guys dont jump at this news!! think rationally..nuclear technology is bad..just check out chernobyl disaster..we dont need it..we can live with candles/lamps..but not as deformed entities..that is if we survive any accident...we as citizens shud reject any nuclear reactors coming up in our vicinity..if govt can spend 3500 crore on a reactor, then why cant it spend as much on developing alternative,clean and safe energies..watever they might be.even spending double the amt for alternative fuel is justifiable..but say to nuclear!
RE:NO TO NUCLEAR!!
by Satish G on Apr 28, 2007 02:36 AM Permalink
Go get a life. Start a company that produce alternative sources of energy that can provide energy security to the country. Solar, wind, Tidal, natural gas and Coal power plants cannot satisfy our energy requirements (not now, not in future).
Also there is the question of mastering the technology, nuclear weapons and national security. Nuclear power and weapons are hear to say. This is fact of life if you like it or not. There will be no disarnment any time soon(can safely say your life time).
The best option for us is to switch the fast breeders to metalic fuels as soon as possible (I do not see it hapenning before 2015 as nobody have experience in handeling meatlic fuels on large scale) and use the U233 produced in them in AWHR replacing seed PU which will be used initally.
As saefty review and design review is complete AHWR is as good as certified. Even if its sligtly delayed and construction is started this year or early next year we will complete it by 2012 and with with PFBR (1st FBR) on track for commesioning in 2010 we are well on track to realize our 3 stage program. There are 3-4 more FBR that will be constructed.
This is what the world fears because once we realize our 3 stages (that is with in 10 years) we can side line the world and trash NPT, NSG and CTBT as we did with MTCR.
Only when we can develop a robust Nuclear, Rockets/Missiles, electronics industry (FAB and precision electronics) all the sanctions will be gone.
You should realize that all these things are inter connected. Missile/rocket technology, Nuclear Technology and Adannce electronics/Super Computer.
by Mukesh Garg on Apr 27, 2007 08:41 PM Permalink
If precautions are not taken, even lamp or candle can burn the place. So my friend, don't say NO to Nuclear tech, and say Yes to the new era of clean energy, which will help environment as well.
by Patriot on Apr 27, 2007 06:42 PM Permalink
This is illiterate talk. When proper precautions are taken nothing can beat the energy genertaed by nuclear fuels. Moreover in a power thirsty country like India other alternate sources of engergy cannot supplement its needs.
its heartening to c these great acheievements.. but still after all this acheievements whn i go down the streets of U.P & Bihar & NOth eastern states which dont have 2 time meal to eat & face lot of injustice & exploitation.. then i realise after all this achievemnt .. we r still very much incomplete. in Inida majority of people dont have basic eminities of life & still struggle to get them. so what i want to say is that we have to make our basic problems rectified & start from the ground zero level to build up to a great developed nation.
I totally understand you. Things take time because we are a democrecy and not a dictatorship like china and we also have to deal with corrupt political leaders and government employees especially at MRO (Mandal Revenue office/r) and VDO (village developement officer) level.
Slowly as people get educated and become prosperous over a period things change.
The might country of USA was once controlled mob bosses and drug dealers.
Have patience and do what ever good you can do to the society to make a good difference.
"India has thorium reserves to the tune of 2.25 lakh tonnes, which have an electricity potential of 1.55 lakh Giga Watt Year". For how many years? Anyway, congratulations to our scientists for these great achievements.
RE:A question!
by manoj joshi on Apr 28, 2007 12:57 AM Permalink
India has the second largest thorium reserves in the world http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thorium
We Indians are developing the developed programmes in the country like infotech, space research, missiles and now nuclear programmes. But we are not striving too hard to develop bioscience to eradicate poverty, social injustice, illiteracy, casteism and to promote secularism and harmaony among ourselves (neighboring states).
RE:Developing or developed?????
by Satish G on Apr 28, 2007 02:55 AM Permalink
Richard, I agree and disagree with you at the same time. It is wrong to say that we are not striving to develop bio-science. I can add that we can do more. The main problem is to take the developed technology to the common man (Ex: farmer) and put it to use.
The changes here are adminstrative changes, cutting out the in efficient and corrupt middle layers and create more interactions with the end users.
To get rid of corruption one major change that would help is reducing political influence over law and order. The political branch should have no control over the police (appointments, transfers, promotions, suspension, reinstatment) except through the policy.
We are going ahead in all the fields to be recognised as developed nation. Our scientist are using innovative technologies for civilian development and not for distruction. We aredefinately at par with developed nations in advance technology. Other than Nuclear tech., we should also concentrate on solar energy also that will definately be the best resource of energy for our nation as we have vast geographical area.
Indian scientist are always great. I am proud of Indian team who are behind this to built this great indigenous prototype. Its proud to be an Indian always. No doubt.
RE:RE:Why?
by vijay vikram on Apr 27, 2007 04:10 PM Permalink
all these activities are of critical importance for the country...so all such units are established in deep south ..so that it would be as far from the enemy countries as possible ...nothing related to regionalism...
RE:[object MouseEvent]
by Ramesh Radhakrishnan on Apr 27, 2007 04:02 PM Permalink
For the past 50 years, only Mumbai & Delhi were growing. But u never complained - How Bad ???
RE:Fast Breeder Reactors
by sunil ananda on Apr 27, 2007 03:57 PM Permalink
In this age of commercialisation, any research work should also be supported by a fast yeildingbusiness programme .This will ensure the continuing works of the scientific community.The opening up of the business oppurtunity will also provide the much needed funds for research