At least Narayan Murthy will be able to take forward what Abdul Kalam had dreamed of andd South Korea had done before us. A less corrupted society. The only way to achieve it is through use of Information Technology.
Who better than Murthy to architect this greatest social project involving a billion plus people from his country. This will be his greatest achievement and ours too.
RE:The best that can happen to India
by maignanam chandran on Apr 11, 2007 10:49 AM Permalink
Are you day dreaming or what.
India is ruled by the President of the Party which bags the largest number of MPs. For that matter not even the Prime Minister. If thats the case, What the Role of President ?
Let AK or NRN be in thier respective fields.
A good Cricketer is called a goods Sportsman, that doesn't mean he can play all the games hockey, football etc. etc.
Give me a Break....For God's sake please dont mix politics with IT. Let Mr Murthy Handle the indian IT industry and not the indian Govt. There are other reliable people fit for the role ot Prez.....its just the matter of finding them.
Dear friends.I have given ten years of my life to rediff mail.i am totaly dedicated to rediff,i can never think anything except rediff,Rediff is my life,but its sad to say that rediff is ignoring me. Rediff is not projecting me as a Presidential candidate.i have all the good qualities to be a politician,i am very good in lieying.i am also very good in dividing the country on communal lines,i am very corrupt,i'll will not mind doing any thing for money and power,i am also big chamcha of industrialist and celebraties.i spend most of my time in bollywood,i do not mind getting poor be killed for my interest.i can assure you that if politician like me would be in power there would 100% gurantee that the dignity of the country will be robbed. therefore My dear friends kindly vote and support me to make the country's future Insecure. i am ready to contest election with TAN,MON,DHAN,AND GUN also, I need ur blesseing,PLZ do not turn me down,as YOU the ppl are doing it for last sixty year.I also deserve a chance,Wasey App ka kya jata hai ,aap sey koi Paisa to man nahi rahey hain sirf vote hi to mang rahey hain. PLZ vote for me
RE:I want to be President
by ajit verma on Apr 11, 2007 10:34 AM Permalink
Well i won't give the vote but can assure all politician would love to vote for u.
by Gautam Sinha on Apr 11, 2007 01:58 PM Permalink
Your qualifications are more for like a UP MP/MLA or WB CM. As is evident from your 'qualifications' you are not OLD enough to be president. :-))
by maignanam chandran on Apr 11, 2007 10:36 AM Permalink
khan, you claim to be a worthy candidate. But by seeking the vote from we, you have proved what you are. If we vote, forget Prez, you won't even become Chaprasi at Rediff.com.
Do this chamcha giri at the Capital or seek Dawoods help. Who knows what in store for Indians.
1. Why don't the people want APJA Kalam to continue? He has the right personality and the very best credentials. After all he has done a very good job all over his tenure and can legally can opt for a second tenure.
2. He is maintaining silence while this debate is going on all over the media and the net. NDTV devoted an entire evening on April 9 asking Indians to vote on the issue. The vote is available on their website. (About 3000 votes have been cast)
Narayana Murthy's silence only indicates that he wants the top job but he wants to show that it is the Indians who want to reward him with the job for all what he has done for the IT sector.
3. All of us have read in our history books about the contribution of the TATA business house to the country and still no one from that family ever indicated about entering the public life. TATA's have remained outside the political spectrum and they may no longer have the largest business capitalizationare but are the most admired and appreciated business house in the country, because of their social, educational and welfare activities.
It is prudent for business leaders to stay away from and above politics to continue to serve the society.
4. The INFOSYS chief mentor should think of and try to implement his radical ideas through the wide reach of the Indian IT industry.
5. ONE FACT: Any one who uses a PC knows that despite India having the world's largest software producing industry ,
NOT ONE SINGLE FREE SOFTWARE UTILITY HAS BEEN DEVELOPED BY THE INDIAN IT INDUSTRY AND AVAILABLE FOR FREE DOWNLOAD FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE millions of home PC users in India. (SOFTWARE UTILITY i.e. OS, office Suites, Firewalls, Internet Utilities etc.)
6. Anyone who has seen the hindi movie Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham... (2001), remembers SK son singing the national anthem. I was watching the movie in a cinema hall when the boy started singing the anthem. I alongwith many others immediately stood up, but was surprised that many people continued to sit and stare at us as if we were fools. Perhaps they were ashamed and lacked self respect. I would never admire a man who has no respect for his country.
RE:Why I don't want Narayana Murthy as President.
by LAGIDU on Apr 11, 2007 11:17 AM Permalink
the ajenda of tata and nrn are differant. kampanies of tata exist for their family. they kannot survive any deviashan. NRN is a great man. he retired as CEO as per kampeni rules. he has not anointed his son in his posishan before his retiremant. he leeds a frugal living unlike family oriented businessmen. one needs some basik inner strength to understand the likes of NRN.
Mr. Murthy is a qualified person. He has made his money legally, he has also created lots of job opportunities for the indian youth, he deserves lots of respect. He is offcourse suited for the post of president, After APJ,who offcourse has absolutely no comparisions whatsoever, he is a good choice.
Please keep in mind Murthy is very rich, but he has earned his money legally, his company commands respect for work ethics, professionalism and good values, he is again 1000 times better than our politicians who have upsurped billions of our taxpaid money. He is a good speaker who knows what he talks.
RE:Murthy as president
by maignanam chandran on Apr 11, 2007 10:56 AM Permalink
Whether legal or illegally, money is money.
If NRN employs 1000's of ITians and makes them rich by crushing their juice out. Our politians do so by employing 1000's of hooligans/rowdies. Ultimately whether NRN or politicians contribute to the lives of 1000's.
Ultimately no one can keep the riches to himself. He has to give back to society in any form.
narain murthi is face of india , a changing and confident india , prepared to take on the world.he and his family understands indian values and ethos. his being elected will send right signals to the world.in the increasingly 'dirty' politics his being election will be, as late poet dushyant kumar wrote ' is andheri kothari me aik roshandan hai'
As a common man of india, i would want NRN to be our next president. But who cares me!! These polititions wont let him. There comes all castism, minority and what not!!(sonia would be first citizen one day!!) who knows?? Here each and every one is a king!!. India's so called democratic system is rotten dude!!
RE:Yes i would want to have NRN as my president..!
by dddelhi on Apr 11, 2007 09:47 AM Permalink
are yaar NRN agar precident bhee ban gaye to vo kaya kar leingein.. Ajad sahib ne bhee kaya teer maar liya. humara political system hee aisa hai..president to bechara aadmi hai.. Desh sala abhi bhee vahin ka vahin hai... in eminent and hounrable logo ko unhein ke field main rahne do kam se kam kahin to progress hogi..
Can anybody choose anything in India? Can you choose an honest MLA, MP, or even an honest leader in University. NOoooo. Nothing can be done honestly here, it seems. Why? Because politicians have been raping the Indian physice since long long. We have come to understand that honesty is a bad policy. What is th use of rubber stamp Presidents or Prime Ministers, or any other leader. It is no secret. O you all Indians can we do something about it? Pl. come forward and lets change things without personal interests. Lets restore faith of the common man in human values, and good governance. We are being led astray. We are being moved and used without our knowing. Why we can't come together and work for the greatest good for the greatest number of people? Why we have become so lax and selfish. We must understand we are eating into ourselves by lying detached and shutting off from the world outside. Wake up educated Indians, it is your responsibility to wake up the uneducated. Rakesh Raina
RE:Choose what?
by kiran paranjpe on Apr 11, 2007 10:29 AM Permalink
The Govrnment of India is run by the Political Party in power.It is high time that we dispense with the purely ceremonial president's post. Apolitical men of eminence are reduced to mere rubberstamps and yes men of the ruling party. As presidents they have to learn to compromise with all that they had nurtured. A man of high principles has to agree most unwilligly to the dictates of those in power. I would like to mention the cases of death penalties sent to the president for pardon even after the highest courts in the land have given their considered judgment,as a live example. The President has to wrestle with this problem on a purely personal basis. His decision, eitherway, brings him into the midst of emotional and contentious issues.With no executive responsibility it is a sheer torture to endure such a blatantly political problem. The decision on the presidential pardon is hanging fire much like the judicial cases. On the whole I believe that the leader in the ruling party should become the president and appoint his prime minister. It is then that our political parties in power will behave responsibly. No, Mr NRN must be spared this punishment!