RE:World's fastest thing on wheels
by dinesh pandeshwar on Apr 03, 2007 09:48 PM Permalink
Laluji is really great but you are a real gadha because there is nothing against Laluji in my message - you D O N K E Y
by dinesh pandeshwar on Apr 03, 2007 10:08 PM Permalink
Sincerely i did not joke about Laluji. But this Sinha is simply getting furious, I dont know why.When Laluji has turned around Indian Railways should anybody remember Laluji or this G ( Gadha) Sinha for anything about railways.
by dinesh pandeshwar on Apr 03, 2007 10:24 PM Permalink
Tumko iske siva aatha hi kya he nalaayak! Tum sirf isee kaam karthe aa rahe ho aur aage bi tum aisi hi kaam karne laayak ho. Good night my dear G A D H A urf D O N K E Y
Hi guys, I have been seeing these messages regarding the debate of fastest train versus India scenario...Don't understand why people want to compare everything...we have very different requriements compared to france or UK or Germany.....Railways is the lifeline of our country.....literally....I've been in France, Belgium, Germany where these high speed trains run....first of all, these guys don't depend on railways as much as we do...My personal opinion is that our focus of attention should be more on improving the services and maintaining punctuality and safety of the existing system...This would lead to building up of a fundamentally strong system...make the staff more user friendly, as public, we also need to be responsible enough not to damage the railway property...If these things are really maintained to the highest international standards, I think the railways will generate high enough revenues to go to the next level...and I've personally got the impression that Lalu and his team have been proving to be extremely competent at this...... Now regarding the privatisation of railways...Here is a classic example of how it can fail for major things like railways....I don't know how many of you have used the UK rail system, but I have one word for it "Pathetic"....As an example, you can try booking your ticket between London and Cambridge on www.nationalrail.co.uk and see how much of a hassle it is to get a simple job done like booking a ticket...compare that the Indian reservation system developed by the railways....I must say that its exemplary by any world class standards for the kind of database and efficiency it maintains....So much so that, British people here think that privatisation has failed terribly as far as railways is concerned.. I do not expect everyone to subscribe to my views but as far as the underlying message is conveyed to a few, I'm glad.
RE:Privatisation is not the answer
by ron on Apr 03, 2007 09:30 PM Permalink
hello, u think the indian railway ticket booking is world class?? sheesh! the site is full of blinking ads and is pretty slow, and to make one small change , the whole process has to be started again. moreover, only direct routes are shown on the site. for eg, if to go from bombay to shimla, i need to change at delhi (say) and then take another train, the site will give me no clue whatsoever and just return no trains found on the route... if u want to chk out a truly world class online database and booking system, just try out bahn.de (the german site for transport). it will give you detailed information on any route from any insignificant corner of the european continent to another!
by Wayne Skinner on Apr 03, 2007 09:53 PM Permalink
I am very much dispppointed by ur info. It's totally wrong and opposite. We recently travelled by ICE in Germany, by Thalys in Holland, by TGV from Paris to Geneva, by Eurostar Italia from Rome to Florence and by Alvia from Madrid to Barcelona.The speed and panctuality is uncomaparable to Indian standards. ICE train and Eurostar are the best in terms of comfort and TGV, Thalys and Alvia of Spain are best speed trains. I want to give some examples the distance between Madrid and Barcelona is 621KM the duration it took is 4 hours 20 min with 4 stops. Now they are trying to reduce under 4 hours. The distance between Berlin and Frankfurt is 575KM and it took 4 hours 15 min same applies to other trains. The distance between Hyderabad and Bangalore is almost 600 KM it will take more than 10 hours. Comfort, toilets, disabled access and public address system are not comparable with Indian trains. As far as the number of people using trains in india is nothing comapred to our population and number of coaches we use. We live 35 miles away from London the number of trains between our town to London are more than 150 (trains shuttles between cities in europe) the info you mentioned about buying tickets on the net is not correct we bought all those tickets on the net. Even we travelled by Virgin train in U.K i.e best in U.K. Privatisation is the only solution for high speed trains as far as fares are concerned if europeans pay 2000 rupees for 200 km we no need to pay that much because the staff, the cost of the trains are not much. Take the example of Private buses and Govt interstate buses we are paying almost same price but the service, comfort and speed are unmatchable.Please don't write this type of info and don't confuse our people I am sorry to write all these.
by sricharan charan on Apr 03, 2007 09:45 PM Permalink
well said Mr.Sunil. most of the people dont know da overall scenario n just comment over da isssues...
