Why nobody is talking about returning of 400,000 Kashmiri Hindus to the valley?
Mufti Syed and his party is trying to legitimize Islamic fundamentalism in Valley by coopting them. Praveen Swami wrote a good piece in the Hindu last week on that.
We are now seeing burkha clad women rousing rulle at drop of a pin, vandalizing, killing innocent people.
Forget Terrorism for a minute. This menace of growing Islamisation in valley and India is going to create much bigger problem for all of us.
Unfortunately, our political class is unable to meet these fundamentalism head on. They are thinking for short term vote little realizing they are legitimizing Islamists.
In UP election, terrorists are standing as candidate of Muslim Group. But they are busy targetting BJP.
About troops withdrawl? Congress can do anything to remain in power. Solution of Kashmir will be long 20 years of BJP's rule in India wih single majority and removal of special rights of the state.
Follow what China did to Tibet: change the demography.
Why the hell is the govt spending time and money to discuss troop withdrawal? It should not be done until the last terrorist is killed and all terrorist training camps in Pakistan are destroyed.
Reason is very simple. Congress wants to remain in power by getting Muslim vote. That's why they are pampering to terrorism, caring little for 400,000 Kashmiri Hindus as Hindus care little for their religion, culture or plight of their co-religionists.
However, in my opinion, soft-policy in Kashmir will be major flashpoint in India. It will unnecessarily bring Indian Muslims into picture which should be avoided at any cost.
In the long run, Cong will be looser at both sides. Like Jinnah, Indian Muslims will drift away from Congress. Neither Hindus will feel safe under Congress.
It is a time to know that majority of Indian people should know the difference between Indian Muslim Community and LeT and ISI.Let,ISI and any other group may be small deviation militant group just like ULFA OR NAXALS who are nothing to do with Indian Muslim community, You can see that if Indian Muslim Community is Numbered 15 crores,these Militant outfits may be less than 5 Lakhs.So it is a time to control and curb those LeT and ISI and other hardliners,also some Bajarangdal people who distributes Trishul to kill innocent muslims. when making comment dont mention Muslims just mention terrorist outfits or hardline LeT and ISI.
Againg the same rant! Are you condemning LeT, Lashkar etc who are global terror organization?
You talk about Bajrang Dal - tell us ho does Bajrang Dal compare with terror unleashed by the Islamic groups in Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and worldwide?
This moral relativism, inability to condemn Islamic errorism, and worse equating them with Bajrang Dal (in India), with Bush (In global scale) HAVE BEEN THE PRIMARY REASON FOR DECLINING IMAGE OF ISLAM.
Make no mistake, in today's world, nobody will follow Gandhiji's policy.
You throw stone, and get a brick bat in return. Its as simple as that.
RE:Please know the difference
by KETAN DESAI on Apr 10, 2007 10:08 PM Permalink
I am with you that major muslims population don't have any connections with Terrorism. However major portions of musilms are supporters(by some or other way)of terrorism on the name of Islam. And it is not national problem , it international problem. Be it Kashmir, Asfghnistan, Iraq, Chechinya, UK , US or any other counry. Believe it or not, fact does not change.
Ketan: Most muslims may not have dirct relation with terrorism. But they don't take aggressive stand either opposing terrorism.
Rather most of them raise question to confuse people, like Budh/Bajrang Dal is equally guilty.
There are some writings on Quran which forbids an "muslim" oppose another Muslim when he is engaged in any dispute with infidel.
This is the reason, they refuse to condemn Islamic terrorism.
Its the same reason when Muslim leaders like Ali brothers didn't support Gandhiji when Gandhiji asked Ali Brothers to condemn the killer (a muslim guy) of Swami Shraddhanad.
Ali brother said: EVEN A KILLER MUSLIM IS A BETTER MAN THAN GANDHI HIMSELF.
It is important that we educate ourselves about the history and realities of Kashmir. Unfortunately, not many people seem to know much about what Kashmir means to our part of the world.
An exhibition on Kashmir is available online http://www.factusa.org/totalexhibit/exhibition.asp
It was shown at the US Capitol in 2005 and was responsible for making a lot of US lawmakers put pressure on Pakistan.
As i watch CNN last week,one documentary shown that India and Pakistan spends nearly 30-35% of budget income for troops and arms.a single bomb or missile production cost over 10-60 crores of rupees.By having 50 lakhs one can open 3 projects india and can feed over 100 families.The illegal arm race between both has created so much arm-race which is un-necessary and these funds can be deployed for fair accomodation,education and employment of citizens.Both countries should think of reality and have agreement of peace and stability in the region,and think poor people first where in india we have 30% of population are still struglling for 1 time meals.
