The biggest problem with Indian politics today is the lack of choice. To speak like AB: there are two kinds of dogs in India today - those with four legs, and those with two; and the later have a profession - politics khelna!
RE:Lack of choice
by Gold Edge on Apr 18, 2007 10:50 AM Permalink
Most of the criminals after their failure elsewere are becoming successful Politicians.
During the year 1984 assembly election in UP, the congress bagged 400 seats from the Total 424 seats at that time. After that congress rooted in that state and BJP came to power. Now what is position of Congress and BJP, both are not in a position to come to power. The UP people somewhat wise because they tried congress for more than 40 years and after that they tried BJP. Now UP voters should have to vote for a third party, either SP or BSP but not for BJP or Congress. Both are not fit for Hindustan.
RE:UP Election.
by Chanakya on Apr 17, 2007 04:18 PM Permalink
People of UP are indeed intelligent. In the race of political fragmentation they are the torch-bearers. Other states will follow soon.
Post-independence India's political history has seen three phases.
Congress dominated the first phase spanning about 50 years, till the fall of PV Narsimha Rao. Socialism and pseudo-secularism were the two main pillars of Congress empire. By introducing economic liberalization PVNR destroyed on pillar. The other pillar could not hold Congress up. So it collapsed.
The second phase had rather short duration - from 1996 to 2004. BJP dominated with its own brand of Nationalist Hinduism. But due to some unknown reason, still undiscovered by our political pundits, its fortunes sank suddenly.
After 2004 Congress is back, but not as the old, powerful Congress. Now it is more like a big regional party which badly needs the support of political outfits of all hues and colours - except saffron - to survive. 2004 effectively marked the end of centrist politics in India. The coming years will see rapid rise of regional and caste-based parties. The Third Front will be a force to reckon with. But that political group will not have any permanent member. It will be opportunistic and dynamic alliance of all political parties other than Congress and BJP.
That is the future of India - demise of national politics and rapid fragmentation of mandate.
Below 50% polling is taking place in U.P. and people verdict cannot be considered. The communal party like BJP will be the gainer because of the controversial CD and hence, BJP should be derecognised by the Election Commission.
It is shocking to note to the decay of UP. Last few years it has been fiercely competing with Bihar to be the worst governed state in India.
In a democracy we cannot really blame the politicians entirely. Politicians as a class are basically crooked, unethical and shameless. That holds good for any country in the world. It is the duty of the people to carefully select the best from the rotten bunch and subsequently keep them under control.
All the states of India follow the same constitution, have the same kind of politicians. Then what does lead to the glaring differences in quality of governance between different states? In the same India we have Bihar and Maharashtra, UP and Tamil Nadu.
I think it is time that we started analyzing the crisis of governance from a sociologist's point of view.
RE:Misgovernance in UP
by Ravikiran on Apr 17, 2007 02:39 PM Permalink
I think as long as u have people voting on caste and religious lines, you will have these kind of politics and politicians. It is the same across the country but UP is an extreme case of that.
Mulayam can even dream of coming back to power (in fact, he is a serious contender) only because of the loyal yadav and muslim vote banks.
The fault lies with the people. This was the case with Bihar but nitish kumar somehow worked the arithmetic and also was able to raise some hope and break this vicious cycle. I dont know who can do that in UP.
The other way of breaking this is to raise the emotions like the mandir issue. I think the BJP is trying to do a similar act this time with the CD and ads.
RE:RE:Misgovernance in UP
by Prince Little on Apr 17, 2007 09:36 PM Permalink
I agree. As someone rightly said: In a democracy people get what they deserve. So if people vote based on vested and misplaced interests, indian politics will stay volatile and partisan.
RE:amitabh ko kuto
by gabri on Apr 17, 2007 02:58 PM Permalink
aditi sengupta you are a damfool. actors like big b are making mindless persons like you a big fool.
by Lucknow resident on Apr 17, 2007 05:31 PM Permalink
Dear Aditi, please refer to the above reply I have given to Sanjay's response (to my reply). And I do not have any kids. More important, I do not support Samajwadi Party or its agenda, although I feel most of their policies, if implemented in the right spirit, can make the state the Uttam Pradesh MSY so often refers it as. And yes, I am sick and doomed, for the simple reason that I live in a country where we engage in only tomfoolery.
by sanjay dutt on Apr 17, 2007 02:50 PM Permalink
amitabh is playing with the emotions of poor peoples, he is campaign for sp and saying that UP mein crime kum hai, bhootni ka amitabh nithari mein ja kar rahe akal thikane a jayegi.
by Lucknow resident on Apr 17, 2007 05:27 PM Permalink
Amitabh Bachchan is the brand ambassador for UP. In that capacity, it is his job to present the state in a positive light. Moreover, when Big B says 'jurm yahan hain kam', he says this on the basis of the National Crime Record Bureau report, which is brought out by the Central government. Analysing the report, one can see that the per lakh population crime rate in UP is less than in 31 other states including Delhi and other so-called crime-free states. Nithari, of course, was a tragedy that cannot be ignored. But, even though the Samajwadi Party has qualified as a party that takes/gives support from/to criminals, it had apparently little to do with Nithari (Of course, if one conducts an impartial inquiry one could find links perhaps). So merely admonishing Amitabh Bachchan or harping over Nithari cannot be constructive. It is our state and we all are responsible for the situation.
by educationforu on Apr 17, 2007 09:42 PM Permalink
woh to already ganjaa hai.....wig pahantaa hai......uska ad saboot hai ki amitabh ek bade dhong aur swaang ka naam hai....ya to fir woh sabse badaa andhaa hai !
