you need those as something that you buy off hand just like that as a Vada pav or a Bhutta??? Do common people of hand talk and pay visits to Chota Shakeel? To Dawood ? To Anees Ibrahim? to Abu Salem?
Do the most feared gangsters like Abu Salem visit our houses regularly to delever arms or to pick them up???
If you have sucha well elaborate credentials? Why in the first place should you expect that you be pardoned?
If the same list of offenses that Sanjay Dutt has commited was commited by a common man he by this time would have been bumped either rival gangs or would have been "encountered" by the Mumbai Police.
If we do not have respect for the Law of land and pardon each and every persons just because they behave well now so do you pardon them for the crimes commited by them 14 years ago?
What abt the 500 killed people and the 3000 permanantly disabled surviors of the 1993 Mumbai Blasts who have lived every day in misery and who waited 14 years for justice???
Can doing good deeds now bring back the lives taken 14 years ago?? Should you pardon them now?? Atleast I disagree on that.
If India's justice system works well, why is Mr. salman Khan not behind the bars? You know that he killed wild animals and street workers. Is it because he is rich? Is it because he was wearing an Islamic cap to the court and appeared like an innocent?
RE:why is Salman not behind bars?
by Pandu Havaldar 61-62 on Aug 02, 2007 10:13 PM Permalink
He will get his Dues in due time. So have patience. This verdict encourages me to be positive about our courts
RE:why is Salman not behind bars?
by Tina Punjabi on Aug 02, 2007 10:17 PM Permalink
Sab Ki leta hai... No one will spared!!!!!! This incident of Mr Dutt will act as an Alarm now..hopefully!
And we all are busy in fighting for winning arguments if sanjay dutt is punished rightly..or if Haneef was terrorist or not..What about a colonel who lost his life in J&K 3 days ago ? This is what we all are.You all are looking for spicey news only. To the hell with Sanju baba(Bhai) or what ever..what he has done to this society..he has done a gandhigiri movei a people thinking him as a messanger of gandhi.No surprise if tommorrow he act as Ram in some movie people of my poor country will think him messenger of Ram.Haneef has come back..people throng to meet him.Karnatka CM went recieve him on Airport.Haneef is just a doctor what is he ? Same CM dont have time to even comment for Colonel from Banglore who died in J&K fight terrorists.All are announcing offers to Haneef..no one came forward to say what they will offer to martyr's family.Forget about religion think as a human what was really important welcoming Haneef,crying for Sunjay or respecting Martyr.
RE:Another Dutt Hater
by Judge on Aug 02, 2007 10:08 PM Permalink
what makes you think so? ok i am hindu and my neighbours and if somewhere a riot is happening u r saying that i can keep 2 ak56 and some 40 hand grenades just for my safety...ok good......now everyone will do that and our country will be like US,..............u dumb moron...go and get a life.
RE:RE:Another Dutt Hater
by Jehan Mir on Aug 02, 2007 10:34 PM Permalink
He never ever used AK-56 ,or hand grenade for any purpose, even once. Therefore,there is no evidence to refute his defense that he used it for self defense which was rejected by court.
Is there anyone who really believes that Dutt would have gone on shooting rampage ?
by yohayoha on Aug 03, 2007 12:11 AM Permalink
Not using the weapon is not an excuse and also ignorance is not an excuse under the law.
by Pandu Havaldar 61-62 on Aug 02, 2007 10:07 PM Permalink
There were plans to put you in place og Judge Khode - Glad it did not happen. Don't pass on the Judgement please Mir Saab
by Jehan Mir on Aug 02, 2007 10:36 PM Permalink
What the Honorable Judge Kode was going to charge me with ....possessing this computer?
What are we talking about ten years rigorous imprisonment?
by Shankar Panday on Aug 02, 2007 10:12 PM Permalink
screw riots..if the riots didnt occur they would invent it..more than the sentencing what is appalling is the Indian public who are more worried abt the harshness and not that a prominent artist who has been raised to such high pedestal by the Indian public should seek to harm those very people..it is this kind of mentality that has brought things to this stage..today we cannot even trust doctors...wake up India !
by Jehan Mir on Aug 02, 2007 10:29 PM Permalink
Stick to the evidence,please.Don't be blinded by your prejudice. Don't speculate .
Riots did occur. Whats at stake is fundamental principle of fairness and justice. It has nothing to do with him being an actor. The disparity of sentence to the non violent possession of AK -47,was brought to the attention of the public only because he was an actor.How many other similar injustices are being committed by the courts is anybody's guess and should be worrisome to any fair minded citizen of India.
by Tina Punjabi on Aug 02, 2007 10:14 PM Permalink
So anyone can keep arms and rifles and as long as they are giving interviews, appearing in good cinemas, it is fine--wow..what a new system..Please ask the ppl who suffered in the blast, who are still suffering thinking that it might happen again, because according to you, every citizen can keep arms.
by Sameer Bhagwat on Aug 02, 2007 10:27 PM Permalink
Yes, but he did have all to do with the 25 hand-granades and attended parties and phone calls with likes of Dawood, Tiger and Shakeel. Think what punishment you would get if you kept keep such an arsenal of weapons (which, by the way can easily kill hundreds if used). Sanjay Dutt was lucky to have a MP father, a rich family and ties with powerful politicians, gangsters and lawyers. He still got 6 years. Man, if it were not for his celebrity status, he would be put in prison right in 1993, and would not have made out even today.
by Jehan Mir on Aug 02, 2007 10:42 PM Permalink
Talking, associating with gangsters,standing alone is not a crime and does not carry a presumption of guilt ,otherwise , barbers ,bankers, attorneys, doctors and other persons who come in contact with gangsters and criminals would be behind bar.
He never once used any of the weapons for any purpose.
Sir, I salute you for writing courageously in this forum. Most of the other rediff reports are fake and anti-Hindu but you are one reporter who calls spade a spade. Whatever you have written about Datta is absolutely true!