Total 150 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >
why are we pointing fingers
by shashank chauhan on Apr 18, 2007 10:24 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

over ppl abroad. or is this just a grudge against them without any real reasoning.
I wouldn't have bothered to write but I feel that many of us are just plain ignorant of the fact that thr r lots of thing which ppl in US do for our country. As a student here in US, i am a part of an organization called AID (Association for India's Development), every year we raise close to $20K and use that money to fund various projects done by several NGO's back in the country. Our's is a primarily Student chapter but there are over 40 chapters of AID in USA and doing thr part towards serving the country. And AID is just one organization, thrs ASHA and thr r several others. I am not sure if u know abt contribution and awareness that these organizations raised during Tsunami.
For more information u can go and check the website www.aidindia.org
I agree that we dont really do the grassroot work, but let me tell even if we were in India we wldnt have been able to do so, cos not only it requires a lot of commitment but also a lot of specialized training and all that requires time which sadly not all have (ask urself this ques, if u have time and motivation and more importantly for how long u can sustain that).
I feel that rather than pointing fingers we better do our part in best possible manner.

RE:why are we pointing fingers
by on Apr 18, 2007 10:51 AM  Permalink
it is the NRI money that is playing havoc in indian market ... be it real estate or shopping

Their attitude of buy land, flat at whatever price has actually created a mad rise in the market

Offcourse...NRI money is pouring in...but for what?? what percentage for noble causes??? I bet...if the Dubai market is lucrative...these self-proclaimed india lovers will not hesitate to shift loyalty. Even resurgent India bond was a success...just because of the great returns it offered... If Indian govt releases a GREAT INDIA BOND promising a return of 1% ...none of these NRIs will turn a eye

Having lived in US and Europe for 5 years, and given atleast 40% of my earnings to good causes in India, I am feeling sick at greedy attitude of NRI.

They may claim ...AID,BAID, CAID etc with corpus. Can any one of NRIs tell us what percentage of their earnings they contribute for India development?? Donot talk absolute numbers like $1000, $2000 etc

To me, a silent Indian living in India with income Rs.5000 and giving Rs.500 for noble causes (10%) is very great than a self-trumpeting NRI who gives $100 (Rs.4500) from a earning of $5000 (2 %)

NRI's ...earn a lot...no worries...spend lavishly .... but...donot raise your voice. ...dont talk abt india, culture etc.

Live happily anywhere you are

by shashank chauhan on Apr 18, 2007 10:54 AM  Permalink
I can give thousand many examples and yet I wont convince u. The more imp point is that we are not here to convince anyone, lets do our part and perhaps b satisfied by the fact that we did somethg (not for some1 cos none of us r that great) but for our own self satisfaction.
whtever ur name is, u can swear at me, i wont mind that as long as u r doing ur part :)

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 10:38 AM  Permalink
Shashank...these are voluntary contributions which a miniscule percentage of NRIs do to help their fellow citizens...being India, I too contribute directly and indirectly to many NGOs, social organisations etc, besides paying Professional Tax, Income Tax, Surcharge, Service Tax, Education Cess etc. We also know very well how much of the NRI fund is being put to the actual use by the mushrooming so called NGOs. We, Indians are always thankful to those brothers/sisters who help us from outside. At least, we are having a constructive discussion on this issue - but see others remarks and comments - most of those idiots say NO to help the poor Prof.'s family...
while on this subject, I would even recommend all NRIs to create a Trust called the NRI trust and contribute to the same according to individual capacity, so that one need not depend on the stupid Indian government to discuss/debate and decide about rendering help.

RE:[object MouseEvent]
by shashank chauhan on Apr 18, 2007 10:59 AM  Permalink
Anusha that way u just cant trust anyone, u cant trust NGOs, u cant trust politicians, u cant trust NRIs, u cant trust people back home :)
at least not my perspective, i think we spend just too much time questioning rather than taking actions.
I agree in parts that we can do much more, but its not that the efforts are not thr. And u cant make everyone think alike, we try our best every year to get good volunteers but we dont really get all the students to join us, but whtever do join us, do good work and keep the organization running.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 11:03 AM  Permalink
congratulations and best wishes for the good work to continue for ever..God Bless you with good health and prosperity

does karunanidhi have a special package...
by Beech Boy on Apr 18, 2007 10:11 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

considering that the slain prof is...