All the troubled parts where the situation is going from bad to worse should be handed over to military under the supervision of good reputed people, who all are impartial & have desire to make the above places worth living for human beings. Tatas being in erstwhile Bihar for more than 125 years but still Bihar is most backward areas of India because of Politians & criminal nexus.
RE:UP, Bihar & other troubled states with Law & Order problems
by avi on Apr 17, 2007 05:00 PM Permalink
Please give defination of "good reputed people". Who are they? can u identifiy any single individual in country who is impartial. And waht to put nation before himself and then intreseted in politics?
by HEMANSHU KOTHARI on Apr 17, 2007 08:51 PM Permalink
there r so many for instance Kiran bedi IPS Delhi, Khairnar mumbai municipal commissioner and even in politicians also ther r so many good people
by educationforu on Apr 17, 2007 09:43 PM Permalink
and then there is Amitabh Bachchan also....hehehehehehehe
When you have voting percentage less than 50 % , how can you call UP Poll obsessed , You should call them Poll Frustrated which would have been more apt .
RE:How can say UP is Poll obsessed
by Aman A on Apr 17, 2007 04:21 PM Permalink
yes muslim voting is 110% , the other 10% is bogus.. so SP will win, I BET!! (muslims always do 110% voting, either themselves or with the help of bangladeshi's)
Impressive ad... Hope common man takes notice of it and decide accordingly...but the dilemma remains, the choice between politicians is that of devil and the deep sea...sad state.
This one is an interesting story and gives us an insight into DECISION MAKING
A group of children are playing near two railway tracks, one still in use and the other unused.
Only one child is playing on the unused track, the rest on the operational track. A train comes and you are just beside the track changer. You can make the train change its course to the unused track and save most of the kids. However that would also mean the lone child playing on the unused track would be killed. Will you let the train go on its way or switch its tracks?
Pl. Pause for a minute and take a decision.
Many of us might choose to divert the course of the train and sacrifice only one child because to save most of the children at the expense of only one child is a rational decision that most people would make morally and emotionally. But have you ever thought the child choosing to play on the unused track had in fact made the right decision to play at a safe place?
Nevertheless, he had to be sacrificed because of his ignorant friends who chose to play where the danger was.This kind of dilemma happens around us everyday. In the office, in the community, in politics and especially in a democratic society, the minority (here the word does not mean the contempory political word-'minority' ) is often sacrificed for the interest of the majority, no matter how ignorant the majority is, and how far-sighted and knowledgeable the minority is. The child who chose not to play with the rest on the operational track was sidelined. And in case he was sacrificed, no one would shed tear for him.
The kids playing on the operational track should have known very well that the track was still in use, and that they should have run away if they heard the train's sirens. If the train was diverted, that lone child would definitely die because he never thought the train could come over to that track! Moreover that track was not in use probably because it was not safe. If the train was diverted to the track, we could put the lives of all the passengers on board at stake! And in your attempt to save a few kids by sacrificing one child, you might end up sacrificing hundreds of people to save these few kids. While we are all aware that life is full of tough decisions that need to be made, we may not realize that hasty decisions may not always be the right ones.
REMEMBER:- "What's right isn't popular..... and what's popular isn't always right."
RE:DECISION MAKING
by amit madan on Apr 17, 2007 01:01 PM Permalink
Your story might not be relevant to this context but thats very much reevant with Indian system. Nice one!!
by Ram Sharma on Apr 17, 2007 04:29 PM Permalink
though the example given is not relevant and ending is not good. but still it gives a food for thought.
by Natarajan HK on Apr 17, 2007 11:01 AM Permalink
Not very relevant! Looks like you have copy pasted from elsewhere without giving much importance to the contezt.
And then there are too many assumptions - one kid on an unused track, divert the train to the unused one, kids(!!!) should apply sense!, people are at risk when diverted to the unused track.
do you think the train would be diverted if the unused track is not operational?
You started off well but ended up with too many unrealistic assumptions and made a mess of it.
RE:RE:DECISION MAKING
by Shak IsHere on Apr 17, 2007 12:06 PM Permalink
natarajan, just read the article and keep your mouth shut. who asked for your "expert" opinion? nobody gives a damn about ur unintelligent reply. Do you have to pull anybody down to prove your point. Be constructive in your criticism nut-rajan
RE:RE:RE:DECISION MAKING
by Aanadi Aanant on Apr 17, 2007 12:18 PM Permalink
what the effing hell !!! kids should not play on rail tracks at all....why the effing hell u pasted this irrelevant and stupid story here?