The current land speed record by a wheeled vehicle is held by ThrustSSC, a twin turbofan jet-powered car which achieved 763 mph (slightly under 1228 km/h) over one mile, breaking the sound barrier. Apart from NOT being the fastest thing on wheels as claimed by Rediff in the headline, the V150 is not even the fastest wheeled vehicle 'on tracks', as mentioned at the end of the article. Rediff's approach stinks of dishonesty and cheapness.
RE:Misleading and incorrect headline
by Sri V on Apr 03, 2007 10:34 PM Permalink
I totally agree to Mr.Vikram Tayde's view points. I see no reason why REDIFF should give misleading headlines like a typical LOCAL-LANGUAGE NEWSPAPER to attract readers.
by Subramaniam Dharmarajan on Apr 03, 2007 10:41 PM Permalink
I guess, you dont know what is magnetic train then. Actually magnetic trains dont have wheels. They run on magnetic levitation principle or maglev and is a form of transportation that suspends, guides and propels vehicles via electromagnetic force. So V150 is of course the fastest wheeled train. And Sir, if you start a site like Rediff, then of course, you would also put similar headlines only. Appreciate the information given by rediff and dont find faults in headlines.
Hi Subramaniam Dharmarajan, I agree with you that V150 is the fastest wheeled train. And I admit I inadvertently misquoted the article by saying it is not.
But the fact remains that the V150 is NOT the World's fastest thing on wheels. And what makes you say that I would also put similar headlines? Trust me, I never would. I've had the privilege of closely collaborating with professionals who've work with the best known paper- and web-based publications. And I am well aware of the reviewing, filtering, and polishing processes that articles (and their headlines) undergo. It's contrite and unhealthy that Rediff is opting to resort to something that borders on yellow journalism. Scandal-mongering, sensationalism and unethical practices convey nothing but unprofessionalism.
And ya, I wasn't "looking" for faults in the headline; it's screaming for correction.
pardon me if I am mistaken....Maglev certainly have wheels...when the train dnt have levitation speed it lands n rolls on wheels n tracks just like normal trains...u may want to do a bit of research on diff maglev websites.. thanks a civil engineer; USA
RE:RE:Misleading and incorrect headline
by Vikram Tayde on Apr 03, 2007 11:22 PM Permalink
Hi Subramaniam Dharmarajan, I agree with you that V150 is the fastest wheeled train. And I admit I inadvertently misquoted the article by saying it is not.
But the fact remains that the V150 is NOT the World's fastest thing on wheels. And what makes you say that I would also put similar headlines? Trust me, I never would. I've had the privilege of closely collaborating with professionals who've work with the best known paper- and web-based publications. And I am well aware of the reviewing, filtering, and polishing processes that articles (and their headlines) undergo. It's contrite and unhealthy that Rediff is opting to resort to something that borders on yellow journalism. Scandal-mongering, sensationalism and unethical practices convey nothing but unprofessionalism.
And ya, I wasn't "looking" for faults in the headline; it's screaming for correction.
by Vikram Tayde on Apr 03, 2007 11:19 PM Permalink
by Sreekanth Nemani on Apr 03, 2007 10:42 PM Permalink
It is the fastest 'wheeled vehicle on tracks'. read the article carefully, this thing runs on wheels and conventional rail tracks. It fell short of speed record of magnetic trains which donot run on wheels (they use magnetic forces).
So this train is the fastest thing with wheels on tracks (but probably not on roads).
by chandan b on Apr 04, 2007 01:41 AM Permalink
I agree Vikram..the headline is wrong. They need to do proper research before publishing any article. People here in USA can get sued for even minor things..
by P S on Apr 04, 2007 05:38 AM Permalink
And you my friend Jaanwar, are an ASS... Now stop trolling on Rediff website and do some work to earn your stipend... By some stroke of luck you have landed in the US, better not get thrown out for doing stuff like this!!!
