Based on Agriculture & Services: Land Reforms Critical Socialist type(Public Private) designed by Planning Commision 1992: joined WTO ; Reforms / Privatisation in progress Manufacture / Infrastructure Industry Growing Nehruvian Approach &Gandhian Spirit of Development Knowledge / IT Sectors Fast Growing & termed world Class Road, Electricity, Water and Sanitation still the Main Issues.
Indicators ............ GDP....... .....3,400,000 Cr. ( ~ $770 b) Growth.......... 8 - 9pc per yr.(sustainable) Average Income........ 30,909 per capita / yr ................ 1,50,000 per family / yr Agriculture(25%of GDP)..... 70,000/yr for 11 cr Fam. Each Manufacturing(20%)...... 300,000 for 1.5 cr Fam. Each Services (55%)........... 200,000 for 7.5 cr Fam. Each Inflation Rate ..............4 - 5 % (Under Control) Forex Reserves.............. $135billion ($120b foreign loan) Poverty Level................ 20% BPL < 25,000 / family / yr Imports & Exports............. $(80 & 110) billion Total Bank Credits............ $400billion 55% of GDP Market Capitalisation.......... ~ $750 billion 12th rank in world
Major Consumptions..............
Food Grains.................. 400 mTe / yr Surplus Production.......... 40-50 mTe / yr Petroleum. Oil ........... 120 mTe / yr ............( $60 / barrel)... 32indeginious Crude Budget....( Rs.14 /lit).. 160,000Crores / yr Iron & Steel........... ........ 40 mTe / yr Power Generation............... 115,000 Mwatt-Capacity ... .....Growth ......2,500 Mwatt / year
Maturing and Vibrant Electoral Democracy Panchayat-to-Parliament type pyramid Soveriegn and Secular Federal Republic Provincial in Structure & Nationalist in Spirit Westminster Center / State Model Mandal / Mandir Vs Development Politics Rise of Regional Parties results in Coalition Govts.
Legislatives ....( For making Laws ) Lok Sabha.......... 543 MPs Rajya Sabha...... 241 MPs Voters Number.... 60 crores States .......... 29 and 6 UT's State Assemblies..... 1 MLA per 3 lac popul Vill Panchayats........ 2.5 lakhs Deptts / Ministries : Home, Defence, Finance, Railways, HRD, S&T,Inf.&Telecom, DAE,etc
Total Cent.Govt.Staffs = 40 lakhs
Executives....... (For Law Enforcement) Districts....... 600 Sub Divisions.... 2000 Police.......... 10 lakhs Administrations.....&n bsp; 20 lakhs Corruption still prevails here making things difficult for better governance and development
Judiciary........(For Pronouncing Justice&Order) Judges........... 10,000 Total Personnel.... 5 lakhs Complex Laws and insufficient Infrastructure causing delay / denial of justice
Defence....... (For Borders and Internal Security)
Army ... Navy ... Air Force Active Manpower............ 11 lakhs Other Supports : Armors, Artillaries, Nuclear Warheads, Aircrafts & Missiles
Intelligent, Simple & tolerant people Highly heterogeneous in nature Multi-lingual,-cultural,-religious/caste Inclusive, non-materialistic, peace-loving, Belief in Family / Moral Values &Wisdom High Regards for Elders, Gurus &Saints. Lower Castes catching up the mainstream
Population.... 1100000000......growth 1.5% per year 110crore......Reproduction=3.5per woman 1.1 billion
Old Tropical Civilisation Majority Plain / Fertile Land 5000 yr old civilisation Veda-Budha-Sufi ism Culture Aryan invasion, Asoka, Dynastic Rule, MuslimRule, British Rule upto 1947
Size: Km x Km Max.length...... 3300 Max.breadth..... 3300 A rea .......... 30 lac km2 Border .........10,000 km sea shore ...... 4,000 km
No no no... The reason is clear where muslims are in power they are enforcing the thoughts of them to others. And where they are in minority they always remain in fear this is even true in UK, France, US, Rusia & Canada. How can you expect possibility of balance with this situation......
Just like the average western/Indian journalist, you still haven't understood what secularism means. This can be perfectly explained by your statement about Sonia.
India has been secular since ancient times and doesn't require the Constitution or Congress or Left parties to be secular. You need some lessons in Indian history and you need to find out properly why people have started to retaliate against evangelism and jehadis.
As for Gujarat, Modi keeps on winning there. Gujarat had nothing to do with national election results. It was more to do with the middle class not voting in numbers and the NDA allies doing terribly.
I think you need to go around the country again and understand the pulse of India better before coming up with cheap views/articles like these.
RE:Ultra cheap work
by Joseph Maprayil on Nov 17, 2006 06:13 PM Permalink
Dear Kevin, Thanks for the post. First things first. I am an Indian but I do not wear any colour code to reveal my Indianness or patriotism.
People who dont have anything to fall back raise the history card. For fools History is a weapon, for the learned History is a lesson. Yes, I have heard of Ashoka, and someone called the Buddha too. What you have to learn from Asoka is that he did take pleasure in killing, till remorse overcame him. Ashoka stands out because he used all possible means to spread the message of love and ahimsa. Even after Kalinga, he would have had a lot more scores to settle, my your way of history.
People living with the burden of their inferiority complex over the domination of the indian peninsula by foreigners lean too much on history. It is not just the british, but the french, portugese, mughals, genghis khan, alexander....we were under the yoke for a pretty long time.
