RE:BANGALORE
by ashok on Nov 02, 2006 05:40 PM Permalink
First thing is that bangalore is not built by some nerdy software guys who aren't from this city, secondly the people who live here bulit this city which u now no it as bangalore, thirdly this city was also known as the pub city , garden city and then silicon city of the south. So a few softies who dont know about the city and who have come from the god forsaken place like the north have no love for the city, their aim is only to make money and money. and crib of they not getting anything back from the city. what have you contributed to this city, to its culture and to the society. U guys must have love for the city and then speak out like what u have said. We have built the city and its known for its politeness unlike some north indian staTES where goons and unruly people rule the city.
RE:BANGALORE
by ashok.vardhan on Nov 02, 2006 02:52 PM Permalink
First thing is that bangalore is not built by some nerdy software guys who aren't from this city, secondly the people who live here bulit this city which u now no it as bangalore, thirdly this city was also known as the pub city , garden city and then silicon city of the south. So a few softies who dont know about the city and who have come from the god forsaken place like the north have no love for the city, their aim is only to make money and money. and crib of they not getting anything back from the city. what have you contributed to this city, to its culture and to the society. U guys must have love for the city and then speak out like what u have said. We have built the city and its known for its politeness unlike some north indian staTES where goons and unruly people rule the city.
This is a classic example of global Brand build by lacs of software professionals. Now this govt is putting that all effort in vain. Rather than it should concretate on building infrastructure of BANGLORE.
when bombay was named mumbai, madras was named chennai and calcutta was named kolkotta thre was no objection... y this cry for bengalooru.. you media people do not have any better work to do so you choose some topics and debate.... i suggest the media to do some use ful work to the socity rather than asking comments on such issues from public.
karnataka state govt. must be trying to please the whims of some narrow minded idiots. But the literate majority must enlighten others that this kind of tuglak reforms is nothing but waste.
Certainly not..Government should use the tax-payers money in upgrading the living standard of common people,infrastructure,etc...So changing the name is a real waste of money...
U R Ananth Murthy should first change his Sanskritised name to something like Doddappa, and then talk about giving Bangalore a Kannada 'flavour'. Linguistic chauvinists like Murthy should be banned from stepping outside Karnataka.
RE:Bengaluru
by cv on Nov 01, 2006 07:08 PM Permalink
Then "Linguistic chauvinists" Shiv Sena, DMK, AIDMK, etc. are to be banned. I hate UR Anantamurthy for some of his leftist ideas. But this time he has done something apriciateble (i donno d spelling)
RE:names
by Pankaj Singh on Nov 02, 2006 05:37 PM Permalink
Swaroop Yes renaming Bombay, Madras and Calcutta effected their economy. Majority of people still call Mumbai as Bombay. These cities are booming but they already have lost crores of rupees and will continue to loose. Still people are not adjusted with this name. This effects the economy. For example Mumbai is making a profit of 100 crores instead of 500 crores. By pleasing westerners we are getting money which can be spent in Indians welfare. Bangaluru name is so ridiculous. Think with logic Swaroop.