Total 62 messages Pages | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >
dude...if u were a doc...u'd know...
by achi on Nov 01, 2006 07:51 PM  Permalink 

hey there madhav...nice to see Indians are still as hopelessly narrow minded as ever...anyway...being born gay is as normal as being born too tall,fat,fair or dark...no human being is perfect dude...learn to live wid it...peace out...

About Gays
by Murli Nair on Oct 05, 2006 12:10 PM  Permalink 

Recently, in a western country, a paedophile was demanding that children should have the right to sex, and if I recall correctly, the court listened sympathetically. I wonder after euologising homosexuality, it would be the turn of paedophiles to be exalted as 'victims' of prejudice ??!!

Does not state you cant love.
by AS on Sep 30, 2006 10:21 PM  Permalink 

THE IPC 377 clearly refers to penetration.

It does not talk about not being in a relationship with a person of the same sex. So how does it affect anyone as long as you dont have unnatural sex? The law is the same for both homosexuals as well as heterosexuals who are indulging in the same, moreover I dont think any religion is against homosexuality. They are against human beings conducting themselves in an unnatural manner. Sorry but the law should stay.

Utterly useless...
by An Gore on Sep 29, 2006 05:34 AM  Permalink 

This article is utterly useless and so are the views of the author..

Indian Hypocrisy
by AP on Sep 28, 2006 10:06 PM  Permalink 

India

A land of 1 billion people, where sex doesn't exist..

A land on the verge of an explosion of HIV epidemic, yet there is no need for sex education

A constitution that guarantees equality for all - except Dalits, Women and Homosexuals (who don't exist either)

A nation where countless women are raped, molested, assaulted or burnt for dowry every day - yet a society that respects women as Goddesses and worships them

A land where India is suppossed to be shining - but only in the Multinational Corporation offices - not in the slums and villages

A nation where all are included - except they happen to be lower caste.

Its time for a change... lets make the change happen ourselves, before it is forced up on us by others who no longer want to be downtrodden

Amazing to know that we call ourselves a progressive nation!
by maya on Sep 28, 2006 03:08 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I am a qualified c.a.working with an internationally funded ngo working in the field of HIV/AIDS. Our organisation has some projects with MSMs & transgenders also.Although I am not a technical person but whenever I have met people from these projects, I have seen the pain in their eyes. The pain of being considered "ABNORMAL". But who decides what is "ABNORMAL"? What is normal for one community can be abnormal for another. Marriage of a girl with her maternal uncle is an acceptable tradition in southern india but the same is not acceptable in the east. So what is normal!! we consider ourselves a progressive, open and tolerant nation. I was horrified to read the messages posted by so many people expressing their negative thoughts on this article. My horror is at the level of ignorance they have. I wonder how many of them really know anything about what the author has written about. The reactions are knee jerk reaction. Yes, we have the freedom to express ourselves. But as responsible human beings, is it not equally true that what when opinions are expressed, they should be well informed and deliberated ones??

RE:Amazing to know that we call ourselves a progressive nation!
by Srinivas on Sep 29, 2006 09:25 AM  Permalink
Hi Maya. nice post. I agree that people should make well informed arguments and not indulge in empty rhetoric.
I would like to extend your argument to your own title. What is a progressive nation according to you. According to me it is one which ensures we grow as a human race and not indulge in mere appeasement. I am a strong supporter of human equality. I don't deny that people are often unjustifiably tortured or harassed or excluded from mainsteream society. Yes, the society has these evils. Trust me this isn't the way of solving it either.
About the author's perspective, i have written enough in my post which exposes the shallowness of content. I am awaiting a better and more appealing argument.
I also appreciate the sensitivity you have shown towards understanding the emotions of people you have come across.

Homosexuality !!!
by Ddurjay on Sep 28, 2006 02:54 PM  Permalink 

I applaud the writer for his true to the life reality depicting article .

homosexuals are as normal human beings as me , you , our parents , our kids, our families . they are human beings and they deserve equal right as us .

how can you justify a law which punishes the victim (377/IPC)?

how can you say that homosexuality is western influence , when you have konark surya mandir ( n number of depictions wrt polyandry/polygyny/gay acts/lesbianism/.....) or kamasutra by vatsyayan or khajuraho temples ?

just tell me , tomorrow if you know that your son is gay or daughter is lesbian , will you discard them ?

what EXACTLY you know about the plight of hijras ? by neglecting them we are creating an entire cult involve in begging/prostitution/starvation n thus crime . moreover , who says hijras are born the way they are ? what about abducting the kids and then turning them into it ? ssppose tmrw that is ur kid , ll u leave him/her?

we are living in a democratic country , and democracy means equality ,equal rights to all the classes in society .

and above all , we are human beings , and the one and only indispensable quality of us should be respect and luv to all humans.

Why we need liberate Gays
by Ravindra Dixit on Sep 28, 2006 01:49 PM  Permalink 

The article is an eye opener. I had never realised that gays and lesbians are people like any one of us and that they too have rights of self determination and if the law does not recognise them as fringe communities we actually deny the right to existence. 49.5% of them being infected by HIV is a grave threat not only to themselves but the society as a whole. This fringe population is need of immediate attention and if there is any person in India who is big enough to realise the enormity of their predicament then it is our Honourable President, who if approached will definitely do the needful in drawing the attention of the nation to this grave problem.

homosexuality should be legal in India
by deboo on Sep 28, 2006 01:29 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

yes, i totally support homosexuality, it doesnt bother me, guys its time to grow up now, be a broadminded person. i saw many comments where guys are saying that we shouldnt go against the nature which the god has made, i would like to add a bit in this, if god has created adam, eve, birds, flowers, emotions, sex, love, hatred, then he is the one who has also created homosexuality & transexuality. respect them, respect the god's children, i m hardly 23yrs old, belong to a typical mumbai based bengali family, where ppl r very concern bout whats happening in others life & chitchat bout it. but still me & my family believe to give space to the god's children, let me tell u i m not a gay, but i have many friends who r gay, trust me they r just like us, they eat, party, work, having a family, nothing is different, the only difference is they feel more comfortable to share their thoughts, love, problems with a same sex partner & if we talk bout sex, then guys, lets not enter ones bedroom. u cant be sure what your brother, son, father is doing behind the four walls. we r grown up people & we should handle this fragile issue very carefully & with lot of logic & humanity. u all take care.

RE:homosexuality should be legal in India
by Srinivas on Sep 29, 2006 09:18 AM  Permalink
Hi, i liked your post. A few remarks... you seem to be saying 23 is too young an age to feel concerned about people around you. Bhagat singh was 23 when he was hanged by the british. So don't give yourself that excuse of being too young anymore.
About what our parents/brothers/sisters/daughters/ourselves do in our bedrooms is known to all of us. Now you want "logic" in the argument... here you are...
a heterosexual gets into a marital arrangement to procreate. THat's the purpose it was created for. And since you are from a typical mumbai based bengali family, you know how bad it is ocnsidered to have sex out of marriage. Sex is treated with dignity by most indians.
I respect your argument that people should not look down upon homosexuals. But at the same time i don't think as a society we should legalize it. As human beings we are meant for far greater things in life than just sex. now why is the sex part being stressed by me is because thats the only thing the article 377 is against. Also, if any of your gay friends does whatever he feels like behind closed doors, nobody will even come to know.As far as other aspects of loving sharing etc are concerned, law doesn't prevent

Total 62 messages Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >