Total 189 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >
Communism an understanding of only the Intellectual Elite
by Narendra Tade on Apr 05, 2007 03:52 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Communism is based on proper doctrines and theories - unlike the idealogy-less make shift jugaru politics of most Indian parites. In 1948 when Marx and Engles released the Menufesto - it was not meant to win elections but to change a social order - which has happened in Europe and USA, may not be under a Communist Party but under the priniples of more equitable distribution of wealth. Today an European factory worker can own a BMW and a farmer can own 36 cows. That is the success of the Marx-Engelican dream - it is not necessary that some party by the name of Communist party has to rule the land to get all this.

Back home, those of you who have some reading behind your comments will know that Kerela is the state with highest average per kapita income and literacy rate. (You may check Amarta Sen's - An Argumentative Indian, for a closer look on Kerela's success )In fact if you comapre only Kerela with the growth parameters of China - Kerela will win in all fronts. Imagine what would have happened if all Indian states were kerela (don't worry I am not from Kerela).

I would only suggest, that those of you, who criticize communism do it with proper reading and justification rather than following a herd mentality.

If you think that communism is present only in the practise of some misguided politicians or demi-dictators - that is because you are trying to form an opinion by looking at the form without having knowledge of the substance.

It takes a lot to really cry at another's misery. It takes a lot to give away the very little you have to the one who has even less - a true communist can do all this - that is one of the reasons why we don't belive in god ;))

RE:Communism an understanding of only the Intellectual Elite
by habc on Apr 06, 2007 10:40 AM  Permalink
Mr. Tade,

You are only following surface bhaashan of communists - they are hypocrites trying to fool everyone.
Here is a book on Amazon.com
The Black Book of Communism: Crimes, Terror, Repression
http://www.amazon.com/Black-Book-Communism-Crimes-Repression/dp/0674076087/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/002-7725374-5082460? ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1175835999&sr=8-1
Here are the excerpts from the Amazon web site

Communism did kill, Courtois and his fellow historians demonstrate, with ruthless efficiency: 25 million in Russia during the Bolshevik and Stalinist eras, perhaps 65 million in China under the eyes of Mao Zedong, 2 million in Cambodia, millions more Africa, Eastern Europe, and Latin America--an astonishingly high toll of victims. This freely expressed penchant for homicide, Courtois maintains, was no accident, but an integral trait of a philosophy, and a practical politics, that promised to erase class distinctions by erasing classes and the living humans that populated them. Courtois and his contributors document Communism's crimes in numbing detail, moving from country to country, revolution to revolution. The figures they offer will likely provoke argument, if not among cliometricians then among the ideologically inclined. So, too, will Courtois's suggestion that those who hold Lenin, Trotsky, and Ho Chi Minh in anything other than contempt are dupes, witting or not, of a murderous school of thought--one that, while in retreat around the world, still has many adherents. A thought-provoking work of history and social criticism, The Black Book of Communism fully merits the broadest possible readership and discussion. --Gregory McNamee

From Publishers Weekly
In France, this damning reckoning of communism's worldwide legacy was a bestseller that sparked passionate arguments among intellectuals of the Left. Essentially a body count of communism's victims in the 20th century, the book draws heavily from recently opened Soviet archives. The verdict: communism was responsible for between 85 million and 100 million deaths in the century. In France, both sales and controversy were fueled, as Martin Malia notes in the foreword, by editor Courtois's specific comparison of communism's "class genocide" with Nazism's "race genocide."

After reading this you should ask yourself how you can support an ideology which killed 100 million people. I think like most Indians you are very ideologically innocent.

The web site http://marxwords.blogspot.com/ ahs lots of quotes from Marx and Engels and friends - please read them and go through the archives of that web site by clicking on the dates in the left side - the quotes will open your eyes.

by anirban ghosh on Nov 16, 2007 08:30 PM  Permalink
So, only UAS & his friends like u r doing da good things in middle-east ! for ur information we r in da right way at present. u will b able to c da change in world order with in next 10yrs.

