Total 281 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Greek President greets Kalam in Sanskrit
by anand shrinivasan ganesh on Apr 27, 2007 11:34 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

yOUR sNASKRIT transaltion is not accurate. The first part is \\\"Welcome honourable Mr. President\\\". The second part \\\"Yavana deshe\\\" is \\\"to the country of Greeks (i.e.Greece). So it should read \\\"Welcome Honourable Mr. President to Greece\\\"

RE:Greek President greets Kalam in Sanskrit
by on Apr 27, 2007 12:23 PM  Permalink
The awefully incorrect transliteration of Sanskrit, spoken by the Greek President, in this story filed by Sumir Kaul, perhaps a Kasmiri Pandit,speaks volumes of the cultural and intellectual nadir that India has reached today. Wish it was just an error in reading the proof.The Greek Prez appears to have said "Rashtrapatim Mahabhaga, suswagatam yavan deshe" ("President, the blessed one, welcome to the land of Greeks").
Pradeep Mishra

Sanskrit
by Richtext Editor on Apr 27, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink 

Looks like our good old reporter himself could not understand what HH Greek President has said.
It is the pathetic state of our cultural heritage, which needs foreigners to sustain
and revive it while the owners do not care
a pin.

Sanskrit
by Muniasamy Gurusamy on Apr 27, 2007 11:25 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Sanskrit, no doubt is a old language.. but do we know, why it died.. becoz the so called custodians of the language refused to allow others to learn. Anything, unused will have a natural death and thats it. There is no glory in saying that sanskrit is great. Sanskrit, Manu etc are the root cause of all India's problem.

RE:Sanskrit
by Javed on Apr 27, 2007 11:29 AM  Permalink
well said muniasamy garu, the so called scripts written are not just reachable for indians too, its the hard fact thou!!!

by amith choradia on Apr 27, 2007 11:40 AM  Permalink
Hello Mr. JAved and Guruswamy......Sanskrit is being taught in schools and colleges atleast in Karnataka where I have studied. Did u ever think of learning it. No. Whenever Sanskrit or Yoga is being introduced in some states it is being called as safforanisation. And we people happily support those party who oppose introduction of these great philosophies, may be because of culture or something else. There is nothing wrong in introducing these and if these steps are called saffronisation so be it

by jitendra kumar on Apr 27, 2007 11:40 AM  Permalink

Well said ramchandra, this will applicable to javed and thomas, will any thomas will read bible translated in tamil or malayalam or telugu, and rever it to same level as it in english or in latin, similarly with kuran translated in language other than arabic.

These javed and thomas are the adopted sons, so how can they feel the pains when there is no blood relation

RE:RE:RE:Sanskrit
by pjrs on Apr 27, 2007 11:55 AM  Permalink
Sorry, you are wrong. Bible is translated into all the redional languages. I read it in Tamil only as do Telugu or hindi people.

by Mariano Mascarenhas on Apr 27, 2007 12:13 PM  Permalink
You do not seem to know the language in which bible was written.

Christians do not mind the language for prayers

by shovon dasgupta on Apr 27, 2007 11:52 AM  Permalink
Mr Gurusamy, this can be one of the most wierd statements I have ever heard.One of the most toughest language in the world,Hebrew, has been revived and used by the Jews which has brought integrity in their country and have made them a superpower.You need to live in the present but you should never throw your past in the dustbins.

by Ramachandra N on Apr 27, 2007 11:32 AM  Permalink
Perhaps You do not even know who Manu is. So easy to say Manu is the root cause of all problems. For your kind infomration, Manu Smarthi was only for SatyaYug and then there after there are 23 Smrithis and the latest is Parashara Smrithi which is supposed to be followed in Kali Yug.
Atleast get your facts right

by Javed on Apr 27, 2007 11:41 AM  Permalink
Dear chandra, quran is translated in tamil by moulvi hamid qureshi, although in whatever language it be its all reads to arabic, anybody from beggar to king uses the same language and there r no restrictions

RE:RE:Sanskrit
by Dream Girl on Apr 27, 2007 11:46 AM  Permalink
Neither there were restrictions on learning Sanskrit.. Just the Brit dogs said that such bans existed and we believed it.. There was no ban on learning anything for that matter in this country for anyone.. Thats why we are a naturally tolerant society... All lies have been told about our past and we seem to believe invaders more than our own sources...

by PANDU RANGA VITTAL on Apr 27, 2007 11:49 AM  Permalink
Let's remember it is the muslims rulers who burnt and destroyed the nalanda university's 9 floor library..it burnt for 10 days that had invaluable documents on literature,mathematics,war therories (this is even accepted by the secular historians)..just for a sake that the library did not have a copy of Quran...
Shame on the guys who cannot tolerate the greatness of a language and religion.