We can definitely introduce high speed trains in India why not ? We no need to wait to introduce high speed trains until everybody reaches above poverty line. Everything has to go simultaneously by introducing high speed trains millions of jobs will be created farmers can send their fresh produce and they can sell where the demand is high. Foreign tourists will increase goods will be transported in less time millions of indirect jobs will be created. The drivers already driving our trains will get big slaraies by competition between competitors. Why can't we try one or two routes like Mumbai and Ahmedabad, Bangalore and Chennai, Bangalore and Hyderabad. We have to privatise those routes and we have to handover to companies like SNCF(France), DB(German), Thalys(Holland) and then we have to see the results. The fares will not be like european but it will be between indian and european range. but the rail companies around the world will flock to India because of the oppurtunities will provide in their business they will pour billions of dollars into Indian railways because we are a country of 1 billion everybody in India will be very much interested to travel by these trains. I am very much optimistic. We can reach Chennai from Hyderabad within 5 hours from hyderabad to tirupathi in more than 4 hours. I am praying everyday for the introduction of high speed trains in India I follow every news around trains and we travelled by every high speed train in Europe.Mera Bharath Mahaan Jai Hindusthan.
RE:We can do it in India (Mera bharath mahaan)
by Vijaya Manohar Wadhwani on Apr 03, 2007 10:17 PM Permalink
Yes I am sure we can build and operate high speed trains in India, but at the same time I must also say that there are far more pressing issues that must be sorted out before such an idea is implemented. Without going too deep in to the facts let me just say that a high speed train in this country is an idea whose time is yet to come.....and is quite a long way away. The key word i will say is INFRASTRUCTURE or rather the lack of a solid foolproof infrastructure. I hope I have made my point clear.
by Zachariah Oommen on Apr 03, 2007 10:34 PM Permalink
You are absolutely rite, in terms of infrastructure we (INDIA) is far behind the Europe / US / why say very much far behind the Middle East (GULF) where most of the People are Indians working in these sectors, and it cannot be done in India (We have the source & resourses) If cannot be done by the GOVT, Please PRIVATISE, there are Big Shots waiting to Grab the Opportunities.. God Bless India!!
RE:RE:We can do it in India (Mera bharath mahaan)
by manohar mattu on Apr 03, 2007 10:58 PM Permalink
I am not very optimistic of these high speed trains in India before next 15-20 years. Till late we have accidents on normal tracks, train run late, no reservations during summer vacations and host of other problems exist in our railway system. Lets be realistic. Bharat Mahan Jaroor Hai but does not have the required infrastructure yet. Even we dont have sufficient number of Metros in our country. Lets hope for the best.
by P S on Apr 04, 2007 05:39 AM Permalink
And you my friend Jaanwar, are an ASS... Now stop trolling on Rediff website and do some work to earn your stipend... By some stroke of luck you have landed in the US, better not get thrown out for doing stuff like this!!!
by amitdyuti sengupta on Apr 04, 2007 12:32 AM Permalink
I am a bit apprehensive on building super fast trains. with our track record of safety and maintainance its scary...also we have varied terrain and soil conditions to work on..plus remember we need dedicated corridors all across the track since people in India live and regularly jump on tracks..oh 4rgt the animals strolling around which poses immense risk to the high speed trains. bt yes liek anything its possible...just the priorities
by thepolice stewart on Apr 04, 2007 02:59 AM Permalink
our trains can clock up to 90 kmph,to see big numbers plz convert this into cmph
It is very true that a train abroad can clock 574.8KM/H but we are awakening to this situation only these comming years but if people have an urgency to travel more faster they can always take a plane there are other modes of transport avaliable ...better live upto reality all this talk of cleanliness etc but think about all the good work that is being done at the same time it is always easy to critize people and system but it always to work hard and develop a system it takes a lot of effort ...it is better for all of us to work for the upliftment of the present system rather than talk wrong about it ...think about your self you still use the same system though you dont like it so it is better to upgrade the present system ...Let us make a move to make a mark of our selves to be Indians and better not degrade ourselves...give a helping hand to all the Engineers behind the sucess of Indian Railways otherwise people from abroad dont come to India to listen lectures of lalu or Invite Lalu to thier land for Lectures...be proud to be an Indian
While trying to compete with the French or the Japanese in the speed of trains may not be required, it is important that we have trains that are efficient and friendly to use.
When on a trip to Delhi via Rajdhani, I was appalled at the state of the trains, the toilets, the staff, the food.......just anything. All was so bad. This is certainly not what all of us should be defending.