RE:RE:Communism an understanding of only the Intellectual Elite
by anirban ghosh on Nov 16, 2007 08:31 PM  Permalink
So, only USA & his friends like u r doing da good things in middle-east ! for ur information we r in da right way at present. u will b able to c da change in world order with in next 10yrs.

by Virasha on Apr 06, 2007 02:08 AM  Permalink
Communism is a failed system. There are a few strong holdrs though, demons like China. If you do not acquire enough skills to compete with others, you are loosing something. That's a very natural law which communists do not believe! Help us all God!

by Uttamkumar on Apr 05, 2007 04:28 AM  Permalink

Most difficult part of communism is you loose
your self identity, freedom of speech, freedom
of expression and loose the basic right of the
decision made by people.

by UK on Apr 05, 2007 07:16 AM  Permalink
HI, i am from kerala and i know wot the real situation there.Althouhg i dont have any political belief i am reading these type of news.Party top comarades earning money everytime. When they were in Opposit they object and made strong agitations against ADB Loan. Now when they came to power they accept it. And they trying to create two types of people in stae. One is Marxists and others non marxists. Using their state power to kill,harrase and bruthatlity against ohter political parteis. As a free thinker like me its irritatingn their behaviour. If in kerala the situation is like this then i can assume wot will be in bengal. I think even prakash karat may be know about the Nandigram massacre b4 doing

by Ravikant Bhat on Jan 14, 2008 05:11 PM  Permalink
The fact is Communism as an ideology and state policy is a total failure! Perhaps the biggest and most ambitious experiment of the 20th century is a failure. It has failed to deliver what it promised to do. Now whatever the ideological framework or principles of Communism and however lofty they may sound, they are useless! I give them to dogs!

Communism as Fascism
by Saturnina Dyer on Apr 05, 2007 01:18 AM  Permalink 

Communism is a dying system, an ideology that has never worked in practice. A glaring example of its failure in India is non-Communist Mumbai (Bombay) overtaking Communist Kolkata (Calcutta) as India's top city.

Thank you Rajiv.... wonderful article.
by David on Apr 04, 2007 10:46 PM  Permalink 

Very nice article as expectyed and as usual Rijiv. Thank you. Along with Cambodia, you could also use example of Vietnam. Everybody is aware of the grand fight Vietnam put against giants like France and America. But very less is known about the post-war era in Vietnam. Talk to any of the many poor Southern Vietnamese people who have fled elsewhere in the world and you will hear horrifying first-hand accounts of oppression by Northern Vietnam aka Communists.

Where is Modi in it?
by Virasha on Apr 04, 2007 09:31 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I do not know much about Orissa incident. But, you have to be in Gujarat for long time before hating Narendra Modi. Godhara has been historically a boiling plate communally for a long time. Ahmedabad (Amdavad as we call it) had been a worst place in that regard too. Though communal riots are localized to some areas, 'RathYatra" every year has to be highly secured every single year. In Vadodara, whenever Pakistan used to play cricket, you would find Pakistani flag on the railway track near the most used road. So, people in major places of Gujarat had latent anger which exploded after Godhara incident. Government played some role if you consider policemen failing as they didn't stop hindus harshly. Where is Modi in it?

RE:RE:Where is Modi in it?
by Narendra Tade on Apr 05, 2007 03:24 AM  Permalink
Hi Virasha,

I have taken voluntary retirement from the Army last year. I was on duty in Ahmedabad at the receeding stage of the riot. I know what happened there and how the police acted. I don't know if Narendra Modi was behind that or not, but I feel as the Chief Minister - the matter was in his notice - that is natural.

I am not sure how most Gujaratis see the Godhra incident but, I, on my duty, was feeling ashamed to be a Hindu in front of my collegues, some of whom were not Hindus.

In army, we are taught to protect the weak, irrespective of his religion, caste etc. I wonder, why it is not taught to the civilians.