RE:Defence spendings
by haresh rajkumar talreja on Apr 10, 2007 11:30 AM Permalink
Dear Abdul khader, well said, your comments are worth noting...but again...confidence has to be there not only between the two governments, but between the people of both the countries and importantly between the two armies....unless there is trust between the armies, people and the governments...both sides will keep on piling weapons....
Dear Mr Manmohan Sing, Withdraw troops, allow terrorists and blast innocent Indians. God save India from the hands of this spine less selfish Politicians.
Whom is Manmohan Singh pleasing? As PM,he should act to devise means to regain control over the Pakistan Occupied Kashmir. We are spending over 5 crore per day to maintain our troops in Siachin. To what end? Instead we could have 365 km of four lane national highway every yr. Pakistan has been bleeding us physically and financially. We have third rate leaders doing politics. Let Manmohan Singh have the guts to show to the people of India the actual map of J&K which is in our control. I wonder if even 10% of Indians know that we ACTUALLY have-only 40% of Kasmir with us. The rest is occupied by Pakistan and China. It includes the Northern most region, illegaly ceded to China by Pakistan for construction of strategic link between them ie Karakoram highway. Congress has been making fool of us showing the J&K map as if all is well. Farookh Abdullah had the cheeks to recommend LOC being declared as IB. How do we accept to be led by such spineless selfish leaders. VP Singh as PM and Mufti as Home Minister initated the degeneration process in J&K by releasing Pakistani extremists for Mufti's daughter Rubia. Manmohan now wants to go a step further. Sonia may not understand the history. She may be happy being the remote control and as Rahul baba's mother watching him grow in politics. Instead of wasting time on preaching the SC and reservations for OBC in IIT, PM should devote time to prepare a road map to get the territory occupied by Pakistan and China vacated. Only then the World will respect India. Mr PM, if you dont act tough, you may have to face the pathetic sight of some "welfed delhites" on streets, demanding release of extremists for release of their relatives. Pranabh Mukherji may have to do Jaswant Singh then.
RE:Troops withdrawal from J&K
by suhas natyan on Apr 10, 2007 11:05 AM Permalink
dear baljit singh,please read the topic before making comments. This is a sensitive issue not a joke.
by Ujjwal on Apr 10, 2007 10:46 AM Permalink
very well said.. it is really our bad luck 2 get such ministers in OUR Country, and the worst is that they listen 2 ministers like Mufti who always intentionaly does such things to please pakis. Actually they always do this because we r not united among ourselves. Sala nobody cares for the country, ready to do anything to please anybody to get only votes. really pathethic.....
by Aviram Vijh on Apr 10, 2007 10:42 AM Permalink
well said, but it will be against interest to fight against pak (with china's presence). the BJP government had the best chance to even the odds at kargil when the world knew that pakistani troops had entered indian part of kashmir. but we didnt reciprocate when were had the strength to do so (which wasnt the case earlier).
i like the part abt the money we spend and the lives we sacrifice...very true...but perhaps u can suggest a solution?
by Gurpreet Khalsa on Apr 10, 2007 10:59 AM Permalink
Just look at him. How henious is this guy. He think uplifting the OBC's is a wastage of time.
by Aviram Vijh on Apr 10, 2007 11:00 AM Permalink
because they are insensitive to these probs, which are far more serious.
by Ujjwal on Apr 10, 2007 11:21 AM Permalink
This is main problem with all of us that we always divert ourselves to other issues fogetting than mian issue what we r discussing here. Why OBC,. SC-ST points r raising?
by suhas natyan on Apr 10, 2007 11:17 AM Permalink
Well said, i doubt on functioning of congress govt. and why they are trying to please mufti is really strange. Withdrawl of army need to be discuused BUT NOT BY THESE TYPE OF POLITICIANS. It is strange that maximum of our politicians vote for a law which can help them in gain of VOTES the pride of nation, the development of nation are becoming secondary things, the standard of politics we are having is decreasing drastically, politics on basis of caste, religion and divide and rule basis is gaining momentum, and i fear where our India will go if we will have this type of politics. Its good that you(some of the POLITICIANS) fight each other but at least when the question comes of our motherland you(some of the POLITICIANS) should stand all together, BUT NO, they just want money and power.
by Aviram Vijh on Apr 10, 2007 10:45 AM Permalink
forgot to say....unplifting our sc sts and IIT are the most important challenges for our country. saldy people like u think that this is a secondary issue and 'vacating' china and pakistand from those 18000 ft uninhabited hills is a more pressing matter!
Let us face the truth that Kashmir is a lost battle. The expenses we incur over it suck India like a leech. Let the people of Kashmir live without the pressure of Army and Terrorists hovering over their heads. They claim that they will be better of without the troops, and that such a move will reduce or eliminate militancy which they fill is a result of army presence. Lets give it a try; in case it fails then the Kashmiris will never be able to point a finger on the troops. On the other hand in case its work; there will be peace, and I guess thats what all of us want.
