1) Few weeks ago, Bihar becomes the 1st state of India to accept supreme courts advice to implement new police act to free police from political interference and do positive policing. no other state has yet implemented this.
2) Bihar has become the 1st state of India to implement Right of Information fully and even on phone lines.
3) Bihar has become the first state of India to provide 50% reservation to women in panchayati Raj and extending it to assembly soon, a step which always failed in parliment of India even after having a lady president of the ruling party.
4) Police for the first time in India behaved like people friendly where they admitted 80,000 extremely poor children who had never been to schools, directly to schools, which sets examples to other states.
5) 1 year ago Bihar government recruited Ex-Armymen to it's special auxiliary force, a new way to benefit state security as well as armymen. Same is being done for state vigilance where Ex-CBI officers are being recruited.
7) A compulsive policy implementation which sanctions amount to each school to avail basic amenties to students. This is irony that while the government in Bihar is opposition of central government, the central government has declared most of the above described steps of the Nitish Kumar government as a model implementations should be followed by rest of India.
Most of these initiatives which I described above, were on Human resources side but there have been lots of postive changes in toto, which I continued with new Nitish Kumar, will surely make Bihar a developed state, a thing which looked impossible few months back! But I ask Biharis who are well settled and residing aborad..that why don't they contribute to the state and stand only like shameless viewer of all ongoings be it bad or good? can't they adopt single children and provide him/her with complete education till college level and create a great citizen. I have done so and glad to tell you guys that the boy whom I had adopted is on the path of ebcoming a software engineer. Why you guys can;t do so witht he udner privilageds? Don't leave everything to Nitish Kumar, do something yourself too.
RE:Bihar is Rising...... a turnaround for sure
by rohit roy on Apr 20, 2007 12:16 PM Permalink
Man copy pasted my comments? At least ad few words from your side too.
RE:RE:Bihar is Rising...... a turnaround for sure
by Gaurav Sinha on Apr 21, 2007 09:54 AM Permalink
sure boss. I accept I pasted ur comments....but my intentions were to highlight it in a new headling....sorry boss but my intentions were not wrong...
RE:Bihar is Rising...... a turnaround for sure
by parag kuntal on Apr 20, 2007 10:29 AM Permalink
but how to do so?? Can you give us any pointers like names of NGOs/goverment agencies, voluntary organisations etc
Finally sthin worthwhile to read abt other than Ash n abhi. Its quite heartenin to see the these girls frm such poor backgrounds strivin for a better life. A life dat most of us take for granted...
laloo is a idiot who made bihar and his own people poor.. i dont feel sorry for bihar...they chose laloo and they got what they deserved ...and bengal will follow bihar tooo by choosing stupid commis
Onlly Biharies are responsible .It is common perception that Biharies are most corrupted.Due to their corrupt & dishonest type Bihar is like this.And other state people also don"t like them(Ex.Assam,Maharstra,TN).Because they pollute others.Beharies shoud try to change themselves collectively.Otherwise they will be most hated persons in the country.
RE:Bihar
by chandan babu on Apr 21, 2007 03:39 AM Permalink
How many Biharis you know man?? I am not here to give a speech, but pity on your ignorant attitude
Rediff please go and see you can find daughters and sons of every state in India far more worst than them. Don't just write articles like that.Crappy article
RE:Crappy article
by Kaka Mehra on Apr 20, 2007 09:51 AM Permalink
No, no other state can be worst than Bihar, reason, a foolish character "LALOO" has ruled/looted this state for more than a decade.
RE:Crappy article
by chandan babu on Apr 21, 2007 03:44 AM Permalink
Dude! are you from srilanka?? How can you give such a statement!! there is no damn genetic difference between you and biharis :P How come they are stupid and you are so stud!! Have you ever casted vote in your whole life? What do you know about electing a leader? haha.. get a life man!
RE:RE:Crappy article
by Jason on Apr 20, 2007 10:01 AM Permalink
laloo is a idiot who made bihar and his own people poor.. i dont feel sorry for bihar...they chose laloo and they got what they deserved ...and bengal will follow bihar tooo by choosing stupid commis
please bring in more such articles instead of trying to tell us whatz happening in jalsa and nei-vedhiya...what ash-abhi doing...i think my now rediff would have understood what people want...bringing stories like this would bring people who are interested in helping these underpreviliedge people...please understand that stories like this sell as well as ash-abhi crap...thanks for giving us a break...