RE:Where is Modi in it?
by Virasha on Apr 05, 2007 07:48 PM  Permalink
Mr Tade, I respect your thoughts. You must not be ashamed of being Hindu. Indian history is filled with enormous incidents like you saw from Mulsims doing the same to Hindus.

This does not mean that I should retaliate. But, at some point in time, muslims should understand that Hindu tolerance is not cowardice. This is for the betterment of both communities. Things are not taken for granted forever.

You must be proud of being Hindu. If you feel ashamed, you should follow better religion you like or be atheist.

by Shahryar Pax on Apr 06, 2007 01:50 PM  Permalink
Islamic ideology teaches that anyone who seeks a reconciliation is a weakling and should be subdued.

The only way to deal with muslim violence is with retaliatory violence.

by Shivkumar Singh on Apr 06, 2007 08:29 PM  Permalink
With Islamists what works is two eyes for an eye and the whole jaw for the tooth. Peace including of the Gandhian variety did not work.

America is living in peace only because for the two towers, they took out two Islamic countries in retaliation..Afghanistan and Iraq. If only they had taken out Pakistan and Saudi Arabia, world would be a better place.

by Uttamkumar on Apr 05, 2007 03:53 AM  Permalink

Those who are comparing Modi and Buddhadeb under the same punishment, I would like make few points.

(1) Godhra Carnage was not started by Modi, but Nandigram carnage initiated by Buddhadeb and CPM.

(2) Gujrat Riot was also not initiated by Modi, Nandigram mass murder initiated by Buddhadeb and CPM.

(3) Modi might have been sitting iddle instead of taking stern action to control riot, but
Buddhdeb and CPM actively initiated the mass murder misusing state law (police force).

(4) So, Buddhadeb ordered for the killing of farmers (Hindus and Muslims), whereas Modi did
not order killing.

(5) Modi came to power not by muslim votes. But Buddhadeb and CPM came to power by common people
and farmers' vote whom they are killing now.

(6) During Gujrat Riot, Media persons had full access to move around (although it was risky),
but in Nandigram massacre no media person was allowed, no minimum help could reach, all the
junctions around 100 Km cirle were blocked by the armed CPM cadres.

(7) Rioter were not used police dress in Gujrat, to spread riot wehreas CPM cadres used police
dress for the genocide (mass murder of farmers).

So, Buddhadev and CPM must be brought into firing squade for justice. If Modi is convicted
he may get get few year of jail or may not.

But CPMs and Buddhadeb's brutal and barbaric act
on farmers is clear signal that CPM has to be finished by hook or crook.

Most probaly Singur is the begining of the end
of CPM and Nandigram will be its real death scene.

RE:Don't argue with commies -- you won't go anywhere
by Uttamkumar on Apr 05, 2007 04:41 AM  Permalink

That's correct.

Because communists also do the same.
They donot want anybody argue with them, finally they kill them. Now it is now time to kill them also - tit for tat.

Freedom for what?
by Sahadevan KK on Apr 04, 2007 01:30 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Freedom for what?

A lot my friends take a lot of pleassure from today%u2019s freedom.

to continue Gujarat Carnage;
to demolish Babri Masjid;
to make Ram Mandir in Ayodhya;
to misled like India Shining / Feel Good;
to allow Khandahar, 2000;
to gain crores by corruption;
to sell out public properties;
to make relation with D-companies;
to make controversy to sell the politicians%u2019 books;
to allow killing like Prof. Sabbarwal;
to compell to sing Vandemataram;
to sell their MLAs and MPs to other parties and earn sufficient money;
to professionalise Nithari killing and Jessica Lall murder;
to sell out our country....

RE:RE:Freedom for what?
by Raj Aryan on Apr 04, 2007 01:33 PM  Permalink
Dude...You are talking like a true commie?? What is commies's contribution to country??? I Think only red flags, Hartals & Bundhs. Compare Gujrat's economy to commie ruled west Bengal & Kerala.. you will get the answer.