RE:does karunanidhi have a special package...
by vasudev chari on Apr 18, 2007 10:26 AM  Permalink
He will, if Prof. Loganathan is either SC/ST OR OBC!! But before that let him collect cases against AIDMK people (since AIDMK will do the same when in power- this is the only thing Tamil Nadu is capable of). The rest of the world is feeling miserable having lost a bright decent soul, in such a manner. Prof's family can rest assured of the rest of the world's honest support..KVC.

RE:does karunanidhi have a special package...
by edwin on Apr 18, 2007 10:38 AM  Permalink
He has been there in US for more than 30yrs ...they do not need fianncial assistance. Rather they need other kind of help like getting passports and papers ready on time

Tamilnadu hgovt has deputed its the collector of coimbatore and Erode to take care of the issue...there is a VISA interview today at chennai for the family mambers and they will most probably fly tomorrow..

Pleade let s not make political....this is the time we cant afford to talk nonsense like caste plssssss

Let his soul rest in peace

Help by Govenment.
by Appasaheb Borude on Apr 18, 2007 10:01 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I was not surprised by the news of Govt. giving help. I was really surprised why it has taken so long for this announcement.

Now a days people are expecting monetary help for whatever tragic has happened. It is a publicity stunt by the politicians. Can anybody give me an example of a politician giving help from his pocket? They just have to announce and Tax payers money is distributed like it is their own money.

They are suppose to be guardian of Tax payers money and they are distributing as if it is their own money.

RE:Help by Govenment.
by Deceptive Swine on Apr 18, 2007 10:17 AM  Permalink
Why don't the Government check if one is a Indian Passport Holder, Does he/she have life or accident insurance. Because the money of Indian Goverment belongs to Indian Passport Holders/Indian Citizens. Giving for an cause in a poor country is more meaningful than to just to show that you are also member of the elite club.

by sandip on Apr 18, 2007 10:40 AM  Permalink
ya i also agree with m m . How many times does our govt. help the ppl who r dying every day on the border . i think those who r laying their lives for us r more important than a prof. who went to US in 1978 n settled their.i myself have seen families of ppl who were the sole bread owner, languishing in poverty without anyone to take care of them . these are the ppl govt.should support not the prof. and the student who killed in US .I m feel really sorry for them (Indian prof. n the student)and for their family, but want govt. to help the needy rather than doing some publicity of it's own.

by Jo on Apr 18, 2007 10:58 AM  Permalink
you know why brilliant brains are leaving India.??how much do u think is the scope for people who are brilliant to stay in India. Even we want to stay in India but these bloody reservations are making the intelligent brains to leave India. If you really want to blame blame the bloody politicians who are maing this happen and not the families who leave India. Not everyone goes to US or other foreign countries for wnjoyment. There are many reasons including financial reasons because of which they are forced to leave India. May be that girl would have been a brillinat student but she could not get into Good university because of reservations that's why she left India?? Try to analyze the root cause instead of just a blame game Mr. Sandip.

by sandip on Apr 18, 2007 12:25 PM  Permalink
comn Mr. Jo , u know why have u gone thr.Please don't try to hide it behind the excuses like reservation .If u think politicians are corrupt,taking India in the dooms way ,then u should hav stayed here to make it better.I don't hav anything against u ,bt in current context ppl like u r needed here not in sm other country doing other's job .Regarding that girl ,i haven't said anything against her.She would have been a brilliant student ,but my friend life doesn't run on IF,SUPPOSE,WOULD,COULD.I think u have got my point.

by Jo on Apr 18, 2007 01:00 PM  Permalink
my friend every person who is residing in US is not working for himself/herself there are good people also but the main problem is that because of some bad NRI's people generalize things. Its really bad. I wuld give an example I know one of my friend who came to US because of situations. His father was a farmer and their land was under some zameendaar or something. He cam here worked here and earnd money and sent it back to India for his father is acquire back his stolen land. Is there a bad motive behind this!!!. By living in India could he have been able to do this since he belonged to upper caste. he had no cahnce of getting atleast to a good institution in India because of reservations. Whether you believe or not lot of brilliant Indian students have suffered a lot because of these reservations. Includig me!!