by Tigger_and_Pooh on Apr 28, 2007 12:40 AM  Permalink

muhammad wasn't even born then...

by Khadak Singh on Apr 27, 2007 11:55 AM  Permalink
thank god they destroyed that Library..
otherwise we still would be living the cast based hypocrtic society where only the preveliged ones will get the benefits,,not that it doesnt happen today..

by narayanan srinivasan on Apr 27, 2007 11:50 AM  Permalink
did u know that a strict muslim school in thousand lights in madras teaches sanskrit to all muslims???go and join the school if u r a school stud or ur next generation if u hav already married..

by Javed on Apr 27, 2007 11:56 AM  Permalink
All of u people from top to bottom just show their support, imagine when a beggar starts talking in sanskrit evrybody will laugh

by Dream Girl on Apr 27, 2007 11:59 AM  Permalink
We surely would laugh if he cracks a joke.. We would never stone him to death for sure... Thats our tolerant culture...

by Ramachandra N on Apr 27, 2007 11:59 AM  Permalink
Sanskrit is the only language which was and is spoken all over India and it is the only language which can still unify the country.

Importance of Sanskrit
by pramod kumar on Apr 27, 2007 11:23 AM  Permalink 

As we know Sanskrit is mother of all language in india. Inspite of that, GOI seems to be reluctant to understand the value of this.

We must encourage it.

Its Arya's Hindu Language
by Sudhir Sharma on Apr 27, 2007 11:23 AM  Permalink 

Everybody except Indian do'nt respect their Language Sanskrit and Hindi.We should change our slavery mind set.Be proud to be Indian with Indian culture and only accept good things from other.Eradicate Caste system then Hindu religion will be spread peace and livelyhood everywhere. Because all person r tired from Islamic extremist terrorist muslim also.

About India
by varun varun on Apr 27, 2007 11:22 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

In our country people are increasingly becoming inclined towards English and also people are not ready to follow our customs and so on. I bet there is not a single person in India who can speak his/her mother toungue fluently without the use of a single english word. When you visit europe for example poland(pop:40million) or finland(pop:5.5million) or sweden(pop:8million). you can try to listen to people and they dont use a single english word. When countries with such small populations are so famed and have great pride about their languages why are we abandoning our culture and langauges? in India every language for exampl tamil telugu malayalam besides hindi is also spoken by atleast 60million people. We should never let our traditional wealths die. I am not protesting the english language. Infact we have gained a lot due to our english knowledge but at the same time we shouldnt abandon our heritage.

Hats off to Greece President!!!

RE:About India
by AVINASH KHANWALKAR on Apr 27, 2007 11:42 AM  Permalink
Yes Varun is right. Educated Indians feel derogatory to speak in their respective mother tongues. They are more Americans than the Americans.

RE:RE:About India
by Varun on Apr 27, 2007 11:52 AM  Permalink
HEY I AM VARUN!!!!!!!!!!

by Khadak Singh on Apr 27, 2007 11:47 AM  Permalink
yea because indian languages are Uncoool

RE:[object MouseEvent]
by Varun on Apr 27, 2007 11:54 AM  Permalink
IS U R NAME COOL KADKI MADKI RASCAL
F OFF FROM INDIA U SOB

by vijay vikram on Apr 27, 2007 11:53 AM  Permalink
u r absolutely right... hindi and all other indian language r very rich ...but the problem is that nobody seems to be interested ...i went to one of the big book store at MG road in bangalore and asked if they had hindi books also ...he very proudly said "we don't even keep Kannada books"

by Morovia P on Apr 27, 2007 12:00 PM  Permalink
This is particularly true as one can find english infiltrating to the extent that the actual equivalent word in the regional language becomes extinct !

what a poor reporting ??
by cocainecobra on Apr 27, 2007 11:21 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Rashtrapatm Mahabhaga, sur swagatam yavana dishe (Mr President, welcome to you),"

The actual meaning is " Mr.President, Welcome to Greece" (Yavana Desh is country of greece in olden days)

What a careless journalism and poor reporting

RE:what a poor reporting ??
by Vasant on Apr 27, 2007 11:31 AM  Permalink
I agree with you buddy!

I learnt sanskrit for a couple of years (never got chance to use it though). Poor guys at rediff, don't expect them to know Sanskrit.

-Vasant

RE:what a poor reporting ??
by sunil pradhan on Apr 27, 2007 11:25 AM  Permalink
whts problem, such minor mistakens happend.

by prashant verma on Apr 27, 2007 11:30 AM  Permalink
test

Sankrit is good but
by Murthy on Apr 27, 2007 11:20 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I never dress in dhoti kurta or eat grass for survival. Nor do i listen to old kathak style songs.

And i DONT prefer girls who dressed in stupid salwar and crap dresses.

And Yes I meet girls and I am not married.