by SUNIL SAIKORIAN on Apr 03, 2007 10:57 PM Permalink
Thanks for your opinion...Now regarding your arguement regarding punctuality and speed of trains in European countries.....I never said that thalys or tgv or other networks are bad... In fact, I did mean to say that they are fast and they are extremely punctual....there's no denying that fact....and in the present scenario, Indian trains do not have that kind of punctuality..... That in fact was my point when I said that we don't need this comparision....Once again, in the present scenario our focus has got to be on maintaining punctuality, hygeine, safety and security.....not looking for record breaking fast trains..that's a matter of luxury for us right now and not comfort....Now regarding a few arguments about Indian railways reservation system....For those of you, who do not know, the Indian Railways reservation system is only one of the very few systems in the world which has achieved the "6 sigma performance level" the highest standards for maintaining efficiency in the systems...This is an international method of accrediting efficiency ratings....google it and you will get to know what it means. Please understand that the Indian railways performs millions of reservations across all the stations (you can do any reservation for any train from any station in the country) and you almost never never have a clash of reservation errors...Yes, I do agree that the online system needs a lot to be done.....but it also looks like, our railways is only just waking up after a long sleep...I'm sure as the people in decision making centres become more techno savvy these things would change...now that's a requirement not a luxury as compared with record breaking fast trains.... The arguement of specific case of UK train systems being efficient.....I will still have to stick to my ground and say that the system is pathetic. I would still say that its expensive.(Eg: Can't get a ticket of less than %uFFFD60-70 for a distance of 600Kms between London and edinburgh.....I could fly to Edinburgh with one of my friends from london to Edinburgh for that price), The fact that you can buy tickets in train is available on very few select routes and not all the routes.....try doing that in other routes and you will get fined...I did that after the information I got that we can buy tickets on train and got fined...that's when i got to know that its on very select routes only...Virgin and GNER are good but they serve only two major lines...You never know when your train is cancelled for god knows what reasons....And that last argument about online reservation.....I don't know when was the last time you reserved online, but I did it today about 3hrs ago and it took me one and half hours to book a ticket for two from london to wales.....You find all the pricing and everything on nationalrail and just when you want to book, you will have to restart all over again by starting off with all the registration crap and then researching for the prices on the train company website all over again....I would not say that its efficiency...I would say that its complication of simple things... While we are speaking of making simple things complicated, for travelling a small distance of 600kms between Cambridge and Edinburgh, I've to change at least 3 trains....If your first train is late and if the second train is by some other company, they don't care.....you will have to rebuy the tickets for the existing prices... However, I have to agree that the safety record of British rail is very good and exemplary(though there have been a few freaky smalltime accidents of late)..... Once again..Its not my intention to offend anyone and whatever I've said here is certainly information on the things I have learnt about and known from reliable sources
RE:RE:Privatisation is not the answer
by Rahul Sharma on Apr 03, 2007 10:13 PM Permalink
I agree with you Sunil, we are getting there slowly and steadily. I have lived in UK for 8-9 years and traveled in Europe apart from booking online there isn't any diffrence. Well done Mr Lalu for turning things around. Why people from Harvard and Wharton come and see how things are turned and run here. I love it.
by Ajay Pandey on Apr 03, 2007 09:43 PM Permalink
At least the UK rail system is not bad, Its best in terms of fare options with options of buying tickets on-board without any penality. French TGV is the fastest but try comparing the prices !! I pay 50 euro for 1hr15min trip to Paris which is twice as much as you pay in UK and Italy.
by HASAN ARSHAD on Apr 03, 2007 10:00 PM Permalink
The UK rail system is really pathetic to say the least. Moreover, traveling by UK rail is a very expensive affair. Yes, I do agree that German Bahn has the best ticketing facilities, cheapest fair and the best services in Western Europe.
There is no point comparing the Indian Railways and others. Indian Railways is meant for common man and is very well placed. It now needs to look into safety and hygiene aspect. The speed guns will roll further for next generation and we can live without that
Fist of all let us not consider the speed. if we consider the speed, we need to increase the costs. Are the Indian public afford to pay such high costs for the train.
Secondly how many people travel in railway passes. They think the train belongs to them, as they work in Indian railways. Inspite of these circumstances railways aree netting a good profit.
Thirdly what about the hawkers? How will their business run if we have such type of these trains. What about the ticketless travellers? How will they find a place in these trains
What about the travel agents cancelling the tickets in the last 24 hrs, making it impossible for the travelling public to plan and book their journeys
what about the catering satff? Even with out trains, they cannot deliver things without spilling on the floor. If the trains run faster, then they have to drop everything in the floor. Or else we need to use trolleys employed by other foreign railways.
what about stingy toilets? will people prefer to maintain them or will it be the same, if such trains are allowed to run?
RE:How much money you pay to travel in these trains
by Drkarthik keyan on Apr 03, 2007 09:13 PM Permalink
What about the service and cleanliness, maintained by the passengers. Can we compare them to our indian railways.
These "record breaking" runs are usually only of academic interst, as in normal circumstances, the trains (TGV or others) run at comparatively much slower speeds..
As far our railway system is concernd, it would be better served by improving the whole package, rather than worrying about the speed factor alone..! I guess that trains like the Rajdhani, Shatabdi, etc do a reasonbly good job, considering the fact that they have 17 bogies, and are made to run on normal rails..!