I feel happy that such girls are coming to the front of society and they should be encouraged to be the best...among us. But, reservation could not solve their woes!! The rich OBC/SC/STs will take benefit of reservation and it would have devastating consequences for the science and all. If I am wrong then these reserve categories ppls have to prove them that they are equally good scientist and researchers and can bring laurels to their field and country.
God knows what would happen in coming years %u2013 when Indian science is already taking such a low dip %u2013 when these reserve category of ppls will be the leaders (by their numbers) in academics and all%u2026
This should have been on top of the rediff homepage instead of being tucked away at the bottom. But then .. the "wedding" also needs to be covered with more concern i suppose ..
Please think for a moment about their extremely Strenuous life and what all odds they fight to even enroll themselves in schools and get a very basic of education. They walk one hour to school, stay till evening without food and still educate themselves, let alone their extra-curricular wishes and hardwork.
Against all pressures from family and her socio-economic problems, she finishes 12th and want to enter engineering.
In contrast, our little princess in our homes, who we love & adore, gets all facilities, excellent convent education, proper care, Tutions, including two-wheelers for commute. All she has to do is "STUDY".
Now, how can anyone equate this hard-working yet poor girls form village to compete with our convent-educated kids? How can we ask both of these categories from extreme social situatuons to compete in the open quota? Is this a fair-playing ground?
Is it fair to oppose reservation and stop what these girls deserve? Ask your heart!!!
RE:Baby Kumari equal to your city-bred princess?
by badri jaya on Apr 20, 2007 05:16 AM Permalink
This is a beatutiful story, Why spoil that by bring in a dividing topic like the reservation system. I dont even know if these girls know what a reservation system means much less about education.
RE:RE:Baby Kumari equal to your city-bred princess?
by Prem Kumar on Apr 20, 2007 07:06 AM Permalink
Venky, Reservation should actually reach the needy people - just we aren't sure it will reach or not is not enough reason to drop it.
Also, it is very degrading statement when you said these folks getting into these seats will is a waste for this position. They will certainly work harder and in turn help many others.
Badri, How can you say something so indifferently? You claim this is beautiful story but you feel that they know less about education, so leave reservation alone. It is everyone's duty to educate them of their oppurtunities. When Rita kumari can walk miles together to villages to teach on usefulness of education, we can use the same network on these important issues.
Its no dividing dude - its all in our heart. We are trembling because reservation will affect our near & dear from getting into seats. If you all really think these kids are really hard-working and deserving against all odds, reservation is the right way to award them good seats, even if it is gonna affect one of us.
I am all for blocking creamy layer and move slowly towards poverty-based reservations but Reservation is a MUST for Social Justice!
{BTW, I belong to your so-called forward caste and reservation is NO use to me - its no personal favor to me as one indecent idiot shouted above. He is shaking as he missed his seat probably, which I can understand his frustration but he shud know these kids deserve those seats more than him].
by Ness Damani on Apr 20, 2007 09:54 AM Permalink
Hi Prem! Just don't be decisive & judgemental.... I Know super upper brahmins & forward caste people living in worse conditions. I favour reservation untill it avoids caste-based reservation. If it is to be given on caste basis, better give THEM a separate country Ness
RE:RE:RE:Baby Kumari equal to your city-bred princess?
by Ashish Jain on Apr 20, 2007 04:01 PM Permalink
I agree with you Prem!!! I am sure 10-15% lesser marks earned by these under previleged children, can be more than compensated by the other human values they inherit by way of poor living conditions.
I will also wish to take away these benefits from the creamy layer. Gradually, reservation must be done away with.
by Amit K on Apr 20, 2007 11:28 AM Permalink
Why is Rediff SELECTIVELY deleting messages?? It seems, for Rediff authorites; a post that slings mud at & maligns so-called upper caste people is not an "abusive" post. But a post that exposes the lies, half-baked truths, deliberate distortions & other cunning tricks employed by the promoters of caste-based reservations, is certainly an "abusive" post that needs to be immediately deleted. Mr Ajith Balkrishnan(Rediff CEO), if u r listening, lemme tell u that such a biased attitude will hurt Rediff more than anyone else. You can promote such an unjustifiable political agenda ONLY at the cost your credibility and respect. If Rediff continues with such a policy, very soon it's words & actions will carry very little value or maybe none at all...With such an unjust plicy, you are only casting your lot with such contemptible, chracter-less persons as Arundhati Roy, Teesta Setalvad and mentally retarded Commies (CPI/CPM) who have sold their souls, their religion, their motherland, their families, their fellow countrymen & indeed their own selves for the sake of money(Proof : MP government, under Digvijay Singh, paid Teesta Setalvad around Rs. 20 lakh to defame Narendra Modi..refer Times of India archives for the article).
