It is shame to call for quota system . Let them give free education and make them grow rather than make them beggars for reservation. Let them compete with other and prove their worth. Also introducing of Temple priest for all caste and creed is also a shame. Certain things are to be done as per the culture or norms. A man can have sex with a Female which is allowed and permissible. Can a Father or Mother have sex with their Daughter or Son ? It is possible but is it permissible ? It is akin to that of making everyone priest of temples. If they want to prove their worth then let them undergo the rigorous training of learning Vedas, Sanskrit etc and then make them as priest of any caste or creed. Moreover Periyar was dead against temples, gods and brahmins. If that be the case then why should they ask for implementing the scheme of making all people of all caste to become priest of temples. Let them start the reservation right from Childhood in education by providing them free education rather than making them lazy by giving free.
the answer is very simple -- the dravidian politics has predominantly been anti-brahmin. period. it is an illusion in tn that brahmins have been the root cause for everyone else's evil, but in fact it is the other forward castes who have inflicted far more restriction and humiliation on the poor sc/st and dalits. tell me one instance in recent times where brahmins have directly oppressed sc/st or dalits. the other forward caste's do this and brahmins get the bad name. the dravidian parties are the supreme manifestation of hypocrisy, worse than congress. -- their very life and breath is anti-brahmin and atheistic, but... p.chidambaram's son can marry a brahmin girl; dayanidhi maran can marry a brahmin girl; karunanidhi can have two wives and they can wear kumkum, but karunanidhi maintains 'kumkum is a symbol of uncivilized people'; all dravidians members goto temple, do pujas & homa which require brahmin priests... but hey, once they are up on the stage, its all anti-brahmin and anti-god speech all the way. the fact is indigenous tn people are complete idiots; they just dont realize how they are being fooled.
i have one qtn... upto 1960s, india was almost a corrupt free country. just 40 yrs hence, it ranks as one of the top corrupt countries in the world. corruption stinks in a wide range of several crore scams to simple things like a postman giving you a parcel. and this is the period we have seen several so-called "bc, obc, sc/st" category people being appointed everywhere in govt circles, due to reservations. is it a coincidence? isnt there a direct relation between unqualified people and amount of corruption?
(im glad im not in this country anymore, in a recent visit ive observed an extreme amount of corruption in almost every walk of life.. whether its about extorting money or its by severely diluting the quality of service, corruption -- thy name is india). mera corruption mahan!
I agree that it is the fear that is keeping the brahmins silent in TN. Reg. P.Chidambaram, he belongs to the forward community too so the question about his iyengar daughter-in-law doesn't arise. (Also if you looked at her photograph, you wouldn't ask this question). We should ask the Maran brothers why they chose to marry Brahmins ? (I would think those girls were thinking of their progeny's well-being)
I have been a atypical Brahmin - strong love for Tamil, terrible at Sanskrit pronounciation, very critical of Brahmins etc. but the politics in India and TN has almost made me a Brahmin fanatic.
Karunanidhi, Ramadoss etc. are basically goondas and as a US Citizen I wouldn't have ANY hesitation telling Americans and American institutions that India is ruled by thugs - I won't shed a single tear if India loses business.
I had really lots of hopes from Manmohan singh, our priminister, as he is from middle class, so I was expecting that he understand the problems of middle class, but it seems he has totally forgotten how middle class is struggling in India. I was expecting he will do some thing to reduce curreption, but he is just a dum ass like VP singh. If he feel he is responsible for economy then I would say he is wrong as at that time he was just a worker and acted under guidence of Narsimha Rao, the then priminister, so credit of economy is go to Narsimha Rao and his bold step and leadership. Manmohan singh has time now to show his leadership if at all he is, but it seems he is just a puppet of Sonia and other cunning leaders and is going to be the responsible for the death of several more students, who expect something from their future and for the betterment of country, as today peoplle outside India start considering our education one of the best and that is due to the hard work of our students, but if you want to demoralize them by comparing with the dum students who are eqal to them just because they are from lower cast. As everybody suggest why not to train OBC, SC,ST and put money there
It's the utter, abysmal failure of successive Cong govts at very level to provide universal primary and secondary education which is the true culprit - their negligence - their total disdain, indifference and contempt for all, not just the OBCs, is nothing short of criminal. Now, because their vote-banks have dumped them, Cong is desperate to be seen as doing something, anything to cozy-up to these mad-as-hell marginalized folks - Eurika! Up the Reservations to include everyone not upperclass, especially the 'OBCs'. A day late and a pound short, but as they say, it's never too late, especially if it entails getting back some of your once-captive vote-bank. Real-politik, wot!
As a developing country, we will be shooting in our own foot if you deny opportunities for our young and the brightest....Having said that, because of the history of Caste system in India, there is justification for helping the socially and economically backward people. In fact, by giving them opportunities in educational institutions and jop opportunities, we will be able to reduce the illiteracy, ignorance, and control the population growth. From the economics point of view, we will have a wider cosumer base who have buying power and that is good for the economy of the country. But, how we go about implementing the policy of reservation without compromising on the quality and excellence in our educational institutions is a challenge and we need to address this issue carefully because it will affect our future generation, and our economy. We need to create a wider base in the country that can generate wealth so that more and more poeple get out of poverty and improve their social and economic status. Reservation of seats and reservation in jobs should not be done at the cost of limiting the opportunities for the qualified and the meritorious.