And we must also remember that quicker mode of transport makes up for better communication and better business.
We do not need a 500 kmph train as yet, what we need is a train that moves quick and that it is free from accidents which are more than a normal thing with the Indian Railways.
Cheers to our India.........let us together make it happen.
RE:Lalu chacha
by joydeep dass on Apr 03, 2007 10:05 PM Permalink
hahahahaaha great dude...u will great a plastic one from LALU CHACHA..i am sure hahahaha....
RE:IT IS A MIRACLE DONE BY THE PRIVATE COMPANY
by Shashi Sinha on Apr 03, 2007 09:52 PM Permalink
why private what wong with public holding janata best owner keeping ticket rate less if private u will pay for poor people ticket? go back to amrica and britan
by Sharath Shetty on Apr 03, 2007 10:06 PM Permalink
Hello Sir Yes we are talking of Less Money , Can i Give You Examples of Private Player , Take one example Cellular Phones , The Rates are So Low . The Lowest in the World . Think About It If There is Competion they you will have a Better Service and lot of Safety . Take the Airlines Industry , Common People Could Nt Think of Taking Flights Now See How People are Taking. Have a Vision for God Sake . Please Dont make India one worst Countries in the World . See the Youngsters of India who are Working Hard to Get this Country in the Top of the World Please dont shatter the Dreams bye Commenting like this.
by armando on Apr 03, 2007 10:00 PM Permalink
hey guys,
why are you fighting over such things? We need to have more theories and views so that we can come up with the best that is there for us. This is, in effect, what democracy is all about. If we cannot argue sensibly, it only undermines our ability to come up with solutions.
Certainly, privatization is important since it makes up the best use of resources. however, it is also true that blanket privatization will lead to social unrest which is why we need something that brings out the best of the private and public enterprise.
And India is great at that.
In any case, it is not easy to run a country, so we also need to have patience whilst also being watchdogs.
by Shashi Sinha on Apr 03, 2007 10:25 PM Permalink
ticket charge govermnet paying 70% with subsidiy laluji get lot of money from goods rail transport all this money get free ticket for poor pepel u understanding
by S S Subhedar on Apr 03, 2007 10:07 PM Permalink
India needs better things apart from faster trains. Faster trains ka achar dalogey ka ?
by Shashi Sinha on Apr 03, 2007 10:21 PM Permalink
sahi kahe ho subhedar sahib. rail train littel slow for poor passangar to sitting in every open spots stopping for long time at station to people sit on terace of train
France being an developed nation can afford for such.
we are marching towards that.. but our crooked minded people give negative comments when Indian railways installed LCD tvs in Sadapthi trains..
With Lalu on the throne.. IR is really breathing well.. and he also plans for High speed trains capable of doiing 300 KMph between important cities.. but they need seperate track as the current track can hardly take 150 KMph(only the one between Delhi & Agra). the rest can max out at 110KMph
RE:Hope to get such into India in the coming decade
by vikram bhatia on Apr 03, 2007 09:52 PM Permalink
abe bihaariyon; lalu ko hatao to accha kaam zada speed se hoga
I guess in India trains are more than mere mode of travel. It is a way of life. As for speed factor our airline industry is growing to cater a demand of travellers who need to reach their destination quickly. train is for common people. Their concern would be for cleanliness, basic facilities offered in trains. We should focus on these people and not about speed factor for our trains.
RE:train is just more than a train
by Manish Ahuja on Apr 03, 2007 10:20 PM Permalink
Do you know why France developed such a fast train. They have not developed for them, but for emerging market like China. China plans to built super fast train system from Beijing to Shanghai so that travel time can be cut down from 9 hours to 5 hours. India should also have such train network between metropolitan cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore, Kokatta etc. We should not have defeatist attitude. Common man also wants to reach the destination early. Who would like to spend 20 hours in a train?
RE:train is just more than a train
by Alick Mendonca on Apr 03, 2007 10:20 PM Permalink
Yes I feel speed is a factor (reasonable) but more than that is efficiency, cleanliness, proffessionalism and a proper work culture imbibed in our people who will take pride in the good done & will automatically get the goodwill of the people, not at the present levels of behavior of the Govt Officials I agree with Joomera