Total 123 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
appreciation of court
by prakash tukaram barge on Apr 20, 2007 01:56 PM  Permalink 

respected sir (honourable)
where system fails supernatural steps in, u have proved that there is some one watching from heaven..
i urge u to repriman all those who failed in their duties.
now i've gained faith in god, courtesy to u sir..

Well done Mumbai HC
by Suresh Vijayan on Apr 20, 2007 07:29 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

My heartiest respect to Mumbai HC H'ble Judges... Well done.... if you dont intervene, these type of cases will be like a Doll...

Its an Alarm bell to all such acts... Lets not forget the BMW case in New Delhi, that too in Lodhi Road.... Killed Central Govt. Security guards... since he is Son of Ex-Admiral, he got away.... Let courts pull all these guys....

Indian Judiciary is now getting better.... Its nice to hear....

Suresh

RE:Well done Mumbai HC
by Suresh Vijayan on Apr 20, 2007 07:31 AM  Permalink
Sorry Ex-Admiral Grand Son

Good work HC!!
by Brenton Cordeiro on Apr 19, 2007 11:49 PM  Permalink 

It happens only in India....
where a man can run over and kill 8 people and injure 7 more and get a sentece that is equal to a pat on the back. Is this approval for his help to control India's population?

Give me a break! he deserves to face the consequences of his actions...

I'm disgusted that the prosecution and investigators let 2 facts cloud their judgement:
1-Pereira's BMW
2-the victims were labourers

Thanks to the HC, we are reminded of one important point: Only when Justice is blind and fair, is it real justice.

http://togetherunited.blogspot.com/

Some Examples
by Lavaish Agarwal on Apr 19, 2007 07:03 PM  Permalink 

I had been to Russia & Azerbaijan both the countries are highly corrupt & Vodka is must to keep the body tempreture as required.
But I was surprised to note that the person who is going to drive the car will not take Ahcohol, that is the kind of discipline they maintain, In India because the punishment is such that you can get away after Drunken driving & killing 7 people & law will take its own time, the time is not far when only drunkers will be driving. If police & court is bent upon saving Pereira we shall make a law that Drunkers are allowed to drive after 1.00 midnight till 4.00 in the morning & others can drive at there own risk. People who don't have homes can sleep in nearest police station.

Lets see
by Ranjan Baisak on Apr 19, 2007 06:59 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Lets see, how High court decides this guy's fate. Even this guy gets more punishment in high court, I am sure he will get bail from supreme court. Like the way one of accused in Jesicca Lal case got bail from Supreme court.
There should be provision on what are the crimes are not bailable......

RE:Lets see
by Lavaish Agarwal on Apr 19, 2007 07:08 PM  Permalink
Provision is there you should be Politician or relative of him or you should have surplus money to bribe Police & Court.Everything can't be written on Paper.
This Police & Judges are spinless & can only pronounce the sentence for Contempt of Court to keep the Myth that people respect the Law of the Land.

RE:moral policing
by Lalit Sharma on Apr 19, 2007 06:04 PM  Permalink
I wish the police peroanl who have handled the case should also be hanged with the Pereira

WHAT ABOUT SALMAN KHAN ?
by BhejaFry on Apr 19, 2007 05:25 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Any one knows whats the progress of the Salman Khan case ? has he got away with it ?
He too crushed people on the pavement.

RE:WHAT ABOUT SALMAN KHAN ?
by Lavaish Agarwal on Apr 19, 2007 07:13 PM  Permalink
Yes his body gaurd has been punsished for telling the truth, he is dying slow death in a hospital & Court his after him asking him same question 100 times & accusing him of absconding, what an efficient Police & Court.
Stop seeing Salman & his family Film

RE:WHAT ABOUT SALMAN KHAN ?
by biju nair on Apr 19, 2007 09:30 PM  Permalink
My dear BhejaFry,

Salman's Case is different. He has minority reserved quota. His allocated quota is not yet full. He will soon fill his quota by crushing more people.