by Amit K on Apr 20, 2007 11:33 AM Permalink
See above for the demo of same : Mr prem Kumar's posts are intact, but all the replies to his posts have been "reported for abuse". Kya baat hai Rediff !!!!! Hats of to your sense of fairness and justice!!!
by pooja singh on Apr 20, 2007 10:45 AM Permalink
Better go and work for upliftment of poor dont treat poors by giving more bread to SC/ST/OBC then to brahmin This caste system made our country poor and its due to you
by Amit K on Apr 20, 2007 11:59 AM Permalink
IF Rediff HAS EVEN A TRACE OF MORAL COURAGE AND HONESTY, THEN IT WILL LET THIS POST REMAIN.
Mr Prem Kumar: either u r truly confused yourself, or you are a cunning villain out to mislead people using emotions. Let me blast your arguments systematically; one-by-one :
1) You use this heart-warming story to promote caste-based reservations. My Answer : How can you say that the villages comprise of so-called backward caste people only??? Villages, like cities, comprise of people of diff castes & all of them are more or less, equally disadvantaged as far as facilities are concerned. So this is absolutely NO justification for CASTE-based reservations. 2) It's true that this brave girl in the story wud be slightly disadvantaged vis-a-vis city-bred ladies; BUT that has certainly nothing to do with her caste. It would solely be b'coz she hails from a poor family. So-called upper caste students from the villages would also face exactly the same problem. So, if at all reservations need 2 be provided, they must be on the basis of economic condition and certainly NOT CASTE. 3) As for ur snigger that some guy is shaking wid angewr bcoz he missed his seat due to reservations and the so-called backward caste "kids" deserve more than him; my answer is very simple : If they really deserve more than him & are more capable than him, then why are you BEGGING for reservations for SUCH CAPABLE PEOPLE? Answer that, Mr OverSmart...if u are capable..(hehehe) 4) In fact, ur pathetic IQ & severely limited thinking capabiltiy is fully exposed by 1 single comment of yours, namely, "Fair-playing ground = Reservation". Utter rubbish; I cannot think of a more illogical stsmt..
REMEMBER : YOU MAY DELETE THIS POST BUT YOU CANNOT SUPPRESS OUR VOICE. We will NEVER, NEVER, NEVER give up the fight for justice. Remember the message on the Ashoka Stambh : SATYAMEVA JAYATE (TRUTH ALONE WILL BE VICTORIOUS) Untruth and injustice must and shall loose in the end; it may take a long time, maybe a very long time and teh struggle will undoubtedly be difficult, but we certainly won't give up. An illogical argument is, by nature, unsustainable; it must defeat & destroy itself.
RE:RE:Baby Kumari equal to your city-bred princess?
by Prem Kumar on Apr 21, 2007 09:44 PM Permalink
Amit K,
Your answers were just simply NAIVE and reactive. You have chosen to answer how you like it, not necessarily on what I asked for.
I dunno whether you will still be reading this but you do, read this blog: http://aimrevolution.blogspot.com/2006/09/reservation-where-do-you-stand.html
Just for example, you have claimed how I know hey are from lower-caste. Article clearly says her community name and explains it is one of the most backward community in India.
Howmuchever you act like savior of Justice, where were you when crime was committed against lower-caste people? Just know abolishing caste doesn't start with ablosih reservation, it shud actually start from hearts - your heart!
We are fighting for reservation only to bring equality. If you are read for a debate on this, email me yuvashakthi@gmail.com
by Kaka Mehra on Apr 20, 2007 10:01 AM Permalink
Bihar has to cut what it sowed by following castiesm and becoming fool in the hands of leaders like Laloos and Paswans. The day they get themselves above the castiesm and vote for good leaders without considering their cast or creed, nobody can stop Bihar to become a developed state of India. Beware of Laloos & Paswans who are deviding you. Best of luck.
by venky on Apr 20, 2007 02:04 AM Permalink
Every thing has two faces - If you see at one face ,it is ardha satya(half truth). By reservation - you can provide better financial facilities and even seats in reservations to certain extent for example up to 10 2 standard or in gov't colleges. But, how about reservations in national level Institutionms, Professional courses , Jobs , Promotions ..etc.., Can you really support them if you know how thet=y are effecting the nation? And ,more over do you really think the reservations are actually reaching the needy people? Most of them are being used by the creamy layers in the socalled OBC or SC/ST s. We need a complete rewamp of the reservation system.