Talking of Indian History, supposing (just supposing!) that at the time of our indep, Indian peninsula was divided into say five almost equal parts, each ruled by a different foreign country. Could we have got indep as a united nation. Think Goa, think Junagarh (heard of it?
by mayank on Dec 05, 2006 03:41 AM Permalink
If you think the british is the best thing that happened to india....research the word patriotic a little more or may be you are going to the catholic church too much...
And please do not call yourself indian and insult my forefathers who gave their life and blood so I could live in a free country...like bhagat singh , chadrashekar azad and a lot more. Some times I feel its good that none of them are alive...for their hearts would ache to see how less you understand of your own civilisation which was secular before the word secular was invented.
It would be very interesting to learn your version of Indian History.
The History of India starts from 1947. Prior to that we were slaves of foreign countries for a couple of centuries and then managed some kind of a unity under the freedom struggle. Further going back, where was India? Agreed, there were great civilizations in ancient times that developed (and perished) in isolated lands presently falling in India & Pakistan. Can we say that those were Indian civilization. During those times, who outside the settlements knew about the civilizations? We dug it up. Regarding our religious and other literature, Great; no doubt. Rather, the Best. But who wrote them, where and how many did read or study them in the good old times? A few, in petty kingdoms, isolated gurukuls etc. I do not know where you reside, but definitely interested to know when did your ancestors started reading. Do not talk of History.
The forced occupation of the overall territory by one single major power resulted in our joining hands to get freedom; and to get it as a single nation. Now think on another angle, through History. Isolated lands, cultures, people. Indian History?
What is Joseph talking about? India as a civilisational entity has existed for about 5000 years. For the majority of that time, India was governed by Indians and populated by Indians. You mention Ashoka and Buddha as if those were the only characters in Indian history. What about the Guptas, Pratiharas, Cholas, Palas, Rashtrakutas, Vijayanagar? What about great epics like the Mahabharata and Ramayana, and playwrights like Kalidasa and Bhavabhuti, story books like the Kathasaritasagara. I could go on and on. There is an India, so start acknowedging it.
by Kevin on Nov 17, 2006 02:26 PM Permalink
Joseph Maprayil's knowledge about Indian History seems to be astounding. The summation in his last paragraph says it all. 'Thank the brits that India is a country'. My dear Joseph, before asking the guy who posted the message,about his ancestors, please let me from where did your ancestors come from? where were you educated? The word India was a gift of the brits and the europeans who could never pronounce the names in the local lingos. Agreed there were many kingdoms. But people from the south went to Kashi and people came down south to Rameshwaram even 500 years back when the foriegners were not around (There are records of this) . The kingdoms of those days did not have passports and visas you know. Just surf the net to see all the ancient texts, travalouges, in their original form and in English, Translated specially for learned people like you. The maps of the old tell you what was Bharata khanda. Have you heard of Ashoka? The complexities that India is because it encourages thinking and thinking differently. It accepts you, me and the Indian who ever it is.
by kadwa sach on Nov 17, 2006 10:25 PM Permalink
Joseph,
Another thing, history is not an escape from truth. It is the best and wisest teacher you can ever have.
Nor is pointing to history an attempt to put arguments no longer valid in modern time. Human psychology, thinking and the way relationships of humans and states work has not changed since we began creating civilization and states.
Those who try to run away form history and cast this kind of doubt about history being useless are the ones who usually have something to hide in their history.
by kadwa sach on Nov 17, 2006 10:20 PM Permalink
Joseph,
I think the basic mistake that you and the journalist who wrote the piece are making and which "indian" pointed out is that you misunderstand secularism and "secularism in India". When they talk about congress and left being "secular" and BJP being fascist. Also Sonia Gandhi becoming teary eyed and trying to save her falimly's "secular kegacy" is just so much crap when you think about what in reality secularism should be. Is it appeasement of minorities and vote bank politics?
What "Indian" said is that in older times the whole cultural block that comprises India and pakstan today was probably the most secular region that world has ever seen. Now maybe you can pick out isolated incidents form history but the spectrum of religions, languages, classes, beliefs cultural diversity from food to dressing pont that people were very tolerant and did not consider it holy duty to say - no you are wrong and I am right. That in essence is real secularism.
There may have been many kingdoms prior to British but history shows changing of size and expanse of kingdoms over difffernt ethnic regions all the time in India. yets there was no systematic unseculat cleansing of any kind.
That is alright as a nice talk. But what are we doing to move files in ministries for making govt processes faster, and making the services due to public reach faster? We always see to be living and catching up with our past. Our roads are still in stage of waht it should have been 20 yeras back. We still do not have super highway connectivity across India. Our existing highways are worse than city roads. Our city roads have as many pot holes as creaters on the moon. Our electricity generation is wahat it should have been 30 years back. How many new hydel project have been cleared by th govt? What happened to 8000 crores that were to be used for connecting national rivers program? Monsoons are now over. Soon, we will start hearing news about people dying of cold. What is govt doing NOW about it? Which minister is visiting areas of need? In delhi itself, let alone remote areas? What is the action plan of govt to avoid deaths due winter cold? When will we learn to expedite the slackness and slowness in our system? When will babus in ministries will be held accountable for lacks of deaths and much misery they cause by delaying files?When will govt overhaul its system?
Edward Luce's interview is very interesting because it addresses the vital need for elected politicians to truly know the people of such a complex country. I have long suspected that the middle class did not vote; the article confirms that. The middle class is a lot like the politicians: They do not acknowledge the role of the majority of the Indian people, that is the poor in India's villages. in the nation;s fture. It is a privilege they do not understand. Over all, a good interview. Thanks