RE:Face the Truth
by rishi on Apr 10, 2007 10:31 AM Permalink
Aviram: Islamists want Delhi too...(actually if u see the Lashkar e taiba videos, they dont talk of Kashmir anymore..they talk of Delhi now) So next step would be to withdraw from Delhi too....
Hindus ran from Pakistan, Bangladesh..then Kashmir...where else will we keep running away...we will run out of places my friend... do you think that will buy you peace?
by Aviram Vijh on Apr 10, 2007 10:38 AM Permalink
yes...i knw that my dear...infact my father is a Lt Gen in the army :)
The point u made abt hindus running away is what is most imp. We did not do ne thing to prevent islamic extremists frm systematically removing hindus from the valley. the muslims there hardly consider themselves indians. the hindus gone...muslims anti india...what are we fighting for. the point is not of cowardice...we had an opportunity at kargil to finish it once and for all but we didnt take it. POK can never ever be a part of India again. Just because a stupid parliamentary resolution says its in India, it hardlybecomes so. The maps of the world show 1/4 kashmir as pak, 1/4 as china and remaining 2/4 as india.
we cant compare the scenario of kashmir and extend it to other areas of india...its not easy for them to make delhi another srinagar. but unless we are going to proactively stop 'terrorism', there is no point protecting a bunch of no hopers and sending our sons to die for them.
by rishi on Apr 10, 2007 10:43 AM Permalink
then my friend...you father will also help you understand how important Kashmir is to India, ie, strategically. Islam has been the bane of Kashmir and turned this wonderful jewel of place into a hellhole. We have a responsibility to this ancient land that was a fountainhead of many Hindu traditions.
by Aviram Vijh on Apr 10, 2007 10:56 AM Permalink
it is very imp. but what is the fault of those poor kashmiris staying there. If the Indian Government had the balls, they should have shot all the Abdul Gani Lone's and Bhat's and Yasin Malik's dead for treason. But we dont do that, becoz we dont even consider them indians. hanging on to a mistake is a bigger mistake. I have no particular liking of seeing kashmir not a part of india, but neither do i have a liking for seeing 1000 s of our soldiers die for people who dont even appreciate our efforts and for a country which just blames its governments for the mistakes in kashmir (which is of course lected ny the same people)!!
let us move foward, india is very strong economically now. we have to focus on more pressing matters. Pakistan cannot give up its stance because they have got nothing else to do. if they stop fighting they'll starve becoz their economy survives via defence expenditures.
check mate them at their own game...without having to fight.
by Aviram Vijh on Apr 10, 2007 10:50 AM Permalink
thank u sire...its my love for india and its people which lets me see the truth which is hidden behind the veil strategically made by consortiums who dont want to solve the prob (like the US)
by qwer on Apr 10, 2007 10:47 AM Permalink
My dear friend Aviram, your idea seems wonderful, but it seems wonderful only when reading...do you know...in Kargil many soldiers lives were lost while defending Kashmir from being occupied....the reason for Kargil war was Pakistani army occupied Indian territory since Indian army was not stationed there...now when you say, Indian army should be withdrawn for a chance of peace...do you want another kashmir war to regain the territory and loose more Indian soldiers' lives...??
by Aviram Vijh on Apr 10, 2007 10:51 AM Permalink
no...u have misunderstood me...i have personally met both param vir chakras of the kargil war(non post humous). what i meant is that that was our chance to attack the POK part and takle it back...because we can then terming it as 'self defence' since we did not start the agression. but that didnt happen, and now post 2000, it is impossible to indulge in a war.
by rishi on Apr 10, 2007 10:57 AM Permalink
Aviram: With full respect to your tactical prowess(which I hope rubbed off on you from your Army dad), I have tell you that Pakistan is right now at its lowest in terms of its global acceptance quotent.
A limited tactical strike by India (not that it is needed now) is a very doa-able option.
by Aviram Vijh on Apr 10, 2007 10:59 AM Permalink
out of question....time will prove me right. I wish what u say happened...but not without the people of kashmir on our side. Plus, we need to bring back indira gandhi to do so. only she cud have :)
by SSCD on Apr 10, 2007 11:03 AM Permalink
For solving such issues you can't trade like a share market or try different colors on your drawing-room walls. There are no 'tries', such things once gone are gone for ever. Nehru did the same mistake when he went to UNO and made the LOC, which has now pretty much become an international border for all practical purposes.
Strategically we'd be very vulnerable if we loose control of Kashmir. We'd have to spend even more money to protect those 'flat' and long borders.
I feel that the political parties are just interested in filling their own safes with wealth & power and least interested in the National interest. We need someone who can lead the country well and to the top in all forms & on all fronts.