by m m on Apr 18, 2007 10:09 AM  Permalink
i do not agree with you. the person who is working abroad as professor and a student who is gone there for study both must be wealthy people. our govt. should not give any monetory help instead diplomatic help shall be extended to them. we have lakhs of people dying here in our country everyday.

by Sandy Sen on Apr 18, 2007 12:18 PM  Permalink
Appasaheb, M M- you guys are right! Dr.Loganathan's family, and Minal's family DO NOT need the money. Minal was a grad student and probably in assisstanship, so it's irrelevant if she was wealthy or not, since all her expenses were paid. NOTE: POOR INDIAN STUDENTS ALSO MAKE IT TO US FOR HIGHER EDUCATION WITH SCHOLARSHIP. Indian Govt, the politicians just wanted to hoag some media attention- hence the announcement. But the monetary support that the two slain individuals are gonna get from the Federal US govt will be 100 times more than what Dr.Singh has to offer- but above all, you know what they gonna get from all over US? support, a big hug, admiration, love, condolences- a whole array of human emotion which is SO ABSENT in rediff boards. They will not probe about Minals personal life, if she was brown, Hindu, muslim, wealthy..lesbian..genious..nope..to them, to me..to all US univ students, she will be a bright light which was put out untimely by a strong gust of wind. Seriously, people, if you cant show some support then shut up and stop your discussion about braindrain, NRI not contributing money..unfair help by Govt..it really makes us, the Indians look bad..cuz the Americans ARE NOT rejoicing at the thought that 2 less Indians to steal our jobs and money..

Foolish govt and media
by Pramod Naidu on Apr 18, 2007 10:01 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why this obsession with people abroad, so what he was indian, look at our country , millions suffering, what about them? what nonsence is going on about this sunita williams, can she even name 4 indian metro cities, media is projecting her as if she is indian citizen setteled abroad. govt should be helping poor man to earn money, instead its wasting time in quota based politics.

RE:Foolish govt and media
by Deceptive Swine on Apr 18, 2007 10:04 AM  Permalink
Please don't ask inconvenient questions. Your elected representatives feel elated if they too run the race. Please note that we are slaves to the US run system

RE:RE:RE:RE:Foolish govt and media
by Saubashya Sur on Apr 18, 2007 10:40 AM  Permalink
Stop this bloody question. You have elected the bloodty politicians who are interested in quota based politics. So why the hell qualified Indians will not go for better oppurtunities? Why should they think of India when thei motherland is kicking them all time. IT IS BETTER TO BE A SLAVE IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY THAN BE THE SAME IN ONES OWN COUNTRY. THE BLOODY INDIAN POLITICIANS ARE TO BLAMED FOR THE MASSIVE BRAIN DRIAIN.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 10:47 AM  Permalink
you bloody ungrateful...I feel ashamed to call you an Indian...you should have been thrown out of India the moment you took birth in this soil..having grown up here and had this soils bread and butter, you went out to make a fotune (leaving your family behind or leaving your parents in an orphanage)..talking about Indian political system and Politicias does not suit you...never even look at India's map henceforth, leaving alone landing in this holy place....GET LOST FOR EVER

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 11:07 AM  Permalink
I dont know why some people complain when someone leaves the country for higher education and for a better career. What is wrong in that? If they make fortune by their hardwork and skills, why anyone should have any problem with that? Please do remember that fortune or success does not come cheap: it needs lots of hard-work, risk-taking, patience, sacrifice...

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 11:20 AM  Permalink
hi Damodar..just see above..one of your fellow fortune maker Indian's comment (Saubashya Sur)

RE:RE:Foolish govt and media
by Sameer Jolly on Apr 18, 2007 11:34 AM  Permalink
Hi Anusha,

Whatever saubashya is saying what is wrong in that, can you prove his words wrong by logical answer.

by Jo on Apr 18, 2007 11:34 AM  Permalink
ha ha. I think this anusha tried a lot but could not get to US. that why she is shouting on others like a fool. Anusha "Angoor Khatte Hain"

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 11:45 AM  Permalink
Angoor mein raho..utharee ladko..there are many other fruits in India....you langoor

by Jo on Apr 18, 2007 12:23 PM  Permalink
ha ha ha this itself proves that you are sick trying to run out of topic. LOL!!

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 11:34 AM  Permalink
Yeh, I saw that. And please mind your words: you dont know whether I am a fortune maker or not! Importantly, nobody wants your certificate to be called as an Indian.

by Sandy Sen on Apr 18, 2007 11:52 AM  Permalink
Anusha- you mental midget! I am finishing my PhD from US and have no qualms in admitting the fact (and I know almost every Desi in US will agree with me) we had to leave India cuz we are being made to feel like 2nd rated citizens due to 'Quota' politics..might as well go and be a 2nd rated citizen in a country which gives the right opportunites to deserving people..and not to someone because of their race.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:12 PM  Permalink
oh you are a PhD fellow...then thanks for your Certificate.. and best wishes for your settling down as a 2nd rated citizen in a country where students and professors are killed by students...very much progressed country in which you are settling down...

by Sandy Sen on Apr 18, 2007 12:29 PM  Permalink
Hey Anusha thanks- then you should tell the Indian cabinet to stop giving blow jobs to US investors- am sure India doesn't need any investments from a country like US where shit hits the ceiling according to you.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:40 PM  Permalink
sitting there, you will see that day also very soon... and yes, you are mistaken here also...India is not begging any more for US investments...US is banking on India to make investments (17000 employees of Citibank would be out of job in US - shifting to India....why?) Doctor's returning to India...why? retail giants opening shops in India...why? every foreign Bank wants to have prsense in India...why? foreigners coming to India for education...why? there are so many Why's you will have to answer....

by Sandy Sen on Apr 18, 2007 01:00 PM  Permalink
"ou will see that day also very soon" - Absolutely, nothing would please me more if that happens- and I hope it does. Now, why US companies are investing in India- simple, to make money! India has a good disposable income due to her IT boom- hence US retailers want a share of that. But, it will be pretty interesting to see how local businesses survive the Walmart invasion- since here, Walmart has pretty much killed local mom & pops businesses. Now lets talk about jobs getting outsourced to India, especially BPO businesses..why? cuz the Chinese can't speak English- but they are working on it - so the day that happens, India will start loosing accounts...like IBM to China since China can cost-cut India or any other country easily. Doctors returning to India- from where? Europe/ UK- why? cuz of new E.U rules and partly racism. I am not gonna defend E.U. cuz YES THEY ARE RACIST..hell they discriminate against poor East European countries...foreigners coming to India for education- yes cuz 'when in rome..."- US executives are smart enough to do a stint in India to know and learn about the Indian idiosyncrasies and compete in future.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 04:06 PM  Permalink
Sandy - instead of looking at today's situation, you are predicting about the future..so sad... see the present scenario - US brain drains, investment/employments coming to India..means the focus is only INDIA... and you praise US executives of their move..so sad.. at least be happy that something good is happening for India... you are envisaging shift of BPOs to china in the long run and feeling happy that India would loose the activities... it is just like wishing your own home to get collapsed... what a way to think....wah wah so called NRI/Indian

by Sandy Sen on Apr 18, 2007 10:35 PM  Permalink
"you are envisaging shift of BPOs to china in the long run and feeling happy that India would loose the activities" - Are you F-ing blind? Where did you see I was happy? You asked all the 'Whys' so I was giving you a business perspective- not my personal opinion. If you read Businessweek or watch MSNBC, they are writing or saying the same things- that's what business is all about- speculations and am sorry if it upsets you.May be you will mobilize a crowed and ransack the Businessweek/MSNBC office- won't you? Anyways I think I am wasting my time discussing what or who an NRI Indian is or should be with a TWAT like you.

by abu thomas on Apr 18, 2007 10:34 AM  Permalink
I agree with u pramod!all are going out of india on "brain drain" syndrome, to earn money.But,let us also think of the mother of Prof.Lognathan who would not have seen a place except her village.A mother's love will be always available even if her children do not take care. Nowadays, going to U.S.for their daughters' confinement has become a "fashion" for middle class aunties,maamis and athais of south india, atleast tamilnadu.Let the poor still become poorer and rich become still richer!