And lastly I dont travel by bullock carts.

After all these are parts of our heritage also.

Sorry but I dont want to live in "ancient times" and so called "indian values" in today's time and age.

RE:Sankrit is good but
by narayanan srinivasan on Apr 27, 2007 11:21 AM  Permalink
let it be..u wanna do wat ever u want, our heritage is gr8 wen compared to a crop individual like u..

by Murthy on Apr 27, 2007 11:26 AM  Permalink

Dont get me wrong dear.

Dont confuse heritage with sick practices like sex supression and not allowed to meet girls even if you are 35 and unmarried.

Sanskrit is good and very good to study ancient texts. I appreciate it very very much.

But we must get rid of unnatural ancient practices in this day and age.

by Harshavardhana Reddy on Apr 27, 2007 11:38 AM  Permalink
Hi, what ever you told might be right prtly. But do not put blame on the old methodolagies which were there for decads and U know people were health during those times. No AIDS etc because of the systematic behaviour.

by Murthy on Apr 27, 2007 11:43 AM  Permalink

False assumption .

Good and easy availability of sex is NOT EQUAL to AIDS.

Sweden Norway Finland have sex like water, yet rate of AIDS is very much lesser than in countries where men and women are not allowed to meet freely.

by jitendra kumar on Apr 27, 2007 11:28 AM  Permalink

Mr. Murthy, when are you getting converted

by veerapuram dharan on Apr 27, 2007 11:56 AM  Permalink
by the by, how did u blindly relate sanskrit to unnatural ancient practices???

wen we say hindu, u always paint a religious color to it and talk abt oppression on low castes..howiz this possible yaar...hindu is an identity, hinduism is a way of life...not teh so called oppressive practices, but based on certain ethical values...

by veera on Apr 27, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink
Murthy ?
No Kirti!!!

by Shridhar Iyer on Apr 27, 2007 11:54 AM  Permalink
Dear Murthy,
Sanskrit is a very ancient, and a scientific language. Researchers have concluded that it is the most suitable computer language. It has come out of many centuries of practical experience by Hindus.

In South we have Veda Patasalas, promoted and managed by Sankara Mutt, where Vedas in sanskrit are taught to interested students. In many schools in our country also, Sanskrit is an optional first language. The idea is to ensure that this rich language is not allowed to die and atleast some sections of the population practice this language.

Everyday morning, when I listen to Vishnu Sahasranamam by MS in sanskrit, I get a whole lot of spiritual happiness. If I listen to the same in anyother language, I don't get such happiness/feeling.

Therefore it may be wrong to assume that if we practice Sanskrit, we line in 'ancient times'.

by s on Apr 27, 2007 11:36 AM  Permalink
u r totally mistaken my dear frnd. being informed about my glorius past and being proud of my heritage doesnt make me old fashioned or whatever u mean to say. see how the japanese society works today. do u think they r any less "modern" than what u r? but, the japs, in general r well aware of their gr8 past & indeed very proud about that. GROW UP

by Murthy on Apr 27, 2007 11:38 AM  Permalink

Japanese have most PERVERT sex clubs in the entire world. just search the net.

I am also aware of rich ancient heritage, only saying that some practices are OUTDATES especially related to meeting of men and women. and Dressing in india is OVERDRESSING. HOTTEST CLIMATE AND MORE DRESSING IS FOOLISH.

by SUBHABRATA DATTA on Apr 27, 2007 11:43 AM  Permalink
feeling hot murthy? then u must follow the dress code of our ancient sages!!! he he

by ABC XYZ on Apr 27, 2007 12:04 PM  Permalink
Who cares about an UNEDUCATED UNCOUTH character like you?
Murthy thinks
a) Girls in tight jeans and skimpy skirts are intelligent lot and girls wearing Sari and Salwar are backward and meaningless people. So, by his logic Murthy's mom, grandma, aunties, etc. are all backward and less intelligent people
b) Murthy loves heeezz BMW and thinks people knowing Sanskrit only drives bullock carts
c) Entire Europe is full of non-intelligent people because they take pride in their culture and heritage. So, by his logic his parents, relaitves, grandparents are non-intelligent people because unlike him they take pride in heritage and culture.

People like Murrrrrthhhy the Great are known as SUPER-WESTERN KIDS... They are more Western than Westerner themselves. These uncouth characters somehow make a trip to US or some other Western country, gets a job, buys a SUV and owns a house, go to Gym and tries to play tennis and showcase themeselves as VERYYY MODEERNNN... In reality these kind of Creatures are nothing Intellectually Bankrupt people who are more Confused than anybody else in this world ... I feel pity for such creatures....

by Shridhar Iyer on Apr 27, 2007 11:54 AM  Permalink
Dear Murthy,
Sanskrit is a very ancient, and a scientific language. Researchers have concluded that it is the most suitable computer language. It has come out of many centuries of practical experience by Hindus.