RE:Connect!!!
by Golden on Apr 03, 2007 08:48 PM Permalink
money and energy???!!! do you know the kind of tracks we have cant afford to have a traing like this running on them. in Arrah district where normally Rajdhani dosnt go, for some reason Rajdhani was made to run on the tracks in Arrah in bihar. the tracks were about to come out and every day maintenance were being done to make a safe run to this train for some days. if we need such a fast train then we shall have to change the entire tracks in india. and now you can think about the time, money and energy you will need to invest in this before we start saving them.
by praveen on Apr 03, 2007 09:14 PM Permalink
Its not the infrastructure incapability alone in the Railways. Its not cost effective ...do you think you would pay ... 4000 rs for a train journey to chennai to bangalore ... that runns for aronund 1.5 hour. Not possible right ... so its a game plan that is correct... but we can definitely improve the speed now ... may 150 - 200 average speed with the same cost cutting benefits ... who knows that would prove good
by Tigger_and_Pooh on Apr 03, 2007 09:58 PM Permalink
lallu is giving this guy some thing addictive on a regular basis... biharis...all...
RE:India, any lessons
by Rohit Bahl on Apr 03, 2007 08:30 PM Permalink
No offense meant, but Indian trains are far better than the land record setting trains. If you read the complete coverage, the train took two engine for 3 bogies. The new generation Rajdhani train engines normally clock around 150 KMPH with a single engine, and 15 bogies. Need to check the speed of the TGV in those situations.
Moreover, just for the testing purposes, the electicity tenstion in overhead cables was increased from 25000V to 31000V.
Just for information, the train which set the fastest speed, normally runs at 300 KMPH in the normal circumstances.
by Augustine Alemcherry on Apr 03, 2007 09:22 PM Permalink
Double the speed, or more than it. India can get such trians, it is no big deal. But that would require the overhaul of complete railway system and increase the travelling cost by 300%-400% atleast. Would that be acceptable?
You must conside the changes done to tracks, complete fensing which we can not do even for mumabi local trains. There would be requirements to upgrade evey security and signal system. These are massive and would take away the cost adavntage. For a country like india, if the rail ticket rates go anywhere near the europian system, that would not only take trains out of reach of most people, but it would affect the inflation and prices of all sorts of goods.
What india needs is electrification of all railway lines, double lines thoughout, cleaner and relatively faster trains. For a country like us, it is not required or is practical to run bullet trains. We have a long way to go i terms of per capita income as well as standard of living to compare ourselves to japan and france.
by manas bhardwaj on Apr 03, 2007 08:47 PM Permalink
Correct!!! but the Indian trains are always overloaded with boggies and people...So, you can not expect this from our trains. Plus, we do not have distinguised tracks for oru Rajdhanis and shatabdis. So, on the usual tracks, I feel they are working superbly. Bhai logo, har cheez mein buraiya nikalna band karo...
by bhanu pratap on Apr 03, 2007 08:45 PM Permalink
well... if we attach as many bogies to this train (usually double), then the speed is reduced to half i.e., 150 KMPH, isn't it?
by Ajay Pandey on Apr 03, 2007 09:47 PM Permalink
its not that linear ! the avg speed of french TGV with as many coaches as Pyagraj express stands above 250km/hr.
by Sunil Varughese on Apr 03, 2007 09:17 PM Permalink
Dear friend... May I know what great lesson India should learn from this "record breaking experiment"??? For a developing nation like India, which has to take care of millions and crores of people still living below the poverty line.... this type of "experiments" are not relevant. If somebody has to trave and save mone y, time and energy, they can better travel by flight.... A better clean and comfort railway with more frequent service is more helpful for the normal citizens of India.
I hope we indian also get so competative and Lalu do something for betterment of People and introduce some good High speed trains. I china can we also can do it. I hope one day India will have world High speed trains will all safety norms
Please think twice before you comment like this. This is the only mode of transport for common people. I hope you know atht our country has the 2nd largest network in the world and with so much diversity and complication, I believe Indian Railways is doing a great job. Don't compare a mammoth with a fly. Of course, we should not be complacent, but don't be hopeless
RE:Great Competition
by democracy on Apr 03, 2007 08:35 PM Permalink
ya agree with you...only politicians will have everything...and the public ... nothing!!
by anubhuti tiwari on Apr 03, 2007 08:34 PM Permalink
anuj aap ke ghar ke paas koi kuaan hai kaya agar nahi to chuluu bahr pani hi kafi hai aap jaise "hopeless" ke liye
by Piyush Jain on Apr 04, 2007 05:15 AM Permalink
hey dude, u need not show show ur foolishness in public.. its ok, if u n ur khandaan are nuts.. waise want to know wht do u sell by the way, ya woh bhi nahi karte.. bus baith kar khatte ho...
by Khushal Negi on Apr 03, 2007 09:20 PM Permalink
how many of you go to vote....if none...dont blame it on bloody Netas....OK. Mr Anuj, dont loose hope is the moral of the story...its not about speed...its about service....and our Rajdhani's are better thn may trains in world..
by Abhijit Bhowmick on Apr 03, 2007 08:48 PM Permalink
I agree with u mmmm...but the thing is privatisation means increaeed cost...railways hyave very competetive fare....anyways with so much population i think India should stick with what we have...3 boggies with 2 enignines is way tooo expensive...