help by India
by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 09:53 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

here is a question to Indian Government:
we faced many calamities during the past decade- to name a few:
1. Bomb blasts in Mumbai (Ayodhya issue)
2. Gujarat carnage/violance (hundred died)
3. Tsunami (thousands)
4. Mumbai Bomb blasts (recent)
how much total remittance we received from NRIs settled in various countries who make a pleasure trip to India once in 2 or 5 years..? What did they do to help those families whose bread-winning member died in the above incidents?
In what way they are contributing in the progress of India?

RE:help by India
by satyendra kumar on Apr 18, 2007 10:46 AM  Permalink
Miss Anusha,

You are very wrong. Being in a foreign country, these NRIs miss their homeland so much that they donate at the drop of a hat, forget about any major calamities. It is just that people are not properly informed of their activities. Every dropof blood shed in India of any fellow countryman hurts them more than it hurts Indians, so t is only logical that they care for the people back at home. May be some NGOs take advantage of their kindness and help themselves instead of giving it away to people for whom the help was sent.

Hope the above comments clears your ideas some and also of all teh Indians who have this misconception. That apart, the remittances not only helps GOI but also the family members who live in foreign countries.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 10:58 AM  Permalink
satyendra...if you were missing your homeland then that choice was yours... even a poor family who earn Rs.5000 a month and staying together with his family is helping others monetarily/physically and in all respect.. by donating a couple of hundreds of dollars, you are not doing a great thing to your mother land and fellow citizens...how much onus you take in your own village development, education, upliftment of poor etc. are the question... i know you all have no answers to many questions... you are forcing us to say that BETTER TAKE CARE OF YOURSELVES/FAMILIES and not depend on other Indians or India government to help when you face a problem.

by Jo on Apr 18, 2007 11:05 AM  Permalink
Rightly said Mr Satyendra. I completely agree with you. Ask the Govt to end these bloody reservations. If good students can get admissions to good universities based on merit why would they leave their country. And miss Anusha its very easy to comment that people are enjoying in US without knowing the facts. Please atleast have some circle of friends who went to foreign countires and try to ask and analyze what made them to goto other countries before making these useless comments.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 11:17 AM  Permalink
Agreeing with Satyendra does not make a difference..I also agree with him over the mssage board... what you can make to stop the government from passing the reservation bill? think about that...that action would itself be a contribution to India's future..

by Jo on Apr 18, 2007 11:36 AM  Permalink
Even your illusions doesn't make a difference Ms. Anusha. People who really contribute to country never shout a loud that we are contributing. Their contributions come in a calm way. OK??? You know "Khaali dabbe hi zyaada aawaz karte hain"

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:17 PM  Permalink
it will only make a difference, when you face such a situation what the poor Professor's family facing today (I wish you never face such a situation).

by Sandy Sen on Apr 18, 2007 12:02 PM  Permalink
Anusha- seriously are you on pot? Out of the 4 incidents mentioned by you, I would rate Tsunami as THE CAUSE to contribute- since it's a natural disaster. I know for sure, thousands of NRIs, apart from taking their so called pleasure trips, have donated to Tsunami charities. Now, the other incidents are purely man-made, by our corrupot politicians- who are not concerned about the facts like average daily income of an India is way below global standards, but they would create a ruckus for Richard Gere kissing Shilpa. Also, how come you never mentioned the misappropriation of funds done by govt employees, ministers, which is enough to discourage people to donate money- Hell I dont wanna pay for a Delhi politicians new SUV! Wake girl- people do donate but all that money, food goes to some place else..to black markets- not the fault of NRIs.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:16 PM  Permalink
Is the professor's killing a man made or natural disaster...then why are we discussing about Indian Government help to the deceased Professor's family...

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 12:09 PM  Permalink
Anusha,
You question: "In what way they (NRIs) are contributing in the progress of India?"

A hint: e-mail Dr. N. R. Narayana Murthy of Infosys.

My question: "In what way Anusha R is contributing in the progress of India?"

Please quantify the amount, if any!