RE:Please read this very important
by C D Tamhankar on Apr 19, 2007 05:35 PM  Permalink
SORRY... such example will be misunderstood as justification and your motive will get criticism

Why blame Police? Why every time HC or supreme court has to wait for public outcry?
by C D Tamhankar on Apr 19, 2007 04:56 PM  Permalink 

When Inspector told the judge that he has forgotten his spectacles at home.... Govt prosecutor should have raised a point that its a contempt of court. Its waste of time & money of all the parties. Govt prosecutor could have got severe punishment for such irresponsible answer.

This means Govt prosecutor was absolutely casual. And what HC has done today, a suo motu step, could have been taken while hearing was in progress.

Can the proceedings be scrutinized by senior judges before final verdict is delivered?

Now insurance company have to spent 10-12 lakhs for compensation. It is also keeping mum.

Police were casual,
Govt prosecutor was casual,
Insurance company is not bothered.

So no point in blaming only police.

Every time we have to wait for God / HC / supreme court to deliver justice when all the evidences are against.

Thanks to you all Guys! Your opinion made the difference.
by priyal p on Apr 19, 2007 04:01 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I was sad and left helpless after reading the highcourt judgement on Pereira case. A rich guy crushes 7 labourers and injures many more in a drunken driving bout and all that he gets is 6 months. Much worse than that is a fine of 5 lacs. His father must have spent 5 lac just on one constable for tweaking the FIR. Poor labourers from Andhra lost their lives. Their families that already were on the road were dragged deeper into poverty as their breadearners were no longer there. The injured and crippled guys would be no longer able to work. They lost their livelyhood and have difficulty in earning their daily bread.
After all these problems what they get is a paltry sum of 5 lac among some 15-20 people? What kind of law is that? A guilty must be punished for the deeds at the same time, he should pay for the damages he has done to the community. 7 lives and many injuries can not be calculated in amount, but considering the fate of the poor families, there must have been a better consideration. Periera was driving a car costing more than 10-12 lac. His Dad must be handling millions of rupees. a fine of 5 lac is nothing but a traffic ticket for those kind of families.

The chief motive of justice is 1. provide sufficient relief to the victim and 2. punish the guilty to such an extent that the judgement acts as a detterent for all such future incidents. Hitting the Pereira Family financially (because thats what they used to tweak the judgement first time) will be the biggest justice. All the rich kids, not for the fear of getting jailed, but for the fear of loosing a large amount of money will stay away from such activities.

Mumbai Police needs to learn some lessons. No longer they can take bribe and supress the events. Media and people like US will shout and creat a rucksuk till justics is done.

I congratulate all the people who wrote messages in rediff, times, expressindia and many more site, wrote letters to newspapers for bringing this change. I admire your sense. Some guys like prags gandhi wrote with poor sense of right and wrong. But come on guys; this is democracy, for 10 nice fruits, you need to have couple of rotton once too.

RE:Thanks to you all Guys! Your opinion made the difference.
by Dibu D on Apr 19, 2007 04:12 PM  Permalink
Dear Priyal P,
I appreciate your concern. But I have question. What if a poor lorry driver runs over the pavement & kills many poor people? How much money can be extracted from that 'poor' lorry driver?
Regards.

by M Costa on Apr 19, 2007 07:14 PM  Permalink
Hi Dibu
The 'poor' lorry owner may serve a sentence and the money should be extracted from the owner.After all someone has to pay why not the owner.

by Alexander on Apr 20, 2007 12:28 AM  Permalink
thats a rotten mentality...

"After all someone has to pay why not the owner."

crap... why not the guy wearing a white shirt in the second row of the nearest theater?

the lorry chap should be sentenced, no doubt... but as for monetary renumerations, to ask the owner to pay for no fault of his is not fair...

RE:RE:Thanks to you all Guys! Your opinion made the difference.
by prags gandhi on Apr 19, 2007 04:09 PM  Permalink
Hi Priyal
i completely agree with you and they should be fined considerably and should also get a much higher sentence. i am sorry if you didnt get the point i was trying to make.

by C D Tamhankar on Apr 19, 2007 05:23 PM  Permalink
" I was sad and left helpless after reading the highcourt judgement on Pereira case"
Priyal P ... it was session court ( not high court ) judgement, today HC has taken suo moto action... you should feel happy that HC has taken a step

Total 123 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>