The SC has once again proved that it is independent and will not bow down to the blatant political stand the vote bank politics played by the Govt in general and the Education Minister in particular.
While on this, the SC must also stay the unlawfull witholding the admission process. The Govt/Education Minister must be reminded of the autonomy of the IIMs in particular and the interest of the meritorious students.
it is by virtue of rulings like this one that a common man's faith in the Indian Judicial system gets a boost.... thnx a ton Hon'ble Supreme Court of India for protecting the interests of the real minorities (ie, the talented and meritorious ones) who can with the help of such judgments, strive hard to achieve their goals in the educational and professional fields.... ministers like Arjun Singh, stop this whole mockery of events and admit that whate'er u politicians do, are only based on vote banks and has nothing to do for the welfare of the AAM JANTA of India.
RE:thnx to the Indian Judiciary
by Hebbar R on Apr 23, 2007 04:17 PM Permalink
Absolutely right. If the PM and the UPA Govt has any concience, Arjun Singh should be striped of his portfolio. Ofcourse, it is too much to expce such a thing from a party like the Congress.
RE:thnx to the Indian Judiciary
by Prabhjot Jolly on Apr 23, 2007 04:24 PM Permalink
saala buddha chal sakta nahin hai aur humein education dilane chala hai.
arjun singh has declared that the selection procedure for iit's and iim's this year will be put on hold till the obc issue is settled!!! so what happens to the students who have worked so hard to fulfill their dreams of joining iit and iim's???????????????????? can anybody pls ask arjun singh ????
RE:So what happens to the students?????
by Aparajit Gupta on Apr 23, 2007 04:18 PM Permalink
@avijit...
how can we ask arjun singh, after all hez a politician and an hon'ble minister of India... he has the liberty to act on his whims....but surely we can do something, next time when we go to a polling booth to vote, we can remember the "GREAT DEEDS" of Mr. Arjun Singh under the umbrella of the congress leadership.
RE:So what happens to the students?????
by Hebbar R on Apr 23, 2007 04:20 PM Permalink
For all that he cares, the students can go to hell. Arjun Singh seems intent only to keep his political agenda going on. What happens to the students who have worked so hard to achieve what they have, does not matter to Arjun Singh. It is a pity that we have such leaders (may be right word is dealers)
Our political class is too thick-skinned to mend their ways; they no sense of shame at all. For all I know, now they will be working overtime to find loopholes in the system to overrule SC! British created a divide only between Muslims and Hindus, but the shameless Congress has divided the country into Muslims, Hindus, Christians, OBCs, MBCs, SCs,STs, Harijans, Girijans, Adivasis, Sikhs and what not. Annihilation of Congress from the political map of India is the only way to usher in a just and united society. But interstingly and sadly all parties including the BJP are silent on this issue.
We cannot expect any good by this status quoist and elitist SC. What is the need of referring to the census when quota is not based on the proportionality to the population. There is no doubt about it that OBCs are more than 27%. Parliament should go for stoping the court in eroding the democratic values otherwise court will bring monarchy and zamindary from the back door.
RE:SC on Qouta
by on Apr 23, 2007 04:45 PM Permalink
First of all try to write some sense. Parliament is full of OBCs. They obviously would support that. Anyway why does the yadavs of UP, the kurmis of Bihar( I am not able to recollect more prosperous OBCs) be given reservations. If at all reservations are provided, these dominating castes will screw the happiness of the actual BCs( who are backward socially and economically), and then the same lot of you will cry for categorization of OBCs( this is already happening in AP where the more backward sect among SCs are crying hoarse since all reservations are being dominated by the more advanced and powerful mala sub caste. We dont need to do anything, you yourselves will fight to death. You greedy filth
by rayapuram reddy on Apr 23, 2007 04:21 PM Permalink
How long you will expect the back door entry.. do the reservation people put efforts and study to be in par with the compitation. if money is the real problem for the study, ask for free education, free books but not seats and jobs because of you not putting your hardwork for study. Do you think all SC/ST/OBCs are poor. Today most of them are equally well in status along witht he forward cast people. So whats the problem for them to sit and study..put their hardwork.. why they want reservations. Do they dont have guts to study.. and do they dont have to stand on their own legs.
by avijit ganguly on Apr 23, 2007 04:24 PM Permalink
how caan the court bring monarchy for godsake??? thank god we have such a strong and independant judiciary!!! they are the only force in our country who can challange the the corrupt annd highly criminalised political class!!! the recent case of human trafficking by MP's is a case in point to show how rotten our political system has become!!! if our politicians are left alone they will sell this country in no time!!!!! all hail the supreme court for putting these politicians and their supporters in check!!!!!
by on Apr 23, 2007 04:45 PM Permalink
First of all try to write some sense. Parliament is full of OBCs. They obviously would support that. Anyway why does the yadavs of UP, the kurmis of Bihar( I am not able to recollect more prosperous OBCs) be given reservations. If at all reservations are provided, these dominating castes will screw the happiness of the actual BCs( who are backward socially and economically), and then the same lot of you will cry for categorization of OBCs( this is already happening in AP where the more backward sect among SCs are crying hoarse since all reservations are being dominated by the more advanced and powerful mala sub caste. We dont need to do anything, you yourselves will fight to death. You greedy filth
i would like to congratulate all indians that SC has taken really a great decision indeed. Govt just want to do politics on the behalf of this Quota system and reservation should be banned now. coz if we talk about equal right then they should give the equal opportunities, why we keep on discriminating them that you are belo than to anyone. we should give them respect, and treat them equally and it is possible only if we stop this reservation.
If Sonia is really interested for reservation then why she doesnot amment the constitution of congress party to make it compulsary that post of congress president will be from SC/ST and post of Cong PM will be OBC and 50% ministers from SC/ST and OBC etc etc.
RE:hahahahaha i am loving this
by dhanraj pawan on Apr 23, 2007 04:17 PM Permalink
i feel the same ..... long live judiciary... bharat mata ki jai.. jai ho supreme court ki.... kick out the congress & gandhis who have screwed india for nearly 5 decades...
Fantastic judgement. It would be worthwhile considering giving all powers to supreme court to review all policy decisions of the parliament because most of the polciy decisions are not decided on the basis of logical reasoning but influenced by vote bank politics