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:19 PM  Permalink
let us not divert to organisations...we are talking about individual contribution in any manner...not only monetary... do not try to take credit of someone else's/corporate's contribution....

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 12:21 PM  Permalink
n what way Anusha R is contributing in the progress of India?

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:30 PM  Permalink
by being a part of the system, by being a citizen residing in the same country facing and fighting the system, by earning and contributing within the country, by working within India for its development... and you...making your foundation from India and building it somewhere else and commenting on Indians..and its political system, poverty and develoment...

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 12:37 PM  Permalink
Anusha,
You are not a part of the US system, you are not a citizen of the US, you are not contributing to the US, then why do you have to make comments about the US and how it treats its residents?

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:43 PM  Permalink
you own fellow US resident said that...read the messages properly before you open your mouth

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 12:49 PM  Permalink
"...your settling down as a 2nd rated citizen in a country where students and professors are killed by students" Who wrote this? Your ghost?

You think I am from the US. Dont assume too many things.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:56 PM  Permalink
Damodar - read this post by Anindya:
by Sandy Sen on Apr 18, 2007 11:52 AM
Anusha- you mental midget! I am finishing my PhD from US and have no qualms in admitting the fact (and I know almost every Desi in US will agree with me) we had to leave India cuz we are being made to feel like 2nd rated citizens due to 'Quota' politics..might as well go and be a 2nd rated citizen in a country which gives the right opportunites to deserving people..and not to someone because of their race.

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 12:58 PM  Permalink
did he write that the US is "a country where students and professors are killed by students"?

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 05:18 PM  Permalink
you Dam odar - the subject of discussion if the Killing of Professor and the Students..you have lost track of discussion..sorry for you

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 11:01 PM  Permalink
You are fit to be a politician. Try there!

by Damodar Shenoy on Apr 18, 2007 12:30 PM  Permalink
why no response?

by Sandy Sen on Apr 18, 2007 12:25 PM  Permalink
Anusha read my other post- I dont think Profs family needs any money from Indian govt. And it was you who made a list of 4 events, not me..hence the reply.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 12:32 PM  Permalink
you all could not understand what was my intention, (forget-you will not even)..even if there exist a monetary help, we, Indians would willingly contribute..I was only talking of a system in place....and you made a big fuss of it..

by Sathish on Apr 18, 2007 10:04 AM  Permalink
I thought of not replying to Anusha useless comments - but having seen the outer world and with so many of my friends and ex-collegues being outside India - working and languishing - due to lack of proper work in india...

Anusha - ur response shows 1 thing - none of people known to u are working overseas - u dont know anything about indians working overseas missing their near and dear one - though its true for monetary benefits... and also you dont know anything about money pouring in from these overseas working indians...

So you better think before writing something

by sandip on Apr 18, 2007 11:07 AM  Permalink
comn yaar if they are missing so much ,then why don't they comeback and earn in Rs.Actually these ppl have gone their to satisfy their own dollar dream.Most of them are highly qualified and If after gaining so much of knowledge (that also from ur own country)u r of no use for ur own people, then what kind of person u r .I would like to tell u that i have ample opportunity to go abroad(M.tech and MBA) ,but i'll never do that .I will stay here grind myself n do something for my own people.I know many people will give -ve reply to my post ,bt i don't care abt them .

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 11:14 AM  Permalink
Hats off to you Sandip..we are proud of you

by abu thomas on Apr 18, 2007 10:37 AM  Permalink
i agree completely with anusha.please stop balming our poor indians. by the way, are u in india?

by balaji on Apr 18, 2007 10:05 AM  Permalink
Agreed that NRI's are not helping India enough, do you mean to say it is ok for the parents of prof, should be denied a decent burial for their son because the NRI did not contribute anything to India, how mean !!

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 10:11 AM  Permalink
have I ever said anything of that sort...why you want to read in between he lines...If the government does not help, I am the first one who wish to help them in any manner I can. Since the government does not have a proper channel where accountability of the remittance of NRIs are available, we are not able to force the government to help every Indian who are settled outside, when in need. YES, enough money is pouring from NRIs, but through which channel? that is the question..through NGOs, through social service orgnaisation, through temple websites ... which is not accounted in a particular (centralised) system...

RE:RE:help by India
by on Apr 18, 2007 10:44 AM  Permalink
it is the NRI money that is playing havoc in indian market ... be it real estate or shopping

Their attitude of buy land, flat at whatever price has actually created a mad rise in the market

Offcourse...NRI money is pouring in...but for what?? what percentage for noble causes??? I bet...if the Dubai market is lucrative...these self-proclaimed india lovers will not hesitate to shift loyalty. Even resurgent India bond was a success...just because of the great returns it offered... If Indian govt releases a GREAT INDIA BOND promising a return of 1% ...none of these NRIs will turn a eye

Having lived in US and Europe for 5 years, and given atleast 40% of my earnings to good causes in India, I am feeling sick at greedy attitude of NRI.

They may claim ...AID,BAID, CAID etc with corpus. Can any one of NRIs tell us what percentage of their earnings they contribute for India development?? Donot talk absolute numbers like $1000, $2000 etc

To me, a silent Indian living in India with income Rs.5000 and giving Rs.500 for noble causes (10%) is very great than a self-trumpeting NRI who gives $100 (Rs.4500) from a earning of $5000 (2 %)

NRI's ...earn a lot...no worries...spend lavishly .... but...donot raise your voice. ...dont talk abt india, culture etc.

Live happily anywhere you are

by vasudev chari on Apr 18, 2007 10:31 AM  Permalink
There is no use expecting anything from the Govt. of India. Instead all thinking Indians should find a workable way of getting rid of the "dirty, corrupt" politicians of this country. The rest of us will be bound by love for each other, in an honest way..Chari.

Govt. and Slain Professor's / Teachers
by ramnath shankar on Apr 18, 2007 09:42 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Govt. Should just up and Do its DUTY .
What did it do for Prof. Sabharwal at Indore ?
A State Govt. Prepetuated the MURDER and you think Govt. Will help.

SO Sorry MR. Manmohan

RE:Govt. and Slain Professor's / Teachers
by Full2Njoy on Apr 18, 2007 09:55 AM  Permalink
Relax buddy. Lets not mix up things.
Write direct to the PM here http://pmindia.nic.in/

Help to Professor's family
by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 09:41 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

yes, we should help the professor's family..it is just like one of India's son went away and settled somewhere else-does not mean that he is no more the son of the soil. we should also help all those Indians who are out of the country in need of time, like how we helped our countrymen when the Iraq war started. However, here are some observation/suggestion I wanted to make:
1. All Indians who have gone abroad to make a forture should also help India monetarily to prosper - there needs to be an Embassy like office where they get register themselves and remit say 3% of the income per annum to Indian Government which will be kept in reserve for need of time.
2. All Indians who are working abroad leaving their family behind should remit 5% of their annual income to the Indian Government to be kept in reserve for help in need of time.
3. Help to those families and NRI's only would be provided by Indian government when such crises happen outside India..

RE:Help to Professor's family
by MANIKANDAN CHOCKA on Apr 18, 2007 10:00 AM  Permalink
Hello Anusha,

This is from an INDIAN settled in US......

1. Who says We, INDIANS who are employed in US or anywhere in the world for that matter do not help or think about OUR country's progress?

2. Do you know if the professor wasnt doing anything good towards OUR country?

3. What about YOU INDIANS who live in INDIA and do nothing towards the progress and betterment of the country???

FIRST LOOK INSIDE YOU BEFORE POINTING YOUR FINGERS TOWARDS OTHERS!

JAI HIND.

by abu thomas on Apr 18, 2007 10:38 AM  Permalink
Manikand....please stop using JAIHIND.Its sending shivers.