RE:Freedom for what?
by santosh datta on Apr 04, 2007 09:32 PM  Permalink
Dude:
Think Gujarat's intellectual/cultural progress w.r.t WB ..
If you have read Dr Amartya Sen's Nobel prize winning theory, industries and SDP are not necessary indicators of prosperity..

-What about child marriage?
-What about dowry?
-What about superstitions?
-What about child mortality?
-What about progressiveness towards inter cultural marriage?
-What about literature?
The list can go on..

I am not saying one system is better over the other but please do not resort to one dimensional analysis..

by Virasha on Apr 06, 2007 02:16 AM  Permalink
Ditto! All these questions, I thought, were targeted towards WB (and not towards Gujarat).:) Somehow, we Gujaratis have notion that these are valid questions for all of north-east and east regions.

by ACHUTHAN K on Apr 14, 2007 10:23 PM  Permalink
Hi Sahi,

Your name typically suggest a loyal commie who snmoke only Dinesh beedi and only subsribe to desabhimani.

At this moment I only comment about your reference to Prof Sabharval. His cause of death is not tet established. Do You Remekmber Jayakrishnan Master?. He was butchered in full view of innnocent5th std students by commie thugs. this is just aone example.

Don't you want singvande Matharam?Better you don't.

Vande Mathram

by Amrendra on Apr 04, 2007 02:10 PM  Permalink
I think you need freedom....

To Kill innocent people in nandigram
To forcibily acquire land in Singur
To Bring West bengal from number one state to among the bottoms
To protest Gurgaon police lathicharge but kill innocents in WB
To award contracts to black listed Salem group without any tender and killing people for allowing Salem group.
To allow its caders to kill people
To protest privatization in center but selling Hotel Grand in WB.

I think you want all the above. people like you are behind this mass killing...you should be shame on you

by Raj Aryan on Apr 04, 2007 01:48 PM  Permalink
Commies have been ruling(actually ruining) West Bengal for nearly 3 decades why they did not show the same courage to setup industries? Why commies have become hrdle in evry development project in other parts of India?? Why commies have supporting anti nationals in the name of secularism??? If Gujrat was genocide & then Nandigram is worse than that??? Why do commies are always gainst Hindus & anything related to Hinduism???

A writer who gets American Dollar
by Sahadevan KK on Apr 04, 2007 11:53 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

A man is wrong, who criticises Tiananmen Square massacre. Today 135 crores people of China looks to their future very hopefully. If the anti-revolution was successful there, China's fate would be in darkness. Or it will create a country like Russia today. These kind of writers, who was in favour of Mr. Gorbechov in last 90's is nowhere today to help him.

RE:A writer who gets American Dollar
by Uttamkumar on Apr 04, 2007 12:20 PM  Permalink

You are a guy who do not want to give freedom of expression to your son, daughter or wife.
That is what you are supporting.
In China, revolutionists wanted freedom of speech and freedom of opinion.
In China development is not due to Communists whose basic principle is anti-captitalism.
what is now.
Now most of the communists leaders there are millionair or even billionair.
Common people are suffering.
How do you know chinease people are leaving better.
Because most of the information does not come out from China.
You have to write what CHina Govt ask you to write.
This is what exactly CPM does in West Bengal and INDIA.

by Sajan on Apr 04, 2007 05:16 PM  Permalink
What Kind of freedom are u talking about man??
Do u have the guts to crtisize Bal Tackeray in Bombay?
Did Aamir had the freedom to release his movie in Gujarat?
Could you able to stop the demolision of Babri Masjid?
Do u hav the guts to go and put your auction for Dawood's Hotel, which Govt has put in auction?

by Koushik Rudra on Apr 04, 2007 05:18 PM  Permalink
It is said that its better to shot a commie rather than arguing with him. He will talk like a crazy and would try to convince that he is correct. This mad man is saying killing innocents in Tianenmen was right - my God. For your information Mr. Mad Comrade, world does not know the majority of Chinese in North China villages and towns how they spend their life under how much state atrocities.