In South we have Veda Patasalas, promoted and managed by Sankara Mutt, where Vedas in sanskrit are taught to interested students. In many schools in our country also, Sanskrit is an optional first language. The idea is to ensure that this rich language is not allowed to die and atleast some sections of the population practice this language.

Everyday morning, when I listen to Vishnu Sahasranamam by MS in sanskrit, I get a whole lot of spiritual happiness. If I listen to the same in anyother language, I don't get such happiness/feeling.

Therefore it may be wrong to assume that if we practice Sanskrit, we line in 'ancient times'.

by Mukhtar Ali on Apr 27, 2007 11:24 AM  Permalink
All nonsense.Does our President understand Sanscrit?Hindi is our National language and not Sanscrit

by madhusoodana rao on Apr 27, 2007 11:37 AM  Permalink
Thats the main problem. Hindi was responsible for the division of our country into states based on regional languages.Yet language itself could not hold many of these states together which let to creation of states like Jarakhand,Uttanchal etc.
Sankrit is the mother of all langusges and should have been our national language.This language should been encouraged by GOI so that the existing divisions in the Hindu society namely Castism would have been reduced.But our founders were blinded by 'Secularism'.Sanskrit was seen as an Hindu language spoken by Hindus only.
We would never expect Hindi spoken by not more than 40% of india`s population as our National language.It is forced upon us.

RE:RE:Sankrit is good but
by SUBHABRATA DATTA on Apr 27, 2007 11:49 AM  Permalink
@ madhusoodana. agreed 200%

by veera on Apr 27, 2007 11:33 AM  Permalink
Entered Devil!!!

by vani kasiviswanathan on Apr 27, 2007 11:33 AM  Permalink
Mukthar, thanks to people like you, Sanskrit is already an 'endangered' language in India. Thanks to people like the Greek President (and countries like Germany), Sanskrit will regain its classical status. Talking about our National Language, don't worry, at this rate, I will not be surprised if English becomes our "National Language"!!

by Amrit Patil on Apr 27, 2007 11:44 AM  Permalink
Mukhtar Beta itna pareshan nahi hote...Sanskrit is a optial in India it is not compulsory.

by SUBHABRATA DATTA on Apr 27, 2007 11:41 AM  Permalink
1st learn to spell "SANSKRITA". do u understand whats national language? or classical language? or national heritage? by the way, hindi is not the only national language.

by Somesh Sharma on Apr 27, 2007 11:36 AM  Permalink
Why People like you are so shamed of your past. The guy greeted our president in language which is considered gramatically the most perfect langauge. If you don't understand that what's our fault?

Some people ride the bullock carts and some in Ferrari but what makes you think that a person in Ferrari is a better one. I'm sure you don't drive one either.

The way you have expressed yourself about our heritage I clearly get the point that how much you are aware about about it...

Nobody is asking you to live in your past it's just a noble gesture and you seem to have a problem with that too. I hope you don't act the same when you have to mention your father's name, because he wasn't born in the same age and can be considered backward according to people like you who Hate to Live in Past.

by sunil pradhan on Apr 27, 2007 11:41 AM  Permalink
murthy r u using bullock cart to going to ur shcool now these days ? or ru wearing dhoti kurtha or not find a gf yet ? where r u living these days ?

by sunil pradhan on Apr 27, 2007 11:46 AM  Permalink
why do u keep ur surname murthy change it to micheal (unwanted child of british father and poor women) shame when u thown out ur old father from ur home in old age...

by Murthy on Apr 27, 2007 11:39 AM  Permalink

Yes I DONT dress like my father too. No dhoti kurta or even kurta and flat chappals.

Also I style my hair and my body is sculpted like Sylvester Stallone.

And yeah I am much better than he was at my age in every conceivable way.

by SUBHABRATA DATTA on Apr 27, 2007 11:46 AM  Permalink
murthy, u happen to one of the most confused and depressed persons i ever met on the net. u have inferiority complex which has resulted in under developed personality. may u improve. best of luck to u

Sanskrit
by Manoj Daftardar on Apr 27, 2007 11:15 AM  Permalink 

It is pride in knowing that the world still remembers our heritage. But it is sad that we have deserted it. I still feel with the imense talent force that India has and our great culture and tradtion we can still show the world that we have not left our roots but are still catching the sky. And if we still try to preserve our old languages we can get hold of all the treasures held within it. So whoever it is listen to the common man and make us aware of our own roots. Vande Mataram.....

Thanks rediff , publishing this !
by Debasis on Apr 27, 2007 11:14 AM  Permalink 

Nehru-vian phycos, media, Indian oppertunists, please learn something from this. World recognizes this, you r going hell.

Total 281 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>