RE:RE:Help to Professor's family
by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 10:06 AM  Permalink
Dear Manikandan...I am sorry if i hurt your feelings...what I was talking is a mechanisam, where the Government would have a separate kitty always to help our brother/sisters living outside India in need of time. By creating such a policy, the help from our own country is guaranteed to the families of the affected person. I did not say that NRI Indians are not doing anything to the progress of the country. There are many many NRIs who voluntarily provide monetary assistance to NGOs and other social organisations (particularly from the US)...but we could always channalise thse remittance through a Government mechanism...that is what I meant.

by shashank chauhan on Apr 18, 2007 10:21 AM  Permalink
wouldn't have bothered to write but I feel that many of us are just plain ignorant of the fact that thr r lots of thing which ppl in US do for our country. As a student here in US, i am a part of an organization called AID (Association for India's Development), every year we raise close to $20K and use that money to fund various projects done by several NGO's back in the country. Our's is a primarily Student chapter but there are over 40 chapters of AID in USA and doing thr part towards serving the country. And AID is just one organization, thrs ASHA and thr r several others. I am not sure if u know abt contribution and awareness that these organizations raised during Tsunami.
For more information u can go and check the website www.aidindia.org
I agree that we dont really do the grassroot work, but let me tell even if we were in India we wldnt have been able to do so, cos not only it requires a lot of commitment but also a lot of specialized training and all that requires time which sadly not all have (ask urself this ques, if u have time and motivation and more importantly for how long u can sustain that).
I feel that rather than pointing fingers we better do our part in best possible manner.

by Anusha R on Apr 18, 2007 10:31 AM  Permalink
Shashank...these are voluntary contributions which a miniscule percentage of NRIs do to help their fellow citizens...being India, I too contribute directly and indirectly to many NGOs, social organisations etc, besides paying Professional Tax, Income Tax, Surcharge, Service Tax, Education Cess etc. We also know very well how much of the NRI fund is being put to the actual use by the mushrooming so called NGOs. We, Indians are always thankful to those brothers/sisters who help us from outside. At least, we are having a constructive discussion on this issue - but see others remarks and comments - most of those idiots say NO to help the poor Prof.'s family...
while on this subject, I would even recommend all NRIs to create a Trust called the NRI trust and contribute to the same according to individual capacity, so that one need not depend on the stupid Indian government to discuss/debate and decide about rendering help.

by Jo on Apr 18, 2007 11:28 AM  Permalink
Dear Anusha Madam,
If anything is done voluntarily that's really with a good heart. If you channelize things throught govt then I am sure Govt will corrupt that system also. ha what a joke through Govt!!!.

government help is not needed
by A P on Apr 18, 2007 09:29 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am not sure why should Govt help just professor's family. There were 33 people killed. Prof was as much an American citizen as many of those students. Assuming some of the students were from other countries. If we have to help we should help all of them and not just the prof..

RE:government help is not needed
by Tinku Baidya on Apr 18, 2007 09:44 AM  Permalink
u r rt

RE:government help is not needed
by remo fernado on Apr 18, 2007 09:48 AM  Permalink
I agree with AP

ambiguous
by yhew on Apr 18, 2007 09:24 AM  Permalink 

What an ambiguous title the articles has! What ya guys think!

government help ??!
by krishna desiraju on Apr 18, 2007 09:16 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

what government help ?? the man ran away from this country and was an american citizen !! dear government, kindly take care of your own hapless citizens first. charity begins at home.

RE:government help ??!
by mandava chaitanya on Apr 18, 2007 09:25 AM  Permalink
If the reservations don't stop, everyone will leave.

by hanumanth naik on Apr 18, 2007 09:22 AM  Permalink
Dude, If govt tries to do some thing is wrong if it doesnot do anything also it is wrong. It is people like you who can only criticize. Obviously you must be inIndia thats why you are using words like" Ran away".

RE:RE:government help ??!
by remo fernado on Apr 18, 2007 09:48 AM  Permalink
The word was harsh, but certainly giving Prof's
family monetary help is totally belittling the the acccidental deaths of poor in india.
Mr Naik seems to have a hard feelings for people living in India which is totally wrong as he too hails from the same country. Shame on Mr Naiks statement.

by Prasad TS on Apr 18, 2007 09:34 AM  Permalink
Mr. Desiraju Krishna is not wrong (if not perfect). While the professor's death is certainly unfortunate and loss especially to the family, I don't think the family requires monetary help, consider te fact that having settled in the USA and doing very well in his work, the family certainly deserves a help other than monetary help.

And think of if a poor person in India dies, what help do his kith and kin receive?

Total 150 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3   Older >