Rajeev.....Coolie writer....Colonialist Coolie
by Shameer on Apr 04, 2007 11:24 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Rajeev....coolie writer.....Imperialist%u2019s Rediff Megaphone....Pity on U Rajeev....r u an Indian ? No way ....All ur write-ups either supports Imperialists or Extremists(Indian Brand)and help split Indians ......U and ur supposters doomed to fail..

RE:Rajeev.....Coolie writer....Colonialist Coolie
by Vinay Joshi on Apr 04, 2007 01:42 PM  Permalink
Im surprised! Instead of supporting Mr Rajeev's comments/opinions, yall are up against him. He's absolutely talking about what happened in the history and we should be sane enough to not allow it to repeat. If we keep the communist attitude we are all bound to suffer.

by Rajat Basu on Apr 04, 2007 11:38 AM  Permalink
You R right.I do not understand why rediff encourages this type of biased writing.

by Seven Maniacs on Apr 04, 2007 01:08 PM  Permalink
the whole of india seemed to have been supporting the other extreme of bias since eternity! what about that !!

by on Apr 05, 2007 02:49 AM  Permalink
Yes, coolie writer. Rajiv is from Trivandrum (I am shamefull on him me too from there) where his family known to be very close to King (bloody servants!!) who killed thousands of innocent people when they asked for freedom and King declared "Swaraj" instead of joining in India Union. Then communist fought and back TVM to Indian union. His uncle was dentist at King's palace!!

RE:RE:Rajeev.....Coolie writer....Colonialist Coolie
by kitttigadu on Apr 05, 2007 07:19 AM  Permalink
this must be another communist myth. These communists supported Jinnah in 47, China in 65, and you expect us to believe that they forced Travancore to join the Indian union. Like somebody else said, the only good communist is a dead communist

RE:RE:RE:Rajeev.....Coolie writer....Colonialist Coolie
by Naresh Nayak on Apr 14, 2007 04:33 PM  Permalink
Rajeev isn't a coolie writer. He is a proud Hindu and a proud Indian. If you don't like the ways and culture of 82% of us Hindus, you are free to migrate either to a communist nation or an Islamic republic (or the West, if they choose to accept you).

Anyway, Bengal's future is dommed! Within 2-3 decades, it will become another Islamic State!
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 04, 2007 11:14 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

And CPIM leaders will flee (as they did from Pakistan) to neighboring States.

And start the sabotage again.

The way demography is changing, rather willfully being allowed to change - its inevitable.

BJP WILL RULE WEST BENGAL IN A DECADE. GUARANTEED. BUT IT WILL BE TOO LATE TO SALVAGE THE STATE.

RE:Anyway, Bengal's future is dommed! Within 2-3 decades, it will become another Islamic State!
by Sahadevan KK on Apr 04, 2007 11:56 AM  Permalink
That is your nightmare!!!!! Mamta is also your friend.... She has been waiting for loooooong 30 years!!!!!!

RE:Anyway, Bengal's future is dommed! Within 2-3 decades, it will become another Islamic State!
by Gautam Sinha on Apr 04, 2007 01:49 PM  Permalink
If Mamata leads Bengal, the state will be reduced to a reactionary theatre company

by Dimension Four on Apr 04, 2007 02:12 PM  Permalink
The same was said about Regan when he fought for US Presidency.

by Rabi Saha on Apr 04, 2007 05:07 PM  Permalink
Mr Dimension Four....
R u mad?...kaha Raja Bhoj kahan Gangu Teli...u r comapring Regan and Mamata Banerjee...Plz don't do that...she is a sentimental fool...she runs for part time advantage..otherwise how can one party rule a state for over 30yrs?....WB need a opposition leader who has a vision and not depends on slapstick politics...

Total 189 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >